DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Oehler et al. (DE-102020203276).
For examining purposes, the US Publication US-20230116286 the English equivalent of DE-102020203276, has been relied on below.
Regarding claim 16, Oehler et al. discloses a drive unit (2) for an actuating device of a brake system (fig 1, Title), comprising: a motor housing (14);an electrical machine (13) arranged in the motor housing (fig 1), wherein a rotor ([0023], rotor of 13) of the electrical machine is arranged for conjoint rotation on a motor shaft (12) mounted rotatably in the motor housing (fig 1); a planetary transmission (8/9/7) using which the motor shaft is connected or connectable to an actuator element (4) of the actuating device (fig 1), wherein the planetary transmission has a rotatably mounted planet carrier (7), and wherein the planet carrier has a carrier portion on which at least one planet gear (9) is rotatably mounted (fig 1); and an end plate (at least 15) arranged on the motor housing, by way of which end plate the planet carrier (7) is mounted on a side of the planet gear (9) facing away from the electrical machine (13)(fig 1).
Regarding claim 17, Oehler et al. discloses wherein the end plate (15) carries a rolling element bearing (17) for mounting the planet carrier (fig 1, 17 rotatably held at 16/15).
Regarding claim 18, Oehler et al. discloses wherein the end plate (15/21) abuts the motor housing radially from the inside (fig 1 and [0022] wherein 21 is part of 15).
Regarding claim 19, Oehler et al. discloses wherein the end plate (15/21) axially abuts a motor housing flange of the motor housing (fig 1, flange portion extending to the left and away from 13 and [0022] wherein 21 is part of 15).
Regarding claim 20, Oehler et al. discloses wherein the planet carrier (7) has an output shaft (6 or 7 at or near 15), and the end plate (15) supports the output shaft (fig 1, at least supported through other structure).
Regarding claim 21, Oehler et al. discloses wherein the carrier portion (7 at 9) is arranged in the motor housing (fig 1), and the output shaft (at least 6) protrudes out of the motor housing (15 wherein 6 protrudes past where 14 abuts 1).
Regarding claim 22, Oehler et al. discloses wherein the end plate (15) supports a first bearing point (at least 17) of the planet carrier (7), and the planet carrier has a second bearing point (unnumbered bearing near 26 in fig 1) which is arranged on a side of the first bearing point facing away from the electrical machine (13) and is spaced apart from the first bearing point (fig 1).
Regarding claim 23, Oehler et al. discloses wherein the drive unit has a further end plate (at least radial projections from 16) which is arranged between the planetary transmission and the electrical machine and supports the motor shaft (fig 1).
Regarding claim 24, Oehler et al. discloses an actuating device (1/2) for a brake system (Title), comprising: an actuator element (4); and a drive unit (2) configured to drive the actuator element (fig 1), the drive unit including: a motor housing (14) , an electrical machine (13) arranged in the motor housing (fig 1), wherein a rotor ([0023], rotor of 13) of the electrical machine is arranged for conjoint rotation on a motor shaft (12) mounted rotatably in the motor housing (fig 1); a planetary transmission (8/9/7) using which the motor shaft is connected or connectable the actuator element (fig 1), wherein the planetary transmission has a rotatably mounted planet carrier (7), and wherein the planet carrier has a carrier portion on which at least one planet gear (9) is rotatably mounted (fig 1); and an end plate (at least 15) arranged on the motor housing, by way of which end plate the planet carrier (7) is mounted on a side of the planet gear (9) facing away from the electrical machine (13)(fig 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 25, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein a transmission housing fastened to the motor housing, wherein the end plate supports a first bearing point of the planet carrier, and the planet carrier has a second bearing point which is arranged on a side of the first bearing point facing away from the electrical machine and is spaced apart from the first bearing point, and wherein the second bearing point of the planet carrier is supported by the transmission housing.
Conclusion
/JAMES K HSIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 3616