DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I invention (claim 1-13 and 15) in the reply filed on 05/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 14 is thus withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/19/2026.
Non-Compliant Claim Identifier
The identifier of claim 14 need be remarked as withdrawn since these claims are directed to a non-elected invention in the instant application. A correct status identifier (Withdrawn) has not been set forth for the amended claims. See MPEP § 714 and 37 CFR 1.121(c). Appropriate correction is required. A non-compliant form has not been sent out for advancing the prosecution and correction is required in next response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shi et al. (CN101554585) (for applicant’s convenience, Machine translation has been provided hereof for citations) in view of Boll (WO2021/078429) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US2022/0387977 has been used hereof for citations).
Shi et al teaches a double efficacy knitted catalyst mesh (i.e. a catalyst system) for ammonia oxidation processes(see example 4) comprising: a primary reaction zone catalyst mesh (item 1, Fig. 1), a secondary reaction zone catalyst mesh (item 2, Fig. 1), and a supplemental reaction zone catalyst mesh (item 3, Fig. 1) divided by the direction of the flow of ammonia gas in the ammonia oxidizing furnace, wherein the main reaction zone catalyst mesh being a platinum alloy has a composition of 90-95% platinum, 4-8% rhodium, 1-5% palladium by weight; the secondary reaction zone catalyst mesh has a composition comprising 50-73% ( e.g. 65%) platinum, 5-7% (e.g. 6% rhodium), 20-45% (e.g. 29%) palladium, and 0.1-5% of a metal selected from cerium, cobalt, nickel or gold (e.g. 5% gold) added to the sum of the weight of platinum, rhodium and palladium; the supplementary reaction zone catalyst mesh has a weight percentage of 9-20% (e.g. 15%) platinum, 1-5% of (e.g. 2%) rhodium, 75-90% (e.g. 83%) palladium, (para. [0008], [0021], [0024], [0027], claim 1-3, example 4). Shi et al. further disclose the main reaction zone catalyst mesh, secondary zone catalyst, supplementary zone are all wired meshes, wherein the wire diameter ratio of the catalytic mesh in the main reaction zone to the standard platinum mesh is 1.05-1.20:1, while the wire diameter ratio of the catalytic mesh in the secondary reaction zone and the catalytic mesh in the supplementary reaction zone to the standard platinum mesh is 0.72-1.05:1 (claim 2, 4, para. [0013], [0017], Fig. 1, examples).
It is noted that Shi et al disclosed rhodium content noble metal wires of the catalyst mesh decreases in the flow direction and the palladium content of the noble metal wires of the catalyst mesh increases in the flow direction (para. [0009]-[0012], Fig. 1, claims 1-4, examples).
Regarding claim 1, Shi et al. does not expressly teach the platinum alloy of the second noble metal wire consisting of, in addition to impurities, 75-98 wt.% platinum, 1-16 wt.% rhodium, and 1-20 wt.% palladium.
Boll teaches a catalyst system for gas reaction such as oxidation of ammonia to nitrogen oxide for nitric acid production (para. [0005], [0006]), comprising at least one planar structure of noble metal having gas-permeable openings and the catalyst system comprising a plurality of different planar structure several different noble metal alloys ([0045], [0051]), wherein the noble metal alloy being selected from the group consisting of noble metal alloys of (para. [0012]- [0019], [0035]-[0045]):
platinum with 1-15 wt. % (percentage by weight) rhodium,
platinum with 2-15 wt. % rhodium and 0.1-20 wt. % palladium (noted this alloy having platinum of 65 wt. % to 97.9 wt.%),
platinum with 2-15 wt. % rhodium, 0.1-20 wt. % palladium, and 0.1-2 wt. % ruthenium,
platinum with 2-15 wt. % rhodium, 0.1-20 wt. % palladium, and 0.1-5 wt. % iridium,
palladium with 3-15 wt. % platinum,
palladium with 1-20 wt. % platinum and 1-10 wt. % rhodium,
palladium with 1-25 wt. % tungsten, and
palladium with 1-15 wt. % nickel.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art “obvious to try” such well-known noble alloy of platinum with 2-15 wt. % rhodium and 0.1-20 wt. % palladium as shown by Boll to practice the second catalyst network of Shi et al. because choosing an alloy of platinum with 2-15 wt. % rhodium and 0.1-20 wt. % palladium from a finite number of identified, predictable noble metal alloy solutions would have a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP §2143 KSR Rationale E). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known noble alloy of platinum with 2-15 wt. % rhodium and 0.1-20 wt. % palladium as shown by Boll to modify the second catalyst network group of Shi et al because adopting such well-known platinum alloy as shown by Boll to modify a well-known catalyst system comprising noble metal catalyst gauze used for ammonia oxidation with improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR Rationale D).
