DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2024 and 06/30/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Nallampatti Ekambaram et al. (US 11943022 B2, EFD: 2019-03-29) hereinafter Nallampatti.
For examination purposes, apparatus and method claims sharing the same limitations or which disclose analogous art to the invention as claimed will be grouped together and rejected under the same grounds.
Regarding claims 33 and 47, Nallampatti discloses a method and wireless device comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (Nallampatti, fig. 3, col 7, lns. 43-44; The receiver 300 may be incorporated in a drone or other high-altitude UE and adapted to: control the transceiver to receive, from a network, a measurement configuration including information on measurement objects, wherein the information on the measurement objects includes (i) information on a height-based list of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) to measure (Nallampatti, fig. 7, cols 9 ln. 66 – Col 10 lns. 1-3; In advance of using the UE-specific SS block, the network may identify drones and their altitudes, keeping track via the UTM information above) and (ii) information on a height range corresponding to the height-based list of SSB to measure and based on a current height of the wireless device being in the height range, perform measurements based on the height-based list of SSB to measure associated with the height range (Nallampatti, fig. 7, col. 10, lns. 49-55; Semi-static signaling may combine RRC signaling and Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) signaling, where the latter can change the SS block restriction patterns in the RRC connected mode, depending on the UE height information. Such UE height information can be given by a height-triggered measurement report from corresponding UEs) see also col 10, lns 56-63.
Regarding claim 52, Nallampatti discloses a base station, comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (Nallampatti, fig. 7, col. 10 lns. 22-23; if 2 horizontal SS beams and 4 vertical SS beams 712a-712d are transmitted by the BS 710), and adapted to: provide, to a wireless device, a measurement configuration including information on measurement objects, wherein the information on the measurement objects includes (i) information on a height-based list of Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) to measure (Nallampatti, fig. 7, cols 9 ln. 66 – Col 10 lns. 1-3; In advance of using the UE-specific SS block, the network may identify drones and their altitudes, keeping track via the UTM information above) and (ii) information on a height range corresponding to the height-based list of SSB to measure; and receive, from the wireless device, a measurement report which is performed based on the height-based list of SSB to measure associated with the height range (Nallampatti, fig. 7, col. 10, lns. 49-55; Semi-static signaling may combine RRC signaling and Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) signaling, where the latter can change the SS block restriction patterns in the RRC connected mode, depending on the UE height information. Such UE height information can be given by a height-triggered measurement report from corresponding UEs) see also col 10, lns 56-63.
Regarding claims 34 and 48, Nallampatti discloses a method and wireless device according to claims 33 and 47, further comprising, selecting, by the wireless device, at least one beam based on the height-based list of SSB to measure (Nallampatti, fig. 7, col. 10, lns. 16-28; As shown in FIG. 7, the vertical separation between ground UEs 702 and drones 704 may be leveraged to introduce UE-specific SS blocks that are dependent on the vertical sector 720, 730 occupied by the ground UE 702 or drone 704. In particular, a restriction may be imposed on SS blocks for a UE to search for mobility or measurement purposes. For instance, if 2 horizontal SS beams and 4 vertical SS beams 712a-712d are transmitted by the BS 710, the ground UEs 702 may be restricted to only search/measure neighboring cells based on the lower 2 vertical SS beams 712c, 712d and the drones 704 may be restricted to only search/measure the upper 2 vertical SS beams 712a, 712b).
Regarding claims 35 and 49, Nallampatti discloses a method and wireless device according to claims 34 and 48, wherein the selected at least one beam is selected while in RRCIDLE state or RRC_INACTIVE state (Nallampatti, col. 11, lns. 8-10; In some aspects, similar signaling may be provided to the drone when in Idle mode to instruct the drone to search or measure a particular subset of SS blocks.).
Regarding claims 37 and 51, Nallampatti discloses a method and wireless device according to claims 33 and 47, wherein the at least one processor is further adapted to, monitor a current height of the wireless device (Nallampatti, col. 10, lns. 16-22; As shown in FIG. 7, the vertical separation between ground UEs 702 and drones 704 may be leveraged to introduce UE-specific SS blocks that are dependent on the vertical sector 720, 730 occupied by the ground UE 702 or drone 704. In particular, a restriction may be imposed on SS blocks for a UE to search for mobility or measurement purposes.); and determine at least one SSB to measure based on the current height (Nallampatti, col. 10, lns. 22-29; For instance, if 2 horizontal SS beams and 4 vertical SS beams 712a-712d are transmitted by the BS 710, the ground UEs 702 may be restricted to only search/measure neighboring cells based on the lower 2 vertical SS beams 712c, 712d and the drones 704 may be restricted to only search/measure the upper 2 vertical SS beams 712a, 712b.).
