Response to Amendments
3. The amendments filed on 11/23/2024 have been fully considered and are made of record.
a. Claims 3-8, 10, 12-14, 17, 19-20 and 23-25 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by KUKUCHI et al. (Pub NO. US 2022/0050127 A1; hereinafter Kukuchi).
Regarding Claim 1, Kukuchi teaches a radio/microwave frequency current probe (current probe in Fig. 1-Fig. 3 and Fig. below; See [0030]-[0047]) comprising:
one or more resistive elements (resistive element 1 in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0035]) electrically connected between a current input region and a current output region (resistive element 1 is electrically connected between current input region 41a and current output region 41b in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0030]-[0047]); and
a stack of layers, wherein each layer comprises a dielectric material (stack of dielectric layer 31, 21, 17 and 11 in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0030]-[0036]);
wherein for each of the one or more resistive elements (resistive element 1 in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0035]), the current probe comprises:
a plurality of conductive paths each separated by one or more of the layers (plurality of conductive paths 18a-8, 18a-5 and 18b-5, 18b-8 are separated by dielectric layers 17 in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0036]-[0040]),
wherein a first set of one or more conductive paths are configured to provide a current path between the current input region and the resistive element (current flows from 41a to resistive element 1 through a first set of conductive paths 18a-8,18a-5, 33a, 23-1a in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0043]), and
a second set of one or more conductive paths are configured to provide a current path between the resistive element and the current output region (current flows from resistive element 1 to 41b through a second set of conductive paths 18b-5, 18b-8, 33b, 231-b in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0043]); and
the plurality of conductive paths arranged such that the first and second sets of conductive paths alternate in the stack of layers (first set of conductive paths 18a-8 and 18a-5 and second set of conductive paths 18b-5 and 18b-8 alternate in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 1, wherein the conductive paths of the first set of conductive paths are electrically connected via one or more vias (first set of conductive paths 18a-8 and 18a-5 are electrically connected vias in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 1, wherein the conductive paths of the second set of conductive paths are electrically connected via one or more vias (second set of conductive paths 18b-5 and 18b-8 are electrically connected vias in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 1, wherein each layer of the stack of layers comprises the same dielectric material (all layers are same ceramic material in Fig. 2; See [0031]-[0036]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 1, wherein at least two layers of the stack of layers comprise different dielectric materials (resin multi-layer can be formed in Fig. 2; See [0031]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 1, wherein the one or more resistive elements are mounted to a surface of the stack of layers (resistive element 1 is mounted on the surface of stack of layers 11 in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 8, wherein the one or more resistive elements are arranged such that a conductive surface of the one or more resistive elements are adjacent to the stack of layers (conductive surface of 3 is adjacent to stack of layers 11, 17 in Fig. 2; See [0030]-[0035]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 1, wherein the current input region and the current output region are provided on opposing sides of the stack of layers (current input region 41a is on opposite side of stack B2 of current output region 41b in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 10, wherein the current input region and the current output region are configured to be soldered or clamped to an external power loop or bus bar (voltage wire is power; See [0043]-[0045]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 1, wherein the stack of layers comprises at least three layers, the second layer being arranged between the first and third layers; wherein the first set of conductive paths (first set of conductive paths 18a-8,18a-5, 33a, 23-1a in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0043]) comprises a first conductive path (See Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0052]) on an outer surface of the first layer (See Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0052]) and a third conductive path (See Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0052]) between the second and third layers (See Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0052]); and the second set of conductive paths (second set of conductive paths 18b-5, 18b-8, 33b, 231-b in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0040]) comprises a second conductive path between the first and second layers and a fourth conductive path on an outer surface of the third conductive layer See Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0052].
Regarding Claim 14, Kukuchi teaches a system for measuring currents, comprising a one or more current probes according to claim 1 (See [0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 7, 13 and 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kukuchi in view of Christ et al. (Pub NO. US 2020/0318997 A1; hereinafter Christ).
Regarding Claim 7, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 1. Kukuchi is silent about wherein the current probe comprises a plurality of resistive elements, and optionally wherein the plurality of resistive elements are arranged in a semi-circular arrangement.