Regarding claim 2-3 and 15, Shi et al. further teaches the main catalyst mesh, the secondary catalyst mesh and the supplementary catalyst mesh are independently warp-knitted meshes (example 1-5), wherein such warped-knitted meshes are three-dimensional structures.
Regarding claim 4, Shi et al. disclosed warp knitted noble metal wired mesh apparently has wires as ridges while holes are grooves, therefore, such noble metal wires are corrugated.
Regarding 6, Shi et al does not expressly teach the first metal wire, or the second metal wire, or the third metal wire noble metal alloy comprising impurities, rather Shi et al. expressly teaches the main reaction zone catalyst mesh being a platinum alloy has a composition of 90-95% platinum, 4-8% rhodium, 1-5% palladium by weight, the secondary reaction zone catalyst mesh has a composition comprising 50-73% ( e.g. 65%) platinum, 5-7% (e.g. 6% rhodium), 20-45% (e.g. 29%) palladium, and the supplementary reaction zone catalyst mesh has a weight percentage of 9-20% (e.g. 15%) platinum, 1-5% of (e.g. 2%) rhodium, 75-90% (e.g. 83%) palladium, (para. [0008], [0021], [0024], [0027], claim 1-3, example 4), wherein the proportion of the impurities in the alloys of the noble metal no more than 1 wt.% is envisioned. Boll does not require any impurities in the noble metal alloy either (para. [0012]-[0019], [0035]-[0045]). Furthermore, impurities in the noble metal alloy catalyst is always un-desired, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to minimize such impurities content (i.e. close to 0 wt.%) in the noble metal alloy catalyst for desired catalytic performance via routine experimentation (see MPEP §2144. 05 II).
Regarding claim 7-9, such limitations have been met as discussed above.
Regarding claim 10-11, Shi et al already teaches a ternary palladium alloy as that of instantly claimed. Boll also teaches a palladium binary alloy as discussed above. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known alloy of palladium with nickel or alloy of palladium with tungsten as shown by Boll to modify the third catalyst metal network group having high palladium content of Shi et al. because adopting such well-known palladium alloy as shown by Boll to modify a well-known catalyst system comprising palladium metal catalyst gauze used for ammonia oxidation with improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR Rationale D). It is noted that Boll disclosed palladium alloy with nickel or tungsten is rhodium free.
Regarding claim 12, Shi et al. already teaches more than 30 layers (or zone) of platinum meshes can be used (para. [0005]), therefore, the catalyst system comprising at least one further catalyst mesh composed of platinum (or Pd) containing wire is envisioned. Boll also teaches a plurality of planar noble metal alloy being used as well (para. [0035]-[0045], [0051]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt at least one further catalyst mesh composed of platinum and/or palladium wire for desired ammonia oxidation and platinum recovery as suggested by Shi et al (para. [0005]). Furthermore, adopting a further platinum or palladium wire mesh catalyst in the ammonia oxidation process for help improving ammonia oxidation efficiency just obvious choice for one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Shi et al. further discloses a heat-resistant stainless steel
support mesh can be added below the catalyst mesh in the secondary reaction zone, wherein such heat-resistant stainless-steel support reads onto the instantly claimed separating element in light of the instant specification (see instantly filed specification page 15 line 31-page 16 line 10).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shi et al. (CN101554585) (for applicant’s convenience, Machine translation has been provided hereof for citations) in view of Boll (WO2021/078429) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US2022/0387977 has been used hereof for citations) as applied above, and further in view of Rjabchikov (RU2008125755) (for applicant’s convenience, Machine translation has been provided hereof for citations).
