DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 13-14 and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 4-5, 7-8, 13-14 and 16-17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is directed towards the use of a system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geurts (EP 3896602).
Regarding claim 1, Geurts (EP 3896602) teaches a system for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-4) comprising:
- a first acquisition system (Fig. 7 #11) located at a first location over the conveyor (Fig. 7 #11 located at first location over #3) and comprising a first detector operating with first image acquisition spectral parameters (Paragraph 0039 lines 1-7);
- a first acquisition computer (Fig. 7 #11a, 11b) for receiving first image data from the first acquisition system and performing a pre-processing on the first image data including cutting images into first image fragments of a reduced size in comparison with the first image data and corresponding to specific objects in the flow of mixed residual materials (Paragraph 0045 lines 1-10, Paragraph 0116 lines 1-5), time-tagging said first image fragments and including data allowing material identification of the object in the first image fragments (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-3, Paragraph 0109 lines 10-13);
- a second acquisition system (Fig. 7 #7) distinct from the first acquisition system (Fig. 7 #7 distinct from #11), located at a second location over the conveyor (Fig. 7 #7 at second location over #3) and comprising a second detector operating with second image acquisition spectral parameters distinct from the first image acquisition spectral parameters (Paragraph 0039 lines 1-6);
- a second acquisition computer (Paragraph 0119 lines 9-14) for receiving second image data from the second acquisition system and performing a pre-processing on the second image data including cutting images into second image fragments of a reduced size in comparison with the second image data and corresponding to specific objects in the flow of mixed residual materials (Paragraph 0109 lines 1-11), time-tagging said second image fragments and including data allowing material identification of the object in the second image fragments (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-3, Paragraph 0109 lines 10-13);
- sending the first image fragments and the second image fragments to a combination computer (Fig. 7 #13) performing a reconciliation between the first image fragments and the second image fragments as being related to the same object based on the time-tagging of the first image fragments and the second image fragments (Paragraph 0050 line 1-Paragraph 0053 line 2), and using the data allowing material identification from both the first image fragments and the second image fragments to improve accuracy of the material identification of the object (Paragraph 0109 line 1-Paragraph 0110 line 3).
Regarding claim 2, Geurts (EP 3896602) teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the second acquisition computer is distinct from the first acquisition computer (Fig. 7 #7 distinct from #11a, 11b).
Regarding claim 9, Geurts (EP 3896602) teaches use of the system according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above) to classify objects in a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0052 lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Geurts (EP 3896602) teaches a method for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0002 lines 1-4) comprising:
- acquiring first image data of the flow of mixed residual materials using a first acquisition system (Fig. 7 #11) located at a first location over the conveyor (Fig. 7 #11 located at first location over #3) and comprising a first detector operating with first image acquisition spectral parameters (Paragraph 0039 lines 1-7);
- by a first acquisition computer (Fig. 7 #11a, 11b), receiving the first image data from the first acquisition system and performing a pre-processing on the first image data including cutting images into first image fragments of a reduced size in comparison with the first image data and corresponding to specific objects in the flow of mixed residual materials (Paragraph 0045 lines 1-10, Paragraph 0116 lines 1-5), time-tagging said first image fragments and including data allowing material identification of the object in the first image fragments (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-3, Paragraph 0109 lines 10-13);
- acquiring second image data of the flow of mixed residual materials using a second acquisition system (Fig. 7 #7) distinct from the first acquisition system (Fig. 7 #7 distinct from #11), located at a second location over the conveyor (Fig. 7 #7 at second location over #3) and comprising a second detector operating with second image acquisition spectral parameters distinct from the first image acquisition spectral parameters (Paragraph 0039 lines 1-6);
- by a second acquisition computer (Paragraph 0119 lines 9-14) receiving second image data from the second acquisition system and performing a pre-processing on the second image data including cutting images into second image fragments of a reduced size in comparison with the second image data and corresponding to specific objects in the flow of mixed residual materials (Paragraph 0109 lines 1-11), time-tagging said second image fragments and including data allowing material identification of the object in the second image fragments (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-3, Paragraph 0109 lines 10-13);
- sending the first image fragments and the second image fragments to a combination computer (Fig. 7 #13) performing a reconciliation between the first image fragments and the second image fragments as being related to the same object based on the time-tagging of the first image fragments and the second image fragments (Paragraph 0050 line 1-Paragraph 0053 line 2), and using the data allowing material identification from both the first image fragments and the second image fragments to improve accuracy of the material identification of the object (Paragraph 0109 line 1-Paragraph 0110 line 3).
