DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The following continuity data is acknowledged in the present application file:
Claims 9-16 and 20-22 have been canceled. Claims 1-8 and 17-19 are pending and before the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2024 has been acknowledged by the Examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “optionally in combination with chemotherapy”, which is indefinite because it contains both a narrow and broad limitation in the same claim. Therefore, it is unclear whether the method of treating a carcinoma in a subject requires the chemotherapy embodiment in some circumstances, whether it is merely an optional component of the treatment, or whether the limitation imposes a particular manner or timing of the administration of the chemotherapy. Applicant may amend claim 1 to remove “optionally” in the instant claim to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230087078 (Lim et al; Filing Date: 02 March 2020; IDS).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, and 17-19 Lim et al. discloses a method for treating pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (PDAC) by targeting the canonical MAPK cascade, which is a heavily pursued therapeutic strategy in PDAC [par. 0008]. The method includes administering an effective amount of an MK2 inhibiting agent or administering an effective amount of a chemotherapy composition in combination with an effective amount of the MK2 inhibiting agent [par. 008-0011]. It further investigates the mechanism by which DNA damage activates MK2, wherein PDAC cells were treated with SN38 (the active metabolite of irinotecan) alone or in combination with inhibitors of TAK1 (e.g., 5z-7-oxozeanol (Oxo)) [par. 0149]. Of the inhibitors tested, Oxo completely blocked SN38-induced p-p38, p-MK2, and p-Hsp27 (FIG. 3A) and potentiated the apoptotic effect of SN38 (FIG. 3B), strongly suggesting TAK1 as an upstream activating kinase of MK2 and Hsp27 [par. 0150]. Notably, SN38-induced induction of TNFa is abrogated by the TAK1 inhibitor 5z-7-oxozeanol, suggesting NF-kB and TAK1 activation as the triggering event for TNFa [par. 0151].
Regarding claim 4, Lim et al. discloses non-limiting examples of suitable chemotherapy compounds to be co-administered with the MK2 inhibitor including Abraxane (Paclitaxel Albumin-stabilized Nanoparticle Formulation) [par. 0099], and other administration can include
nanospheres or other suitable delivery vehicles that provide the desired release profile in varying proportions [par. 0102]. The use of nanoparticles for drug delivery is well known to the skilled artisan and is therefore encompassed within the scope of this reference.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Lim et al. discloses that the chemotherapy composition may include one, two, three, five, or more chemotherapy compounds, wherein the compounds are not limited to leucovorin calcium (folinic acid), fluorouracil, irinotecan, oxaliplatin, gemcitabine, nab-paclitaxel, and any combination thereof. It further discloses a method wherein the chemotherapy composition comprises administering a regiment not limited to FOLFIRINOX (a cocktail of folinic acid, 5-FU, irinotecan, and oxaliplatin), FOLFOX (a cocktail of folinic acid, fluorouracil, and oxaliplatin), FOLFOX/CD40 agonist/anti-PD1 cocktail, FOLFOX/anti-CTLA4/anti-PD1 cocktail, and gemcitabine/nab-paclitaxel [par. 0063].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230087078 (Lim et al; Filing Date: 02 March 2020; IDS), in view of Ellestad et al., Chirality, 2019; IDS.
Lim et al. discloses a method wherein PDAC cells are treated with SN38 in combination with 5z-7-oxozeanol (Oxo) as described above, but it does not disclose wherein the method comprises administering E6201 (1H-2-Benzoxacyclotetradecin-1,7(8H)-dione, 14-(ethylamino)-,4,9,10-tetrahydro-8,9,16-trihydroxy-3,4-dimethy1-, (3S,4R,5Z,88,9S,11E)-); L-783,277; hypothemycin; ER-803064; or an exo-enone analogue of (5Z)-7-oxozeaenol. Ellestad et al. discloses these analogues compounds and their inhibitory activity against kinases including TAK1 and MEK. Therefore, due to the structural similarity of these compounds to Oxo and their inhibitory kinase activity, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to use the analogues compounds disclosed by Ellestad and apply it to the method taught by Lim and have reasonable expectation of success due to the retained kinase inhibitory activity. Additionally, determining whether the known analogues compounds retain this inhibitory activity would have involved routine experimentation. Accordingly, the claimed use of Oxo and its analogues compounds disclosed by Ellestad as kinase inhibitors would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 and 17-19 are rejected.
/C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624