DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 9-16 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a display control unit”, “a creation unit”, and “a construction unit” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Al-Fuqaha et al. (‘Al-Fuqaha’ hereinafter) (Publication Number 20180011694) in view of Sanjar et al. (‘Sanjar’ hereinafter) (Publication Number 20060230314).
As per claim 9, Al-Fuqaha teaches
An information processing method executed by an information processing device, comprising: (see abstract and background)
processing of displaying a design screen of a system; (design surface, paragraph [0095])
processing of disposing a component image corresponding to a type of system component prepared in advance and a flow image indicating a data flow between the system components on the design screen, in accordance with a user manipulation; (GUI to drag and drop elements such as images on the design surface with data-flow editor where user defines relationships among data-flow block, paragraphs [0094]-[0095] & figure 4; note that Al-Fuqaha also teaches system components such as a database at paragraph [0061] & abstract)
Al-Fuqaha does not explicitly indicate “processing of creating a design file of the system, on the basis of the component image and the flow image disposed on the design screen; and processing of constructing an infrastructure of the system, on the basis of the design file”.
However, Sanjar discloses “processing of creating a design file of the system, on the basis of the component image and the flow image disposed on the design screen; and processing of constructing an infrastructure of the system, on the basis of the design file” (generate files for automation and installation and integration of computing system solutions, abstract & paragraphs [0148],[0151]-[0153]; use for installation, paragraph [0146], see also paragraph [0060]-[0061] that shows the design area with components such as a database that reads on infrastructure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Al-Fuqaha and Sanjar because using the steps claimed would have given those skilled in the art the tools to improve the invention by allowing a designer to simulate operation and interactions of all of the components using actual data collected from existing customer solutions and/or simulated data to reduce the financial risk and burden prior to a sale being completed (see Sanjar, background and paragraph [0021]). This gives the user the advantage of increasing profitability and ability to compete on price.
As per claim 10, Al-Fuqaha teaches
the type of system component includes at least one of a UI, an endpoint, an entity, a trigger, a data source, a storage, a pipeline, a function, and an Al model. (GUI components, paragraph [0095] & figure 4; note that Al-Fuqaha also teaches system components such as a database at paragraph [0061] & abstract, where database reads on the claimed storage component)
As per claim 11, Al-Fuqaha teaches
contents of the system component are added after the component image is disposed. (data-flow editor for user to define flow relationships among the data blocks on design surface, paragraphs [0094]-[0095], where such editing could be done after blocks are disposed on the design surface)
As per claim 12, Al-Fuqaha teaches
the flow image is an arrow connecting the component images. (data-flow editor for user to define flow relationships among the data blocks on design surface, paragraphs [0094]-[0095]; see also figure 4, #52)
As per claim 13, Al-Fuqaha teaches
the design file is an XML file, a YAML file, or a JSON file. (paragraph [0054])
As per claim 14,
Al-Fuqaha does not explicitly indicate “the construction of the infrastructure includes at least one of start-up of an API gateway, start-up of a DB, start-up of a virtual machine, preparation of a storage, and setting of a network”.
However, Sanjar discloses “the construction of the infrastructure includes at least one of start-up of an API gateway, start-up of a DB, start-up of a virtual machine, preparation of a storage, and setting of a network” (deployment descriptor file includes database and deploying the solution components, abstract & paragraph [0117], where one of skill in the art would know that deploying a solution with a database would necessitate start-up of said DB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Al-Fuqaha and Sanjar because using the steps claimed would have given those skilled in the art the tools to improve the invention by allowing a designer to simulate operation and interactions of all of the components using actual data collected from existing customer solutions and/or simulated data to reduce the financial risk and burden prior to a sale being completed (see Sanjar, background and paragraph [0021]). This gives the user the advantage of increasing profitability and ability to compete on price.
As per claim 15,
This claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the reasons given above for rejected claim 1 and is similarly rejected.
As per claim 16,
This claim is rejected on grounds corresponding to the reasons given above for rejected claim 1 and is similarly rejected.
Conclusion
/JAY A MORRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151