DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/14/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Favero (US PGPUB 2023/0051267 A1, hereinafter Favero).
Regarding claim 1, Favero teaches a pedal shaft for a pedal-type power meter (see Abstract; see also Fig. 2 and 3, pedal shaft 2 for a pedal-type power meter described), the pedal shaft comprising: a hollow shaft configured such that a pedal is rotatably attached to the hollow shaft (see Fig. 3 and [0030], hollow shaft 2 configured such that a pedal 5 is rotatable attached); a strain gauge attached to an outer peripheral surface of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 3 and [0032], sensor circuit 8 including strain gauges attached to the outer surface of hollow shaft 2); and a processing circuit disposed at an interior space of the hollow shaft and configured to process an output from the strain gauge (see Fig. 3 and [0032], processing circuit 9 disposed at an interior space of the hollow shaft 2 processes the output from the strain gauges of sensor circuit 8 as described).
Regarding claim 2, Favero above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Favero teaches a connection hole connecting the outer peripheral surface and the interior space with each other is provided at the hollow shaft, and a wiring line connecting the strain gauge and the processing circuit with each other is disposed at the connection hole and the interior space (see Fig. 3, connection hole connecting the outer peripheral surface and the interior space with each other is provided at the hollow shaft 2 for wiring line connecting the strain gauge of the sensor circuit 8 and the processing circuit 9 with each other as shown).
Regarding claim 6, Favero above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Favero teaches that the hollow shaft has a cylindrical shape (see Fig. 3, hollow shaft 2 has cylindrical shape as shown), and the interior space is defined by a recessed hole or through hole extending in an axial direction of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 3, hollow shaft 2 as recessed hole or through hole in an axial direction forming the interior spaces 11 and 12).
Regarding claim 11, Favero above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Favero teaches a screw part configured to attach the pedal shaft to a crank is provided at one end part of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 3 and [0028], screw part at first end 2a attaches the pedal shaft 2 to the crank 3), and a screw part configured to attach the pedal to the pedal shaft is provided at another end part of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 3 and [0059], screw part (threaded cap) 15 provided at the second end 2b of the hollow shaft 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 7-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favero as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sasaki (US PGPUB 2016/0052583 A1, hereinafter Sasaki).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Favero above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2.
Favero above fails to specifically teach that a plurality of the connection holes are provided at equal intervals in a circumferential direction of the hollow shaft; or wherein the connection hole is a long hole with a longitudinal direction aligned with an axial direction of the hollow shaft.
Sasaki teaches a pedal shaft for a pedal-type power meter (see Abstract; see also [0064]-[0074]; see also Fig. 5 and 6, pedal shaft 22 for pedal-type power meter shown and described); wherein the pedal shaft comprises a hollow shaft (22) and strain gauges attached to the peripheral surface of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 5 and 6, strain gauges SS2, BS2 attached as shown to shaft 22) and connected to a processing circuit (28) via wring through connection holes in the hollow shaft (see Fig. 6, connection holes (bores) 22b provided for wiring as shown), wherein a plurality of the connection holes are provided at equal intervals in a circumferential direction of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 5, 6, and 11, plurality of connection holes 22b provide at equal intervals around the hollow shaft 22 as shown); and wherein the connection hole is a long hole with a longitudinal direction aligned with an axial direction of the hollow shaft see Fig. 5 and 6, connection holes 22b are elongated in the axial direction of the hollow shaft 22 as shown).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Favero with the connection hole configuration of Sasaki. This allows for wiring for multiple strain gauges around the circumference to be provided with wiring for measurement as suggested by Sasaki (see [0070]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Favero above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Favero above fails to teach that a plurality of flat surfaces each extending in a plane orthogonal to a radial direction of the hollow shaft are provided at the outer peripheral surface of the hollow shaft, the plurality of flat surfaces are provided at equal intervals in a circumferential direction of the hollow shaft, and the strain gauge is attached to each of the plurality of flat surfaces; wherein the plurality of flat surfaces are four flat surfaces.
