DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda (US 6145841).
Regarding claim 1, Maeda discloses a mechanical seal Fig. 1, comprising: a seal ring 1 held by a casing 3 with an elastic body 2 interposed between the seal ring and the casing, wherein the casing includes an axial wall 3a extending in an axial direction along a peripheral surface of the seal ring, and a radial wall A extending in a radial direction along a back surface of the seal ring, the elastic body includes an axial portion (2ax of Annotated Fig. 1, below) sandwiched between the peripheral surface of the seal ring and the axial wall of the casing, and a radial portion (2rd of Annotated Fig. 1, below) sandwiched between the back surface of the seal ring and the radial wall of the casing, and the elastic body further includes a tapered portion (223 of Annotated Fig. 1, below) which is formed between a peripheral surface of the axial portion and a back surface of the radial portion and which extends from the axial portion to a back surface position of the seal ring such that the tapered portion overlaps with the back surface of the seal ring in an axial directional view.
Regarding claim 2, Maeda discloses wherein the tapered portion 223 includes a flat surface.
Regarding claim 3, Maeda discloses wherein the tapered portion 223 includes two tapered surfaces 223a, 223b.
Regarding claim 4, Maeda discloses wherein the tapered portion 223 has an inner diameter side end which is positioned between the axial portion and a radial center of the seal ring 1 in a radial width of the seal ring. Regarding claim 5, Maeda discloses wherein a corner portion of the seal ring 1 covered by the elastic body 2 is chamfered (223c of Annotated Fig. 1, above).
Regarding claim 7, Maeda discloses wherein a cutout portion (223d of Annotated Fig. 1, above) is formed at a tip portion of the peripheral surface of the axial portion.
Regarding claim 8, Maeda discloses wherein the tapered portion 223 has an inner diameter side end which is positioned between the axial portion and a radial center of the seal ring 1 in a radial width of the seal ring.
Regarding claim 9, Maeda discloses wherein the tapered portion 223 has an inner diameter side end which is positioned between the axial portion and a radial center of the seal ring 1 in a radial width of the seal ring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda.
Regarding claim 6, Maeda discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose where the corner portion is chamfered to a larger extent than the other corner portions of the seal. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art reference to Itadani et al. (US 9581248) discloses a mechanical seal used, e.g., as a shaft-sealing device in a pump or the like, having various shaped cup gaskets.
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675