DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for foreign priority based on a Patent Applications filed on 5/25/22. It is noted that Applicant has filed a certified copy of the application as required by 35 U.S.C. 119(b).
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 3/27/26 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Accordingly, the rejections stand.
Examiner acknowledges Claim 21 has been added.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks on Pages 6-11, Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 9/16/24 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Claim 21 has been added and rejected whereby Examiner has provided additional citation to the prior art disclosures to read upon newly amended/added language (See rejection contained herein). With regards to SHU, Examiner respectfully submits Applicant’s claim language does not recite ‘completely transparent’. In addition, SHU discloses a situation of ‘may’ causing a ‘block’ of light whereby said light by be ‘input light’ that may be blocked such that the display may be transparent under different scenarios (or ‘may’ recognize movement). It is unclear from the recited language what the ‘visible domain’ is in reference to that excludes the application of the cited prior art. With regards to LI and Applicant’s remarks, Applicant’s claims do not recite language that specifically excludes/includes a number of times light is to be modulated. Accordingly, the rejections stand.
Finally, Examiner has provided a prima facia case for combining the prior art of record to read upon the rejected claims of record. Accordingly, the rejections stand for the independent as well as dependent claims.
FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12, 14, 17-18, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHU et al. (US Pub. No.: 2017-0154570) in view of LI et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021-0234114).
As per Claim 1 SHU discloses A transparent display, comprising (Figs. 1-7 [0072-0073]):
a plurality of display pixels arranged on a display substrate, the plurality of display pixels being configured to generate a display image in the visible domain of the electromagnetic spectrum (Figs. 1-7 OLED pixel 601, light emitter 603 for RGB light, transparent display with glass substrate window 607 – displays the image [0072-0073]); a plurality of light emitters arranged on the display substrate and configured to illuminate a scene or an object with electromagnetic radiation within an illumination wavelength range that is outside the visible domain (Figs. 1-7 display apparatus 501 with IR light sources - per pixel display [0019-0020] [0063-0065] [0068] substrate [0072-0073]); wherein the display is substantially transparent in the visible domain (Figs. 1-7 OLED pixel 601 with transparent display with glass substrate window 607 – displays the image RGB [0072-0073])
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses a display with lensless imaging capability (Figs. 1-5 silent as to lenses as well as presenting an embodiment with the addition of lenses to a system where lenses are not required [0047-0048]); a plurality of photosensitive elements configured to capture electromagnetic radiation received from the scene or the object within the illumination wavelength range and to generate photo signals depending on the captured electromagnetic radiation (Figs. 1-5 photosensitive elements A [0007-0008] visible domain [0012] [0038] [0049-0050] plurality of RGB pixels and image generation/formation [0056] [0058-0061]); and an optical modulator arranged on an incident side of the plurality of photosensitive elements and configured to transmit electromagnetic radiation in the visible domain (Figs. 1-5 mask layer [0038] modulation and visible domain transmission [0082-0084]), and to modulate electromagnetic radiation within the illumination wavelength range (Figs. 1-5 mask layer modulates [0082-0084])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a display with lensless imaging capability; a plurality of photosensitive elements configured to capture electromagnetic radiation received from the scene or the object within the illumination wavelength range and to generate photo signals depending on the captured electromagnetic radiation; and an optical modulator arranged on an incident side of the plurality of photosensitive elements and configured to transmit electromagnetic radiation in the visible domain, and to modulate electromagnetic radiation within the illumination wavelength range as taught by LI into the system of SHU because of the benefit taught by LI to include components and features that enable higher quality image data with regards to external objects whereby SHU is directed towards a transparent display system with for providing images to a user and would benefit from the related techniques of LI to improve visual data output quality.
As per Claim 2 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses the illumination wavelength range is in the near-infrared, NIR, domain (Figs. 1-2 [0007] [0046-0048]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 2)
As per Claim 3 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein the light emitters are OLEDs (Figs.1-6 [Abstract] [0008-0009]), micro-LEDs (either or) or vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (either or), VCSELs (either or).
As per Claim 4 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses the plurality of photosensitive elements is arranged on the display substrate (Figs. 1-2 [0009] [0014]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 4)
As per Claim 5 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, further comprising
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses a detection substrate, wherein the plurality of photosensitive elements is arranged on the detection substrate (Figs. 1-2 photosensitive units - layer substrates [0009] [0014]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 5)
As per Claim 6 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of display pixels form an OLED display (Figs.1-6 [Abstract] [0008-00010]), a micro-LED display (either or) or a liquid crystal display, LCD (either or).
