DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23, 28 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 28, it is not clear what it meant by “in response to not receiving the first indication information sent by the first terminal device, sending second indication information to the first terminal device” as cited in the claim. In parent claim 19, the second terminal device already received the first indication information. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claims 23 and 29, the claimed subject matter “sending at least one of a first offset, a second offset, a first threshold, a second threshold, or a third threshold to the first terminal device” required only one offset or threshold is required to be send to the first terminal device. However, the wherein clause in the claim appears to require all offsets, and thresholds. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 14-15, 19-21, 23, 25-26, 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XU et al. (US 2018/0139682 A1), hereinafter XU.
Regarding claim 1, XU discloses a relay connection method, executed by a first terminal device (the device may be the first UE, the base station, or another independent relay selection network element, see ¶ 0082), comprising:
sending first indication information to a second terminal device (the relay selection device may be the first UE, the base station, or another independent relay selection network element, see ¶ 0082),
wherein the first indication information comprises a candidate relay list, the candidate relay list comprises an identifier of at least one candidate relay terminal device, and the at least one candidate relay terminal device is used to establish a relay connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (the base station receiving first indication information sent by the first UE, where the first indication information is used to indicate the link quality of the second link of each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list... after the determining target relay UE from the candidate relay UE list, the method further includes: sending second indication information to the first UE, where the second indication information is used to indicate the target relay UE, see ¶ 0010; where the target relay UE is used for communication, see ¶ 0022).
Regarding claim 2, XU discloses, wherein the at least one candidate relay terminal device meets at least one of following conditions:
that the at least one candidate relay terminal device belongs to at least one relay terminal device discovered by the first terminal device (the base station receiving first indication information sent by the first UE, where the first indication information is used to indicate the link quality of the second link of each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list, see ¶ 0010);
that the at least one candidate relay terminal device does not belong to a serving relay terminal device;
that a measurement result of a channel between the at least one candidate relay terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than a first threshold;
that the at least one candidate relay terminal device has a capability of establishing a connection with the second terminal device; that the measurement result of the channel between the at least one candidate relay terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than a sum of a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and the second terminal device and a first offset; or
that the measurement result of the channel between the at least one candidate relay terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than a sum of a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and the serving relay terminal device and a second offset.
Regarding claim 3, XU discloses wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of: a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and the at least one candidate relay terminal device (the base station receiving first indication information sent by the first UE, where the first indication information is used to indicate the link quality of the second link of each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list, see ¶ 0010); or a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and the second terminal device or between the first terminal device and a serving relay terminal device.
Regarding claim 5, XU discloses the sending the first indication information to the second terminal device comprises: in response to a first condition being met, sending the first indication information to the second terminal device, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of:
that a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and the second terminal device is smaller than a second threshold (determining first candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list as the target relay UE, where link quality of a first link of the first candidate relay UE is greater than a first threshold, and link quality of a second link of the first candidate relay UE is greater than a second threshold, see ¶ 0008);
that a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and a serving relay terminal device is smaller than a third threshold;
that a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and the at least one candidate relay terminal device is greater than a first threshold;
that the measurement result of the channel between the first terminal device and the at least one candidate relay terminal device is greater than a sum of the measurement result of the channel between the first terminal device and the second terminal device and a first offset; or
that the measurement result of the channel between the first terminal device and the at least one candidate relay terminal device is greater than a sum of the measurement result of the channel between the first terminal device and the serving relay terminal device and a second offset.
Regarding claim 6, XU discloses wherein the sending the first indication information to the second terminal device comprises at least one of:
in response to receiving second indication information sent by the second terminal device, sending the first indication information to the second terminal device, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate the first terminal device to send the candidate relay list (the quality threshold is configured by the base station, or the quality threshold is indicated by the first UE by using indication information, or the quality threshold is predefined, see ¶ 0016); or
in response to receiving third indication information sent by a serving relay terminal device, sending the first indication information to the second terminal device, wherein the third indication information indicates the first terminal device to send the candidate relay list.
