DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, & 4-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0053618A1 (“Brenninger 618`”), in view of US 2014/0278041A1 (“Brenninger 041`”), in view of US 6549840B1 (“Mikami”).
As per claim 1 Brenninger discloses
A vehicle comprising (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0041]: a utility vehicle in the form of a tractor 10…)
a drive system for generating a drive torque and transmitting the drive torque to a front axle drive output shaft and a rear axle drive output shaft (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0053]: The hydrostatic branch 152 drives a hydraulic pump 140. The mechanical branch 150 is connected to the front axle drive shaft 32 and rear axle drive shaft 30 as follows. Torque is transmitted from the mechanical branch 150 of the planetary gear assembly 148 to the rear axle drive shaft 30 via a rear axle gear 154. Mounted on the same shaft as the rear axle drive gear 154 is an intermediary gear 156 which in turn drives a front axle drive gear 158 which selectively drives the front axle driveshaft 32. A first clutch 160 is provided to selectively engage and disengage the front axle drive shaft 32from the rear axle drive shaft 30 or to control the ratio of torque distribution between the two axles. This allows grip to be optimised dependent on the ground conditions.); with
a controllable clutch arranged between the front axle drive output shaft and the rear axle drive output shaft for distributing the drive torque between the front axle drive output shaft and the rear axle drive output shaft according to a clutch engagement ratio (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0053]: A first clutch 160 is provided to selectively engage and disengage the front axle drive shaft 32from the rear axle drive shaft 30 or to control the ratio of torque distribution between the two axles. This allows grip to be optimised dependent on the ground conditions.);
a first speed sensor for determining a rotational speed of the front axle drive output shaft (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0059]: Sensor S2 is connected to the front axle drive shaft 32 with a fixed ratio so that sensor S2 provides a signal indicative of the rotational speed of front axle drive shaft 32 (referred to as n2), front axle left and right drive shafts 46L, 46R and thereby left and right front wheels 56L, 56R.);
a second speed sensor for determining a rotational speed of the rear axle drive output shaft (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0059]: Sensor S1 is connected to the rear axle drive shaft 30 with a fixed ratio so that sensor S1 provides a signal indicative of the rotational speed of rear axle drive shaft 30 (referred to as n1), rear axle left and right driveshafts 34L, 34R and thereby left and right rear wheels 44L, 44R.);
a control unit configured to determine a speed difference (V d) between the rotational speed of the front axle drive output shaft and the rotational speed of the rear axle drive output shaft (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0062]: Looking now at the rotational speed of the axles of a tractor with both front axle and rear axle being equipped with tyres of the same size (in terms of the outer diameter), the rotational speed nF and nR is equal, so the rotational speed n1 determined by sensor S1 and the rotational speed n2determined by sensor S2 are also equal. If a tractor with different tyre sizes (in terms of the outer diameter) is regarded, rotational speed nF and nR would be different due to overall gear ratio between front axle and rear axle. So a comparison of the rotational speeds n1 and n2 to arrive at the deviation/difference in wheel velocity or rotational speed of front and rear axle wF and wR would require inclusion of the overall gear ratio.);
to control the clutch engagement ratio of the controllable clutch in dependence on the speed difference (V d) and the active threshold value (V_ta) (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0067]: The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again. ).
However Brenninger 618` does not explicitly disclose
a measuring unit for determining a pull force; and
to determine a first threshold value (V t1) based on the pull force;
to set the first threshold value (V t1) as an active threshold value (V ta).
Brenninger 041` teaches
a measuring unit for determining a pull force (see at least Brenninger 041`, para. [0045]: Having the wheel torque MW, the pull force FP can be calculated by using the known relationship of the forces on a wheel as shown in the diagram in Fig. 3a.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brenninger 618` to incorporate the teaching of a measuring unit for determining a pull force of Brenninger 041`, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improved anti-skid and stability control systems can be provided as the vehicle weight is more accurately known (see at least Brenninger 041`, para. [0069]).
