DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 52, 56 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 45 recites the limitation "solid walled panels" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 46, 52, and 61 are rejected for use of the phrase “optionally”, limitations with the phrase “optionally” are not positively recited and it is unclear if the limitation is required in the prior art.
Claim 47 depends on a claim which has been cancelled.
Claim 56 is rejected as indefinite. The claim recites the limitation “ultraSTEEL”, which is a trademark. Per MPEP 2173.05(u) a trademark or trade name identifies the source of goods and not the goods themselves, it therefore does not identify or describe the physical or chemical characteristics of the material and the scope of the claim is uncertain.
Claims 46, 48, 49 are rejected as depending on a rejected claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 42-44, 46, 50, 53-55, 59 and 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravelle (US 20230028034 A1) in view of Haddeland (US 20240002150 A1).
Regarding claim 42, Gravelle teaches, a multi-temperature storage system (100) comprising:
A) a grid framework structure configured for supporting a robotic load handling device thereupon, said grid framework structure including (fig. 4 – grid (130) framework with robotic load handling devices (128):
i) a track system (122) including a plurality of tracks arranged in a grid pattern including a plurality of grid cells (fig. 3 – shows upper track layout (122) in grid pattern),
and ii) a supporting framework structure for supporting the track system above the ground to create a storage space with a plurality of storage columns (fig. 3 – columns (109) support upper track (122)),
each storage column (123) being arranged to store a stack of storage containers (127), such that when a robotic load handling device is operative on the track system one or more containers are lifted through a grid cell from a stack in a storage column ([0096] – lifting mechanism lifts vehicle and storage container through track layout),
wherein a portion of the storage system is contained within an enclosure (102/103),
said enclosure having an opening above the track system (109a) for allowing a robotic load handling device to move into and out of the enclosure,
B) a temperature control system including an inlet (duct work in chiller (111a) draws air from enclosure) for drawing a fluid from the enclosure,
a temperature control unit for heating or cooling the fluid to a temperature-controlled fluid (111a – chiller/heater/fan),
and an outlet for providing the temperature-controlled fluid into the enclosure such that the enclosure has a different temperature than the temperature external of the enclosure (duct work in chiller (111a) flows air into the enclosure);
Regarding claim 42, Gravelle fails to explicitly teach,
and C) at least one air curtain unit arranged above the track system, said at least one air curtain unit being arranged to recirculate the temperature controlled fluid from the enclosure to provide an air curtain across the opening of the enclosure so as to substantially contain the temperature controlled fluid within the enclosure and enable a robotic load handling device to move on the track system into and out of the enclosure.
Regarding claim 42, Haddeland teaches,
and C) at least one air curtain unit arranged above the track system, said at least one air curtain unit being arranged to recirculate the temperature controlled fluid from the enclosure to provide an air curtain across the opening of the enclosure so as to substantially contain the temperature controlled fluid within the enclosure and enable a robotic load handling device to move on the track system into and out of the enclosure ([0085] – air release area forms cold curtain/air curtain for vehicles being transported into temperature controller area) .
Gravelle and Haddeland are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of storage and material handling facilities. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gravelle’s multi temperature storage system to include the air curtain taught by Haddeland. As disclosed by Haddeland, the use of air curtains prevents air from moving freely between cooled uncooled areas, increasing system efficiency [0085].
Regarding claim 43, Gravelle teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 42,
wherein the enclosure is thermally insulating ([0066] – boundary walls are made of a thermally insulative material)
Regarding claim 44, Gravelle teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 42,
wherein the enclosure has a lower portion (figure above – enclosure spans below track system) below the track system and an upper portion above the track system (figure above – enclosure spans above track system),
the lower portion of the enclosure comprising: thermal insulating solid walled panels ([0066] – boundary walls are made of thermally insulating foam).
Regarding claim 46, Gravelle teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 43, wherein the upper portion of the enclosure comprises:
a thermally insulating cover having a top wall and downwardly extending sidewalls ([0061] -fig. 1 – shows sidewalls, ceiling is omitted from images for illustrative purposes),
optionally wherein at least one of the downwardly extending sidewalls includes the opening (fig. 1 – front sidewall includes openings).
Regarding claim 50, Gravelle teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 42, wherein the grid framework structure comprises:
a track support structure lying in a horizontal plane and being supported by the supporting framework structure (fig. 4 – horizontal grid members are track supports structure),
said track support structure including a first set of parallel track support members extending in a first direction and a second set of parallel track support members extending in a second direction (fig. 4 – grid framework form sets of parallel track support members),
the second direction being substantially perpendicular to the first direction such that the first and second set of parallel track support members are arranged in a grid pattern comprising a plurality of grid cells or grid spaces (fig. 4 – grid framework has parallel and perpendicular track support members);
and wherein the track system is mounted to the track support structure such that the grid cells of the track system correspond to the grid cells of the track support structure (track system (122) is mounted atop grid framework).
Regarding claim 53, Gravelle teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 42, comprising:
a plurality of guides extending substantially vertically between the track system and the floor (fig. 4 – vertical storage columns (123)),
the plurality of guides being arranged in a pattern for accommodating a plurality of stacks of storage containers between the plurality of guides and to guide the plurality of storage containers through a grid cell (fig. 4 – storage containers (127) are located within plurality of vertical storage columns (123)).
