DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group or non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 20, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (drawn to a robot) and Species 4 (shown in Figs. 8-9) in the reply filed on July 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “wherein the member including the hollow portion is arranged at each of the plurality of joints, the drive device is arranged at each of the plurality of joints” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). (The Examiner notes the drawings only show a hollow portion at a single joint, the drawings do not show the same hollow portion arranged at each of the plurality of joints, and likewise show a drive device arranged at a single joint, and do not show the same drive device arranged at each of the plurality of joints.) No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a member" in line 4, line 10 and line 11. This is double inclusion. It is unclear whether the “a member” recited in line 10 is the same as or different from that recited in line 4, and it is unclear whether the “a member” recited in line 11 is the same as or different from that recited in line 4 and likewise that recited in line 10.
Claim 1 recites “the second support member is fixed to a member that rotates when the drive device is driven”. It is unclear whether the second support member rotates when the drive device is driven or the “a member” rotates when the drive device is driven.
The limitation “rotate” in claim 1 in the limitation “the second support member is fixed to a member that rotates when the drive device is driven” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The claim does not specify relative to what the “member that rotates” rotates.
The term “stationary” in claim 1 in the limitation “the first support member is fixed to a member that is stationary when the drive device is driven” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The claim does not specify relative to what the “member that is stationary” is stationary.
According to MPEP § 2173.03, “a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty.
Claim 1 recites “a drive device configured to rotate a second constituent member of the robot around a rotation axis with respect to a first constituent member of the robot; a member including a hollow portion extending in a direction along the rotation axis[.]” Paragraph [0021] recites, inter alia, “For example, a hollow portion may be formed in a housing of a constituent member of the robot.” Paragraph [0022] recites, inter alia, “In this case, the electric motor 21, the reduction gear 22, and the torque sensor 23 correspond to members forming the hollow portion.” While claim 1 (and its dependents) appear to claim different members as different, distinct components (e.g. the “a member including a hollow portion” being distinct from a “first constituent member” and distinct from “a second constituent member,” the specification implicitly describes at least some members as being either components/sub-components of other members. This inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain. For the purpose of further examination on the merits, the term “member”, including as used in “a member”, “a first constituent member”, etc. is found to not require a distinct component that is distinct from any other claimed “member” or claimed component. In other words, for example, “a member including a hollow portion” may be a distinct component from any other claimed component or may be a portion of or entirety of a “first constituent member”, “a first support member”, or another claimed member or claimed component.
Claims 5 and 8 each recite the limitation "the electric motor" in lines 2 and 3, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “the drive device is arranged at each of the plurality of joints, a plurality of the drive devices”. Claim 6 depends upon claim 1 which recites “a drive device”. It is unclear whether the “a plurality of the drive devices” recited in claim 6 at line 5 includes the “drive device” recited in claim 6 at line 4 and/or the “drive device” recited in claim 1 at line 2.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the member including the hollow portion is arranged at each of the plurality of joints.” Claim 6 depends upon claim 1 which recites “a member including a hollow portion”. It is unclear whether claim 6 is attempting to claim a respective member including a respective hollow portion respectively arranged at each of the plurality of joints. As claimed in claim 6, there is only a single hollow portion and that same hollow portion must be arranged at each of the plurality of joints, as opposed to each joint having a respective member having a respective hollow portion (e.g. if three joints, then three members each having a respective hollow portion, i.e. three joints and three hollow portions). The specification however identifies shows and describes a plurality of hollow portions (21a, 22a, and 23a), but does not show any single hollow portion (e.g. one of 21a, 22a, and 23a) as being arranged at each of the plurality of joints (10a-10f) or at two or more joints of the plurality of joints, but rather only ever shows or describes a hollow portion at a single joint.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hahakura (US2015/0321344, corresponding to JP2015-212002 cited by Applicant).
Hahakura discloses:
Re claim 1
A robot comprising:
a drive device (including motor M2, belt 32, and shaft portion 33) configured to rotate a second constituent member (22) of the robot around a rotation axis with respect to a first constituent member (10) of the robot;
a member (33, as best understood, a claimed “member” may be a component/sub-component of another claimed component such as one of the constituent members or the drive device. See also dependent claim 2) including a hollow portion (through hole 36 in 24) extending in a direction along the rotation axis;
an optical cable (wiring part 30 (optical cable); para. [0038]) arranged so as to pass through an inside of the hollow portion (36);
a first support member (40, including 40A) arranged on one side in an axial direction of the hollow portion (36) and configured to support the optical cable; and
a second support member (42) arranged on a side opposite to the one side in the axial direction of the hollow portion (36) and configured to support the optical cable (30), wherein the first support member (40) is fixed to a member that is stationary when the drive device (M) is driven, the second support member (articulated arm 20) is fixed to a member (21) that rotates (21 rotates relative to 22) when the drive device (M) is driven, the first support member and the second support member are configured to support the optical cable (wiring part 30 (optical cable)) substantially on the rotation axis (axial center C1, axial center C2), and when the drive device is driven, the second support member (42) rotates with respect to the first support member (40) so that the optical cable (30) is twisted between the first support member (40) and the second support member(42) (para. [0061], [0063], [0067]).