Mikami teaches
to determine a first threshold value (V t1) based on the pull force (see at least Mikami, col. 54 lines 20-35: In step SE3, the sub-routine illustrated in the flow chart of FIG. 30 is implemented to calculate the assisting drive force dF. This sub-routine is initiated with step SE31 corresponding to the assisting initiation determining means 358, to determine whether the application of the assisting drive force dF to the vehicle is necessary. This determination is effected by determining whether the opening angle .theta..sub.A of the throttle valve has exceeded the threshold .theta..sub.A1, which is determined on the basis of the detected road surface gradient G.sub.xstp and vehicle weight W and according to the predetermined relationship of FIG. 28. Namely, the threshold .theta..sub.A1 is determined as a function of the longitudinal acceleration value (representing the road surface gradient G.sub.xstp) and the weight W.);
to set the first threshold value (V t1) as an active threshold value (V ta) (see at least Mikami, col. 54 lines 20-35: Namely, the threshold .theta..sub.A1 is determined as a function of the longitudinal acceleration value (representing the road surface gradient G.sub.xstp) and the weight W. ); and
to control the clutch engagement ratio of the controllable clutch in dependence on the speed difference (V d) and the active threshold value (V ta) (see at least Mikami, col. 66 lines: In this case, the front wheel and the rear wheels are operatively connected to the common drive power source device, which is connected to a suitable power distribution clutch arranged to control the distribution of the vehicle drive force to the front and rear wheels. In a four-wheel-drive vehicle having such an arrangement, the front-wheel drive torque and the rear-wheel drive torque may be determined on the basis of the operator's desired vehicle drive force T.sub.T which is obtained on the basis of the operating amount of a manually operated vehicle accelerating member such as an accelerator pedal (which operating amount is reflected on the opening angle .theta..sub.A of the throttle valve) and the vehicle running speed V.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brenninger 618` to incorporate the teaching of to determine a first threshold value (V t1) based on the pull force; to set the first threshold value (V t1) as an active threshold value (V ta); and to control the clutch engagement ratio of the controllable clutch in dependence on the speed difference (V d) and the active threshold value (V ta) of Mikami, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improving the running stability of the vehicle or increasing the vehicle traction force (see at least Mikami, col. 29 lines 10-12).
As per claim 2 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to
normalize the rotational speed of the front or the rear axle drive output shaft in respect of a lead ratio, a steering angle (a) of steerable wheels and/or dimensions of front and rear wheel (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0058]: The first clutch 160 is also provided to control the wheel velocity or rotational speeds of the axle assemblies 18, 20 to avoid malfunction of the transmission 26. With reference to FIG. 1, the wheel velocity w is the velocity of a wheel in the contact point with the ground G and along the ground(radially). Considering a known wheel diameter, the rotational speed n of the wheel can be calculated and based on that the wheel velocity w can be determined by measuring the rotational speed n at any shaft in the driveline which is connected via a fixed, constant ratio to one of the wheel axles 18, 20. If the vehicle is equipped with different tyre sizes (requiring an overall gear ratio between front axle and rear axle, the wheel velocity wF (for front axle) and wR (for rear axle) should be equal under ideal conditions while due to the diverging tyre diameter, rotational speed nF of front axle and nR of rear axle are different. But as the respective gear ratios in the driveline from a transmission 26 to a respective front or rear axle 18, 20 are known, both rotational speeds nF, nR and also wF, wR can be monitored by measuring the rotational speed n at any shaft in the driveline which is connected to the respective wheel axles 18, 20.).
As per claim 4 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to
determine the first threshold value (V t1) based on the rotational speed of the front axle drive output shaft or the rear axle drive output shaft (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0067]: 0067]: The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again.).
As per claim 5 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to determine at least one additional threshold value (V t2, V t3); and to set the additional threshold value as the active threshold value (V ta) if the first threshold value (V t1) is below the additional threshold value (V t2, V t3) (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0068]: During a driven turn (determined by steering sensor S3), a second wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. Based on the fact that during a turn, due to Ackermann steering constraints, the steered front wheels roll on a greater curve radius (path) so that they have to speed up to pass the curved path at the same time compared to the rear wheels. So during turning, the clutch control unit 62 would consider a second wheel velocity difference threshold value which may be15 to 20%. This higher level for the velocity difference threshold enables the vehicle to pass the curve but the spinning prevention is still active, so that in the case when the front wheels drive via icy surface in the curve, the system can still react. Furthermore, the drag capability (that the front wheels support the turn)).
