DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/22/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 10/22/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Geskes does not anticipate claim 1 (no secondary flow or double wall in header only housing). This is not found persuasive because applicant argues that the cavity does not form any secondary flow, however secondary flow can be considered any portion of the first fluid which may separate which fluid will naturally do, and claim 1 is written in the alternative. Additionally, the header portion containing and enclosing collar 13 has double walls by the wavy ends of 15. Additionally, addressing the alternative version of claim 1, where the secondary flow is from the second fluid, Kuroyanagi US 8,925,624 B2 clearly anticipate the subject matter of unamended claim 1 (see below).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation of “it” in multiple instances, wherein it is unclear what “it” is referring to. Specifically, it is unclear as to what the exact relationship the “it” have with the previous structure in the claim, since the term “it” is vague and has not differentiated how the “it” are distinct from the recited stricture in the claim. Since the metes and bounds of the limitation cannot be ascertained, the limitation is indefinite , the claim is rendered indefinite and determined to be an antecedent basis issue.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency from a claim that has been rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuroyanagi US 8,925,624 B2.
Re claim 1, Kuroyanagi teach a heat exchanger device for aircraft turbomachine, comprising a heat exchanger body (110 body) , an upstream hot-fluid header (annotated fig) attached to the heat exchanger body and configured to collect a first fluid (“gas” fig 7) at a first temperature and to feed it to the heat exchanger body, an upstream cold-fluid header (annotated fig) attached to the heat exchanger body and configured to collect a second fluid (“water”) at a second temperature lower than the first temperature and to feed it to the heat exchanger body , at least the upstream hot-fluid header comprising a double wall (two wall forming in between two headers where “water” arrows enter 140 right side fig 7, 140a, 140b walls forming double wall structure) forming a peripheral cavity (140d, 151, 136c, 133b) surrounding a main cavity configured to receive a main flow of the first fluid (fig 7), the peripheral cavity being configured to receive a secondary flow formed by a fraction of the first fluid or of the second fluid (flow of secondary fluid see branched water arrows fig 7).
For clarity, the recitation “…for aircraft turbomachine …”, “hot-fluid”, “cold-fluid”, have been considered a recitation of intended use. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, the prior art meets all of the structural limitations, and is therefore capable of performing the claimed recitations set forth above.
Re claim 2, Kuroyanagi teach comprising a downstream cold-fluid header (annotated fig) attached to the heat exchanger body and configured to collect the second fluid flowing from the heat exchanger body , the fraction being a fraction of the second fluid flowing into the upstream cold-fluid header-, the upstream hot-fluid header being configured to collect said fraction of the second fluid, and to feed said fraction to the downstream cold-fluid header by means of the peripheral cavity (fig 7).
Re claim 3, Kuroyanagi teach wherein the peripheral cavity comprises at least one inlet section (annotated fig) opening in a main cavity- of the upstream cold-fluid header (fig 7), the inlet section being configured to collect the fraction of the second fluid and being arranged at a first junction (annotated fig) between the upstream cold-fluid header , the upstream hot-fluid header and the heat exchanger body (fig 7 between extremities).
Re claim 4, Kuroyanagi teach wherein the peripheral cavity comprises at least one outlet section (annotated fig) opening in a main cavity of the downstream cold-fluid header (fig 7), the outlet section being configured to inject the fraction of the second fluid flowing into the peripheral cavity into the downstream cold-fluid header , and being arranged at a second junction (annotated fig) between the downstream cold-fluid header , the upstream hot-fluid header and the heat exchanger body (fig 7 between extremities).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geskes US 11655745 B2.
Re claim 1, Geskes US 11655745 B2 teach a heat exchanger device for aircraft turbomachine, comprising a heat exchanger body (middle section of 2 and interior of 2 middle section top include middle section of 7 and channels surrounding 7) , an upstream hot-fluid header (18, annotated figure ) attached to the heat exchanger body and configured to collect a first fluid at a first temperature and to feed it to the heat exchanger body, an upstream cold-fluid header (8) attached to the heat exchanger body and configured to collect a second fluid at a second temperature lower than the first temperature and to feed it to the heat exchanger body , at least the upstream hot-fluid header comprising a double wall forming a peripheral cavity surrounding a main cavity configured to receive a main flow of the first fluid (col 5), the peripheral cavity being configured to receive a secondary flow formed by a fraction of the first fluid or of the second fluid (col 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20160131431 A1, US 20150041108 A1, US 20080073059 A1, US 6311678 B1, US 4768584 A, US 4685292 A.
/GORDON A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3763