DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Office Action addressing U.S. Application No. 18/868,266. Based upon a review of the instant application, the actual filing date of the instant application is November 22, 2024. Since the instant application was filed after September 16, 2012, the statutory provisions of the America Invents Act ("AIA ") will govern this proceeding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 87-99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wallentin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0374137 hereinafter “Wallentin” which claim priority to U.S. Provisional App No. 63/353,980 (“the ‘980 Provisional”).
The Examiner finds that claim 67 of Wallentin is supported by the 980 Provisional at least at figure 5 on page 14. Additionally the 980 provisional reference is cited alongside the non-provisional.
Referring to claim 87, Wallentin teaches a method of a Distributed Unit (DU) (see figures 4 and 11), the method comprising:
transmitting a Layer-1/Layer-2 triggered Mobility (LTM) execution command in an LTM to a User Equipment (UE) (See step 1 in figure 4 and 2003 in figure 11, see also figure 7 in the 980 provisional); and
after transmitting the execution command, sending a notification of the execution of the LTM to a Central Unit (CU), the notification including information about a target cell (See step 3 in figure 4 and ¶¶ 93-95, see also step 2005 in figure 11, see also figure 7 in the 980 provisional).
Referring to claim 88, Wallentin teaches the method according to claim 87 (as shown above), and Wallentin further teaches wherein the execution command includes information about the target cell of the LTM and information about a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state (See ¶ 191, see also 23-26 of page 18 of the 980 provisional).
Referring to claim 89, Wallentin teaches the method according to claim 87 (as shown above), and Wallentin further teaches the method comprising: receiving a UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message from the CU (See ¶ 209, see lines 6-16 of page 26 of the 980 provisional).
Referring to claim 90, Wallentin teaches a method of a User Equipment (UE) (See figures 4 and 11), the method comprising:
receiving a Layer-1/Layer-2 triggered Mobility (LTM) execution command in an LTM from a Distributed Unit (DU) (See step 1 in figure 4, see also 2003 in figure 11); and
accessing a target cell (See step 5 in figure 4, see also 2008 in figure 11).
Referring to claim 91, Wallentin teaches the method according to claim 90 (as shown above), and Wallentin further teaches wherein the execution command includes information about the target cell of the LTM and information about a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state (See ¶ 191, see also 23-26 of page 18 of the 980 provisional).
Referring to claim 92, Wallentin teaches the method according to claim 90 (as shown above), and Wallentin further teaches the access to the target cell is performed by a random access procedure (See ¶ 207 step 2008, see lines 10-28 of page 25).
Referring to claim 93, Wallentin teaches the method according to claim 90 (as shown above), and Wallentin further teaches wherein the LTM is an inter-DU LTM from a source DU to a target DU (See ¶ 42, see lines 6-9 of page 14 of the 980 provisional).
Referring to claim 94, Wallentin teaches a method of a Central Unit (CU), the method comprising:
in a Layer-1/Layer-2 triggered Mobility (LTM), after an LTM execution command is sent to a User Equipment (UE), receiving a first message regarding the execution of the LTM, the first message including information about a target cell (See 2005 in figure 11); and
after a random access procedure between the UE and the target cell is completed, receiving a third message regarding the execution of the LTM (See 2010 in figure 11, see also ¶ 207).
Referring to claim 95, Wallentin teaches the method according to claim 94, wherein the execution command includes information about the target cell of the LTM and information about a Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state (See ¶ 191, see also 23-26 of page 18 of the 980 provisional).
Referring to claim 96, Wallentin teaches the method according to claim 94 (as shown above), and Wallentin further the method comprising: sending a UE CONTEXT RELEASE COMMAND message to a Distributed Unit (DU) (See ¶ 209, see lines 6-16 of page 26 of the 980 provisional).
Referring to claim 97, The method according to claim 94, wherein the LTM is an inter-Distributed Unit (DU) LTM from a source DU to a target DU (See ¶ 42, see lines 6-9 of page 14 of the 980 provisional).
Referring to claim 98, Wallentin teaches a method of a Central Unit (CU) (See Figure 11), the method comprising:
sending a first message related to a Layer-1/Layer-2 triggered Mobility (LTM) to a first Distributed Unit (DU), the first message including information related to one or more target cells (See item 2006 in figure 11, see also figure 7 of the 980 provisional);
receiving a second message, which is a response to the first message, from the first DU, the second message including a configuration of at least one of the one or more target cells (See 2010 in Figure 11 and ¶ 207 “cell identity… and/or TCI state”, see lines 10-28 of page 25 of the 980 provisional); and
sending a third message after receiving the second message (See 2011 in Figure 11, see also figure 7 of the ‘980 provisional).
Referring to claim 99, The method according to claim 98, wherein the third message mentioned is a UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message (See ¶ 209, see lines 6-16 of page 26 of the 980 provisional).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are cited to further show the state of the art as it pertains to the Applicant’s invention:
US Pub. No. 2025/0358698 to Spapis et al. is cited as background information.
U.S. Patent No. 11,950,160 to Zhou et al. is cited as background information.
Signed:
/ERON J SORRELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992