Regarding claim 38, Nallampatti discloses a method according to claim 33, wherein the method further comprises, reporting, by the wireless device to the network information on a height range in which a current height of the wireless device belongs to (Nallampatti, fig. 7, col. 10, lns. 49-55; Semi-static signaling may combine RRC signaling and Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) signaling, where the latter can change the SS block restriction patterns in the RRC connected mode, depending on the UE height information. Such UE height information can be given by a height-triggered measurement report from corresponding UEs)
Regarding claim 39, Nallampatti discloses a method according to claim 33, wherein the method further comprises, performing, by the wireless device, synchronize with the network based on the height- based list of SSB to measure associated with the height range (Nallampatti col. 10, lns 55-67 and col. 11, lns. 1-10; In some aspects, an on/off bitmap may be used for the SS block restriction pattern. Let N.sub.1 and N.sub.2 denote the number of SS beams in the 1.sup.st dimension (e.g., horizontal domain) and the 2.sup.nd dimension (e.g., vertical domain), respectively. Taking the signaling overhead into account, different control can be effected over the SS block restriction pattern in the different domains. For instance, several bitmaps of length {1, N.sub.1, N.sub.2, N.sub.1*N.sub.2} may be defined. For a one-bit signal, a subset of SS beams may be predetermined for a certain UE to search or measure. For the bitmap of length N.sub.1 (or N.sub.2), the BS may restrict the SS beams for a UE to a subset of SS beams only in the 1.sup.st (or 2.sup.nd) dimension. For a bitmap of length N.sub.1*N.sub.2, the BS may arbitrarily turn a particular SS beam on/off in both 1.sup.st and 2.sup.nd dimensions. Drones are likely to experience LoS channel propagation so that a good SS beam for a certain drone may not change dynamically and may also be predictable, unlike ground UEs. Accordingly, a flexible SSB restriction pattern may be useful. The above bitmap may be provided when the drone is in the RRC Connected mode. In some aspects, similar signaling may be provided to the drone when in Idle mode to instruct the drone to search or measure a particular subset of SS blocks.).
Regarding claim 40, Nallampatti discloses a method according to claim 33, wherein the method further comprises, performing, by the wireless device, cell quality evaluation based on the height-based list of SSB to measure associated with the height range (Nallampatti, col. 9, lns. 35-50; A repetition and/or accumulation scheme (coverage enhancement) may be used to boost the channel quality of handover-related signals and channels for drones. Drones with poor channel quality (e.g., SINR below −10 dB) can establish a DL sync to neighboring cells and transmit the measurement report to the serving cell (and/or one or more of the neighboring cells, which may be coupled to the serving cell via an X2 or Xn interface). However, to provide a measurement report, a drone may measure a large number of candidate cells with multiple SS beams, which repeats every 20 ms as a default for initial access. Thus, it may take a substantial amount of time for the drone to accumulate each SS block over, say, 10 periods (200 ms)).
Regarding claim 41, Nallampatti discloses a method according to claim 33, wherein the method further comprises, reporting, by the wireless device, cell quality based on the height-based list of SSB to measure associated with the height range (Nallampatti, col. 9, lns. 35-50; A repetition and/or accumulation scheme (coverage enhancement) may be used to boost the channel quality of handover-related signals and channels for drones. Drones with poor channel quality (e.g., SINR below −10 dB) can establish a DL sync to neighboring cells and transmit the measurement report to the serving cell (and/or one or more of the neighboring cells, which may be coupled to the serving cell via an X2 or Xn interface). However, to provide a measurement report, a drone may measure a large number of candidate cells with multiple SS beams, which repeats every 20 ms as a default for initial access. Thus, it may take a substantial amount of time for the drone to accumulate each SS block over, say, 10 periods (200 ms)).
Regarding claim 42, Nallampatti discloses a method according to claim 33, wherein the information on a height range corresponding to the height-based list of SSB to measure includes information on a lowest height value and a highest height value representing the height range (Nallampatti col. 10, lns. 43-48;Either static or semi-static higher-layer signaling of the SS block may be used. To use static signaling, the RRC signaling does not change in the connected mode. Semi-static signaling, while more complicated, may be useful if the drone varies in height to transition between the vertical sectors (e.g., from high altitude to below the BS height)).