Christ teaches wherein the current probe (See [0003], [0039]) comprises a plurality of resistive elements (See [0005, [0017]), and optionally wherein the plurality of resistive elements are arranged in a semi-circular arrangement.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using the current probe comprises a plurality of resistive elements, and optionally wherein the plurality of resistive elements are arranged in a semi-circular arrangement, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 13, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 1, wherein the layers of the stack of layers are layers of a multilayer substrate (See [0033]).
Kukuchi is silent about printed circuit board.
Christ teaches current sensor on printed circuit board (current sensor 100 on printed circuit board 120; See [0056]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using printed circuit board, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kukuchi teaches the system of claim 14. Kukuchi is silent about further comprising a compensation filter arranged to receive an output signal from the one or more current probes, the compensation filter configured to reduce an inductive zero from the output of the one or more current probes.
Christ teaches regarding current sensor (See [0039]) compensation filter arranged to receive an output signal from the one or more current probes (compensation filter 331/332 receive output from current probe 100 in Fig. 1; See [0041]), the compensation filter configured to reduce an inductive zero from the output of the one or more current probes (pass lower frequency is to reduce inductive zero; See [0041]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using compensation filter arranged to receive an output signal from the one or more current probes, the compensation filter configured to reduce an inductive zero from the output of the one or more current probes, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kukuchi teaches the system of claim 15. Kukuchi is silent about wherein the compensation filter comprises a low pass filter.
Christ teaches regarding current sensor (See [0039]) wherein the compensation filter comprises a low pass filter (low pass filter 331/332 in Fig. 1; See [0041]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using the compensation filter comprises a low pass filter, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 17, Kukuchi teaches the system of claim 15. Kukuchi is silent about wherein the compensation filter comprises one or more further resistive elements electrically connected to an input for a reference voltage.
Christ teaches regarding current sensor (See [0039]) wherein the compensation filter comprises one or more further resistive elements electrically connected to an input for a reference voltage (See [0045]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using the compensation filter comprises one or more further resistive elements electrically connected to an input for a reference voltage, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kukuchi teaches the system of claim 17. Kukuchi is silent about wherein the one or more further resistive elements comprise a plurality of resistive elements.
Christ teaches regarding current sensor (See [0039]) wherein the one or more further resistive elements comprise a plurality of resistive elements (See [0045]-[0046]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using the one or more further resistive elements comprise a plurality of resistive elements, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 19, Kukuchi teaches the system of claim 15. Kukuchi is silent about wherein the compensation filter comprises an inductive low pass filter.
Christ teaches regarding current sensor (See [0039]) wherein the compensation filter comprises an inductive low pass filter (See [0010]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using the compensation filter comprises an inductive low pass filter, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 20, Kukuchi teaches the system of claim 14. Kukuchi is silent about further comprising a first differential amplifier configured to receive output signals from the compensation filter.
Christ teaches regarding current sensor (See [0039]) further comprising a first differential amplifier configured to receive output signals from the compensation filter (differential amplifier 340 receives from low pass filter in Fig. 1; See [0041-[0042]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using first differential amplifier configured to receive output signals from the compensation filter, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 21, Kukuchi teaches the system of claim 20. Kukuchi is silent about further comprising second differential amplifier configured to receive output signals from the first differential amplifier, and provide an output for use by an external system.
Christ teaches regarding current sensor (See [0039]) further comprising second differential amplifier configured to receive output signals from the first differential amplifier, and provide an output for use by an external system (second differential amplifier 220 receives from 340 in Fig. 1; See [0038-[0042]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using second differential amplifier configured to receive output signals from the first differential amplifier, and provide an output for use by an external system, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 22, Kukuchi teaches the system of claim 21. Kukuchi is silent about wherein the second differential amplifier comprises an output load connected to a first output leg, and wherein the second output leg is configured to provide a single ended signal for use by the external system.
Christ teaches regarding current sensor (See [0039]) wherein the second differential amplifier comprises an output load connected to a first output leg, and wherein the second output leg is configured to provide a single ended signal for use by the external system (output load 400 is connected to first leg second differential amplifier 220 and second output leg is connected to single ended signal of 230 in Fig. 1; See [0038-[0042]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using wherein the second differential amplifier comprises an output load connected to a first output leg, and wherein the second output leg is configured to provide a single ended signal for use by the external system, and provide an output for use by an external system, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 23, Kukuchi teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the system is formed on a substrate (See [0033]).