Regarding claim 54, Gravelle teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 53,
wherein the plurality of guides are configured and arranged for guiding one or more storage containers in a stack along a pair of diagonally opposing corners of the one or more storage containers (fig. 4 – guides form layout for storage containers (127) to stack along diagonally opposing corners).
Regarding claim 55, Gravelle teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 53, wherein each guide of the plurality of guides comprises:
two perpendicular bin guiding plates extending between the track system and the floor for accommodating a corner of a storage container (columns (123) and x-direction rails (129/130) form bin guiding plates).
Regarding claim 59, Gravelle teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 55, wherein each guide of the plurality of guides comprises:
a running surface for engaging with a grabber device of the robotic load handling device (fig. 4 - bin guiding plates form running surface – corner of bin grid),
and wherein the running surface is substantially smooth (fig. 4 – steel grid enclosure is shown to be smooth)
Regarding claim 60, Gravelle teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 42, comprising:
at least one inventory handling station arranged below the track system (fig. 1 – 114/115 – inventory workstation);
and wherein one or more of the grid cells of the track system defines a port for delivering and picking up a storage container to and from the inventory handling station ([0082] – elongated countertop comprises a picking port (117) for an RSV).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravelle (US 20230028034 A1) in view of Haddeland (US 20240002150 A1) as applied to claim 42 above, and further in view of Gillman (US 20140227509 A1). Gravelle and Haddeland disclose all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Regarding claim 45, Neither Gravelle or Haddeland explicitly disclose the multi-temperature storage system of claim 43,
wherein one or more of the thermal insulating solid walled panels comprises:
a structural insulation panel comprising a thermal insulation core sandwiched between at least two layers of structural board.
However, Gillman discloses, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 43,
wherein one or more of the thermal insulating solid walled panels comprises:
a structural insulation panel comprising a thermal insulation core sandwiched between at least two layers of structural board ([0003] – describes a structural insulation panel comprising an insulating layer of rigid polymer foam sandwiched between two layers of structural board) .
Gravelle, Haddeland and Gillman are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of cooling and insulation technologies. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gravelle’s multi temperature storage system to include the structural insulation panel disclosed by Gillman. Gravelle discloses the use of insulating panels, however the use of Gillman’s combined insulating and structural panels decreases cost and improves system efficiency by combining insulation with the structural framework of the storage system [Col 3 – lines 35-50].
Claims 47 -52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravelle (US 20230028034 A1) in view of Haddeland (US 20240002150 A1) as applied to claim 42 above, and further in view of Gravelle (US 20180148259 A1) – hereon referred to as Cowley. Gravelle and Haddeland disclose all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Regarding claim 47, Gravelle and Haddeland fail to explicitly teach, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 41, wherein the supporting framework structure comprises:
a plurality of prefabricated modular panels, said prefabricated modular panels being arranged in a three dimensional grid pattern including a first set of parallel prefabricated modular panels extending in the first direction
and a second set of parallel prefabricated modular panels extending in the second direction to define a plurality of grid cells.
Regarding claim 47, Cowley teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 41, wherein the supporting framework structure comprises:
a plurality of prefabricated modular panels, said prefabricated modular panels being arranged in a three-dimensional grid pattern including a first set of parallel prefabricated modular panels extending in the first direction ([0047] – each rail and each frame member is assembled from modular pieces so that the 3D grid structure can be expanded at any given time)
and a second set of parallel prefabricated modular panels extending in the second direction to define a plurality of grid cells ([0047] – each rail and each frame member is assembled from modular pieces so that the 3D grid structure can be expanded at any given time).
Gravelle, Haddeland and Cowley are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of storage and material handling facilities. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gravelle’s multi temperature storage system to include the modular construction disclosed by Cowley, as disclosed by Cowley [0047] the use of modular grid and track construction allows the size of the storage system to be constantly changed for user needs.
Regarding claim 48, Gravelle teaches, The multi-temperature storage system of claim 47,
wherein each of the grid cells of the supporting framework structure is sized to support a subset of the plurality of grid cells of the track system, said subset including two or more grid cells of the track system (fig. 3 – each of the grid cells supports the track and includes two or more grid cells).
Regarding claim 49, Gravelle teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 47, wherein at least one of the plurality of prefabricated modular panels comprises:
at least one of the thermal insulating solid walled panels ([0066] – boundary walls include insulating material).
Regarding claim 51, Gravelle and Haddeland fail to teach, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 50, wherein the track support structure comprises:
a plurality of prefabricated modular sub-track support structures that are assembled together to form the track support structure,
each of the plurality of prefabricated modular sub-track support structures including comprising two or more grid cells.
Regarding claim 52, Gravelle and Haddeland fail to explicitly teach, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 51, wherein the track system comprises:
a plurality of interconnected modular track sections, each track section of the plurality of interconnected modular track sections comprising substantially perpendicular elements so as to provide a track surface extending in the first direction and the second direction;
and optionally, wherein the plurality of track sections are assembled in the track system such that adjacent modular track sections in the track system meet between the areas of the grid framework structure where the first and second sets of track support members intersect or converge in the grid pattern.