Regarding claim 43, Nallampatti discloses a method according to claim 33, wherein the information on a height-based list of SSB to measure includes information on SSB type to be used (Nallampatti col. 10, lns 55-67 and col. 11, lns. 1-10; In some aspects, an on/off bitmap may be used for the SS block restriction pattern. Let N.sub.1 and N.sub.2 denote the number of SS beams in the 1.sup.st dimension (e.g., horizontal domain) and the 2.sup.nd dimension (e.g., vertical domain), respectively. Taking the signaling overhead into account, different control can be effected over the SS block restriction pattern in the different domains. For instance, several bitmaps of length {1, N.sub.1, N.sub.2, N.sub.1*N.sub.2} may be defined. For a one-bit signal, a subset of SS beams may be predetermined for a certain UE to search or measure. For the bitmap of length N.sub.1 (or N.sub.2), the BS may restrict the SS beams for a UE to a subset of SS beams only in the 1.sup.st (or 2.sup.nd) dimension. For a bitmap of length N.sub.1*N.sub.2, the BS may arbitrarily turn a particular SS beam on/off in both 1.sup.st and 2.sup.nd dimensions. Drones are likely to experience LoS channel propagation so that a good SS beam for a certain drone may not change dynamically and may also be predictable, unlike ground UEs. Accordingly, a flexible SSB restriction pattern may be useful. The above bitmap may be provided when the drone is in the RRC Connected mode. In some aspects, similar signaling may be provided to the drone when in Idle mode to instruct the drone to search or measure a particular subset of SS blocks.).
Regarding claim 44, Nallampatti discloses a method according to claim 33, wherein the information on a height-based list of SSB to measure includes a bit mask value used to select at least one SSB to measure among one or more preconfigured SSBs (Nallampatti col. 10, lns 55-67 and col. 11, lns. 1-10; In some aspects, an on/off bitmap may be used for the SS block restriction pattern. Let N.sub.1 and N.sub.2 denote the number of SS beams in the 1.sup.st dimension (e.g., horizontal domain) and the 2.sup.nd dimension (e.g., vertical domain), respectively. Taking the signaling overhead into account, different control can be effected over the SS block restriction pattern in the different domains. For instance, several bitmaps of length {1, N.sub.1, N.sub.2, N.sub.1*N.sub.2} may be defined. For a one-bit signal, a subset of SS beams may be predetermined for a certain UE to search or measure. For the bitmap of length N.sub.1 (or N.sub.2), the BS may restrict the SS beams for a UE to a subset of SS beams only in the 1.sup.st (or 2.sup.nd) dimension. For a bitmap of length N.sub.1*N.sub.2, the BS may arbitrarily turn a particular SS beam on/off in both 1.sup.st and 2.sup.nd dimensions. Drones are likely to experience LoS channel propagation so that a good SS beam for a certain drone may not change dynamically and may also be predictable, unlike ground UEs. Accordingly, a flexible SSB restriction pattern may be useful. The above bitmap may be provided when the drone is in the RRC Connected mode. In some aspects, similar signaling may be provided to the drone when in Idle mode to instruct the drone to search or measure a particular subset of SS blocks.).
Regarding claim 46, Nallampatti discloses a method according to claim 33, wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device (Nallampatti, fig. 7, col. 10, lns. 22-27; For instance, if 2 horizontal SS beams and 4 vertical SS beams 712a-712d are transmitted by the BS 710, the ground UEs 702 may be restricted to only search/measure neighboring cells based on the lower 2 vertical SS beams 712c, 712d and the drones 704 may be restricted to only search/measure the upper 2 vertical SS beams 712a, 712b). examiner notes, see MPEP 2111.04 for contingent limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 36 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nallampatti Ekambaram et al. (US 11943022 B2, EFD: 2019-03-29) hereinafter Nallampatti in view of Gupta et al. (US 20210168869 A1, published: 2021-06-03) hereinafter Gupta.
