DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: drive unit in claims 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Music (U.S. 2010/0130944)in view of Hayes et al. (U.S. 4,003,405).
Regarding claims 1-4, and 6, Music discloses a vortex-type flow control valve (10) comprising: a vortex chamber (12) defined by a cylindrical peripheral side wall, a first end wall (top 14 as seen in Figure 3), and a second end wall (bottom 14 as seen in Figure 3), said first end wall (top 14 as seen in Figure 3) and said second end wall (bottom 14 as seen in Figure 3) provided opposite each other at both ends of the peripheral side wall, said vortex chamber (12) extending along a vortex chamber central axis; an inlet flow passage (16) extending along an inlet flow passage central axis and being opened in the peripheral side wall (see paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0020; see Figures 1 and 2); and an outlet flow passage (18) extending along an outlet flow passage central axis and being opened in the first end wall (top 14 as seen in Figure 3), said vortex-type flow control valve (10) configured such that fluid flowing in from the inlet flow passage (16) generates a vortex flow in the vortex chamber (12) and flows out into the outlet flow passage (18),wherein the inlet flow passage (16) is provided such that the inlet flow passage central axis extends through a position away from the vortex chamber central axis and the outlet flow passage central axis (see Figure 4; see paragraphs 0015, 0016, 0020).
Music fails to disclose the second end wall is configured to be movable closer to or away from the first end wall by a drive unit, said vortex-type flow control valve configured such that a flow rate of the fluid flowing out into the outlet flow passage is adjusted in accordance with an amount of movement of the second end wall with respect to the first end wall; wherein the second end wall is constituted by a diaphragm moved closer to or away from the first end wall by the drive unit; wherein the diaphragm includes a movable portion moved by the drive unit, and an elastically deformable supporting portion which is connected to an outer peripheral edge of the movable portion and supports the movable portion; wherein the diaphragm includes a movable portion moved by the drive unit, and a flexible or bendable supporting portion which is connected to an outer peripheral edge of the movable portion and supports the movable portion; wherein the first end wall is provided thereon with a protruding portion protruding toward the diaphragm.
Hayes teaches a flow control valve comprising: a chamber defined by a peripheral side wall, a first end wall (29), and a second end wall (34), said first end wall (29) and said second end wall (34) provided opposite each other at both ends of the peripheral side wall, the second end wall (34) is configured to be movable closer to or away from the first end wall (29) by a drive unit (per the 112f interpretation, shown as element 25 in applicant’s figure 3 and described in paragraph 0021, functional equivalent 39 in Hayes), said flow control valve configured such that a flow rate of the fluid flowing out into an outlet flow passage (27) is adjusted in accordance with an amount of movement of the second end wall (34) with respect to the first end wall 29 (Col. 16, line 34 - Col. 17, line 56); wherein the second end wall (34) is constituted by a diaphragm (34) moved closer to or away from the first end wall (29) by the drive unit (per the 112f interpretation, shown as element 25 in applicant’s figure 3 and described in paragraph 0021, functional equivalent 39 in Hayes; Col. 16, line 34 - Col. 17, line 56); wherein the diaphragm (34) includes a movable portion (38) moved by the drive unit (per the 112f interpretation, shown as element 25 in applicant’s figure 3 and described in paragraph 0021, functional equivalent 39 in Hayes), and an elastically deformable supporting portion which is connected to an outer peripheral edge of the movable portion (38) and supports the movable portion 38 (see Figure 6); wherein the diaphragm (34) includes a movable portion (38) moved by the drive unit (per the 112f interpretation, shown as element 25 in applicant’s figure 3 and described in paragraph 0021, functional equivalent 39 in Hayes), and a flexible or bendable supporting portion which is connected to an outer peripheral edge of the movable portion (38) and supports the movable portion 38 (see Figure 6); wherein the first end wall (29) is provided thereon with a protruding portion (29) protruding toward the diaphragm 34 (see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Music to provide the second end wall is configured to be movable closer to or away from the first end wall by a drive unit, said vortex-type flow control valve configured such that a flow rate of the fluid flowing out into the outlet flow passage is adjusted in accordance with an amount of movement of the second end wall with respect to the first end wall; wherein the second end wall is constituted by a diaphragm moved closer to or away from the first end wall by the drive unit; wherein the diaphragm includes a movable portion moved by the drive unit, and an elastically deformable supporting portion which is connected to an outer peripheral edge of the movable portion and supports the movable portion; wherein the diaphragm includes a movable portion moved by the drive unit, and a flexible or bendable supporting portion which is connected to an outer peripheral edge of the movable portion and supports the movable portion; wherein the first end wall is provided thereon with a protruding portion protruding toward the diaphragm. Doing so would allow the regulation of fluid flow as a function of pressure drop and allow for the setting of the flow (Col. 16, lines 34-45), as recognized by Hayes.
Regarding claim 5, Music as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the outlet flow passage (18) is provided such that the outlet flow passage central axis extends on the vortex chamber central axis (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Music as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the first end wall (top 14 as seen in Figure 3) and the second end wall (bottom 14 as seen in Figure 3) have a circular shape or an elliptical shape (see Figure 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu (U.S. 2006/0102748) discloses a vortex flow control valve wherein a wall is adjustable to vary flow through the valve; Lorenz (USPN 3,198,214) discloses a vortex flow control valve wherein an element is adjustable to vary flow through the valve.
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753