Sasaki teaches a pedal shaft for a pedal-type power meter (see Abstract; see also [0064]-[0074]; see also Fig. 5 and 6, pedal shaft 22 for pedal-type power meter shown and described); wherein the pedal shaft comprises a hollow shaft (22) and strain gauges attached to the peripheral surface of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 5 and 6, strain gauges SS2, BS2 attached as shown to shaft 22) and connected to a processing circuit (28) via wring through connection holes in the hollow shaft (see Fig. 6, connection holes (bores) 22b provided for wiring as shown), and wherein a plurality of flat surfaces each extending in a plane orthogonal to a radial direction of the hollow shaft are provided at the outer peripheral surface of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 5 and 6, plurality of flat surface 44a extend in plane orthogonal to a radial direction and at the outer peripheral surface of the hollow shaft 22 as shown), the plurality of flat surfaces are provided at equal intervals in a circumferential direction of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 5, 6, and 11, and the strain gauge is attached to each of the plurality of flat surfaces at equal intervals in the circumferential direction of the hollow shaft 22 as shown); wherein the plurality of flat surfaces are four flat surfaces (see Fig. 5, 6, and 11, four flat surfaces 44a provided).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Favero with the strain gauge mounting configuration of Sasaki. This allows for multiple strain gauges to be attached around the circumference of the hollow shaft for measurement as suggested by Sasaki (see [0073]).
Regarding claim 9, Favero above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Favero above fails to specifically teach that the strain gauge includes a strain sensing part, a connection terminal configured to connect the strain sensing part to the processing circuit, and a base member formed with the strain sensing part and the connection terminal, and the base member is fixed to the hollow shaft at a region including the strain sensing part formed and is not fixed to the hollow shaft at a region including the connection terminal formed.
Sasaki teaches a pedal shaft for a pedal-type power meter (see Abstract; see also [0064]-[0074]; see also Fig. 5 and 6, pedal shaft 22 for pedal-type power meter shown and described); wherein the pedal shaft comprises a hollow shaft (22) and strain gauges attached to the peripheral surface of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 5 and 6, strain gauges SS2, BS2 attached as shown to shaft 22) and connected to a processing circuit (28) via wring through connection holes in the hollow shaft (see Fig. 6, connection holes (bores) 22b provided for wiring as shown), and wherein the strain gauge includes a strain sensing part (see Fig. 10, each strain gauge SS1, BS1, etc. includes a strain sensing part, considered the serpentine resistive element), a connection terminal configured to connect the strain sensing part to the processing circuit (see Fig. 10, each strain gauge SS1, BS1, etc. includes a connection terminal configured to connect to the processing circuit via lines L1, L2, etc.), and a base member formed with the strain sensing part and the connection terminal, and the base member is fixed to the hollow shaft at a region including the strain sensing part formed (see Fig. 5, 6, and 10, each strain gauge SS1, BS1, etc. includes a base member considered the substrate on which the strain sensing parts are located, and fixed to the hollow shaft in the regions 44a) and is not fixed to the hollow shaft at a region including the connection terminal formed (see Fig. 10, wherein the strain gauge G1 is mounted on top of the strain gauge G1 and thus considered to not be fixed to the hollow shaft in the area of the terminals connected to wiring L1).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Favero with the strain gauge mounting configuration of Sasaki. This allows for multiple strain gauges to be attached around the circumference of the hollow shaft for measurement as suggested by Sasaki (see [0073]).
Regarding claim 10, Favero as modified by Sasaki above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 9.
Favero as modified by Sasaki above fails to specifically teach that a recessed groove is provided at the outer peripheral surface of the hollow shaft, and the connection terminal of the strain gauge is located inside the recessed groove when viewed in a radial direction of the hollow shaft.
However, Sasaki further teaches that a recessed groove is provided at the outer peripheral surface of the hollow shaft, and the connection terminal of the strain gauge is located inside the recessed groove when viewed in a radial direction of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 5-6 and [0073], strain gauges SS1, BS1, etc. are provide on each surface 44a, which may be curved as described and thus considered by the Examiner as including a concave curvature (a groove) in which the strain gauges SS1, BS1, etc. are mounted).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the device of Favero with the strain gauge mounting configuration as further described by Sasaki. This allows for multiple strain gauges to be attached around the circumference of the hollow shaft for measurement as suggested by Sasaki (see [0073]).