Re claim 2. The robot of claim 1, wherein the member (33) including the hollow portion (36) is arranged in the drive device (including motor M2, belt 32, and shaft portion 33).
Re claim 5. The robot of claim 1, wherein the drive device includes a driver (para. [0075] - “a control unit that is provided in the articulated arm 20”) configured to control electricity supplied to the electric motor, the driver includes a communication device configured to transmit and receive information communicated through the optical cable, and the communication device is arranged inside a housing of the first constituent member or inside a housing of the second constituent member (para. [0075]).
Re claim 8. The robot of claim 1, wherein information communicated through the optical cable includes at least one selected from a group of a position command of the electric motor, a rotational speed command of the electric motor, a current command, a voltage command, information about a position or speed detected by a rotational position detector, information about a current detected by a current detector, information detected by a sensor, and a signal for controlling a work tool (para. [0050] - “camera” which is a sensor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahakura (US2015/0321344, corresponding to JP2015-212002 cited by Applicant) in view of Tamura (US2011/0280527).
Re claim 3
Hahakura discloses all claim dependencies, see above, and further discloses an electric wire (30) (para. [0038] - “The wiring portion 30 is a cable harness into which a plurality of wirings are bundled, and includes a communication cable (for example, an M/C cable, a LAN cable, or an optical cable).” At least M/C cable is metal-clad cable which is a type of electrical wiring. Furthermore, there a plurality of wirings, one of which is communication cable, but at least some of the wiring must be electrical to power motors M3 and M4.) for supplying electricity, wherein the electric wire is arranged so as to pass through the inside of the hollow portion (36) (see Fig. 2), but is silent to the first support member and the second support member being configured to support the electric wire at positions farther away from the rotation axis than the optical cable.
Tamura teaches the first support member and the second support member being configured to support the electric wire (15) at positions farther away from the rotation axis than the optical cable (12)(para. [0018]-[0021]), for the purpose of preventing lateral pressure from bearing on the optical fiber even during flexion of the cable and maintaining the transmission characteristics of the optical fiber (para. [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Hahakura discloses all claim dependencies, see above, and further such that the first support member and the second support member being configured to support the electric wire at positions farther away from the rotation axis than the optical cable , as taught by Tamura, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of preventing lateral pressure from bearing on the optical fiber even during flexion of the cable and maintaining the transmission characteristics of the optical fiber.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahakura (US2015/0321344, corresponding to JP2015-212002 cited by Applicant) in view of Tamura (US2011/0280527) and Hirai (US5,712,552).
Re claim 6, as best understood
Hahakura discloses all claim dependency limitations, and further discloses a plurality of joints (between 21 and 22, and between 21 and 34), wherein the member including the hollow portion (36) is arranged at each of the plurality of joints, the drive device (including motor M2, belt 32, and shaft portion 33) is arranged at each of the plurality of joints, but is silent to a plurality of the drive devices are configured to perform serial communication, and the optical cable including two optical fibers is inserted into the hollow portion.
Tamura teaches the optical cable (30 in Hakakura; 11 in Tamura)) including two optical fibers (12 & 12; see Fig. 1) is inserted into the hollow portion, for the purpose of preventing lateral pressure from bearing on the optical fiber even during flexion of the cable and maintaining the transmission characteristics of the optical fiber (para. [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Hahakura discloses all claim dependency limitations, and further such that the optical cable ) including two optical fibers is inserted into the hollow portion, as taught by Tamura, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of preventing lateral pressure from bearing on the optical fiber even during flexion of the cable and maintaining the transmission characteristics of the optical fiber.
Hahakura as modified above does not disclose a plurality of the drive devices are configured to perform serial communication.
Hirai teaches a plurality of the drive devices are configured to perform serial communication, for the purpose of transmitting commands and feedback signals (C4/L47-55).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing/invention to modify the device of Hahakura such that a plurality of the drive devices are configured to perform serial communication, as taught by Hirai, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of transmitting commands and feedback signals.
Hahakura as modified above further suggests:
Re claim 7
wherein the optical cable has a structure in which the two optical fibers (12 & 12 in Tamura) are fixed to each other and integrated (fixed and integrated by protective tube 13 in Tamura).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Haniya (US2009/0114052) discloses an articulated manipulator.
/GREGORY T PRATHER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/MINNAH L SEOH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3618