Regarding claims 36 and 50, Nallampatti discloses a method and wireless device according to claims 34 and 48, wherein the at least one beam is selected for a Random Access Channel (RACH) procedure (Nallampatti, col. 12, lns. 38-45; The received AP signal between successive antenna elements may be phase-shifted, and the degree of phase shift may depend on the AoA, the antenna element spacing, and the carrier frequency. By measuring the phase shift and using known characteristics, the AoA can be determined. This may provide significant reduction in sounding codewords used for beam selection and channel estimation)
Nallampatti does not explicitly disclose the beam is selected for a RACH procedure, however in analogous art, Gupta discloses a method for handling a RACH procedure for non-terrestrial communication systems (Gupta, par. 96; FIG. 9a is a flow chart 804 illustrating various process for selecting the default TA and the RACH resource, when the height of the UE (100) and the beam information are available, according to the embodiments as disclosed herein. The operations (902a-904a) are performed by the processor (110)).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Nallampatti’s methods for elevated device communication using with Gupta’s methods for performing RACH procedures in non-terrestrial networks to enhance beam selection in height dependent systems.
Claims 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nallampatti Ekambaram et al. (US 11943022 B2, EFD: 2019-03-29) hereinafter Nallampatti in view of Ökvist et al. (US 20200404555 A1, published: 2020-12-24) hereinafter Ökvist.
Regarding claim 45, Nallampatti discloses a method according to claim 33, wherein the method further comprises, transmitting, by the wireless device to the network, information on the at least one SSB used for measurement reporting (Nallampatti col. 10, lns. 43-48;Either static or semi-static higher-layer signaling of the SS block may be used. To use static signaling, the RRC signaling does not change in the connected mode. Semi-static signaling, while more complicated, may be useful if the drone varies in height to transition between the vertical sectors (e.g., from high altitude to below the BS height)).
Nallampatti does not explicitly disclose the wireless device reporting back information on the at least one SSB used and rather relies on the base station to make this determination. However, on analogous art Ökvist discloses a method for cell resource selection on altitude dependent device which explicitly discloses the device reporting back to the base station (Ökvist, par. 119; The altitude indication MN is then obtained or received by the neighbour relations handling module 48 of the neighbour relations handling device 47, step 74, which thereafter investigates which altitude that the UAV 22 has reported and then determines within which altitude interval it lies, step 76. In the example given here the altitude interval is the second altitude interval AI2. ) and using that information to allocate cell resources (Ökvist, par 120; Thereafter the neighbour relations handling module 48 selects a neighbour relations set that corresponds to the altitude interval, step 78, which in the given example is the second neighbour relations set NRS2. Thereby the selection is performed based on the altitude indication)
Therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine Nallampatti’s teachings of beamforming communications using drones with Ökvist’s teachings for selecting beams based on the altitude of a device to enhance beam selection with moving devices.
It is noted that any citations to specific pages, columns, lines or figures in the prior art
references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered limiting in any way. A
reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably
suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Parkayastha et al. (US 20220116840 A1), SIGNALING FOR CONDITIONAL PRIMARY SECONDARY CELL ADDITION/CHANGE CONFIGURATION, 2022. Aspects relate to wireless communication where a master node (MN) or a secondary node (SN) may initiate a conditional addition of a primary secondary cell (PSCell) or a conditional change from one PSCell to another PSCell. Each candidate target PSCell may provide information to be used by the MN to generate a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) configuration or a conditional PSCell change (CPC) configuration that is sent to a user equipment (UE). This information may indicate an execution condition for each candidate target PSCell and/or radio bearers that each candidate target PSCell supports or does not support. An MN may modify a master cell group (MCG) configuration for a PSCell based on information received from a target SN with an secondary cell group (SCG) configuration for the PSCell. The MN may transmit a CPA or CPC configuration including the modified MCG configuration and the SCG configuration to the UE.
Lee et al. (US 20210168691 A1), METHOD FOR ESTIMATING MOBILITY STATE OF UE AND DEVICE SUPPORTING THE SAME, 2021. Provided are a method of estimating mobility state of UE and a device supporting the method. According to one embodiment of the present disclosure, the method includes: receiving information on neighbor cell from a serving cell, wherein the information informs to which group the neighbor cell belongs; performing cell change from the serving cell to the neighbor cell; when the neighbor cell belongs to a first group, counting the cell change; when the neighbor cell belongs to a second group, skipping counting the cell change; and reporting a number of counted cell change for estimating mobility state of the UE, wherein the first group and the second group are configured based on altitude of the UE.
