DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/10/26 and 3/5/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (U.S. 2024/0284545) (hereinafter “Chang”). Chang teaches all of the limitations of the specified claims with the reasoning that follows.
Regarding claim 1, “a method performed by a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising: performing a procedure for configuring a first path related to a direct connection to a network” is anticipated by a remote UE 108 (first UE) that receives discovery messages and evaluates received signals, and sends a measurement report (performed procedure) to a gNB 112, where the measurement report includes signal quality measurements for candidate relay devices; and where the gNB 112 determines that communication with the remote UE device 108 should be switched from a direct connection to an indirect connection (configuring of first path) via a target relay UE device as shown in steps 402, 406, 408, 410, 412, and 414 of Figure 4A, and spoken of on page 4, paragraphs [0036]-[0038].
“Transmitting, to a second UE to be configured as a relay UE between the network and the first UE while the first UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state in which the first path is configured, a sidelink message for adding a second path related to an indirect connection to the network” is anticipated by the remote UE device 108, in direct communication with (in RRC connected state) gNB 112, that establishes a PC5 connection with a target candidate relay UE device 101 (via an indirect connection) as shown in step 418 of Figure 4A and spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0040]; where to establish the PC5 link, the candidate relay UE device (second UE) receives a message (sidelink message) in accordance with one or more revisions of the 3GPP communication specification as shown in step 504 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0059].
Lastly, “wherein, based on that the second UE is not in the RRC connected state, a procedure for an RRC connection establishment or resume of the second UE is triggered through the sidelink message transmission of the first UE” is anticipated by the remote UE device 108 that, in response to the established PC5 connection (sidelink message transmission), sends an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message intended for gNB 112 via the candidate relay UE device 101 (in the inactive (not connected) state) and the PC5 link; where the target relay UE device 101 (second UE), in response, begins the RRC Resume procedure (triggered procedure) by transmitting the RRC Resume Request to the gNB 112 as shown in steps 420, 422, and 424 of Figure 4A, and spoken of on page 4, paragraphs [0041]-[0043].
Regarding claim 3, “wherein the first UE requests the second UE to perform the procedure for the RRC connection establishment or resume” is anticipated by the remote UE device 108 that, in response to the established PC5 connection (sidelink message transmission), sends an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message intended for gNB 112 via the candidate relay UE device 101 (in the inactive (not connected) state) and the PC5 link; where the target relay UE device 101 (second UE), in response, begins the RRC Resume procedure (triggered procedure) by transmitting the RRC Resume Request to the gNB 112 as shown in steps 420, 422, and 424 of Figure 4A, and spoken of on page 4, paragraphs [0041]-[0043].
Regarding claim 4, “wherein the second path related to the indirect connection to the network is configured, based on the second UE being RRC-connected to the network” is anticipated by the target relay UE device 101 that sends an RRC Resume Complete message 426 to gNB 112; and when the target relay UE device 101 is in RRC Connected state, a Uu communication link 428 (of second path) is established between the target relay UE device and the gNB 112 as shown in Figure 4A and spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0043].
Regarding claim 5, “wherein the first UE is configured with both the first path related to the direct connection to the network and the second path related to the indirect connection to the network” is anticipated by the remote UE device 108, in direct communication with gNB 112, that establishes a PC5 connection with a target candidate relay UE device 101 (via an indirect connection) as shown in step 418 of Figure 4A and spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0040].
Regarding claim 6, “wherein the sidelink message is directly transmitted to the second UE through a sidelink interface between the first UE and the second UE” is anticipated by the remote UE device 108, in direct communication with (in RRC connected state) gNB 112, that establishes a PC5 connection (sidelink interface) with a target candidate relay UE device 101 (via an indirect connection) as shown in step 418 of Figure 4A and spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0040]; where to establish the PC5 link, the candidate relay UE device (second UE) receives a message (sidelink message) in accordance with one or more revisions of the 3GPP communication specification as shown in step 504 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0059].
Regarding claim 8, “receiving, from the network through the first path, an RRC reconfiguration message including information for configuring the second path in addition to the first path” is anticipated by the gNB 112 that transmits an RRC Reconfiguration with Sync message to the remote UE device 108, where the RRC Reconfiguration with Sync message (including configuration information) initiates the switch from the direct communication link 402 to an indirect communication link (second path) via the target candidate relay UE device 101 as shown in step 416 of Figure 4A and spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0039].
Regarding claim 9, “wherein the sidelink message is transmitted based on the RRC reconfiguration message” is anticipated by the PC5 connection established between the remote UE device 108 and the target candidate relay UE device 101 subsequent to the remote UE device 108 receiving an RRC Reconfiguration with Sync message as shown in steps 416 and 418 of Figure 4A.
Regarding claim 10, “transmitting, to the network through the first path or the second path, an RRC reconfiguration completion message based on the second path being configured in addition to the first path” is anticipated by the remote UE device 108 that, in response to the established PC5 connection (sidelink message transmission), sends an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message intended for gNB 112 via the candidate relay UE device 101 (in the inactive (not connected) state) and the PC5 link (of second path); where the target relay UE device 101 (second UE), in response, begins the RRC Resume procedure (triggered procedure) by transmitting the RRC Resume Request to the gNB 112 as shown in steps 420, 422, and 424 of Figure 4A, and spoken of on page 4, paragraphs [0041]-[0043].
