DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Browning, Jr. (US Patent No. 3604356).
Regarding claim 1, Browning discloses a direct current short circuit protection device (i.e., such as direct current short circuit protection device fig. 2; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) comprising: a fuse (i.e., such as fuse 34; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) that includes a bus bar (i.e., such as bus bar of power lines fed by terminal 11; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) and cuts off (i.e., such as cuts off via trembler switches 33a/33b and detonator 32; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) the bus bar (i.e., such as bus bar of power lines fed by terminal 11; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) in response (i.e., such as in response to; for instance, arming bellows 35 closes switch 31 and opens shorting switch 34 to allow the discharge of energy storage capacitor 38 through trembler switch 33a, closed on impact, to detonator 32 to explode the device. Similarly, if a negative pulse were applied to terminal 11, capacitor 40 will discharge through trembler switch 33b, closed switch 31, and detonator 32 to explode the ordnance device on impact; arming bellows 35 having closed switch 31 and opened switch 34 after the arming time delay caused by magnitude polarity circuit 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) to an ignition signal (i.e., such as ignition signal to be fired via gas diode 30 when sensing CKT 21 is activated to trigger CKT 35, likewise, the ignition signal to be fired via gas diode 25 when sensing CKT 20 is activated to trigger CKT 35; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+); a first current detector (i.e., such as first current detector sensing CKT 21; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) that includes a first resistor (i.e., such as first resistor 26; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) and detects (i.e., such as resistor 26 detects the current flowing in network 15 at the sensing CKT 21; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) a current (i.e., such as current flowing in network 15 at sensing CKT 21 and sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) flowing through (i.e., such as current flowing through network 15 in sensing CKT 21 and sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) the bus bar (i.e., such as bus bar of power lines fed by terminal 11; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+); a second current detector (i.e., such as second current detector sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) that includes a second resistor (i.e., such as second resistor 22; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) and detects (i.e., such as resistor 22 detects the current flowing in network 15 at the sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) the current (i.e., such as current flowing in network 15 at sensing CKT 21 and sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) flowing through (i.e., such as current flowing through network 15 in sensing CKT 21 and sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) the bus bar (i.e., such as bus bar of power lines fed by terminal 11; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+); and a disconnection control circuit (i.e., such as disconnection control circuit of capacitors 28, 26 and gas diodes 30, 25; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) that outputs (i.e., such as outputs as activating the arming bellows 35; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) the ignition signal (i.e., such as ignition signal to be fired via gas diode 30 when sensing CKT 21 is activated to trigger CKT 35, likewise, the ignition signal to be fired via gas diode 25 when sensing CKT 20 is activated to trigger CKT 35; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) to the fuse (i.e., such as fuse 34; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) based on a first detection signal output (i.e., first detection signal output via diode 27 to capacitor 28; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) from the first current detector (i.e., such as first current detector sensing CKT 21; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) and a second detection signal output (i.e., such as second detection signal output via diode 23 to capacitor 24; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) from the second current detector (i.e., such as second current detector sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+), wherein the first resistor (i.e., such as first resistor 26; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) and the second resistor (i.e., such as second resistor 22; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) are integrated (i.e., such as resistors 26 and 22 are integrated/built-in/connected as desired in the ordnance fuze device of fig. 2; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) with the bus bar (i.e., such as bus bar of power lines fed by terminal 11; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+), and a current (i.e., such as current flowing in network 15 at sensing CKT 21 and sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) having a same magnitude (i.e., such as the current flowing in network 15 at sensing CKT 21 and sensing CKT 20 has the same magnitude; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) as the current (i.e., such as current flowing in network 15 at sensing CKT 21 and sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) flowing through (i.e., such as current flowing through network 15 in sensing CKT 21 and sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) the bus bar (i.e., such as bus bar of power lines fed by terminal 11; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) flows (i.e., such as current flowing through network 15 in sensing CKT 21 and