As per claim 6 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to determine a lead ratio (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0058]: The first clutch 160 is also provided to control the wheel velocity or rotational speeds of the axle assemblies 18, 20 to avoid malfunction of the transmission 26. With reference to FIG. 1, the wheel velocity w is the velocity of a wheel in the contact point with the ground G and along the ground(radially). Considering a known wheel diameter, the rotational speed n of the wheel can be calculated and based on that the wheel velocity w can be determined by measuring the rotational speed n at any shaft in the driveline which is connected via a fixed, constant ratio to one of the wheel axles 18, 20. If the vehicle is equipped with different tyre sizes (requiring an overall gear ratio between front axle and rear axle, the wheel velocity wF (for front axle) and wR (for rear axle) should be equal under ideal conditions while due to the diverging tyre diameter, rotational speed nF of front axle and nR of rear axle are different. But as the respective gear ratios in the driveline from a transmission 26 to a respective front or rear axle 18, 20 are known, both rotational speeds nF, nR and also wF, wR can be monitored by measuring the rotational speed n at any shaft in the driveline which is connected to the respective wheel axles 18, 20. para. [0067]:The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again.); and
to determine a second threshold value (V t2) as one of the at least one additional threshold value if the determination of the lead ratio is void; wherein the second threshold value (V t2) is based on the rotational speed of the front axle drive output shaft or the rear axle drive output shaft (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0068]: During a driven turn (determined by steering sensor S3), a second wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. Based on the fact that during a turn, due to Ackermann steering constraints, the steered front wheels roll on a greater curve radius (path) so that they have to speed up to pass the curved path at the same time compared to the rear wheels. So during turning, the clutch control unit 62 would consider a second wheel velocity difference threshold value which may be15 to 20%. This higher level for the velocity difference threshold enables the vehicle to pass the curve but the spinning prevention is still active, so that in the case when the front wheels drive via icy surface in the curve, the system can still react. Furthermore, the drag capability (that the front wheels support the turn)).
As per claim 7 Brenninger 618` discloses
a vehicle comprising a brake unit (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0089]: The brake circuit shown in FIG. 4 may be adapted to a full electronic braking system (brake by wire) wherein the left rear brake valve 84L and the right rear brake valve 84k are not directly connected to two foot pedals 82L, 82k. Instead, solenoid valves are used to activate the rear service brakes 38L, 38R.);
a steerable wheel ; and a steering sensor for determining a steering angle (a) of the steerable wheel (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0041]: A chassis 16 which is partly visible connects a front wheel suspension and steering assembly (indicated generally at 18) and a rear axle assembly (indicated generally at 20). A vehicle control system (represented schematically at 62) is coupled to receive data from a number of sensors 11..in one or more tyres on respective wheels of the vehicle; [0047] angle of turn directed by a user of the vehicle;),
wherein the control unit determines the lead ratio if the pull force is below a first parameter, the steering angle (a) is below a second parameter, the brake unit is released, and/or the clutch engagement ratio of the controllable clutch is below a third parameter (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0068]: During a driven turn (determined by steering sensor S3), a second wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. Based on the fact that during a turn, due to Ackermann steering constraints, the steered front wheels roll on a greater curve radius (path) so that they have to speed up to pass the curved path at the same time compared to the rear wheels. So during turning, the clutch control unit 62 would consider a second wheel velocity difference threshold value which may be15 to 20%. This higher level for the velocity difference threshold enables the vehicle to pass the curve but the spinning prevention is still active, so that in the case when the front wheels drive via icy surface in the curve, the system can still react. Furthermore, the drag capability (that the front wheels support the turn)).
