DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 10/10/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is commonality and single general inventive concept shared between species. This is not found persuasive because the identified species lack the same or corresponding technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “valve” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 as being anticipated/unpatentable over Thomsen (US 5,067,635).
Regarding claim 1, Thomsen discloses a bag capable of holding wet pet food, intended to be compressed by an assembly for squeezing and/or pressing said bag to ensure the automatic release of at least part of its contents, said bag being formed by two walls (11, 12) connected to each other over a portion of the periphery thereof and defining therebetween a volume capable of receiving wet food, the two walls not being connected to each other over another portion of the periphery thereof to form a neck (26) for opening the bag, the neck being deformable between at least one open position and one closed position; the walls of the bag comprising, on their internal face, one or more internal weld(s) (14) connecting the walls to each other inside the bag, said internal weld(s) being connected to each other to form, inside the bag, a funnel (13) in fluid communication with the opening neck of the bag, wherein - said opening neck comprises continuous lips (at 23), separable from each other to define an opening (at 25) of said bag for the passage of a portion of its contents, said lips forming a sealed barrier when tension is applied thereto by exerting a pull on at least one of the bag portions located laterally at said opening neck, - said neck being capable of being configured to present a straight cross-section of different shape for at least two distinct opening positions thereof, one of said opening positions being termed "forced," and corresponding to a circular or substantially circular straight cross-section of said neck when a push is exerted on this neck. See Figs. 1-5.
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ratio between the width (LG) and the height (HG) of said neck, when it allows the passage of said wet food, and when it is at rest, that is, not under tension, be between 1.5 and 10, so as to ensure a regular flow of said wet food through said neck, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Thomsen appears to disclose the claimed ratios. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the claimed ratios, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, the opening neck is shaped to have a substantially elliptical or eye-shaped straight cross-section in another of its opening positions. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 5, a valve (24) in the form of a teat or duck's beak is mounted on its neck. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 7, the bag has a substantially rectangular or pointed shape in its lower part, or a diamond shape, when laid flat when empty, and in that the walls of the bag comprise at least two internal welds connecting the walls to each other inside the bag on their internal face in the area of said receiving volume. See Figs. 1-2. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the claimed shape, since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. See Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Regarding claim 8, the internal welds are arranged to form a "V" or a "U", with the internal welds arranged symmetrically around a median longitudinal plane of the bag. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 9, each of said welds extends from a corresponding side edge of the bag to said neck, leaving the portion of the receiving volume located in the upper portion of the bag completely free. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 10, the height (h) of this free portion, that is, without internal welding of the walls in the receiving volume, is at least equal to 75% of the height H of the food receiving volume of the bag. In the case that Thomsen does not disclose the claimed height it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the claimed ratios, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 11, at least two orifices (17) are placed in the upper portion of said bag and intended to engage with fastening elements to ensure suspension of said bag. See Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 12, the shape of each orifice is selected from the group comprising circular, oval, elongated by being curved, elliptical or oblong. See Fig. 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomsen as applied above in further view of Christine (US 4,452,378).
Regarding claim 6, Thomsen sufficiently discloses the claimed invention except for a film that blocks UV rays. Christine, which is drawn to bag, discloses a layer formed from a film that blocks or absorbs UV rays. See col. 2, ll. 39-48. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use a UV blocking material, as disclosed by Christine, for the outer layer of Thomsen in order to protects contents within the bag from UV rays.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomsen as applied above in further view of Sinclair (US 2017/0027222).
Regarding claim 13, Thomsen does not disclose the bag portions as claimed. Sinclair, which is drawn to a bag, discloses bag portions (62, 63) placed laterally to said neck (39) and on both sides thereof, it is provided with at least two additional orifices (23, 24) placed on both sides of said neck. See Fig. 1. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use bag portions with orifices as disclosed by Sinclair on the bag of Thomsen in order to better secure the bag to a device.
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the claimed dimensions, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734