DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 & 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Eldridge et al (U.S. PGPub # 2007/0139061).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Eldridge teaches:
An electrical connecting apparatus comprising:
a wiring board (Fig. 2 Element 202, the wiring substrate. See paragraphs 0058-0059, 0062, & elsewhere.) electrically connected to a testing device (Paragraph 0059 wherein it states that the “Wiring substrate 202 can include channel connectors 208 for making electrical connections with the communications channels to and from the tester (not shown).”);
a probe board (Fig. 2 Element 209. See paragraphs 0066-0068.) provided on a bottom surface side of the wiring board (Fig. 2 Elements 202 and 209 wherein 202 is depicted above 209. See paragraphs 0066-0068.) and having one or more probe attachment parts (Fig. 3A-3C Elements 209, 230, 236, & 238. See paragraphs 0068 & 0072-0077.) on which a plurality of probes are mounted for each electrode terminal of a test subject that has one or more electrode terminals (Fig. 3A-3C Elements 209, 230, 236, & 238. See paragraphs 0068 & 0072-0077.), the plurality of probes being electrically contacted with the corresponding electrode terminals (Fig. 3A-3C Elements 209, 230, 236, & 238. See paragraphs 0068 & 0072-0077.); and
a cover member that adjusts flatness of the probe board and has at least one or more flatness adjustment mechanisms provided corresponding to each of the probe attachment parts of the probe board (Fig. 2 & 3A Elements 204 & 206, the stiffener and adjustment plate, respectively. See also Fig. 4 Elements 204 & 206 wherein these elements clearly show inclination adjustment.).
Regarding claim 2, Eldridge teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Eldridge teaches each of the flatness adjustment mechanisms comprises: a contact member placed on a top surface of the wiring board to apply a load to the probe board through the wiring board (Fig. 4 Elements 204, 205, 202, & 209 wherein 204 & 206 apply pressure through 202, the wiring board or substrate. Fig. 2 & 3A-3C Elements 204 & 206, the stiffener and adjustment plate, respectively.); and an adjustment member that adjusts the load applied by the contact member to the probe board (See Fig. 4 wherein 209 is shown changing inclination. Fig. 2 & 3A-3C Elements 204 & 206, the stiffener and adjustment plate, respectively.).
Regarding claim 3, Eldridge teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Eldridge teaches the adjustment member adjusts the load of the contact member by adjusting the pressure on the contact member on the wiring board (See Fig. 4 wherein 209 is shown changing inclination. Fig. 2 & 3C Elements 204 & 206, the stiffener and adjustment plate, respectively.).
Regarding claim 4, Eldridge teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Eldridge teaches the contact member has a contact portion that contacts the wiring board and a pressure receiving portion that transmits pressure from the adjustment member to the contact portion (Fig. 2 & 3C Elements 204 & 206, the stiffener and adjustment plate, respectively.), and a shape of the contact portion corresponds to a shape of the probe attachment portion (Fig. 2 & 3C Elements 204 & 206, the stiffener and adjustment plate, respectively.).
Regarding claim 6, Eldridge teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Eldridge teaches a reinforcing member provided on a top surface side of the wiring board (Fig. 2, 3A-3C, & 4 Elements 202, 204, & 206.), wherein a space is provided in a center of the reinforcing member on the wiring board, and the cover member having one or more of the flatness adjustment mechanisms is provided in the center of the reinforcing member (Fig. 2, 3A-3C, & 4 Elements 202, 204, & 206.).
Regarding claim 7, Eldridge teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Eldridge teaches the cover member having the flatness adjustment mechanism is removable from the reinforcing member (Fig. 2 wherein all elements are removable. Anything can be taken apart.).
Regarding claim 8, Eldridge teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Eldridge teaches the cover member is provided with the flatness adjustment mechanism for each of the probe attachment parts at the corresponding position of each of the probe attachment parts and the flatness adjustment mechanism at a position corresponding to a center of gravity of the probe board (Fig. 2 & 3A-3C Elements 204 & 206, the stiffener and adjustment plate, respectively. See also Fig. 4 Elements 204 & 206 wherein these elements clearly show inclination adjustment.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eldridge et al (U.S. PGPub # 2007/0139061) in view of Mulligan et al (U.S. Pat. # 6,407,568).
Regarding claim 5, Eldridge teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Eldridge teaches the contact member has a contact portion that contacts the wiring board and a pressure receiving portion that transmits pressure from the adjustment member to the contact portion (See Fig. 2, 3C, & 4 wherein all elements are in contact with one another and the system is meant to have all elements press against one another.).
Eldridge does not explicitly teach the contact portion has a collision avoidance portion that avoids collision with electronic components on the wiring board.
Mulligan teaches the contact portion has a collision avoidance portion that avoids collision with electronic components on the wiring board (Column 5 lines 25-29, column 4 lines 35-40, column 4 lines 50-67, & column 6 line 56 through column 7 line 14. See Fig. 4 & 6 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Mulligan to the teachings of Eldridge such that the contact portion would have a collision avoidance portion that avoids collision with electronic components on the wiring board because this allows on to prevent damage of the device under test as well as the probing structure itself.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant. Specifically, U.S. PGPub # 2019/0064219 depicts a similar set of structural elements as does U.S. PGPub # 2014/0028341.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858