DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered all references in the Information Disclosure Statement filed November 22, 2024, except where lined through. The Examiner was unable to consider the Nederland document NL 7809263 because its attached translation is FR 2230276 A1, a French document.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 – 14 and 18 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "first and/or second connecting arrangement" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the connecting arrangement" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "said arrangement" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the longitudinal support" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "central module" in lines 4 – 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first connecting arrangement" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the second connecting arrangement" in lines 2 – 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 19 depends from claim 18, and therefore, is rejected for the same reason.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the lifting module" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 21 depends from claim 20, and therefore is also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7 – 13, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by patent number US 4,186,811 to Bidon.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 7 – 13, 15 and 18, Bidon discloses a construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Fig. 3, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18):
[Claim 1] comprising two drive modules (front section 101a and rear section 101b), which are releasably connected to one another (Fig. 3), each comprising at least one driven axle (two axles, Col. 8. Lns. 1 – 3; hydraulic motor 115), wherein at least one of the two drive modules comprises an axle having steerable wheels (at least two sets of driving and steering wheels, Abstract) at least one cab module (cab 104, attached indirectly to the chassis 1), which is connectable to each of the two drive modules, and a controller (control means, Col. 7, Lns. 35 – 40) for the two drive modules, which is connected to the at least one cab module, wherein the drive modules comprise a first mechanical connecting arrangement (shaft portions 110, Col. 8, Lns. 40 – 42), via which they are connected, and wherein the cab module is connected to any one of the two drive modules via a second mechanical connecting arrangement (via upper platform 114);
[Claim 2] the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18 ) according to claim 1, wherein one of the drive modules is designed as a service module, which comprises an electrical and/or hydraulic supply means for the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18; rear section 101B comprises an internal combustion engine 118 and hydraulic pump 120, while front section 101a comprises two batteries 116; Col. 9, Lns. 16 – 31);
[Claim 7] the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 1, wherein both drive modules comprise steerable wheels (at least two sets of driving and steering wheels, Abstract), and the steering intensity of the wheels of one drive module can preferably be controlled independently of the steering intensity of the wheels of the other drive module (individual hydraulic motors 115, See Fig. 4);
[Claim 8] the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 1, wherein at least one control unit for the steering axles of the two drive modules (front section 101a and rear section 101b) is arranged in the cab of the at least one cab module (cab 104, attached directly and indirectly to the chassis 1; Col. 8, Lns. 18 – 24);
[Claim 9] the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 1, characterized in that the drive modules comprise a chassis (chassis 1), which is approximately cuboid in shape and has a height that is less than its width and length (See Figs. 3 and 4 the chassis 1 is attached indirectly and directly to the modules 101a and 101b);
[Claim 10] the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 9, whereinthe chassis (chassis 1) is flat (See Fig. 3), and the heights of the two drive modules (front section 101a and rear section 101b) are identical (when including the hydraulic raising devices 138 on the rear section 101b and the hydraulic raising device 139 on the front section 101a, two modules have the same height, See Fig. 3);
[Claim 11] the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 1, wherein the first and/or second connecting arrangement for connecting the modules is/are formed by interlocking connections of the groove or spring type (forks and brackets, Col. 8, Lns. 38 – 40);
[Claim 12] the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 11, wherein the connecting arrangement on the drive modules comprises end-side slots (forks 108), in particular on the longitudinal support (portions 107a and 107b) of said arrangement, which are penetrated by protruding engagement plates (brackets 109) on the cab module (cab 104, attached indirectly to the chassis 1) or central module in a connecting position (See Fig. 3);
[Claim 13] the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 12, wherein (shaft portions 110, Fig. 3, Col. 8, Lns. 40 – 42);
[Claim 15] the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the two drive modules (front section 101a and rear section 101b) comprises separately suspended wheels and/or separately driven wheels (each section 101a and 101b have separate wheels 102 and 103, respectively); and
[Claim 18] the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle comprises a lifting module (hydraulic raising device 138 and 139) having vertical hydraulic support cylinders (jacks 143) for connection between the cab module and the drive module (the latter portion of this claim is functional language).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bidon.
Regarding claim 3, Bidon discloses the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 1 (in the embodiment shown in Figure 3), but does not teach wherein a cab of the at least one cab module is laterally supported in a movable manner thereon, in particular in that the cab module comprises a horizontal carriage guide for the horizontal position of the cab of the cab module.
However, in the embodiment shown in Figures 1 and 2, Bidon discloses a cab (2) laterally supported in a movable manner, comprising a horizontal carriage guide (rollers 30 on section members 11, Fig. 1; Col. 7, Lns. 21 – 25) for the horizontal positioning of the cab of the cab module (Col. 7, Lns. 21 – 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Bidon’s machine as disclosed in the embodiment of Figures 3 and 4, such that the cab is horizontally positionable, a disclosed in the embodiment of Figures 1 and 2. This enables the operator better views of the raising mechanisms at either end of the machine.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Bidon discloses the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 3. Bidon further discloses the controller (control means, Col. 7, Lns. 35 – 40) comprising a unit for the coordinated steering of the wheels and the lateral positioning of the cab according to the inputs from a control element arranged in the at least one cab and/or according to distance sensors of the controller (control means, Col. 7, Lns. 35 – 40, the italicized portion of this claim is interpreted as functional language which the controller is capable of doing).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bidon, in view of patent document number CN 104724166 B to Zhang et al. (hereinafter referred to as Zhang).
Regarding claim 6, Bidon discloses the construction vehicle (agricultural tractor, Col. 4, Lns. 16 – 18) according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the two longitudinal ends of the vehicle each comprise a respective cab module.
However, Zhang discloses a hydraulic hanging heavy-loading vehicle (1) wherein there is a cab (12) at the two longitudinal ends thereof. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Bidon’s vehicle, such that there is a cab at both longitudinal ends of the vehicle to change the traveling direction of the vehicle without having to turn or spin the large construction machinery carried by the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 and 18 – 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Bidon discloses the construction vehicle according to claim 3, but does not further disclose wherein the cab is supported on the cab module in a height-adjustable manner, in particular by means of a height adjustment mechanism on the horizontal carriage guide of the cab unit.
Regarding claim 14, Bidon, discloses the construction vehicle according to claim 1, but does not disclose the first connecting arrangement and the second connecting arrangement are identical.
Regarding claim 16, Bidon discloses the construction vehicle according to claim 1, but does not disclose the vehicle comprises a central module that connects the two drive modules, which central module preferably comprises baseplates for the transport of heavy loads. Claim 17 depends from claim 16, and therefore, also contains allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 19, Bidon discloses the construction vehicle according to claim 18, but does not teach the lifting module is designed to be integrated into the cab module.
Regarding claim 20, Bidon discloses the construction vehicle according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the vehicle comprises a crane module having at least one hydraulically swivelable support arm for connection between the cab module on the one hand and the drive module or the lifting module on the other hand, wherein the crane module can be designed to be integral with the cab module. Claim 21 depends from claim 20, and therefore, also contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/Felicia L. Brittman-Alabi/ Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611