Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the folding units" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, because it is unclear if this encompasses “one or more folding units”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first reference" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the form of geometrical details” in lines 17-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the position of the grooving rollers” in lines 18-19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “receiving input data such as” in line 13. "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites “the grooving rollers (or gripping rollers)” this limitation is indefinite because it is unclear if the grooving rollers and gripping rollers are the same or different, and it is unclear if (or gripping rollers) is optional or required.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the workstation” and “the derived positions" in lines 3 and 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the apparatus” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al US2015/0231847 (hereinafter Watanabe).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a system for adjusting positions of grooving rollers in an outsert making machinery (Par 0032), the machinery includes a strip making unit (folding machine 2) adapted to make a strip from a paper using a first set of rollers (8; mounted on shaft 4) therein, one or more folding units adapted to cross fold the strip by one or more folding rollers therein (plurality of first rollers 8 and a plurality of second rollers 9), a grooving assembly having grooving/gripping rollers (grooving rollers 11 and scoring rollers 10) positioned between the strip making unit and the folding units (fig.2; by positioning unit 13), the grooving assembly is mounted to the strip making unit (mounted on shafts 5,6) for receiving the strip therefrom (strip is moved through the rollers; par 0032-0035), the grooving rollers are operated to make grooves on the strip, the system
characterized in that: an input interface (control unit; par0010;par 0047-0048) for receiving input data such as length and thickness of the strip, number of cross folds to be made on the strip and geometrical specifications of an outsert (par 0048); a work station connected to the input interface (rotary encoder of the control unit 31; par 0047-0048), the work station includes a processor which calculates output data in the form of geometrical details of the grooving rollers (par 0047-0053), the position of the grooving rollers from the first reference (from positioning unit 13), a combination of grooving rollers (10,11) on the grooving shaft (shafts 5,6) and a sequence of combinations of grooving rollers on the grooving shafts required for enabling the grooving rollers to make grooves on the strip according the input data provided through the input interface and also deriving operational parameters of the folding units for enabling the folding units to fold on the grooves (operator sets the position of the grooving rollers using the control unit; par 0049-0053); a display (display unit 32) connected to the processor which displays the output data calculated by the processor (par 0049); and wherein the grooving rollers are adjusted manually (by the operator) according to the output data from the display (32) or by operating a first position adjusting mechanism (13) of the system; and the operational parameters of the folding unit (2) are adjusted manually or by a control unit connected to the folding unit (par 0032-0035).
.
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe discloses the system for adjusting positions of rollers as claimed in claim 1, wherein in the grooving assembly, the grooving/gripping rollers (8,9) are movable on a grooving shaft (5,6), both ends of the grooving shaft are connected to a first frame and a second frame (each end is connected to frame plate 4; fig.2), the first frame or the second frame is the first reference (positioning unit 14 is attached to frame 4 at both ends; par 0015), the grooving/gripping rollers are movable between the ends of the grooving shaft sliding thereon and can be fixed at a position between the ends of the grooving shaft by a fastener (rollers are provided with a stop screw 8a,b; fixed to desired position on the rotary shafts; par 0015; par 0032).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe discloses the system for adjusting positions of rollers as claimed in claim 1, wherein the input interface is a scanner adapted to scan markings of on the strip (control unit uses sensors for detection or scanning of the annular projections for positioning of the rollers; par 0009-0013).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe discloses the system for adjusting positions of rollers as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first position adjusting mechanism(positioning unit 13) includes a first prime mover (slide guide 12 attached to frame 4) connected to the workstation (at frame 4; par 0037); one or more second prime movers (slider 14) connected to the first prime mover (connected to slide guide 12); and one or more first moving jaws connected to the second prime movers (rotatable member 15); wherein the workstation (control unit) actuates the first prime mover to move the second prime movers linearly along the grooving shaft (4,5) and further actuates the second prime movers to actuate the first moving jaws to grip the grooving/gripping rollers and place the grooving/gripping rollers on definite positions according to the derived positions of the grooving/gripping rollers from the first reference (par 0036-0038; fig.2).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe discloses the system as claimed in claim 6, wherein the first prime mover second prime mover are hydraulic or pneumatic or electrically operated linear actuators or cam operated actuators (par 0046; motor 29, electromagnetic clutch 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4,8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al US2015/0231847 in view of Trovinger et al. US 2004/0175255.
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe discloses the system for adjusting positions of rollers as claimed in claim 1, wherein Watanabe teaches a control unit and a display 32 but fails to explicitly teach the input interface is a keyboard, the processor is embedded with a computer aided user interface application for receiving details of folds to be made on the strip which is to be made by the machinery and the geometric details of the grooving/gripping rollers.
However Trovinger teach a system for making booklets including printings and scoring and folding sheets of paper, which includes a controller par 0122 comprised of a digital processor, RAM, input signal for sensors and position encoders communicating with panel indicators including lights, and alphanumeric or graphical display and communicate with a host computer or network, which is interpreted as including a keyboard interface in order to receiving details of folds to be made on the strip which is to be made by the machinery and the geometric details of the grooving/gripping rollers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the control unit and display as taught by Watanabe with the computer and controller of Trovinger to be able to explicitly enter instructions related to the positioning or creases on the strip or sheet of material.