Kukuchi is silent about printed circuit board.
Christ teaches current sensor on printed circuit board (current sensor 100 on printed circuit board 120; See [0056]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using printed circuit board, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 24, Kukuchi teaches a method for reducing the inductance of the current probe of claim 1, the method comprising:
providing a first set of one or more conductive paths and a second set of one or more conductive paths in a stack of layers (providing first set of conductive paths 18a-8 and 18a-5 and second set of conductive paths 18b-5 and 18b-8 in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0043]),
wherein each layer comprises a dielectric material (plurality of conductive paths 18a-8, 18a-5 and 18b-5, 18b-8 are separated by dielectric layers 17 in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0036]-[0040]);
arranging the first and second set of conductive paths such that they alternate within the stack of layers (first set of conductive paths 18a-8 and 18a-5 and second set of conductive paths 18b-5 and 18b-8 alternate in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0043]); and
providing an input current through the first set of conductive paths and an output current though the second set of conductive paths (current flows from resistive element 1 to 41b through a second set of conductive paths 18b-5, 18b-8, 33b, 231-b in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0043]),
Kukuchi is silent about such that an inductance of the current probe is reduced by mutual inductance cancelation between the first and second set of conductive paths.
Christ teaches regarding current sensor (See [0039]) such that an inductance of the current probe is reduced by mutual inductance cancelation between the first and second set of conductive paths (inductive low pass filter cancels mutual inductance; See [0010], [0041]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by using an inductance of the current probe is reduced by mutual inductance cancelation between the first and second set of conductive paths, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 25, Kukuchi teaches a method of using the current probe of claim 1 to measure currents with microwave/radio frequencies, the method comprising:
providing an input current to the current probe (current flows from 41a to resistive element 1 through a first set of conductive paths 18a-8,18a-5, 33a, 23-1a in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0043]);
the current probe by arranging a first set and a second set of conductive paths in a stack of layers (first set of conductive paths 18a-8 and 18a-5 and second set of conductive paths 18b-5 and 18b-8 in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0043]) comprised of a dielectric material (stack of dielectric layer 31, 21, 17 and 11 in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0030]-[0036]),
such that the first set and the second set of conductive paths alternate within the stack of layers (first set of conductive paths 18a-8 and 18a-5 and second set of conductive paths 18b-5 and 18b-8 alternate in Fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0038]-[0043]); and
providing an output current though the second set of conductive paths (providing output current through region 41b in fig. 2 and Fig. below; See [0030]-[0047]),
receiving an output signal from the current probe, wherein the output signal is representative of a current through the current probe (current sensor A receives current from current probe in Fig. 5; See [0052]); and
providing the output signal to a measurement system (current sensor A provides output in Fig. 5; See [0052]).
Kukuchi is silent about reducing the inductance of the current probe such that an inductance of the current probe is reduced by mutual inductance cancelation between the first set and the second set of conductive paths;
Christ teaches regarding current sensor (See [0039]) reducing the inductance of the current probe such that an inductance of the current probe is reduced by mutual inductance cancelation between the first set and the second set of conductive paths (inductive low pass filter cancels mutual inductance; See [0010], [0041]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Kukuchi by reducing the inductance of the current probe such that an inductance of the current probe is reduced by mutual inductance cancelation between the first set and the second set of conductive paths, as taught by Christ in order to achieve more efficient detection (Christ; [0002]).
10. Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kukuchi.
Regarding Claim 4, Kukuchi teaches the current probe of claim 1, wherein one or more layers of the stack of layers each have a thickness in the stacking direction (See the thickness of layers 31, 21, 17 and 11 in Fig. 2; See [0031]-[0035]).
Kukuchi is silent about thickness of between about 50µm and about 200µm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use thickness of between about 50µm and about 200µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, in order to improve the current sensing accuracy in the current sensing device using the substrate-incorporated resistor (Kukuchi; [0011]).
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Swaim et al. (Pub NO. US 2021/0063440 A1) discloses Power Probe.
b. Olive et al. (Patent NO. US 10,359,450 B1) discloses Current Sensing Probe.
c. Peschke et al. (Pub NO. US 2018/0306840 A1) discloses Current Probe.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858