As per Claim 7 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses the photosensitive elements are silicon-based photodiodes (either or) or organic photodetectors, OPDs (Figs. 1-2 photosensitive units [0058] [0085]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 7)
As per Claim 8 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, further comprising
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses an optics substrate, wherein the optical modulator is arranged on the optics substrate (Figs. 1-4 modulator [0082] optical mask layer [0084-0085]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 8)
As per Claim 12 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses the optical modulator is formed from a dye-based polymer (Figs. 1-4 modulator [0082] dye polymer [0057-0058] optical mask layer [0084-0085]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 12)
As per Claim 14 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein
the substantial transparency of the display in the visible domain is realized by a distributed arrangement of the display pixels with voids in between (Fig. 1 holes - RGB pixels of display with transparent display [0003] – and see Figs. 1-4 [0009-0010] [0029-0031]0035-0038]), such that a substantial amount of electromagnetic radiation in the visible domain incident on the display is transmitted (Figs. 1-7 OLED pixel 601, light emitter 603 for RGB light, transparent display with glass substrate window 607 – displays the image [0072-0073])
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses distributed arrangement of photosensitive elements (Figs. 1-4 photosensitive elements A [0007-0008] visible domain [0012] [0038] [0049-0050] plurality of RGB pixels and image generation/formation [0056] [0058-0061]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 1 applies equally to Claim 14)
As per Claim 17 SHU discloses An electronic device comprising a transparent display (Figs. 1-7 display apparatus containing a transparent display [0009-0010] [0029-0030] [0072]) SHU in view of LI discloses according to claim 1 (See said analysis for Claim 1).
As per Claim 18 SHU discloses A method of manufacturing a transparent display, the method comprising (Figs. 1-7 [Abstract] [0008-0010] [0072-0073]):
arranging a plurality of display pixels a display substrate, the plurality of display pixels being configured to generate a display image in the visible domain of the electromagnetic spectrum (Figs. 1-7 OLED pixel 601 – plurality of pixels arrangement - light emitter 603 for RGB light, transparent display with glass substrate window 607 – displays the image [0072-0073]); providing a plurality of light emitters configured to illuminate a scene or an object with electromagnetic radiation within an illumination wavelength range that is outside the visible domain (See said analysis for Claim 1), wherein the plurality of light emitters is arranged on the display substrate (See said analysis for Claim 1); and wherein the display is substantially transparent in the visible domain (See said analysis for Claim 1)
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses a display with lensless imaging capability (See said analysis for Claim 1) providing a plurality of photosensitive elements configured to capture electromagnetic radiation received from the scene or the object within the illumination wavelength range and to generate photo signals depending on the captured electromagnetic radiation (See said analysis for Claim 1); and providing an optical modulator arranged on an incident side of the plurality of photosensitive elements and configured to transmit electromagnetic radiation in the visible domain, and to modulate electromagnetic radiation within the illumination wavelength range (See said analysis for Claim 1).
As per Claim 21 SHU discloses A transparent display, comprising (See said analysis for Claim 1)
a plurality of display pixels arranged on a display substrate, the plurality of display pixels being configured to generate a display image in the visible domain of the electromagnetic spectrum (See said analysis for Claim 1); a plurality of light emitters arranged on the display substrate and configured to illuminate a scene or an object with electromagnetic radiation within an illumination wavelength range that is outside the visible domain (See said analysis for Claim 1); wherein the display is substantially transparent in the visible domain (See said analysis for Claim 1) such that at least N% of a light intensity in the visible domain is transmitted through the display (Figs. 1-7 OLED window 607 transparent [0009-0010]) (Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify SHU to teach a specific amount of light intensity transmitted because Applicant has not disclosed that at least 70% of a light intensity provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant's invention to perform equally well with other amounts/percentages of light intensity because performance of said invention is not tied to a distinct percentage of light intensity)
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses a display with lensless imaging capability (See said analysis for Claim 1); a plurality of photosensitive elements configured to capture electromagnetic radiation received from the scene or the object within the illumination wavelength range and to generate photo signals depending on the captured electromagnetic radiation (See said analysis for Claim 1); and an optical modulator arranged on an incident side of the plurality of photosensitive elements and configured to transmit electromagnetic radiation in the visible domain (See said analysis for Claim 1), and to modulate electromagnetic radiation within the illumination wavelength range (See said analysis for Claim 1)
Claims 9-11, 15-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHU et al. (US Pub. No.: 2017-0154570) in view of LI et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021-0234114), as applied in Claims 1-8, 12, 14, 17-18, 21, and further in view of HE et al. (US Pub No.: 2020-0395421).
