DETAILED ACTION
Contingent Limitations
Section MPEP 2111.04(II) sets forth, “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” The following are contingent limitations which are not required to be found in the prior art under broadest reasonable interpretation. This does not necessarily include contingent limitations which are required to be found in the prior art.
Claim 1 recites the following contingent limitations “when displaying the second window” is contingent in addition to displaying the first window, displaying a second window in the client interface.. Therefore, the BRI of the claim 1 is on conditional limitations, if the condition is not met the subsequent steps need not occur. The claim is interpreted as covering methods that never trigger the second or third windows. The contingent limitations is for the compact prosecution but is not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim 4 recites the following contingent limitations “in response to receiving a group information display instruction” is contingent displaying the first switching control in the second window. Therefore, the BRI of the claim 4 is on conditional limitations, if the condition is not met the subsequent steps need not occur. The contingent limitations is for the compact prosecution but is not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim 5 recites the following contingent limitations “in response to receiving a group information hiding instruction, cancelling displaying the second window” is contingent in response to an operation of hovering a mouse or cursor over. Therefore, the BRI of the claim 5 is on conditional limitations, if the condition is not met the subsequent steps need not occur. The contingent limitations is for the compact prosecution but is not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim 8 recites the following contingent limitations “displaying an information stream corresponding to a preset default group in the first window” is contingent. Therefore, the BRI of the claim 8 is on conditional limitations, if the condition is not met the subsequent steps need not occur. The contingent limitations is for the compact prosecution but is not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim 10 recites the following contingent limitations “in response to an operation of a user selecting a group in the second window” is contingent. Therefore, the BRI of the claim 10 is on conditional limitations, if the condition is not met the subsequent steps need not occur. The contingent limitations is for the compact prosecution but is not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8, 10-11, 13-15 and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosania et al. (US Patent Application 2019/0058680) in view of Tian et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0273894).
Regarding claim 1, Rosania discloses a session information processing method, comprising [see abstract; The group-based communication interface is configured to relegate selected group-based messaging communications to a separate display pane, where additional messaging communications can be received, thereby maintaining a focused selected group-based communication channel]:
displaying a first window in a client interface, the first window being used for displaying an information stream [see abstract, para. 0004 and figures 4, 7-8; generating a group-based communication interface that is configured to efficiently arrange an array of messaging communications within a defined display window, the group-based communication interface defining a channel list pane; which corresponds to a channel message pane that displays an information stream of messaging communication] ; and in response to receiving a group information display instruction, in addition to displaying the first window, displaying a second window in the client interface, the second window being used for displaying group information [see para. 0008, 0009 and figures 4, 7-8; the group-based communication interface defining a channel list pane comprising a plurality of group-based communication channels and a channel messaging pane by causing the apparatus to receive a first messaging communication associated with a selected group-based communication channel of the plurality of group-based communication channels; display the first messaging communication to the channel messaging pane; receive a thread request to create a subsidiary channel-based thread communication associated with the first messaging communication in the selected group-based communication channel; and in response to receiving the thread request, generate and display a thread summary indicator within the channel messaging pane proximate the first messaging communication], the group information comprising information of a plurality of groups, the information stream comprising one or both of a session and a message [see para. 0119, 0120 and figures 4, 7-8; group-based communication interface having a channel list pane, channel messaging pane, and thread communication pane in accordance with some embodiments discussed herein. The depicted group-based communication interface presents channel list pane 400, channel messaging pane 410, and thread communication pane 420. The channel list pane includes a thread indication, communication channel indications (e.g., identifying channels that the member follows), the name of the group (“ACME Corp”), and the name of the particular member (“Matt”) viewing the interface, the selected group-based communication interface may be configured to display the channel list pane, channel messaging pane, and thread communication pane simultaneously. The channel messaging pane includes a selected group-based communication channel (“announcements”) which includes a feed of group-based messaging communications. Each group-based messaging communication includes messaging communication information. The messaging communication information includes a profile identifier; which corresponds to user interactions by updating or displaying group while maintaining the messaging display]; however, each group corresponding to an information stream screened out by using a preset screening condition of the group.