Regarding claim 51, Cowley teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 50, wherein the track support structure comprises:
a plurality of prefabricated modular sub-track support structures that are assembled together to form the track support structure ([0047] – each rail and frame member is assembled from modular pieces so that the three-dimensional grid structure can be expanded at any given time),
each of the plurality of prefabricated modular sub-track support structures including comprising two or more grid cells (fig. 5 – rails and frame members span multiple grid cells).
Regarding claim 52, Cowley teaches the multi-temperature storage system of claim 51, wherein the track system comprises:
a plurality of interconnected modular track sections ([0047] – rails of track are assembled from modular pieces), each track section of the plurality of interconnected modular track sections comprising substantially perpendicular elements so as to provide a track surface extending in the first direction and the second direction ([0047] – pieces are both in the X-Y dimensions of the reference grid);
and optionally, wherein the plurality of track sections are assembled in the track system such that adjacent modular track sections in the track system meet between the areas of the grid framework structure where the first and second sets of track support members intersect or converge in the grid pattern ([0047] – upper members of track section are connected).
Gravelle, Haddeland and Cowley are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of storage and material handling facilities. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gravelle’s multi temperature storage system to include the modular construction disclosed by Cowley, as disclosed by Cowley [0047] the use of modular grid and track construction allows the size of the storage system to be constantly changed for user needs.
Claims 56-58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravelle (US 20230028034 A1) in view of Haddeland (US 20240002150 A1) as applied to claim 42 above, and further in view of Strickland (US 20180334793 A1). Gravelle and Haddeland disclose all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Regarding claim 56, Neither Gravelle or Haddeland explicitly disclose, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 55,
wherein each guide of the plurality of guides comprises: ultraSTEEL®.
Regarding claim 57, Neither Gravelle or Haddeland explicitly disclose the multi-temperature storage system of claim 55,
wherein at least a portion of the two perpendicular bin guiding plates is configured with texture of a continuous cold rolled pattern in the two perpendicular bin guiding plates.
Regarding claim 58, Neither Gravelle or Haddeland explicitly disclose the multi-temperature storage system of claim 57, wherein the texture comprises:
dimples or indentations.
Regarding claim 56, Strickland discloses, wherein each guide of the plurality of guides comprises: ultraSTEEL® ([0003] – ultrasteel studs/framing used for structural components such as framing/guides).
Regarding claim 57, Strickland discloses the multi-temperature storage system of claim 55,
wherein at least a portion of the two perpendicular bin guiding plates is configured with texture of a continuous cold rolled pattern in the two perpendicular bin guiding plates ([0003] – describes use of ultraSTEEL, (US Pat 6183879 B1) – US patent for ultraSTEEL describes the continuous cold rolled pattern of Ultrasteel).
Regarding claim 58, Strickland discloses the multi-temperature storage system of claim 57, wherein the texture comprises:
dimples or indentations ([0003] – describes use of ultraSTEEL, (US Pat 6183879 B1) – US patent for ultraSTEEL describes the continuous dimpled pattern of Ultrasteel).
Gravelle, Haddeland and Strickland are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of manufacturing and construction of metal structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gravelle’s storage container guides to include the ultraSteel, texture and dimples/indentations taught by Strickland. As disclosed by Strickland, the process of cold roll forming textured steel increases strength while decreasing weight, therefore increasing longevity and decreasing maintenance of the storage system.
Claim 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gravelle (US 20230028034 A1) in view of Haddeland (US 20240002150 A1) as applied to claim 42 above, and further in view of Ingram-Tedd (US 20210130094 A1). Gravelle and Haddeland disclose all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Regarding claim 61, Gravelle and Haddeland fail to teach, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 60, comprising:
a second supporting framework structure and a support platform for supporting the second supporting framework structure,
said support platform being raised above the ground by a plurality of legs so as to define an area under the support platform for accommodating the inventory handling station,
and optionally, wherein the second supporting framework structure is arranged below the track system such that the track system extends continuously across the supporting framework structure and the second supporting framework structure.
However, Ingram-Tedd teaches, the multi-temperature storage system of claim 60, comprising:
a second supporting framework structure (80) and a support platform for supporting the second supporting framework structure (fig. 5 – shows support platform below support structure (80)),
said support platform being raised above the ground by a plurality of legs (figure below) so as to define an area under the support platform for accommodating the inventory handling station (figure below – inventory handling station underneath platform);
and optionally, wherein the second supporting framework structure is arranged below the track system such that the track system extends continuously across the supporting framework structure and the second supporting framework structure (figure below – second supporting framework (80) is below track).
Gravelle, Haddeland and Ingram-Tedd are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are all in the field of storage and material handling facilities. Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gravelle’s multi temperature storage system to include the second supporting framework over the inventory station as taught by Ingram-Tedd, doing so increases system capacity by utilizing a higher percentage of available space for storage handling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Austrheim (US 2023/0314059 A1) – discloses a multi temperature storage system with an automatic grid-based storage and retrieval system
/J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652