Regarding claim 11, “wherein the first UE operates as a remote UE in the second path related to the indirect connection” is anticipated by the remote UE 108 (first UE) connected to the target relay UE 101 via an established PC5 connection (of second path); where the target relay UE 101 is connected to gNB 112 via an established Uu communication link (of second path) as shown in Figure 4A.
Regarding claim 12, “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, when executed by a processor, that cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1” is anticipated by the controller 302 of UE 300 of Figure 3 that includes code (instructions) running on a microprocessor or processor arrangement connected to memory (medium) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0031].
Regarding claim 13, “a device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to perform operations by executing the instructions, wherein the operations performed by the processor comprise: performing a procedure for configuring a first path related to a direct connection to a network” is anticipated by a remote UE 108 (device) that receives discovery messages and evaluates received signals, and sends a measurement report (performed procedure) to a gNB 112 (of network), where the measurement report includes signal quality measurements for candidate relay devices; where the gNB 112 determines that communication with the remote UE device 108 should be switched from a direct connection to an indirect connection (configuring of first path) via a target relay UE device as shown in steps 402, 406, 408, 410, 412, and 414 of Figure 4A, and spoken of on page 4, paragraphs [0036]-[0038]; and where a controller 302 of UE 300 of Figure 3 includes code (instructions) running on a microprocessor or processor arrangement (processor) connected to memory as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0031].
“Transmitting, to another device to be configured as a relay device between the network and the device while the device is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state in which the first path is configured, a sidelink message for adding a second path related to an indirect connection to the network” is anticipated by the remote UE device 108, in direct communication with (in RRC connected state) gNB 112, that establishes a PC5 connection with a target candidate relay UE device 101 (via an indirect connection) as shown in step 418 of Figure 4A and spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0040]; where to establish the PC5 link, the candidate relay UE device (another device) receives a message (sidelink message) in accordance with one or more revisions of the 3GPP communication specification as shown in step 504 of Figure 5 and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0059].
Lastly, “wherein, based on that the another device is not in the RRC connected state, a procedure for an RRC connection establishment or resume of the another device is triggered through the sidelink message transmission of the device” is anticipated by the remote UE device 108 that, in response to the established PC5 connection (sidelink message transmission), sends an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message intended for gNB 112 via the candidate relay UE device 101 (in the inactive (not connected) state) and the PC5 link; where the target relay UE device 101 (second UE), in response, begins the RRC Resume procedure (triggered procedure) by transmitting the RRC Resume Request to the gNB 112 as shown in steps 420, 422, and 424 of Figure 4A, and spoken of on page 4, paragraphs [0041]-[0043].
Regarding claim 14, “wherein the device is an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or a digital signal processor” is anticipated by the controller 302 of UE device 300 that may include any combination of hardware, software, and/or firmware for executing described functions, e.g. the controller 302 includes code running on a microprocessor or processor arrangement connected to memory as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0031].
Regarding claim 15, “wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) operating in a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) based wireless communication system” is anticipated by UE devices 102, 108 operating in accordance with at least one revision of the 3GPP NR V2X communication specification as shown in Figure 1A and spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0018].
Regarding claim 16, “wherein the RRC connection establishment of the second UE is performed based on that the second UE is in an RRC idle state” is anticipated by the target relay UE device 103 that is in the RRC idle state and that begins the RRC establishment procedure by transmitting an RRC Establishment Request as shown in step 452 of Figure 4B and spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0054].
Regarding claim 17, “wherein the RRC connection resume of the second UE is performed based on that the second UE is in an RRC inactive state” is anticipated by the target relay UE device 101 that is in the RRC inactive state and that begins the RRC resume procedure by transmitting an RRC Resume Request as shown in step 422 of Figure 4A and spoken of on page 4, paragraph [0042].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Yu et al. (U.S. 2023/0224853) (hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding claim 2, Chang teaches claim 1 as described above. Chang does not explicitly teach “wherein the second UE not in the RRC connected state, performs a random access procedure to establish an RRC connection to the network”.
However, Yu teaches a method and system for remote UE direct to indirect path switching in sidelink relay where a gNB receives a measurement report from a remote UE that includes a discovered candidate relay UE list, and identifies candidate relay UEs camping in the gNB’s cell; where the gNB may use a relay UE’s ordinary paging occasion to page the UE for a reduced RACH procedure (random access procedure) as shown in Figure 2 and spoken of on page 5, paragraphs [0065]-[0066].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize the RACH procedure as taught in Yu as an additional method of relay UE selection in the system of Chang in order to provide for the measurement of the Uu radio link condition of the relay UE by measuring the received power or quality of each dedicated RACH preamble, thereby further improving the effectiveness of the relay UE selection process as spoken of on pages 5-6, paragraph [0067] of Yu.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Li et al. (U.S. 2024/0389180) (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 7, Chang teaches claim 1 as described above. Chang does not explicitly teach “wherein the sidelink message includes information indicating that the sidelink message is related to multi-path configuration of the first UE.
However, Li teaches an apparatus and method for direct to indirect path switching where a target relay UE transmits a sidelink UE information message to a network device, where the message carries an L2 ID of the target relay UE and an L2 ID of the remote UE establishing a PC5 connection with the target relay UE as shown in step 9 of Figure 1 and spoken of on page 1, paragraph [0021].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the sidelink messaging including L2 ID information of both target relay and remote UE as taught in Li to the path switching system of Chang in order to further improve the RRC configuration process by explicitly providing the above identification information, thereby increasing the awareness of the path switching system as spoken of on page 1, paragraphs [0021]-[0024] of Li.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467