Tian discloses each group corresponding to an information stream screened out by using a preset screening condition of the group [see abstract, 0015, 0228 and figures 3, 7; a user interface of a messaging application, such as an IM program. The user interface includes a function region 31, a chat group list 32, and a chat message interface 33 that are arranged from left to right. The function region displayed with a personal page button, a chat group button, a contacts button, and a favorite list button from top to bottom. The receiving module is configured to receive a selection operation for at least one chat group in the chat group list. The display module is further configured to determine a chat message that satisfies preset condition in the selected chat group, and add the chat message that satisfies the preset condition to a concatenated message window for display, the concatenated message window being configured to display chat messages under a topic corresponding to the chat message, the topic including chat messages from at least one chat group; which corresponds to a message display method in an IM environment].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Rosania and Tian before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the multi-pane group-based communication interface of Rosania to by incorporating the grouped window and topic, as taught by Tian.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to reduce the need for users to switch between different groups when viewing related content and improving the organization and display of messaging communications in multi-group IM interfaces.
Regarding claim 2, Rosania discloses wherein, the client further displays a third window, the third window being used for displaying an interactive interface corresponding to a currently selected session or message in the first window; wherein, there is no overlap between the first window, the second window, and the third window; the second window, the first window and the third window are sequentially arranged in a first direction [see para. 0154-0157 and figures 4, 7; The thread summary communication pane displays a summary of the threads that the member follows for each thread summary, the thread summary communication pane includes the name of the group-based communication channel from which the thread was created, the selected group-based messaging communication from which the thread was created, and thread communication messages received in the thread. For each thread summary, the thread summary communication pane also includes a thread communication input register, a share actuator, and a thread messaging actuator. The thread communication input registers are configured to receive thread communication messages from a member. The thread communication message is then displayed in the thread summary communication pane];
or, the first window and the third window are not overlapped and are sequentially arranged in the first direction; the second window is displayed on at least one of the first window and/or the third window in a floating window form[ see para. 0009, 0018; The thread summary indicator may include a thread count and a latency indicator, and the channel list pane, channel messaging pane, and thread communication pane may be configured to be viewable simultaneously].
Tian discloses wherein the group information display instruction is generated based on one of: a user issuing a preset trigger operation; the preset trigger operation being used for instructing displaying the second window; a message to be processed of at least one group meeting a first preset condition: or a user performing an operation of setting a target session as a custom group through an identifier of the target session [see para. 0101; the concatenated message window and the chat message window are two windows or window regions side by side, for example, two windows are window regions horizontally disposed side by side, or may be two windows or window regions vertically disposed side by side, for example, on a smartphone with a relatively small screen, the concatenated message window may alternatively cover or partially cover the chat message window for display].
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to reduce the need for users to switch between different groups when viewing related content and improving the organization and display of messaging communications in multi-group IM interfaces.
Regarding claim 4, Rosania discloses wherein, the preset trigger operation comprises an operation performed on a first switching control displayed in the first window; and when displaying the second window, displaying the first switching control in the second window, and canceling displaying the first switching control in the first window [see para. 0058; A “thread communication pane” is a display pane that is configured to display a selected thread. The thread communication pane may include a variety of information, such as messaging communication information, and may include a variety of actuators for initiating requests. A “thread summary communication pane” is a display pane that is configured to display a summary of threads that the particular member follows. The summary typically includes at least a portion of one or more thread communication messages as well as at least a portion of the selected group-based messaging communications from which the thread was created. The thread summary communication pane may also display various notifications, actuators, and indicators/indications. A channel messaging pane is a display pane configured to display a selected group-based communication channel and may display a variety of information and a variety of notifications, actuators, and indicators/indications].
