DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hazeghi (US 20160127713, of record) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an apparatus, in at least (Figs. 4-6): comprising: an optical element (600) having a first surface (520) and a second surface (530), wherein the first and second surfaces (530) are on opposite sides of the optical element (600) from one another, the first surface (520) being structured to collimate ([0066]) a light beam (502) incident on the first surface (520), and the second surface (530) being structured to provide correction to collimation ([0066] collimated beams, collimation) imparted by the first surface (520) and to provide at least one of optical fan-out ([0006] diffuse modulated illumination, illumination pattern) or diffusion ([0006] diffuse modulated illumination, illumination pattern) for the light beam (502).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein a structure of the first surface (520) that is operable to collimate ([0066]) the light beam (502) has more high-frequency ([0093]); components than a structure of the second surface (530) that is operable to provide the correction to the collimation ([0066]; collimated beams, collimation) imparted by the first surface (520).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein a structure of the first surface (520) that is operable to collimate ([0066]) the light beam (502) corresponds to a first component ([0063], [0070]) of a phase function ([0063] and [0070]), and a structure of the second surface (530) that is operable to provide the correction to the collimation ([0066] collimated beams, collimation) imparted by the first surface (520) corresponds to a second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]), wherein a maximum gradient ([0053]) of the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]) is less than a maximum gradient ([0053]) of the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 3, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein a maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]) is less than a maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 4, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein the maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]) is no more than 10% of the maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein the second surface (530) is structured to provide optical fan-out ([0006] diffuse modulated illumination, illumination pattern) for the light beam (502), and wherein the optical fan-out ([0006] diffuse modulated illumination, illumination pattern) is provided by a discrete periodic surface relief structure ([0071]) on the second surface (530).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein the second surface (530) is structured to provide diffusion ([0006] diffuse modulated illumination, illumination pattern) for the light beam (502), and wherein the diffusion ([0006] diffuse modulated illumination, illumination pattern) is provided by a discrete non-periodic surface relief structure ([0071]) on the second surface (530).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein the second surface (530) is structured to provide optical fan-out ([0006] diffuse modulated illumination, illumination pattern) for the light beam (502), and wherein the optical fan-out ([0006] diffuse modulated illumination, illumination pattern) is operable to split the light beam (502) into a predetermined number of diffractive orders ([0105]) at respective angles ([0053]).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); further including: a light emitter operable to emit light toward the first surface (520) of the optical element (600), wherein the optical element (600) is disposed so that the light passes through the optical element (600), and the optical element (600) projects a pattern ([0006]) using the light ([0006]).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches A method comprising: splitting a phase function ([0063] and [0070]) into first and second components ([0063], [0070]), wherein the first component ([0063], [0070]) represents collimation ([0066] collimated beams, collimation) to be implemented on a first surface (520 of an optical element (600), and the second component ([0063], [0070]) represents a collimation ([0066] collimated beams, collimation) correction to be implemented on a second surface (530) of the optical element (600); combining at least one of a fan-out phase function ([0063] and [0070]) or a diffusion ([0006] diffuse modulated illumination, illumination pattern) phase function ([0063] and [0070]) with the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the collimator phase function ([0063] and [0070]) to obtain a combined phase function ([0063] and [0070]); determining a first optical element (600) structure corresponding to the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the collimator phase function ([0063] and [0070]); determining a second optical element (600) structure corresponding to the combined phase function ([0063] and [0070]); and fabricating an optical device (106) including a substrate (600) that has a first surface (520) and a second surface (530) respectively on opposite sides of the substrate (600), wherein the first optical element (600) structure is on the first surface (520), and wherein the second optical element (600) structure is on the second surface (530).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein a maximum gradient ([0053]) of the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]) is less than a maximum gradient ([0053]) of the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 11, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein a maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]) is less than a maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein the maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]) is no more than 10% of the maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein the first optical element (600) structure for the collimation ([0066] collimated beams, collimation) has more high-frequency ([0093]); components than the second optical element (600) structure for providing the correction to the collimation ([0066] collimated beams, collimation).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); including combining the fan-out phase function ([0063] and [0070]) with the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the collimator phase function ([0063] and [0070]) to obtain the combined phase function ([0063] and [0070]), the method further including: before combining the fan-out phase function ([0063] and [0070]) with the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the collimator phase function ([0063] and [0070]) to obtain a combined phase function ([0063] and [0070]), converting a fan-out structure to a corresponding fan-out phase function ([0063] and [0070]); and subsequently using the corresponding fan-out phase function ([0063] and [0070]) as the fan-out phase function ([0063] and [0070]) that is combined with the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the collimator phase function ([0063] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein fabricating the optical device (106) includes forming the first (520) and second (530) optical element (600) structures, respectively, on the first and second surfaces (530) of the substrate (600) by nano wafer-level replication ([0069]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches a method comprising: splitting a phase function ([0063] and [0070]) into first and second components ([0063], [0070]), wherein the first component ([0063], [0070]) represents collimation ([0066] collimated beams, collimation) to be implemented on a first surface (520) of an optical element (600), and the second component ([0063], [0070]) represents a collimation ([0066] collimated beams, collimation) correction to be implemented on a second surface (530) of the optical element (600); converting the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the collimator phase function ([0063] and [0070]) to a corresponding first optical element (600) structure; converting the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]) to a corresponding second optical element (600) structure; combining a fan-out structure with the second optical element (600) structure to obtain a combined optical element (600) structure; fabricating an optical device (106) including a substrate (600) that has a first surface (520) and a second surface (530) respectively on opposite sides of the substrate (600), wherein the first optical element (600) structure in on the first surface (520), and wherein the combined optical element (600) structure is on the second surface (530).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein a maximum gradient ([0053]) of the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]) is less than a maximum gradient ([0053]) of the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 18, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein a maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]) is less than a maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 19, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein the maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the second component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]) is no more than 10% of the maximum amplitude ([0099]) of the first component ([0063], [0070]) of the phase function ([0063] and [0070]).
With regard to claim 21, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 17, wherein D1 further teaches an optical element (600), in at least (Figs. 4-6; and [0006], [0066]); wherein fabricating the optical device (106) includes forming the first and combined optical element (600) structures, respectively, on the first and second surfaces (530) of the substrate (600) by nano wafer-level replication ([0069]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872