Regarding claim 8, XU discloses wherein the measurement result of the channel is a Sidelink Discovery signal-Reference Signal Receiving Power (SD-RSRP) or a Sidelink-Reference Signal Receiving Power (SL-RSRP) (a second link of candidate relay UE may be a wireless communications link between the candidate relay UE and the first UE, and the wireless communications link may also be referred to as a sidelink (sidelink) or a PC5 link or a D2D link. The relay selection device may determine the link quality of the second link of each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list in multiple manners, see ¶ 0103); or
the method further comprises at least one of: receiving at least one of the first offset, the second offset, the first threshold, the second threshold or the third threshold sent by the second terminal device; receiving at least one of the first offset, the second offset, the first threshold, the second threshold or the third threshold sent by the serving relay terminal device; determining at least one of the first offset, the second offset, the first threshold, the second threshold or the third threshold based on resource pool configuration information, wherein the resource pool configuration information is determined based on a broadcast message sent by a network device or configuration information sent by the network device; receiving at least one of the first offset, the second offset, the first threshold, the second threshold or the third threshold sent by a network device; or determining at least one of the first offset, the second offset, the first threshold, the second threshold or the third threshold.
Regarding claim 14, XU discloses receiving fourth indication information sent by the second terminal device, wherein the fourth indication information carries an identifier of a target relay terminal device determined by the second terminal device (the information about the target relay UE may include an equipment identifier, a user identifier, a random access radio network temporary identifier (Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier, RA_CNTI), an IP address, or the like of the target relay UE, see ¶ 0198).
Regarding claim 15, XU discloses at least one of: sending acknowledgement indication information to the second terminal device; establishing a connection with the target relay terminal device; or establishing a connection with the second terminal device via the target relay terminal device (S560. The eNB sends a relay selection acknowledgement message to the remote UE, where the relay selection acknowledgement message carries information about the target relay UE, see ¶ 0197, 0198).
Regarding claim 19, XU discloses a relay connection method, executed by a second terminal device, comprising:
receiving first indication information to a first terminal device (the relay selection device may be the first UE, the base station, or another independent relay selection network element, see ¶ 0082),
wherein the first indication information comprises a candidate relay list, the candidate relay list comprises an identifier of at least one candidate relay terminal device, and the at least one candidate relay terminal device is used to establish a relay connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device (the base station receiving first indication information sent by the first UE, where the first indication information is used to indicate the link quality of the second link of each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list... after the determining target relay UE from the candidate relay UE list, the method further includes: sending second indication information to the first UE, where the second indication information is used to indicate the target relay UE, see ¶ 0010; where the target relay UE is used for communication, see ¶ 0022).
Regarding claim 20, XU discloses, wherein the at least one candidate relay terminal device meets at least one of following conditions:
that the at least one candidate relay terminal device belongs to at least one relay terminal device discovered by the first terminal device (the base station receiving first indication information sent by the first UE, where the first indication information is used to indicate the link quality of the second link of each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list, see ¶ 0010);
that the at least one candidate relay terminal device does not belong to a serving relay terminal device;
that a measurement result of a channel between the at least one candidate relay terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than a first threshold;
that the at least one candidate relay terminal device has a capability of establishing a connection with the second terminal device; that the measurement result of the channel between the at least one candidate relay terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than a sum of a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and the second terminal device and a first offset; or
that the measurement result of the channel between the at least one candidate relay terminal device and the first terminal device is greater than a sum of a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and the serving relay terminal device and a second offset.
Regarding claim 21, XU discloses wherein the first indication information comprises at least one of: a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and the at least one candidate relay terminal device (the base station receiving first indication information sent by the first UE, where the first indication information is used to indicate the link quality of the second link of each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list, see ¶ 0010); or a measurement result of a channel between the first terminal device and the second terminal device or between the first terminal device and a serving relay terminal device.
Regarding claim 23, XU discloses wherein the measurement result of the channel is a SD-RSRP or a SL-RSRP (a second link of candidate relay UE may be a wireless communications link between the candidate relay UE and the first UE, and the wireless communications link may also be referred to as a sidelink (sidelink) or a PC5 link or a D2D link. The relay selection device may determine the link quality of the second link of each candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list in multiple manners, see ¶ 0103), or
the method further comprises:
sending at least one of the first offset, the second offset, the first threshold, a second threshold or a third threshold to the first terminal device, wherein the second threshold and the third threshold are used to trigger the first terminal device to send the first indication information.