Regarding claim 5, Tian discloses wherein, the method further comprises: in response to receiving a group information hiding instruction, cancelling displaying the second window, or, the in response to receiving a group information display instruction, in addition to displaying the first window, displaying a second window in the client interface. comprises: in response to an operation of hovering a mouse or cursor over a first switching control displayed in the first window, displaying the second window in a floating window form, or, wherein the method further comprises: in response to an operation of selecting a first group in the second window, displaying an information stream corresponding to the first group in the first window; and in response to an information stream closing instruction, cancelling displaying the information stream corresponding to the first group [see para. 0252 and figures 3, 7; The display module is configured to display a chat message window of a first chat group, the chat message window being configured to display received chat messages between member user accounts. The interaction module is configured to receive a trigger operation triggered for a first chat message in the chat message window. The display module is further configured to display the first chat message in a concatenated message window according to the trigger operation, the concatenated message window being configured to display chat messages under a topic corresponding to the first chat message, the topic including chat messages from at least one chat group].
Regarding claim 8, Rosania discloses wherein, after the cancelling displaying the information stream corresponding to the first group, the method further comprises: displaying an information stream corresponding to a preset default group in the first window, or, wherein an exit control is further displayed in the first window, the information stream closing instruction being generated based on a trigger operation on the exit control [see para. 0140; Additional notifications may be displayed in the thread summary communication pane 530, such as banners configured to indicate a variety of information (e.g., number of new thread communication messages received, time of last receipt, time of last display of thread summary communication pane). Further, in some embodiments, the selected group-based communication interface may be configured to display a banner separating new threads from already displayed threads. The thread summary communication pane 530 can also be refreshed by a member (e.g., by selecting a thread summary view actuator to initiate a thread summary view request) initiating the display of different notifications updated to indicate the latest information].
Regarding claim 10, Rosania discloses a session information processing method, comprising [see abstract; The group-based communication interface is configured to relegate selected group-based messaging communications to a separate display pane, where additional messaging communications can be received, thereby maintaining a focused selected group-based communication channel]:
displaying a first window, a second window and a third window in a client interface; wherein, the first window is used for displaying an information stream, and the information stream comprises one or both of a session and a message [see abstract, para. 0004 and figures 4, 7-8; generating a group-based communication interface that is configured to efficiently arrange an array of messaging communications within a defined display window, the group-based communication interface defining a channel list pane; which corresponds to a channel message pane that displays an information stream of messaging communication]; the third window is used for displaying an interactive interface corresponding to a currently selected session or message in the first window; the second window is used for displaying group information, the group information comprises information of a plurality of groups [see para. 0008, 0009 and figures 4, 7-8; the group-based communication interface defining a channel list pane comprising a plurality of group-based communication channels and a channel messaging pane by causing the apparatus to receive a first messaging communication associated with a selected group-based communication channel of the plurality of group-based communication channels; display the first messaging communication to the channel messaging pane; receive a thread request to create a subsidiary channel-based thread communication associated with the first messaging communication in the selected group-based communication channel; and in response to receiving the thread request, generate and display a thread summary indicator within the channel messaging pane proximate the first messaging communication]; and in response to an operation of a user selecting a group in the second window, displaying an information stream corresponding to the selected group in the first window[see para. 0119, 0120 and figures 4, 7-8; group-based communication interface having a channel list pane, channel messaging pane, and thread communication pane in accordance with some embodiments discussed herein. The depicted group-based communication interface presents channel list pane 400, channel messaging pane 410, and thread communication pane 420. The channel list pane includes a thread indication, communication channel indications (e.g., identifying channels that the member follows), the name of the group (“ACME Corp”), and the name of the particular member (“Matt”) viewing the interface, the selected group-based communication interface may be configured to display the channel list pane, channel messaging pane, and thread communication pane simultaneously. The channel messaging pane includes a selected group-based communication channel (“announcements”) which includes a feed of group-based messaging communications. Each group-based messaging communication includes messaging communication information. The messaging communication information includes a profile identifier; which corresponds to user interactions by updating or displaying group while maintaining the messaging display]; however, Rosania fails to explicitly teach each group corresponds to an information stream screened out by using a preset screening condition of the group.