As per claim 8 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to determine the second threshold value (V t2) as a constant value after a valid determination of the lead ratio (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0058]: The first clutch 160 is also provided to control the wheel velocity or rotational speeds of the axle assemblies 18, 20 to avoid malfunction of the transmission 26. With reference to FIG. 1, the wheel velocity w is the velocity of a wheel in the contact point with the ground G and along the ground (radially). Considering a known wheel diameter, the rotational speed n of the wheel can be calculated and based on that the wheel velocity w can be determined by measuring the rotational speed n at any shaft in the driveline which is connected via a fixed, constant ratio to one of the wheel axles 18, 20. If the vehicle is equipped with different tyre sizes (requiring an overall gear ratio between front axle and rear axle, the wheel velocity wF (for front axle) and wR (for rear axle) should be equal under ideal conditions while due to the diverging tyre diameter, rotational speed nF of front axle and nR of rear axle are different. But as the respective gear ratios in the driveline from a transmission 26 to a respective front or rear axle 18, 20 are known, both rotational speeds nF, nR and also wF, wR can be monitored by measuring the rotational speed n at any shaft in the driveline which is connected to the respective wheel axles 18, 20. para. [0068]: During a driven turn (determined by steering sensor S3), a second wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. Based on the fact that during a turn, due to Ackermann steering constraints, the steered front wheels roll on a greater curve radius (path) so that they have to speed up to pass the curved path at the same time compared to the rear wheels. So during turning, the clutch control unit 62 would consider a second wheel velocity difference threshold value which may be15 to 20%. This higher level for the velocity difference threshold enables the vehicle to pass the curve but the spinning prevention is still active, so that in the case when the front wheels drive via icy surface in the curve, the system can still react. Furthermore, the drag capability (that the front wheels support the turn))..
As per claim 9 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit fat-is configured to detect a brake steering action; and to determine a third threshold value (V 3) as one of the at least one additional threshold value in dependence on a detection of a brake steering action (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0069]: During a braking turn (determined by steering sensor S3 and the activation of the steering brake), a third wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. In case of steering braking, the inner steered wheel is braked while the steered outer wheel should support the steering brake by speeding up to further drag the vehicle into the curve.).
As per claim 10 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to determine a maximum threshold value out of the first threshold value (V t1) and the at least one additional threshold value (V t2, V t3); and to set the maximum threshold value as the active threshold value (V ta) (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0068]: During a driven turn (determined by steering sensor S3), a second wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. Based on the fact that during a turn, due to Ackermann steering constraints, the steered front wheels roll on a greater curve radius (path) so that they have to speed up to pass the curved path at the same time compared to the rear wheels. So during turning, the clutch control unit 62 would consider a second wheel velocity difference threshold value which may be15 to 20%. This higher level for the velocity difference threshold enables the vehicle to pass the curve but the spinning prevention is still active, so that in the case when the front wheels drive via icy surface in the curve, the system can still react. Furthermore, the drag capability (that the front wheels support the turn)).
As per claim 11 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to compare the speed difference (V d) with the active threshold value (V ta); and to adjust the clutch engagement ratio of the controllable clutch to reduce the speed difference (V d) (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0067]: The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again.).
As per claim 12 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the speed difference (V d) if the speed difference (V d) exceeds the active threshold value (V ta) (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0067]: The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again.).
As per claim 13 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the clutch engagement ratio if the speed difference (V d) is below the active threshold value (V ta) (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0067]: The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again.).
As per claim 14 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the control unit is configured to determine a lead ratio (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0058]: The first clutch 160 is also provided to control the wheel velocity or rotational speeds of the axle assemblies 18, 20 to avoid malfunction of the transmission 26. With reference to FIG. 1, the wheel velocity w is the velocity of a wheel in the contact point with the ground G and along the ground(radially). Considering a known wheel diameter, the rotational speed n of the wheel can be calculated and based on that the wheel velocity w can be determined by measuring the rotational speed n at any shaft in the driveline which is connected via a fixed, constant ratio to one of the wheel axles 18, 20. If the vehicle is equipped with different tyre sizes (requiring an overall gear ratio between front axle and rear axle, the wheel velocity wF (for front axle) and wR (for rear axle) should be equal under ideal conditions while due to the diverging tyre diameter, rotational speed nF of front axle and nR of rear axle are different. But as the respective gear ratios in the driveline from a transmission 26 to a respective front or rear axle 18, 20 are known, both rotational speeds nF, nR and also wF, wR can be monitored by measuring the rotational speed n at any shaft in the driveline which is connected to the respective wheel axles 18, 20.);
to detect a brake steering action (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0069]: During a braking turn (determined by steering sensor S3 and the activation of the steering brake), a third wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. In case of steering braking, the inner steered wheel is braked while the steered outer wheel should support the steering brake by speeding up to further drag the vehicle into the curve.); and
to set the first threshold value (V t1) as the active threshold value (V ta) only if the lead ratio has been validly determined and an absence of a brake steering action has been detected (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0067]: The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again.).