Regarding claim 11, Geurts (EP 3896602) teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the second acquisition computer is distinct from the first acquisition computer (Fig. 7 #7 distinct from #11a, 11b).
Regarding claim 18, Geurts (EP 3896602) teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising, upon using the data allowing material identification from both the first image fragments and the second image fragments to improve accuracy of the material identification of the object:
- classifying the object in the flow of mixed residual materials on the conveyor (Paragraph 0052 lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Geurts (EP 3896602) teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising, upon sending the first image fragments and the second image fragments to a combination computer (Fig. 7 #13) performing a reconciliation between the first image fragments and the second image fragments as being related to the same object based on the time-tagging of the first image fragments and the second image fragments (Paragraph 0109 line 1-Paragraph 0110 line 3),
- training a neural-network algorithm using the first image fragments and the second image fragments as inputs for the training (Paragraph 0063 lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 20, Geurts (EP 3896602) teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising using the neural-network algorithm, as trained, to classify the object in the flow of mixed residual materials on the conveyor and to perform sorting of the object on the conveyor (Paragraph 0063 lines 1-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geurts (EP 3896602) in view of Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) and further in view of legal precedent.
Regarding claim 3, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the system of claim 1, wherein the first acquisition computer is a camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is luminance-only image data acquisition in which a single luminance value is measured for each pixel in any image.
Geurts (EP 3896602) however states that the analyzing unit is configured to perform at least one of an energy or wavelength dispersive X-ray fluorescence (XRF) spectrometry, (near) infra-red (NIR) spectroscopy, hyperspectral spectroscopy, x-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis, or the like (Paragraph 0039 lines 1-7), and the sensory system may include a color imaging unit configured to take color images (Paragraph 0049 lines 1-2).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a system for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the first acquisition computer is a camera (Fig. 17 ‘Watermark Camera, Illumination Processing’) and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is luminance-only image data acquisition in which a single luminance value is measured (Paragraph 0091 lines 1-12) for each pixel in any image (Paragraph 0069 lines 1-15).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that the first acquisition computer is a camera with spectral parameters to detect watermarks, wherein the watermark data may be associated with a collection of metadata in a database including, a lengthy set of attributes about the plastic used in the item, such as its chemistry and properties, non-plastic information, such as dimensions of the item, whether the item was used as a food container or not, whether the package is a multi-layer composite or includes a sleeve, the corporate brand responsible for the item, etc. (Paragraph 0043 lines 15). Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) further explains that the watermark may be detected by capturing frames with a camera system under a particular illumination spectrum (Paragraph 0091 lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the first acquisition computer is a camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is luminance-only image data acquisition in which a single luminance value is measured for each pixel in any image as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to detect watermark data which may provide additional information regarding the materials.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include a particular analyzing unit in order to perform an inspection suitable for a particular material identification, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP § 2144.07
Moreover, legal precedent teaches that variations in these type of common design parameters/variables are obvious and that said parameters can be recognized as result-effective variables whose optimization would be known to one with ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.IV (teaching that changes in size, proportion or shape of known elements are obvious); 2144.05 I.II (ample motivation to optimize or modify result-effective variables based on “design need(s)” or “market demand”).
Regarding claim 4, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the system of claim 3, wherein the first acquisition computer is a visible-light camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm.