sensing CKT 20; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) in the first resistor (i.e., such as first resistor 26; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) and the second resistor (i.e., such as second resistor 22; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+), and the first resistor (i.e., such as first resistor 26; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) and second resistor (i.e., such as second resistor 22; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) have resistance values different (i.e., such as resistance values of resistor 26 and resistor 22 are different; for instance, for reasons that will hereinafter be apparent the resistance of resistor 26 is preferably of a different value than that of resistor 22. In most ordnance devices, the values of capacitors 16 and 17 are equal and predetermined as are the values of capacitors 24 and 28. By selecting, therefore, unequal values for resistors 22 and 26, the arming time delay utilizing +V.sub.1 will be different than the arming time utilizing -V.sub.1 since the time constants of circuits 20 and 21 will differ. Similarly, since the time delay in fuze arming is also dependent on the magnitude of the stored charge, and therefore dependent on the magnitude of the voltage impulse, as well as the time constants of circuits 20 and 21, two additional delay times can be obtained utilizing impulses of +V.sub.2 and -V.sub.2 volts. It is readily apparent that each magnitude-polarity combination applied at terminal 11 yields a different arming time delay. Thus, it is clearly apparent that more than four diverse arming time delays may be obtained if additional impulse voltages are available at terminal 11; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+) from each other (i.e., such as the value of resistor 26 is different from the value of resistor 22; for instance, for reasons that will hereinafter be apparent the resistance of resistor 26 is preferably of a different value than that of resistor 22. In most ordnance devices, the values of capacitors 16 and 17 are equal and predetermined as are the values of capacitors 24 and 28. By selecting, therefore, unequal values for resistors 22 and 26, the arming time delay utilizing +V.sub.1 will be different than the arming time utilizing -V.sub.1 since the time constants of circuits 20 and 21 will differ. Similarly, since the time delay in fuze arming is also dependent on the magnitude of the stored charge, and therefore dependent on the magnitude of the voltage impulse, as well as the time constants of circuits 20 and 21, two additional delay times can be obtained utilizing impulses of +V.sub.2 and -V.sub.2 volts. It is readily apparent that each magnitude-polarity combination applied at terminal 11 yields a different arming time delay. Thus, it is clearly apparent that more than four diverse arming time delays may be obtained if additional impulse voltages are available at terminal 11; see for example fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 5+).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Browning teaches the invention set forth above. However, Browning does not particularly teach wherein the disconnection control circuit determines whether to cut off the bus bar by performing a predetermined calculation based on the first detection signal output from the first current detector and the second detection signal output from the second current detector, and the disconnection control circuit outputs the ignition signal to the fuse when the disconnection control circuit has determined to cut off the bus bar.
Hence claim 2 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claim 3 depends on objected claim 2, consequently claim 3 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 4, Browning teaches the invention set forth above. However, Browning does not particularly teach wherein the first resistor and the second resistor are parts of the bus bar, a direction in which the current flowing through the first resistor, the second resistor, and the bus bar is defined as a first direction, and an area of a section of the first resistor orthogonal to the first direction and an area of a section of the second resistor orthogonal to the first direction are smaller than an area of a section in a portion other than the first resistor and the second resistor in the bus bar orthogonal to the first direction.
Hence claim 4 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claim 5 depends on objected claim 4, consequently claim 5 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 6, Browning teaches the invention set forth above. However, Browning does not particularly teach wherein the first current detector includes a current monitoring terminal for monitoring a current flowing through the first resistor, and the second current detector includes a current monitoring terminal for monitoring a current flowing through the second resistor.
Hence claim 6 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 7, Browning teaches the invention set forth above. However, Browning does not particularly teach further comprising a temperature monitoring terminal that is provided on the bus bar and monitors a temperature of the bus bar.
Hence claim 7 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 8, Browning teaches the invention set forth above. However, Browning does not particularly teach further comprising a comparator that compares a first current value calculated based on the first detection signal output from the first current detector with a second current value calculated based on the second detection signal output from the second current detector, wherein the comparator detects that any one of the first current detector and the second current detector has failed based on a comparison result between the first current value and the second current value.
Hence claim 8 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838