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe discloses the system for adjusting positions of rollers as claimed in claim 1, includes: a guiding unit (13), the guiding unit is connected to the workstation (2), the workstation positions the light torches with beams focusing on the derived positions of the grooving/gripping rollers from the first reference determined by the workstation; wherein an operator can adjust positions of the grooving/gripping rollers from the references with the respective beams positioned thereon (sensor arrangement to determine positioning of the grooving/gripping rollers).
Watanabe fails to explicitly teach the guiding unit includes one or more visible light torches
However Trovinger teach a system for making booklets including printings and scoring and folding sheets of paper, which includes a controller par 0122 comprised of a digital processor, RAM, input signal for sensors and position encoders communicating with panel indicators including lights, and alphanumeric or graphical display and communicate with a host computer or network, in order to receiving details of folds to be made on the strip which is to be made by the machinery and the geometric details of the grooving/gripping rollers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the control unit and display as taught by Watanabe with the computer and controller of Trovinger to be able to explicitly enter instructions related to the positioning or creases on the strip or sheet of material.
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe discloses the system for adjusting positions of rollers in an outsert making machinery as claimed in claim 1, Watanabe fails to explicitly disclose the system includes a colour indication on the grooving rollers, wherein male projections or female recessions of a set of grooving rollers are provided with a same colour indication, wherein the display displays derived positions of the rollers with colour indication.
However Trovinger teach a system for making booklets including printings and scoring and folding sheets of paper, which includes a controller par 0122 comprised of a digital processor, RAM, input signal for sensors and position encoders communicating with panel indicators including lights, and alphanumeric or graphical display and communicate with a host computer or network, in order to receiving details of folds to be made on the strip which is to be made by the machinery and the geometric details of the grooving/gripping rollers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the control unit and display as taught by Watanabe with the computer and controller of Trovinger to be able to explicitly enter instructions related to the positioning or creation of grooving or creases on the strip or sheet of material.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al US2015/0231847 in view of Berge et al US 2005/0166744.
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe discloses the system for adjusting positions of rollers as claimed in claim 1, wherein in the standard grooving assembly, grooving/gripping rollers (8,9) are movable on the grooving shaft (4,5), both ends of the grooving shaft are connected to a first frame and a second frame (4), the first frame or the second frame is a first reference, the grooving/gripping rollers are movable between the ends of the grooving shaft sliding thereon and can be fixed at a position between the ends of the grooving shaft by a fastener (rollers are positioned on screws 8a,b and positioned with unit 13). But fails to explicitly teach the input interface is a camera, the camera is adapted to capture the positions of grooving/gripping rollers positioned on a grooving shaft of a standard grooving assembly.
However, Berge teaches an automated scoring machine which includes a sensor system 80 which may include a camera system and associated computer system 90 to control operation of feed mechanism 60; par 0007)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the sensor assembly as taught by Watanabe with the sensor system and camera system as taught by Berge to more easily automate the scoring and positioning process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12,14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-12, and 14 are rejected under 112(b) as being dependent from rejected independent claim 1.
Claims 10-12 and 14 depend from claim 9.
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe and Trovinger disclose systems for creating folded and grooved or scored strips of sheet material and using control systems to change the position of the scoring rollers, however alone or in proper combination they fail to explicitly teach or render obvious, ends of the grooving shaft are detachably connected to a first side frame and a second side frame, the first side frame and the second side frame are connected to the strip making unit, the grooving shaft receives the strip and performs grooving operation thereon, wherein the positions of the grooving/gripping rollers are adjusted by a grooving roller adjusting apparatus, the apparatus includes: a first apparatus side frame; the first apparatus side frame is having a first fastening mechanism a second apparatus side frame with a distance from the first apparatus side frame, wherein the first apparatus side frame is having a second fastening mechanism; a scale having marking of distances thereon; wherein for adjusting positions of the grooving/gripping rollers on the grooving shaft, the grooving shaft with grooving rollers is detached from the first side frame and the second side frame, and the ends of the grooving shaft with grooving rollers are connected to the first apparatus side frame and the second apparatus side frame though the first fastening mechanism and the second fastening mechanism, the first fastening mechanism and the second fastening mechanism enables rotational movements of the grooving shaft around the axis of the grooving shaft; the grooving rollers detached from the grooving shaft and moved along the axis of the grooving shaft and the distances of the grooving rollers are adjusted from either from the first side frame or from the second side frame manually or by the first position adjusting mechanism of the system and the grooving rollers are fixed to the grooving shaft at the adjusted positions, the grooving shaft with the fixed grooving rollers are detached from the first apparatus side frame and the second apparatus side frame, and fixed to the first frame and the second frame, along with all the limitations of claim 1.
Conclusion
/MARY C HIBBERT-COPELAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731