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a system for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the first acquisition computer is a visible-light camera (Paragraph 0091 lines 9-10) and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm (Paragraph 0091 lines 1-12).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that the first acquisition computer is a camera with spectral parameters to detect watermarks, wherein the watermark data may be associated with a collection of metadata in a database including, a lengthy set of attributes about the plastic used in the item, such as its chemistry and properties, non-plastic information, such as dimensions of the item, whether the item was used as a food container or not, whether the package is a multi-layer composite or includes a sleeve, the corporate brand responsible for the item, etc. (Paragraph 0043 lines 15). Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) further explains that the watermark may be detected by capturing frames with a camera system under a particular illumination spectrum (Paragraph 0091 lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the first acquisition computer is a visible-light camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to detect watermark data which may provide additional information regarding the materials.
Regarding claim 5, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the system of claim 3, wherein the first acquisition computer is an infrared camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 700nm and about 5µm.
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a system for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the first acquisition computer is an infrared camera (Paragraph 0091 lines 8-12) and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 700nm and about 5µm (Paragraph 0091 lines 5-12).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that the first acquisition computer is a camera with spectral parameters to detect watermarks, wherein the watermark data may be associated with a collection of metadata in a database including, a lengthy set of attributes about the plastic used in the item, such as its chemistry and properties, non-plastic information, such as dimensions of the item, whether the item was used as a food container or not, whether the package is a multi-layer composite or includes a sleeve, the corporate brand responsible for the item, etc. (Paragraph 0043 lines 15). Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) further explains that the watermark may be detected by capturing frames with a camera system under a particular spectrum (Paragraph 0091 lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the first acquisition computer is an infrared camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 700nm and about 5µm as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to detect watermark data which may provide additional information regarding the materials.
Regarding claim 6, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the system of claim 1, wherein the second acquisition computer is a hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is hyperspectral imagery in which a spectrum is measured for each pixel in any image.
Geurts (EP 3896602) however states that the analyzing unit is configured to perform at least one of an energy or wavelength dispersive X-ray fluorescence (XRF) spectrometry, (near) infra-red (NIR) spectroscopy, hyperspectral spectroscopy, x-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis, or the like (Paragraph 0039 lines 1-7), and the sensory system may include a color imaging unit configured to take color images (Paragraph 0049 lines 1-2).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a system for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the second acquisition computer is a hyperspectral camera (Fig. 17 ‘NIR/AI Camera, Illumination, Processing’, Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16) and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is hyperspectral imagery (Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16) in which a spectrum is measured for each pixel in any image (Paragraph 0222 lines 12-16).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that spectroscopy (including hyperspectral techniques) commonly determines a spectral signature of plastic resin by identifying the resins optical absorption at a variety of different wavelengths (Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the second acquisition computer is a hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is hyperspectral imagery in which a spectrum is measured for each pixel in any image as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to identify a specific plastic resin within the residual materials.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include a particular analyzing unit in order to perform an inspection suitable for a particular material identification, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP § 2144.07
Moreover, legal precedent teaches that variations in these type of common design parameters/variables are obvious and that said parameters can be recognized as result-effective variables whose optimization would be known to one with ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.IV (teaching that changes in size, proportion or shape of known elements are obvious); 2144.05 I.II (ample motivation to optimize or modify result-effective variables based on “design need(s)” or “market demand”).
Regarding claim 7, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the system of claim 6, wherein the second acquisition computer is a visible-light hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm.
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a system for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the second acquisition computer is a visible-light hyperspectral camera (Fig. 17 ‘NIR/AI Camera, Illumination, Processing’, Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16) and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm (Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that spectroscopy (including hyperspectral techniques) commonly determines a spectral signature of plastic resin by identifying the resins optical absorption at a variety of different wavelengths (Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the second acquisition computer is a visible-light hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to identify a specific plastic resin within the residual materials.
Regarding claim 8, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the system of claim 6, wherein the second acquisition computer is an infrared hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering an infrared range between about 700nm and about 5µm.
