DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/5/26. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dentalkart (How to use IntraOral Camera I Orkki IntraOral Camera With WiFi) for the same reasons as set forth in Sec. 8 of the last OA, dated 2/5/26.
Regarding Claim 1, Dentalkart discloses a method for acquiring at least one image of at least one dental arch of a user (e.g. Fig. 2) by means of a mobile telephone (e.g. via WiFi to an Android or IOS mobile telephone) and an acquisition tool comprising an acquisition head provided with a camera (e.g. Fig. 5), method in which the acquisition head acquires said image and transmits it to the mobile phone, or acquires a signal and transfers it to the mobile phone so that said mobile phone generates the image from said signal, autonomously or with the help of a computer with which said mobile phone is in communication (e.g. Fig. 2), said at least one image being a photo (e.g. Fig. 4) or an image extracted from a film, the acquisition being carried out extraorally, the camera of the acquisition tool not penetrating the user's mouth (e.g. Fig. 7, for fingerprint).
Regarding claim 2. the method according to the preceding claim 1in which the mobile telephone and the acquisition tool are exclusively manipulated by the user (e.g. Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 4. The method according to claim 1, in which the acquisition is carried out intraorally, the camera of the acquisition tool penetrating the mouth of the user (e.g. Fig. 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the mobile telephone and the acquisition tool are movable independently of each other (e.g. via wireless connection).
Regarding 6. The method according to claim 1, in which, during the acquisition, the user observes the screen of the mobile phone to view the scene observed by the camera of the acquisition head (e.g. Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7. The method according to claim 6, in which during the acquisition, the mobile telephone is stationary (e.g. on the table) relative to the ground and the user manipulates the acquisition tool.
Regarding claim 8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the user acquires at least one image viewed from the front, at least one image from the right of the user, at least one image from the user's left, at least one open mouth image (e.g. Fig. 3), and at least one closed mouth image.
Regarding claim 11. The method according to claim 1, in which the acquisition tool is in communication with the mobile telephone by radio waves (e.g. via WiFi communication).
Regarding claim 12. The method according to claim 1, wherein said at least one image is used for determine the speed of evolution of a change in the positioning of the teeth, and/or optimize the date of making an appointment with a dental care professional, and/or assess the evolution of the positioning of teeth towards a reference model corresponding to a determined positioning of the teeth, and/or visualize and/or measure and/or detect a microcrack, and/or wear (e.g. detect damage a tooth in the image), and/or visualize and/or measure and/or detect a change in volume during tooth growth or following an intervention by a dental care professional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10,and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dentalkart in view of Morris et al (Accuracy of Dental Monitoring 3D Digital Dental Models Using photograph and Video Mode) for the same reasons as set forth in Sec. 11 of the last OA, dated 2/5/26..
Although Dentalkart discloses the camera of the acquisition tool, it is noted that Dentalkart differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose the use of dental arch for generating a 3D model as specified in claims 9, 10, and 13. Morris et al however, in Figure 1, teaches the concept of such well-known photographing of the dental arch for generating a digital three-dimensional model.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having both the references of Dnetalkart and Morris et al before him/her, to exploit the well known 3D model generation technique as taught by Morris et al in the intra oral camera of Dentalkart in order to accurately generate 3D models of dental arches for patients.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts on p. 7 of the Remarks that the references fail to disclose the acquisition being carried out extraorally. However, it is noted that the acquisition tool is a portable camera that can be inserted in a mouth (e.g. Figs. 3-6) or not (e.g. Fig. 7). Although a drawing of the camera is not explicitly shown to be right outside the mouth, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had no difficulty in recognizing that when a portable camera is not situated inside the mouth, it is equally capable of acquiring images from outside of the mouth, as shown in Fig. 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20250086421 discloses WIRELESS SCANNING SYSTEM AND WIRELESS SCANNING METHOD
20240268935 discloses INTRAORAL SCANNING
20240225798 discloses INTRAORAL SHAPE ACQUISITION DEVICE AND INTRAORAL SHAPE ACQUISITION METHOD
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485