Regarding claim 25, XU discloses receiving fourth indication information sent by the second terminal device, wherein the fourth indication information carries an identifier of a target relay terminal device determined by the second terminal device (the information about the target relay UE may include an equipment identifier, a user identifier, a random access radio network temporary identifier (Random Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier, RA_CNTI), an IP address, or the like of the target relay UE, see ¶ 0198).
Regarding claim 26, XU discloses at least one of: sending acknowledgement indication information to the second terminal device; establishing a connection with the target relay terminal device; or establishing a connection with the second terminal device via the target relay terminal device (S560. The eNB sends a relay selection acknowledgement message to the remote UE, where the relay selection acknowledgement message carries information about the target relay UE, see ¶ 0197, 0198).
Regarding claim 28, XU discloses in response to not receiving the first indication information sent by the first terminal device, sending second indication information to the first terminal device, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate the first terminal device to send the candidate relay list (the base station may actively send the indication information to the relay selection device, or may send the indication information to the relay selection device according to a request of the relay selection device. This is not limited in this embodiment of the present invention, see ¶ 0087).
Regarding claim 29, XU discloses a relay connection method, executed by a network device, comprising:
sending at least one of a first offset, a second offset, a first threshold, a second threshold or a third threshold to a first terminal device (the quality threshold is configured by the base station, or the quality threshold is indicated by the first UE by using indication information, or the quality threshold is predefined, see ¶ 0016),
wherein the first offset, the second offset and the first threshold are used to determine at least one candidate relay terminal device, the second threshold and the third threshold are used to trigger the first terminal device to send first indication information, the first indication information comprises a candidate relay list, the candidate relay list comprises an identifier of the at least one candidate relay terminal device, and the at least one candidate relay terminal device is used to establish a relay connection between the first terminal device and a second terminal device (determining first candidate relay UE in the candidate relay UE list as the target relay UE, where link quality of a first link of the first candidate relay UE is greater than a first threshold, and link quality of a second link of the first candidate relay UE is greater than a second threshold, see ¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 30, XU discloses wherein the sending the at least one of the first offset, the second offset, the first threshold, the second threshold or the third threshold to the first terminal device comprises at least one of:
sending a broadcast message to the first terminal device, wherein the broadcast message carries the at least one of the first offset, the second offset, the first threshold, the second threshold or the third threshold (the quality threshold is configured by the base station, or the quality threshold is indicated by the first UE by using a broadcast message, or the quality threshold is predefined, see ¶ 0150); or
sending a first signaling corresponding to the first terminal device to the first terminal device, wherein the first signaling carries the at least one of the first offset, the second offset, the first threshold, the second threshold or the third threshold.
Regarding claim 35, XU discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the relay connection method of claim 1 (an apparatus 1400 for selecting a relay in D2D communication according to an embodiment of the present invention. The apparatus 1400 includes a processor 1410, configured to: determine link quality of a first link of each candidate relay UE in a candidate relay UE list, where the candidate relay UE list includes at least one candidate relay UE, and the first link of each candidate relay UE is a radio link between each candidate relay UE and a base station, see ¶ 0298-0299).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU in view of XU et al. (US 2020/0170075 A1), hereinafter XU ‘075.
Regarding claims 18 and 27, XU fails to disclose in response to a connection establishment failure between the first terminal device and the target relay terminal device, receiving rejection indication information sent by the first terminal device.
In the same field of endeavor, XU ‘075 discloses the Relay-UE receives the request message from the base station or the Remote-UE, the Relay-UE rejects to forward the signaling, and sends a rejection response message to the base station or the Remote-UE, and a reason for rejection is indicated in the message, where the reason for rejection includes but not limited to one of: an insufficient memory, a failure, an unknown destination identifier, inability to connect to a destination, or line congestion, etc (see ¶ 0116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement XU ‘075’s teaching in the network taught by XU in order to properly set up relay connection between two entities such as a base station and a remote UE via a relay device.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412