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a system for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the second acquisition computer is an infrared hyperspectral camera (Fig. 17 ‘NIR/AI Camera, Illumination, Processing’, Paragraph 0211 line 1-Paragraph 0212 line 16) and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering an infrared range between about 700nm and about 5µm (Paragraph 0211 lines 1-4).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that near infrared spectroscopy determines a spectral signature of plastic resin by identifying the resins optical absorption at a variety of different wavelengths (Paragraph 0211 line 1-Paragraph 0212 line 16, Paragraph 0248 lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the second acquisition computer is an infrared hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering an infrared range between about 700nm and about 5µm as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to identify a specific plastic resin within the residual materials.
Regarding claim 12, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the method of claim 10, wherein the first acquisition computer is a camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is luminance-only image data acquisition in which a single luminance value is measured for each pixel in any image.
Geurts (EP 3896602) however states that the analyzing unit is configured to perform at least one of an energy or wavelength dispersive X-ray fluorescence (XRF) spectrometry, (near) infra-red (NIR) spectroscopy, hyperspectral spectroscopy, x-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis, or the like (Paragraph 0039 lines 1-7), and the sensory system may include a color imaging unit configured to take color images (Paragraph 0049 lines 1-2).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a method for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the first acquisition computer is a camera (Fig. 17 ‘Watermark Camera, Illumination Processing’) and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is luminance-only image data acquisition in which a single luminance value is measured (Paragraph 0091 lines 1-12) for each pixel in any image (Paragraph 0069 lines 1-15).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that the first acquisition computer is a camera with spectral parameters to detect watermarks, wherein the watermark data may be associated with a collection of metadata in a database including, a lengthy set of attributes about the plastic used in the item, such as its chemistry and properties, non-plastic information, such as dimensions of the item, whether the item was used as a food container or not, whether the package is a multi-layer composite or includes a sleeve, the corporate brand responsible for the item, etc. (Paragraph 0043 lines 15). Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) further explains that the watermark may be detected by capturing frames with a camera system under a particular illumination spectrum (Paragraph 0091 lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the first acquisition computer is a camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is luminance-only image data acquisition in which a single luminance value is measured for each pixel in any image as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to detect watermark data which may provide additional information regarding the materials.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include a particular analyzing unit in order to perform an inspection suitable for a particular material identification, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP § 2144.07
Moreover, legal precedent teaches that variations in these type of common design parameters/variables are obvious and that said parameters can be recognized as result-effective variables whose optimization would be known to one with ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.IV (teaching that changes in size, proportion or shape of known elements are obvious); 2144.05 I.II (ample motivation to optimize or modify result-effective variables based on “design need(s)” or “market demand”).
Regarding claim 13, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the method of claim 12, wherein the first acquisition computer is a visible-light camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm.
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a method for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the first acquisition computer is a visible-light camera (Paragraph 0091 lines 9-10) and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm (Paragraph 0091 lines 1-12).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that the first acquisition computer is a camera with spectral parameters to detect watermarks, wherein the watermark data may be associated with a collection of metadata in a database including, a lengthy set of attributes about the plastic used in the item, such as its chemistry and properties, non-plastic information, such as dimensions of the item, whether the item was used as a food container or not, whether the package is a multi-layer composite or includes a sleeve, the corporate brand responsible for the item, etc. (Paragraph 0043 lines 15). Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) further explains that the watermark may be detected by capturing frames with a camera system under a particular illumination spectrum (Paragraph 0091 lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the first acquisition computer is a visible-light camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to detect watermark data which may provide additional information regarding the materials.
Regarding claim 14, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the method of claim 12, wherein the first acquisition computer is an infrared camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 700nm and about 5µm.