As per claim 15 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the first threshold value (V t1) is equal or below 5% of the normalized rotational speed of the front or rear axle drive output shaft (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0067]: The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again.).
As per claim 16 Brenninger 618` discloses
wherein the at least one additional threshold value (V t2, V t3) is higher than 5% of a normalized rotational speed of the front or rear axle drive output shaft (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0068-0069]: During a driven turn (determined by steering sensor S3), a second wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. Based on the fact that during a turn, due to Ackermann steering constraints, the steered front wheels roll on a greater curve radius (path) so that they have to speed up to pass the curved path at the same time compared to the rear wheels. So during turning, the clutch control unit 62 would consider a second wheel velocity difference threshold value which may be15 to 20%.).
As per claim 17 Brenninger 618` does not explicitly disclose
wherein the measuring unit is a pressure sensor integrated in a pressure line of a hydraulic circuit of a component of the drive system.
Brenninger 041` teaches
wherein the measuring unit is a pressure sensor integrated in a pressure line of a hydraulic circuit of a component of the drive system (see at least Brenninger 041`, para. [0041-0045]: The overall output torque MOT of the transmission can then be calculated from MOT = Mhydr + Mmech = pHCmax * V 2 .pi. + Mmech ( 1 )...The pressure pHCmax is measured as described above and the intake volume V of the hydraulic motor 210 is determined by characteristic maps depending on the transmission ratio iT…The output torque MOT of the transmission is supplied to the wheels resulting in a wheel torque MW:MW=MOT*iTW (2)…In this equation iTW represents the overall gear ratio between transmission and wheel being the product of the gear ratio of the rear axle differential 12a and the final reduction gears 12e in rear wheel mode, e.g.:ITW=9.2 (for the rear axle differential 12a).times.3.58 (for the final reduction gears 12e)=32.97 overall….Having the wheel torque MW, the pull force FP can be calculated by using the known relationship of the forces on a wheel as shown in the diagram in FIG. 3a…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brenninger 618` to incorporate the wherein the measuring unit is a pressure sensor integrated in a pressure line of a hydraulic circuit of a component of the drive system of Brenninger 041`, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improved anti-skid and stability control systems can be provided as the vehicle weight is more accurately known (see at least Brenninger 041`, para. [0069]).
As per claim 18 Brenninger 618` discloses
Method for controlling a variable clutch engagement ratio of a first controllable clutch of a vehicle (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0053]: A first clutch 160 is provided to selectively engage and disengage the front axle drive shaft 32from the rear axle drive shaft 30 or to control the ratio of torque distribution between the two axles. This allows grip to be optimised dependent on the ground conditions.), comprising the steps:
determining a rotational speed value of a front axle drive output shaft connected with the first controllable clutch (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0059]: Sensor S2 is connected to the front axle drive shaft 32 with a fixed ratio so that sensor S2 provides a signal indicative of the rotational speed of front axle drive shaft 32 (referred to as n2), front axle left and right drive shafts 46L, 46R and thereby left and right front wheels 56L, 56R.);
determining a rotational speed value of a rear axle drive output shaft connected with the first controllable clutch (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0059]: Sensor S1 is connected to the rear axle drive shaft 30 with a fixed ratio so that sensor S1 provides a signal indicative of the rotational speed of rear axle drive shaft 30 (referred to as n1), rear axle left and right driveshafts 34L, 34R and thereby left and right rear wheels 44L, 44R.);
determining a normalized rotational speed value (V n29) of the rear axle drive output shaft (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0067]: The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again.);
determining a speed difference (V_d) between the rotational speed value of the front axle drive output shaft and the normalized rotational speed value (V n29) of the rear axle drive output shaft (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0062]: Looking now at the rotational speed of the axles of a tractor with both front axle and rear axle being equipped with tyres of the same size (in terms of the outer diameter), the rotational speed nF and nR is equal, so the rotational speed n1 determined by sensor S1 and the rotational speed n2determined by sensor S2 are also equal. If a tractor with different tyre sizes (in terms of the outer diameter) is regarded, rotational speed nF and nR would be different due to overall gear ratio between front axle and rear axle. So a comparison of the rotational speeds n1 and n2 to arrive at the deviation/difference in wheel velocity or rotational speed of front and rear axle wF and wR would require inclusion of the overall gear ratio.);
comparing the speed difference (V d) with the first threshold value (V t1 ) (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0067]: 0067]: The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again.); and
increasing the clutch engagement ratio if the speed difference (V d) exceeds the first threshold value (V t1) to reduce the speed difference (V d) (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0067]: The monitoring process includes that the determined rotational speeds of sensors S1 and S2,are permanently compared to detect the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference. If during straight ahead driving the value of the wheel velocity difference/rotational speed difference exceeds a first wheel velocity difference threshold value say 5% (meaning that wheel velocity wF is 5% higher than wheel velocity wR) the control unit controllably engages clutch 166 until the first wheel velocity difference threshold value is undercut again. ).