Tian discloses each group corresponding to an information stream screened out by using a preset screening condition of the group [see abstract, 0015, 0228 and figures 3, 7; a user interface of a messaging application, such as an IM program. The user interface includes a function region 31, a chat group list 32, and a chat message interface 33 that are arranged from left to right. The function region displayed with a personal page button, a chat group button, a contacts button, and a favorite list button from top to bottom. The receiving module is configured to receive a selection operation for at least one chat group in the chat group list. The display module is further configured to determine a chat message that satisfies preset condition in the selected chat group, and add the chat message that satisfies the preset condition to a concatenated message window for display, the concatenated message window being configured to display chat messages under a topic corresponding to the chat message, the topic including chat messages from at least one chat group; which corresponds to a message display method in an IM environment].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Rosania and Tian before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the multi-pane group-based communication interface of Rosania to by incorporating the grouped window and topic, as taught by Tian.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to reduce the need for users to switch between different groups when viewing related content and improving the organization and display of messaging communications in multi-group IM interfaces.
Regarding claim 11, Rosania discloses wherein the second window, the first window, and the third window are sequentially arranged in a first direction in the client interface; or, the first window and the third window are not overlapped and are sequentially arranged in the first direction; the second window is displayed on at least one of the first window and/or the third window in a floating window form, or wherein, the method further comprises: in response to receiving a hiding instruction for hiding the second window, cancelling displaying the second window in the client interface [see para. 0070 and figures 4, 7; The selected group-based communication interface thereby efficiently and effectively provides an interface for group-based communications. Group-based messaging communications within the plurality of group-based communication channels can be relegated to threads to continue conversations without congesting the selected group-based communication channel with side conversations, while also informing the members of the selected group-based communication channel that the side conversation is or has taken place and allowing those members to access and view the side conversations].
Regarding claim 13, Rosania discloses wherein, the method further comprises: in a state of hiding the second window, displaying the first window, the second window and the third window in the client interface according to a received display instruction for instructing displaying the second window [see figures 4, 7-8].
Regarding claim 14, Tian discloses wherein, the method further comprises: in response to an information stream closing instruction, cancelling displaying an information stream corresponding to a currently displayed group in the first window; and displaying an information stream corresponding to a preset default group in the first window [see para. 0293; The display module is further configured to determine a chat message that satisfies a preset condition in the selected chat group, and add the chat message that satisfies the preset condition to a concatenated message window for display, the concatenated message window being configured to display chat messages under a topic corresponding to the chat message, the topic including chat messages from at least one chat group].
Regarding claim 15, Tian discloses wherein, an exit control is further displayed in the first window, and the information stream closing instruction is generated based on a trigger operation on the exit control [see para. 0238 and figure 15; visible range setting controls, and a prompt viewing range setting control are displayed in the concatenated message interface. When the visible range setting control is checked, currently-replied interaction message content is transmitted to a chat group X. When the visible range setting control is tapped, a chat group check window pops up, and the user selects another chat group that the user wants to share with in the chat group check window, when the user slides up and down the chat group check window, all chat groups can be viewed. When the prompt viewing range setting control is tapped, a contacts check window is displayed, and the user selects another contact that the user wants to prompt to view in the contacts check window, when the user slides up and down the contacts check window, all contacts can be viewed].