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a method for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the first acquisition computer is an infrared camera (Paragraph 0091 lines 8-12) and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 700nm and about 5µm (Paragraph 0091 lines 5-12).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that the first acquisition computer is a camera with spectral parameters to detect watermarks, wherein the watermark data may be associated with a collection of metadata in a database including, a lengthy set of attributes about the plastic used in the item, such as its chemistry and properties, non-plastic information, such as dimensions of the item, whether the item was used as a food container or not, whether the package is a multi-layer composite or includes a sleeve, the corporate brand responsible for the item, etc. (Paragraph 0043 lines 15). Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) further explains that the watermark may be detected by capturing frames with a camera system under a particular illumination spectrum (Paragraph 0091 lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the first acquisition computer is an infrared camera and the first image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 700nm and about 5µm as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to detect watermark data which may provide additional information regarding the materials.
Regarding claim 15, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the method of claim 10, wherein the second acquisition computer is a hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is hyperspectral imagery in which a spectrum is measured for each pixel in any image.
Geurts (EP 3896602) however states that the analyzing unit is configured to perform at least one of an energy or wavelength dispersive X-ray fluorescence (XRF) spectrometry, (near) infra-red (NIR) spectroscopy, hyperspectral spectroscopy, x-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis, or the like (Paragraph 0039 lines 1-7), and the sensory system may include a color imaging unit configured to take color images (Paragraph 0049 lines 1-2).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a method for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the second acquisition computer is a hyperspectral camera (Fig. 17 ‘NIR/AI Camera, Illumination, Processing’, Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16) and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is hyperspectral imagery (Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16) in which a spectrum is measured for each pixel in any image (Paragraph 0222 lines 12-16).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that spectroscopy (including hyperspectral techniques) commonly determines a spectral signature of plastic resin by identifying the resins optical absorption at a variety of different wavelengths (Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the second acquisition computer is a hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a type of spectral image data acquisition which is hyperspectral imagery in which a spectrum is measured for each pixel in any image as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to identify a specific plastic resin within the residual materials.
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include a particular analyzing unit in order to perform an inspection suitable for a particular material identification, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP § 2144.07
Moreover, legal precedent teaches that variations in these type of common design parameters/variables are obvious and that said parameters can be recognized as result-effective variables whose optimization would be known to one with ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.IV (teaching that changes in size, proportion or shape of known elements are obvious); 2144.05 I.II (ample motivation to optimize or modify result-effective variables based on “design need(s)” or “market demand”).
Regarding claim 16, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the method of claim 15, wherein the second acquisition computer is a visible-light hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm.
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a method for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the second acquisition computer is a visible-light hyperspectral camera (Fig. 17 ‘NIR/AI Camera, Illumination, Processing’, Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16) and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm (Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that spectroscopy (including hyperspectral techniques) commonly determines a spectral signature of plastic resin by identifying the resins optical absorption at a variety of different wavelengths (Paragraph 0212 lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the second acquisition computer is a visible-light hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering a visible-light range between about 400nm and about 800nm as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to identify a specific plastic resin within the residual materials.
Regarding claim 17, Geurts (EP 3896602) lacks teaching the method of claim 15, wherein the second acquisition computer is an infrared hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering an infrared range between about 700nm and about 5µm.
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) teaches a method for monitoring a flow of mixed residual materials on a conveyor (Paragraph 0006 line 1-Paragraph 0007 line 3), wherein the second acquisition computer is an infrared hyperspectral camera (Fig. 17 ‘NIR/AI Camera, Illumination, Processing’, Paragraph 0211 line 1-Paragraph 0212 line 16) and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering an infrared range between about 700nm and about 5µm (Paragraph 0211 lines 1-4).
Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) explains that near infrared spectroscopy determines a spectral signature of plastic resin by identifying the resins optical absorption at a variety of different wavelengths (Paragraph 0211 line 1-Paragraph 0212 line 16, Paragraph 0248 lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geurts (EP 3896602) to include wherein the second acquisition computer is an infrared hyperspectral camera and the second image acquisition spectral parameters comprise a spectral range of operation covering an infrared range between about 700nm and about 5µm as taught by Filler et al. (US 2021/0299706) in order to identify a specific plastic resin within the residual materials.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sharma et al. (WO 2020/186234) teaches digital marking of items for recycling which inspects pixels in a camera-captured image.
/MOLLY K DEVINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3653