Regarding claim 4, in arguendo about Shi et al in view of Boll not expressly teach at least one of the catalyst networks being corrugated, Rjabchikov knitted noble meta wire in the ammonia oxidation reaction being corrugated (claim 1-4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known knitted noble metal wire being corrugated as shown by Rjabchikov for modify the at least one noble metal meshes of Shi et al in view of Boll because adopting such well-known knitted noble metal wire being corrugated to modify well-known noble metal meshes in ammonia oxidation catalyst system for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP § 2143 KSR).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shi et al. (CN101554585) (for applicant’s convenience, Machine translation has been provided hereof for citations) in view of Boll (WO2021/078429) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US2022/0387977 has been used hereof for citations) as applied above, and further in view of Boll’143 (WO2020/148143) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US2022/0089439 has been provided hereof for citations).
Shi et al. already teaches the wire diameter ratio of the catalytic mesh in the main reaction zone to the standard platinum mesh is 1.05-1.20:1, while the wire diameter ratio of the catalytic mesh in the secondary reaction zone and the catalytic mesh in the supplementary reaction zone to the standard platinum mesh is 0.72-1.05:1 (claim 2, 4, para. [0013], [0017], Fig. 1, examples).
Regarding claim 5, Shi et al in view of Boll does not expressly teach the noble metal wires diameter being from 40-250 µm.
Boll’143 expressly teaches it is well known in the art that standard platinum metal wire mesh having diameter of 76 µm is standard (para. [0008], [0048], [0062]).
Based on Boll’143 disclosed parameter size of standard platinum wire, Shi et al disclosed main reaction zone platinum wire, secondary reaction zone noble metal wire, and supplementary reaction zone noble metal wire are all within or overlapping with that of instant claimed diameter rang thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 05 I).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known standard platinum wire size of 76 µm as shown by Boll’143 for modify the noble metal wires of Shi et al in view of Boll because adopting such well-known platinum standard wire size to practice well-known noble metal wires diameter in ammonia oxidation catalyst system for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP § 2143 KSR).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-13 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-14 and 16-20 of copending Application No. 18/319907 in view of Boll (WO2021/078429). Co-pending application’907 teaches a substantially the same catalyst system comprising a first catalyst gauze, second catalyst gauze, third catalyst gauze, wherein rhodium content noble metal wires of the catalyst mesh decreases in the flow direction and the palladium content of the noble metal wires of the catalyst mesh increases in the flow direction, except the second catalyst gauze comprising second noble metal wire of a platinum alloy consisting of, in addition to impurities, 75-98 wt.% platinum, 1-16 wt.% rhodium, and 1-20 wt.% palladium. Boll has been described as above and teaches such limitations. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art “obvious to try” such well-known noble alloy of platinum with 2-15 wt. % rhodium and 0.1-20 wt. % palladium as shown by Boll to practice a second catalyst network of co-pending application’907 because choosing an alloy of platinum with 2-15 wt. % rhodium and 0.1-20 wt. % palladium from a finite number of identified, predictable noble metal alloy solutions would have a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP §2143 KSR Rationale E). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known noble alloy of platinum with 2-15 wt. % rhodium and 0.1-20 wt. % palladium as shown by Boll to modify the second catalyst network group of co-pending application’907 because adopting such well-known platinum alloy as shown by Boll to modify a well-known catalyst system comprising noble metal catalyst gauze used for ammonia oxidation with improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR Rationale D).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732