Regarding claim 27, Rosania discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; and storage means configured to store one or more programs, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement the a session information processing method, comprising [see para. 0199 and figure 2; comprises a plurality of processors. The plurality of processors may be embodied on a single computing device or may be distributed across a plurality of computing devices collectively configured to function as circuitry]:
displaying a first window in a client interface, the first window being used for displaying an information stream [see abstract, para. 0004 and figures 4, 7-8; generating a group-based communication interface that is configured to efficiently arrange an array of messaging communications within a defined display window, the group-based communication interface defining a channel list pane; which corresponds to a channel message pane that displays an information stream of messaging communication] ; and in response to receiving a group information display instruction, in addition to displaying the first window, displaying a second window in the client interface, the second window being used for displaying group information [see para. 0008, 0009 and figures 4, 7-8; the group-based communication interface defining a channel list pane comprising a plurality of group-based communication channels and a channel messaging pane by causing the apparatus to receive a first messaging communication associated with a selected group-based communication channel of the plurality of group-based communication channels; display the first messaging communication to the channel messaging pane; receive a thread request to create a subsidiary channel-based thread communication associated with the first messaging communication in the selected group-based communication channel; and in response to receiving the thread request, generate and display a thread summary indicator within the channel messaging pane proximate the first messaging communication], the group information comprising information of a plurality of groups, the information stream comprising one or both of a session and a message [see para. 0119, 0120 and figures 4, 7-8; group-based communication interface having a channel list pane, channel messaging pane, and thread communication pane in accordance with some embodiments discussed herein. The depicted group-based communication interface presents channel list pane 400, channel messaging pane 410, and thread communication pane 420. The channel list pane includes a thread indication, communication channel indications (e.g., identifying channels that the member follows), the name of the group (“ACME Corp”), and the name of the particular member (“Matt”) viewing the interface, the selected group-based communication interface may be configured to display the channel list pane, channel messaging pane, and thread communication pane simultaneously. The channel messaging pane includes a selected group-based communication channel (“announcements”) which includes a feed of group-based messaging communications. Each group-based messaging communication includes messaging communication information. The messaging communication information includes a profile identifier; which corresponds to user interactions by updating or displaying group while maintaining the messaging display]; however, each group corresponding to an information stream screened out by using a preset screening condition of the group.
Tian discloses each group corresponding to an information stream screened out by using a preset screening condition of the group [see abstract, 0015, 0228 and figures 3, 7; a user interface of a messaging application, such as an IM program. The user interface includes a function region 31, a chat group list 32, and a chat message interface 33 that are arranged from left to right. The function region displayed with a personal page button, a chat group button, a contacts button, and a favorite list button from top to bottom. The receiving module is configured to receive a selection operation for at least one chat group in the chat group list. The display module is further configured to determine a chat message that satisfies preset condition in the selected chat group, and add the chat message that satisfies the preset condition to a concatenated message window for display, the concatenated message window being configured to display chat messages under a topic corresponding to the chat message, the topic including chat messages from at least one chat group; which corresponds to a message display method in an IM environment].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Rosania and Tian before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the multi-pane group-based communication interface of Rosania to by incorporating the grouped window and topic, as taught by Tian.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to reduce the need for users to switch between different groups when viewing related content and improving the organization and display of messaging communications in multi-group IM interfaces.
Regarding claims 28-30, Rosania discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having thereon stored a computer program, which when executed by a processor, implements the method [see para. 0100 and figure 2].
Claim(s) 16, 18 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosania et al. (US Patent Application 2019/0058680) in view of Tian et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0273894) and further in view of Delanghe et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0132749).
Regarding claim 16, Rosania and Tian do not discloses wherein, the displayed group information comprises: an identifier of a group; if a group has messages to be processed, at least one of the identifier of the group and/or information on the number of the messages to be processed are highlighted, or wherein, if a group includes at least one sub-group, information of the at least one sub-group of the group is included in the information of the group displayed in the second window; the information of the sub-group comprises identification information of the sub-group and information of the message to be processed corresponding to the sub-group.
Delanghe discloses wherein, the displayed group information comprises: an identifier of a group; if a group has messages to be processed, at least one of the identifier of the group and/or information on the number of the messages to be processed are highlighted, or wherein, if a group includes at least one sub-group, information of the at least one sub-group of the group is included in the information of the group displayed in the second window; the information of the sub-group comprises identification information of the sub-group and information of the message to be processed corresponding to the sub-group [see para. 0111 and figures 4-5; a group-based communication interface is rendered including a selection interface element for a group-based communication channel when a channel organization mode is activated, one or more selection interface elements may be interacted with to select a set of group-based communication channels for moving together. Non-limiting examples of a selection interface element include a checkbox, a toggle switch, a customized interface effect (e.g., highlighting or bolding a group-based communication channel when selected, and un-highlighting or un-bolding the group-based communication channel when deselected)].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Rosania, Tian and Delanghe before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, the multi-pane group-based communication interface of Rosania to by incorporating the grouped window and topic, as taught by Tian and to include Delanghe’s organized channel sets in the sidebar.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to reduce the need for users to switch between different groups when viewing related content and improving the organization and display of messaging communications in multi-group IM interfaces.