However Brenninger 618` does not explicitly disclose
determining a pull force of the vehicle;
determining a first threshold value (V t1) based on the normalized rotational speed value (V 29) of the rear axle drive output shaft and the pull force;
increasing the clutch engagement ratio if the speed difference (V d) exceeds the first threshold value (V t1) to reduce the speed difference (V d).
Brenninger 041` teaches
determining a pull force of the vehicle (see at least Brenninger 041`, para. [0045]: Having the wheel torque MW, the pull force FP can be calculated by using the known relationship of the forces on a wheel as shown in the diagram in Fig. 3a.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brenninger 618` to incorporate the teaching of determining a pull force of the vehicle of Brenninger 041`, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improved anti-skid and stability control systems can be provided as the vehicle weight is more accurately known (see at least Brenninger 041`, para. [0069]).
Mikami teaches
determining a first threshold value (V t1) based on the normalized rotational speed value (V 29) of the rear axle drive output shaft and the pull force (see at least Mikami, col. 54 lines 20-35: In step SE3, the sub-routine illustrated in the flow chart of FIG. 30 is implemented to calculate the assisting drive force dF. This sub-routine is initiated with step SE31 corresponding to the assisting initiation determining means 358, to determine whether the application of the assisting drive force dF to the vehicle is necessary. This determination is effected by determining whether the opening angle .theta..sub.A of the throttle valve has exceeded the threshold .theta..sub.A1, which is determined on the basis of the detected road surface gradient G.sub.xstp and vehicle weight W and according to the predetermined relationship of FIG. 28. Namely, the threshold .theta..sub.A1 is determined as a function of the longitudinal acceleration value (representing the road surface gradient G.sub.xstp) and the weight W.);
increasing the clutch engagement ratio if the speed difference (V d) exceeds the first threshold value (V t1) to reduce the speed difference (V d) (see at least Mikami, col. 66 lines: In this case, the front wheel and the rear wheels are operatively connected to the common drive power source device, which is connected to a suitable power distribution clutch arranged to control the distribution of the vehicle drive force to the front and rear wheels. In a four-wheel-drive vehicle having such an arrangement, the front-wheel drive torque and the rear-wheel drive torque may be determined on the basis of the operator's desired vehicle drive force T.sub.T which is obtained on the basis of the operating amount of a manually operated vehicle accelerating member such as an accelerator pedal (which operating amount is reflected on the opening angle .theta..sub.A of the throttle valve) and the vehicle running speed V.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brenninger 618` to incorporate the teaching of determining a first threshold value (V t1) based on the normalized rotational speed value (V 29) of the rear axle drive output shaft and the pull force, increasing the clutch engagement ratio if the speed difference (V d) exceeds the first threshold value (V t1) to reduce the speed difference (V d), of Mikami, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for improving the running stability of the vehicle or increasing the vehicle traction force (see at least Mikami, col. 29 lines 10-12).