Regarding claim 12, Favero above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Favero above fails to specifically teach that the strain gauge includes a plurality of gauges each including a strain sensing part, and a strain sensing direction of the strain sensing part of each of the plurality of strain gauges is aligned with an axial direction of the hollow shaft.
Sasaki teaches a pedal shaft for a pedal-type power meter (see Abstract; see also [0064]-[0074]; see also Fig. 5 and 6, pedal shaft 22 for pedal-type power meter shown and described); wherein the pedal shaft comprises a hollow shaft (22) and strain gauges attached to the peripheral surface of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 5 and 6, strain gauges SS2, BS2 attached as shown to shaft 22) and connected to a processing circuit (28) via wring through connection holes in the hollow shaft (see Fig. 6, connection holes (bores) 22b provided for wiring as shown), the strain gauge includes a plurality of gauges each including a strain sensing part (see Fig. 10, strain gauge includes a plurality of strain gauges BS1-BS4 each including a serpentine strain sensing part as shown), and a strain sensing direction of the strain sensing part of each of the plurality of strain gauges is aligned with an axial direction of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 9-11, plurality of strain gauges BS1-4 aligned along the axial direction A1 of the shaft as shown).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Favero with the strain gauge mounting configuration of Sasaki. This allows for multiple strain gauges to be attached around the circumference of the hollow shaft for measurement as suggested by Sasaki (see [0073]).
Regarding claim 13, Favero above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Favero above fails to specifically teach that the strain gauge includes a plurality of gauges each including a strain sensing part, and the plurality of gauges include a first gauge group with a strain sensing direction of each strain sensing part aligned with an axial direction of the hollow shaft, and a second gauge group with a strain sensing direction of each strain sensing part aligned with a circumferential direction of the hollow shaft.
Sasaki teaches a pedal shaft for a pedal-type power meter (see Abstract; see also [0064]-[0074]; see also Fig. 5 and 6, pedal shaft 22 for pedal-type power meter shown and described); wherein the pedal shaft comprises a hollow shaft (22) and strain gauges attached to the peripheral surface of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 5 and 6, strain gauges SS2, BS2 attached as shown to shaft 22) and connected to a processing circuit (28) via wring through connection holes in the hollow shaft (see Fig. 6, connection holes (bores) 22b provided for wiring as shown), wherein the strain gauge includes a plurality of gauges each including a strain sensing part (see Fig. 10, strain gauge includes a plurality of strain gauges BS1-BS4 each including a serpentine strain sensing part as shown), and the plurality of gauges include a first gauge group (BS1-4) with a strain sensing direction of each strain sensing part aligned with an axial direction of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 9-11, plurality of strain gauges BS1-4 aligned along the axial direction A1 of the shaft as shown), and a second gauge group (SS1-4) with a strain sensing direction of each strain sensing part aligned with a circumferential direction of the hollow shaft (see Fig. 9-11 and [0074], strain gauges SS1-4 aligned with a circumferential direction of the hollow shaft 22 as shown and described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Favero with the strain gauge mounting configuration of Sasaki. This allows for multiple strain gauges to be attached around the circumference of the hollow shaft for measurement as suggested by Sasaki (see [0073]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Favero in view of Sasaki above represents the best art of record. However, Favero in view of Sasaki fails to encompass all of the limitations of dependent claim 5.
Specifically, Favero in view of Sasaki fails to critically teach that the strain gauge includes two strain gauges arranged in an axial direction of the hollow shaft, the wiring line includes a flexible printed wiring board connected to the two strain gauges, and the flexible printed wiring board includes a slot extending in a direction intersecting the axial direction at a region located between the two strain gauges.
Hence the best prior art or record fails to teach the invention as set forth in dependent claim 5 and the examiner can find no teachings for a pedal shaft for a pedal-type power meter as particularly claimed and including the above limitations, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855