Regarding claim 18, Delanghe discloses wherein, the method further comprises: folding the information of the at least one sub-group of the group according to a folding operation performed by the user on the information of the group; and displaying first prompt information in an information display area of the group in the second window; the first prompt information comprising first information for prompting that the group has a folded sub-group and second information for prompting that the folded at least one sub-group has a corresponding message to be processed, or, wherein, if information of at least one sub-group of a group is in a folded state, the method further comprises: displaying the information of the folded at least one sub-group according to a received display instruction for instructing displaying the information of the folded at least one sub-group [see para. 0168 and figures 4, 6A-6C; each organized channel set interface is collapsible, for example such that the group-based communication channels are hidden and/or otherwise not rendered. In a particular example context, for example, the organized channel set interface element is collapsible using a collapsible interface element rendered to the left of the organized channel set image element rendered using any of a number of known interface controls, known interface images, custom interface images. When collapsed, the organized channel set interface element is rendered including only the organized channel set image interface and/or organized channel set title interface, and an interface element for un-collapsing the organized interface set interface element (which may be the same interface element for collapsing the organized channel set interface element, with altered functionality)] .
Regarding claim 20 Delanghe discloses, wherein, the displaying the information of the folded at least one sub-group, comprises: displaying the information of the at least one sub-group that was originally folded in a new window; and the method further comprises: in response to receiving an information selection operation on a target sub-group in the new window, moving information of the target sub-group to the second window, and displaying the information of the target sub-group in an information display area of the group in the second window [see para. 0191 and figures 7A, 9; the group-based communication interface includes sub-interfaces for managing organized channel set(s) in an efficient manner, the organized channel set interface element is rendered including an organized channel set editing element, the organized channel set editing element is configured to receive user interaction for editing one or more properties of the associated organized channel set. In some embodiments, for example, the organized channel set editing element enables a user to efficiently configure one or more group-based communication channel settings for all group-based communication channels within the corresponding organized channel set. For example, in some embodiments, interaction with the organized channel set editing element and/or one or more corresponding sub-interfaces (e.g., another interface element of the organized channel set editing options modal) enables a user to configure channel setting value(s) for available each group-based communication channel setting, or a subset thereof. Once submitted, the updated channel setting values utilized to configure the group-based communication channel settings for each group-based communication channel associated with the corresponding organized channel set, for example while they remain associated with the organized channel set or permanently until a subsequent configuration].
Regarding claim 21, Delanghe discloses wherein, the displaying the information of the
target sub-group in an information display area of the group in the second window, comprises: highlighting the information of the target sub-group in the information display area of the group,
or, wherein, the method further comprises: in response to detecting that a selection state of the information of the target sub-group is released, adjusting the information of the target sub-group from being displayed in the second window to being folded [see par. 0251; the channel reordering user interaction data is processed to determine whether the selected group-based communication channel should be reordered to a higher or lower position within the channel order. In an example context, where the channel reordering user interaction data is associated with a drag-and-drop action, the channel reordering user interaction data includes a start location and an end location, for example to identify a selected group-based communication channel based on the start location and identify whether the selected group-based communication channel was released above and/or below another group-based communication channel associated with another position in the channel order based on the end location. The updated channel order may represent the channel order as updated to reposition the selected group-based communication channel within the channel order based on the channel reordering user interaction data. For example, if the selected group-based communication channel was moved above one or more other group-based communication channels, the apparatus may generate the updated channel order to reflect the channel order with all group-based communication channels between the current position and the new position for the selected group-based communication channel shifted down one position].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
Stovicek et al. (US 2011/0231499) discloses a system and method for managing a plurality of messages stored at a mobile communication device, groups messages based on a common subject line or another quasi-unique identifier, and displays message group entries representing distinct message groups in a user interface. The message group entries may be displayed in association with an icon representing multiple message states associated with individual messages comprised within that message group. The multiple message states may include all messages being read, all messages being unread, a most recently received message being unread while others are read, and a most recently received message being read while order messages are unread.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/CAO H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171