As per claim 19 Brenninger 681` discloses
comprising the steps: determining a second threshold value in dependence on a determination of a lead ratio (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0058]: The first clutch 160 is also provided to control the wheel velocity or rotational speeds of the axle assemblies 18, 20 to avoid malfunction of the transmission 26. With reference to FIG. 1, the wheel velocity w is the velocity of a wheel in the contact point with the ground G and along the ground (radially). Considering a known wheel diameter, the rotational speed n of the wheel can be calculated and based on that the wheel velocity w can be determined by measuring the rotational speed n at any shaft in the driveline which is connected via a fixed, constant ratio to one of the wheel axles 18, 20. If the vehicle is equipped with different tyre sizes (requiring an overall gear ratio between front axle and rear axle, the wheel velocity wF (for front axle) and wR (for rear axle) should be equal under ideal conditions while due to the diverging tyre diameter, rotational speed nF of front axle and nR of rear axle are different. But as the respective gear ratios in the driveline from a transmission 26 to a respective front or rear axle 18, 20 are known, both rotational speeds nF, nR and also wF, wR can be monitored by measuring the rotational speed n at any shaft in the driveline which is connected to the respective wheel axles 18, 20. para. [0068]: During a driven turn (determined by steering sensor S3), a second wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. Based on the fact that during a turn, due to Ackermann steering constraints, the steered front wheels roll on a greater curve radius (path) so that they have to speed up to pass the curved path at the same time compared to the rear wheels. So during turning, the clutch control unit 62 would consider a second wheel velocity difference threshold value which may be15 to 20%. This higher level for the velocity difference threshold enables the vehicle to pass the curve but the spinning prevention is still active, so that in the case when the front wheels drive via icy surface in the curve, the system can still react. Furthermore, the drag capability (that the front wheels support the turn));
determining a third threshold value in dependence on a brake steering action (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0069]: During a braking turn (determined by steering sensor S3 and the activation of the steering brake), a third wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. In case of steering braking, the inner steered wheel is braked while the steered outer wheel should support the steering brake by speeding up to further drag the vehicle into the curve.);
determining a maximum threshold value out of the first, second and third threshold values and setting the maximum threshold value as the active threshold value (see at least Brenninger 618`, para. [0068]: During a driven turn (determined by steering sensor S3), a second wheel velocity difference threshold value is considered. Based on the fact that during a turn, due to Ackermann steering constraints, the steered front wheels roll on a greater curve radius (path) so that they have to speed up to pass the curved path at the same time compared to the rear wheels. So during turning, the clutch control unit 62 would consider a second wheel velocity difference threshold value which may be15 to 20%. This higher level for the velocity difference threshold enables the vehicle to pass the curve but the spinning prevention is still active, so that in the case when the front wheels drive via icy surface in the curve, the system can still react. Furthermore, the drag capability (that the front wheels support the turn)).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenninger 618`, in view of Brenninger 041`, in view of Mikami, in view of US 2013/0035833A1 (“Nozu”).
As per claim 3 Brenninger 618` does not explicitly disclose
wherein the higher the pull force is, the lower the value of the first threshold value (V t1) is determined by the control unit, and vice versa.
Nozu teaches
wherein the higher the pull force is, the lower the value of the first threshold value (V t1) is determined by the control unit, and vice versa (see at least Nozu, para. [0092]: Furthermore, in addition to the respective embodiments mentioned above, the vehicle weight is assumed or detected based on the vehicle speed and the number of revolutions of the engine, and the command torque may be corrected depending on the assumed vehicle weight or the detected vehicle weight. For example, the command torque tc may be corrected so as to be small, as the obtained vehicle weight is great. In the second embodiment mentioned above, the product in which the command torque tc having been re-corrected at step S205 is multiplied by a coefficient k4 having the small value as much as the vehicle weight is increased (weighed), may be the re-re-corrected command torque tc. Otherwise, it is determined whether or not the obtained vehicle weight is greater than a threshold value. As a consequence of the determination, when the vehicle weight is greater (heavier) than the threshold value, the correction of further reducing the command torque tc is performed. In the second embodiment mentioned above, the product in which the command torque tc having been re-corrected at step S205 is multiplied by a coefficient k5 less than 1 may be the re-re-corrected command torque tc, or the command torque tc may be replaced with a predetermined torque value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brenninger 618` to incorporate the teaching of wherein the higher the pull force is, the lower the value of the first threshold value (V t1) is determined by the control unit, and vice versa of Nozu, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reliably avoid rapid transmission of high torque to the auxiliary drive wheel (see at least Nozu, para. [0007]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668