Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/23/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
storage unit in claims 1, 3, 5, and 8
acquisition unit in claims 3 and 5
output unit in claim 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weng et al. (US20190197299, hereinafter “Weng”)
Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Weng teaches An object detection device comprising: a memory; ([0068] “random access memory (RAM) 503”) and
at least one processor connected to the memory, ([0068] “central processing unit (CPU) 501,…The CPU 501, the ROM 502 and the RAM 503 are connected to each other through a bus 504.”)
wherein the processor is configured to acquire metadata including at least a position ([0047] “acquire, in the first feature map, the area corresponding to a position” ) and reliability of an object ([0047] “probability map indicates the probability that the area where the pixel value is located is a body,” is understood to be the same as the claimed reliability of an object in light of instant specifications [0033] because it is referring to “the reliability may include an object reliability indicating the degree of accuracy of the presence of an object.” Which Is synonymous with the cited [0047]“probability that the area where the pixel value is located is a body”) included in an image ([0045] “import the to-be-detected image into the feature extraction network to obtain a first feature map.” A position on a feature map derived from inputting an image into a feature extraction network is understood by the examiner to be the same as the claimed metadata) from a convolutional neural network into which the image is input, ([0045] “the feature extraction network may be implemented using a convolutional neural network.”)
store ([0068] “The RAM 503 also stores various programs and data required by operations of the system 500.”) a feature map value group which is an output ([0045] “import the to-be-detected image into the feature extraction network to obtain a first feature map”) result of the convolutional neural network, ([0045] “the feature extraction network may be implemented using a convolutional neural network.”) and
read a feature map value related to the position ([0047] “acquire, in the first feature map, the area corresponding to a position in the probability map”) of the corresponding object from the storage unit to obtain the position of the object ([0047] “a pixel value in the probability map indicates the probability that the area is the body,”) only when the reliability obtained by reading a feature map value, which is related to the reliability in the stored feature map value group, ([0047] “acquire, in the first feature map, the area corresponding to a position in the probability map”) from the storage unit exceeds a predetermined threshold value. ([0047] “Finally, the electronic device may acquire, in the first feature map, the area corresponding to a position in the probability map having the pixel value greater than a predetermined first probability threshold as the body feature area.” )
Claim 2. (Original) Weng teaches The object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the reliability includes an object reliability indicating a degree of accuracy of presence of the object ([0047] “the area corresponding to a position in the probability map having the pixel value greater than a predetermined first probability threshold as the body feature area.” is synonymous with the claimed object reliability indicating a degree of accuracy of presence of the object because a probability that is greater than a threshold indicating an area being a body feature area is the same as a degree of accuracy of presence of the object) and a
class-by-class reliability group for each class of the object. ([0055] “body key point of the body A includes the head 3011, the left shoulder 3012, the right shoulder 3013, the left hand 3014, the right hand 3015, the waist 3016, the left foot 3017, and the right foot 3018. If the body key point belongs to the body A, the judgment result “Yes” is outputted; and if it does not belong to the body A, the judgment result “No” is outputted.” Is understood by the examiner to be the same as the claimed class by class reliability group for each class of the object because each body part is determined to be either part of the body or not which is a determination of the degree of accuracy of presence of the object which is the object reliability. )
Claim 3. (Original) Weng teaches The object detection device according to claim 2, wherein the feature map value acquisition unit reads, from the storage unit, ([0068] “The RAM 503 also stores various programs and data required by operations of the system 500.”) a feature map value related to a position of the corresponding object ([0047] “Finally, the electronic device may acquire, in the first feature map, the area corresponding to a position in the probability map having the pixel value greater than a predetermined first probability threshold as the body feature area.” ) and a feature map value related to the class-by-class reliability group ([0055] “body key point of the body A includes the head 3011, the left shoulder 3012, the right shoulder 3013, the left hand 3014, the right hand 3015, the waist 3016, the left foot 3017, and the right foot 3018. If the body key point belongs to the body A, the judgment result “Yes” is outputted; and if it does not belong to the body A, the judgment result “No” is outputted.” Is understood by the examiner to be the same as the claimed class by class reliability group) only when an object reliability obtained from a feature map value related to the object reliability exceeds the threshold value. ([0047] “probability map having the pixel value greater than a predetermined first probability threshold as the body feature area.”)
Claim 4. (Original) Weng teaches The object detection device according to claim 1, wherein the reliability includes a class-by-class reliability group for each class of the object. ([0055] “body key point of the body A includes the head 3011, the left shoulder 3012, the right shoulder 3013, the left hand 3014, the right hand 3015, the waist 3016, the left foot 3017, and the right foot 3018. If the body key point belongs to the body A, the judgment result “Yes” is outputted; and if it does not belong to the body A, the judgment result “No” is outputted.” Is understood by the examiner to be the same as the claimed class by class reliability group for each class of the object because each body part is determined to be either part of the body or not)
Claim 5. (Original) Weng teaches The object detection device according to claim 4, wherein the feature map value acquisition unit reads a feature map value related to a position of the corresponding object ([0047] “Finally, the electronic device may acquire, in the first feature map, the area corresponding to a position in the probability map having the pixel value greater than a predetermined first probability threshold as the body feature area.” ) from the storage unit ([0068] “The RAM 503 also stores various programs and data required by operations of the system 500.”) only when at least one of the class-by-class reliability groups obtained from feature map values related to the class-by-class reliability groups of the object ([0055] “body key point of the body A includes the head 3011, the left shoulder 3012, the right shoulder 3013, the left hand 3014, the right hand 3015, the waist 3016, the left foot 3017, and the right foot 3018. If the body key point belongs to the body A, the judgment result “Yes” is outputted; and if it does not belong to the body A, the judgment result “No” is outputted.” Is understood by the examiner to be the same as the claimed class by class reliability group ) exceeds the threshold value. ([0047] “probability map having the pixel value greater than a predetermined first probability threshold as the body feature area.”)
Claim 6. (Currently Amended) Weng teaches The object detection device according to any one of claim 1, further comprising:
an output unit that outputs a recognition result of the object using the convolutional neural network. ([0009] “convolutional neural network to obtain a probability map, wherein a pixel value in the probability map indicates a probability of an area being the body”)
Claim 7. (Original) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 1 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 8. (Currently Amended) The non-transitory storage medium herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 1 and is likewise rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Huang et al US20170147905 teaches outputting bounding boxes for areas that meet a confidence score threshold from the feature maps using a convolutional neural network
Kim et al US10650548 teaches applying a CNN to a feature map to detect a specific coordinate on the feature map based on a similarity score between the partial live feature map and the live feature map
/OWAIS I MEMON/Examiner, Art Unit 2663