Barfield et al. (US 20140172351 A1), METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR DETERMINING THE HEIGHT OF A DEVICE ABOVE GROUND, 2014. A device updates a value representing its current height above ground when it detects a height change. The device uses the slope calculated from collected barometric pressure data samples to calculate height change during a period when the value of the slope exceeds a predetermined value. The device also analyzes a predetermined number of barometric pressure sensor data samples preceding and succeeding a height change indicated by the slope change. The device performs an evaluation, i.e., determining the difference between an average of the preceding and succeeding samples, to determine a height change. The device may select either the slope-of-the-curve-during-the-height-change-period method or the difference-between-the-averages method based on meeting a criterion. The processor de-energizes a GPS circuit, height determination method, and sets the height above ground to zero if it detects movement. Placing the device on a charger resets the device's height value to the charger height above ground.
Axmon et al. (US 20170171792 A1), CELL SELECTION FOR AIRBORNE MOBILE CELLULAR COMMUNICATIONS EQUIPMENT, 2017. A network node in a cellular telecommunications system hands over responsibility for serving a wireless communication equipment from a serving cell to a target cell, wherein the wireless communication equipment is situated in a first aircraft that is in-flight. An aircraft position, an aircraft velocity, and an aircraft direction are determined. For each candidate cell of a number of candidate cells, a level of beam distortion that would result from a beam directed from the candidate cell to the first aircraft is predicted. The target cell is selected from the candidate cells by identifying which of the candidate cells has a least amount of predicted beam distortion. The target cell is then signaled to prepare for a handover of responsibility for serving the wireless communication equipment.
Kumar et al. (US 20200145977 A1), POSITIONING ENHANCEMENTS FOR LOCATING A MOBILE DEVICE IN A WIRELESS NETWORK, 2020. Techniques for determining a location of a mobile device are provided. An example of a method according to the disclosure includes determining, on the mobile device, beam identification information for one or more radio beams, transmitting, with the mobile device, the beam identification information to a network node, receiving, at the mobile device, positioning reference signal beam information for one or more positioning reference signals, generating, with the mobile device, one or more receive beams based on the positioning reference signal beam information, obtaining, with the mobile device, at least one measurement from at least one of the one or more positioning reference signals, and facilitating location determination of the mobile device at a location-capable device based at least in part on the at least one measurement.
Hong (US 20200213891 A1), CELL MEASUREMENT METHOD AND APPARATUS, 2020. A cell measurement method, applied to a base station, includes: configuring, for an unmanned aerial vehicle, a reporting parameter for a measurement report for cell measurement, the reporting parameter for the measurement report at least including a specified measurement cell number and a specified measurement time value; and sending the reporting parameter for the measurement report to the unmanned aerial vehicle, to enable the unmanned aerial vehicle to send the measurement report to the base station when it is detected according to the reporting parameter for the measurement report that a candidate cell queue meets a reporting rule for the measurement report.
Levitsky et al. (US 20250150845 A1), SYSTEMATIC AND SEMI DETERMINISTIC MAPPING BETWEEN SYNCHRONIZATION SIGNAL BLOCK IDS AND PHYSICAL TRANSMISSION BEAMS FOR MORE EFFICIENT BEAM MANAGEMENT, 2025. Aspects presented herein may improve beam management and neighbor cell(s) monitoring related characteristics on a UE side, which may include improved power consumption, configuration volume reduction, and more robust and efficient beam tracking procedures for UEs receiving and monitoring SSBs transmitted by a base stations. In one aspect, a UE is configured to apply an SSB IDs classification based on a systematic mapping configuration that maps a set of SSB IDs to a plurality of SSB beams of a network entity, each SSB beam of the plurality of SSB beams being associated with one SSB ID of the set of SSB IDs and covering a range of azimuth angles and a range of elevation angles. Based on the mapping configuration and the semi-deterministic SSB beams sweeping pattern, the UE may classify SSB IDs into different categories and prioritize and deprioritize measurements for one or more SSB IDs.
He Linhai et al. (WO 2022060641 A1), ENHANCED INITIAL ACCESS WITH MULTI-BEAM OPERATIONS, 2022. Wireless communication systems and methods related to enhancing initial access for multi-beam operations. A user equipment (UE) selects a synchronization signal block (SSB) that corresponds to a beam and has a reference signal received power (RSRP) above a threshold. The UE receives a system information block (SIB) that includes a plurality of SSB and beam-specific system information pairs. The UE selects beam-specific system information by matching the selected SSB to one of SSBs in the multiple SSB and beam-specific system information pairs. The UE establishes a connection with a base station (BS) using the beam-specific system information.
/MARIO R CAMPERO MIRAMONTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649