Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riedel et al., US20190161204 (hereinafter referred to as Riedel), in view of Wabnegger et al., CA2988156 (hereinafter referred to as Wabnegger), and in further view of Kornatowski et al., NPL U (hereinafter referred to as Kornatowski).
In regards to claim 1, Riedel teaches a flight vehicle (drone 10; [Fig. 1]) including a propeller (rotors 25; [Fig. 1]), the flight vehicle comprising: conductor (Faraday cage of housing 42; [0139]) configured to expose the propeller to an outside (implicit, the housing box is within the circumference of the rotors 25; [Fig. 1]) and surround a control unit of the flight vehicle (implicit; [Fig. 1]); a lightning rod (lightning antennae; [Fig. 1]) disposed on the conductor (implicit; [Fig. 1]) and configured to avoid a direct lightning stroke on the propeller (implicit purpose of a discharge electrode); and a conducting line (cable 13; [Fig. 1]) configured to connect (implicit; [Fig. 1]) the conductor and a ground contact point (ground station 11; [Fig. 1]).
Riedel does not teach of the conductor being lattice-shaped; and an insulating attachment portion configured to attach the conductor to the flight vehicle.
Wabnegger teaches of the conductor (cage; [Pg. 6, Ln. 15-26]) being lattice-shaped (electrically conductive matrix; [Pg. 6, Ln. 15-26]).
Wabnegger does not teach an insulating attachment portion configured to attach the conductor to the flight vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Riedel in order to modify the conductor to be lattice-shaped. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a known technique of the Faraday cage to Riedel’s Faraday cage for protecting the drone.
Kornatowski teaches an insulating attachment portion (soft joints, NinjaFlex Flexible 3D Printing Filament; [Pg. 3, Col. 1, Para. 4]) configured to attach the conductor to the flight vehicle (implicit, image A; [Fig. 4]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Riedel in order to incorporate an insulating attachment portion configured to attach the conductor to the flight vehicle as taught by Kornatowski. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a known technique for attaching a cage to a drone body while maintain the protection of a Faraday cage.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riedel et al., US20190161204 (hereinafter referred to as Riedel), in view of Wabnegger et al., CA2988156 (hereinafter referred to as Wabnegger), and in further view of Kornatowski et al., NPL U (hereinafter referred to as Kornatowski) and in further view of O’Reilly et al., US20240213753 (hereinafter referred to as O’Reilly).
In regards to claim 2, Riedel, Wabnegger, and Kornatowski do not teach wherein the lightning rod is extendable and retractable.
O’Reilly teaches wherein the lightning rod is extendable and retractable (telescoping; [Abstract]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Riedel, Wabnegger, and Kornatowski in order to incorporate wherein the lightning rod is extendable and retractable. The motivation for doing so would be make the drone smaller for transport.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riedel et al., US20190161204 (hereinafter referred to as Riedel), in view of Wabnegger et al., CA2988156 (hereinafter referred to as Wabnegger), and in further view of Kornatowski et al., NPL U (hereinafter referred to as Kornatowski), and in further view of Guangrun et al., US5159521 (hereinafter referred to as Guangrun).
In regards to claim 3, Riedel, Wabnegger, and Kornatowski do not teach wherein the lightning rod is disposed on a top portion and a horizontal portion of the conductor.
Guangrun teaches wherein the lightning rod is disposed on a top portion and a horizontal portion of the conductor (three of the four rods pictured in Fig. 1 are placed on a top and horizontal portion of the conductor, semiconductor rod 2; [Fig. 1]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Riedel, Wabnegger, and Kornatowski in order to incorporate wherein the lightning rod is disposed on a top portion and a horizontal portion of the conductor as taught by Guangrun. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a taught placement of lightning rods for lightning protection coverage for the “one or more lightning antennae 26” as taught by Riedel ([0100]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riedel et al., US20190161204 (hereinafter referred to as Riedel), in view of Wabnegger et al., CA2988156 (hereinafter referred to as Wabnegger), and in further view of Kornatowski et al., NPL U (hereinafter referred to as Kornatowski), and in further view of O’Reilly et al., US20240213753 (hereinafter referred to as O’Reilly), and in further view of Guangrun et al., US5159521 (hereinafter referred to as Guangrun).
In regards to claim 4, Riedel, Wabnegger, Kornatowski, and O’Reilly do not teach wherein the lightning rod is disposed on a top portion and a horizontal portion of the conductor.
Guangrun teaches wherein the lightning rod is disposed on a top portion and a horizontal portion of the conductor (three of the four rods pictured in Fig. 1 are placed on a top and horizontal portion of the conductor, semiconductor rod 2; [Fig. 1]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Riedel, Wabnegger, and Kornatowski in order to incorporate wherein the lightning rod is disposed on a top portion and a horizontal portion of the conductor as taught by Guangrun. The motivation for doing so would be to apply a taught placement of lightning rods for lightning protection coverage for the “one or more lightning antennae 26” as taught by Riedel ([0100]).
Conclusion
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838