DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US Patent Pub. 2010/0233301).
Cheng et al. disclose cosmetic compositions in the form of lipstick and lip gloss ([0034]). Cheng et al. disclose the composition comprises about 0.1 to 50% oils (a), including polybutene or polyisobutene ([0036] and [0038]); emulsifiers including PEG-10 dimethicone at a concentration from about 0.01-40% (b); about 0.1 to 45% (c) film formers including trimethylsiloxysilicate ([0041]); and silicone elastomers structuring agents, including vinyl dimethicone/methicone silsesquioxane at a concentration of about 1-60% (d) ([0043] and [0046]). Cheng et al. disclose the compositions are applied to the skin ([0041]).
The prior art discloses the use of 0.1 to 50% (a), 0.01-40% (b), 0.1 to 45% (c) and 2-60% (d). Thus, the prior art differs from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose the particular endpoints recited therein, i.e. (a) 0.05 to 3%, (b) 0.05 to 3%, (c) 1 to 20% and (d) 0.5 to 5%. It is well-settled, however, that even a slight overlap in range establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Accordingly, since an overlap plainly exists here, it would have been obvious to have selected values within the overlap, consistent with the reasoning of the Peterson decision.
The prior discloses compositions containing at least one polyene, at least one polyether-modified silicone; at least one siloxysilicate rein; and at least one non-emulsifying silicone elastomer. Together these would provide a composition as claimed instantly.
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as these combinations must be selected from various lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to make the combination since each component is taught as being useful in making the compositions of the prior art.
Since this modification of the prior art represents nothing more than “the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612