As per Claim 9 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses the optical modulator (See said analysis for Claim 1)
SHU and LI do not disclose but HE discloses an active matrix that is based on one of (Figs. 1-3 [0090]): liquid crystals (one or), optical switches (one or), digital light processors (one or) and spatial light processors (Figs. Figs. 1-8, 11-12 pin holes [0135-0137] [0146])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an active matrix that is based on one of: liquid crystals, optical switches, digital light processors and spatial light processors as taught by HE into the system of SHU and LI because of the benefit taught by HE to include as an OLED display system with further integrated components to achieve an improved user interface and output system with additional sensing modules, photodetectors and light-emitting elements spatially distributed across the display screen which will provides better outcomes for the combined systems.
As per Claim 10 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses the optical modulator (See said analysis for Claim 1)
SHU and LI do not disclose but HE discloses a passive matrix that is based on one of (Figs. 1-3 [0090]): an amplitude mask (one of), a phase mask (one of), and a plurality of diffractive elements (in at least Fig. 11A [0155]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 9 applies equally to Claim 10).
As per Claim 11 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses the optical modulator (See said analysis for Claim 1)
SHU and LI do not disclose but HE discloses realized by a spatially distributed plurality of pinholes (Figs. 1-8, 11-12 pin holes [0135-0137] [0146]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 9 applies equally to Claim 11)
As per Claim 15 SHU discloses A transparent imaging system, comprising (Figs. 1-7 rendered imaging [Abstract] [0008-0010]): a transparent display according to claim 1 (See said analysis for Claim 1);
and a processing unit coupled to the display and configured to (Figs. 1-7 OLED system processor circuits 205, 215 [0035-0036] [0076, 0079])
SHU and LI do not disclose but HE discloses reconstruct an image by applying an algorithm to the photo signals (Fig. 2D reconstruct using co-efficient for processing algorithm [0103]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 9 applies equally to Claim 15)
As per Claim 16 SHU discloses The transparent imaging system according to claim 15, wherein the processing unit is further configured to (See said analysis for Claim 15)
SHU and LI do not disclose but HE discloses control the generation of the display image based on the reconstructed image (Fig. 2D [0103]) (The motivation that applied in Claim 9 applies equally to Claim 16).
As per Claim 19 SHU discloses An electronic device comprising (Fig. 1 display apparatus 101 with display screen [0011-0012])
SHU in view of LI in view of HE discloses a transparent imaging system according to claim 15 (See said analysis for Claim 15).
As per Claim 20 SHU discloses An electronic device comprising (Fig. 1 display apparatus 101 with display screen [0011-0012])
SHU in view of LI in view of HE discloses a transparent imaging system according to claim 16 (See said analysis for Claim 16).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHU et al. (US Pub. No.: 2017-0154570) in view of LI et al. (US Pub. No.: 2021-0234114), as applied in Claims 1-8, 12, 14, 17-18, 21, and further in view of GRAHAM (US Pub. No.: 2020-0049550)
As per Claim 13 SHU discloses The transparent display according to claim 1, wherein
SHU does not disclose but LI discloses the optical modulator (See said analysis for Claim 1)
SHU and LI do not disclose GRAHAM discloses modulator forms a coded aperture mask (Figs. 2C modulator 32 [0025]), in particular characterized by a uniformly redundant array, URA (either or), or an optimized random pattern, ORA (Figs. 1-8 [0043] [0046-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include modulator forms a coded aperture mask, in particular characterized by a uniformly redundant array, URA, or an optimized random pattern, ORA as taught by GRAHAM into the system of SHU and LI because of the benefit taught by GRAHAM to include a spatial light modulator based coded-aperture mask for correcting display images to achieve better quality display image outcomes which naturally benefit the advanced image-display systems of SHU and LI.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Eileen Adams whose telephone number is (571) 270-3688. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Thurs from 7:30-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, William Vaughn can be reached on (571) 272-3922. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4688.
/EILEEN M ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481