DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/24/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
1 Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
2 The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds the 50-150 word limit. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
4 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
5 Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabe et al. (WO 2019208194 A1) in view of Kohashikawa et al. (US 20140340437 A1).
6 Regarding claim 1, Kawabe teaches an illusion presentation system for causing an illusion that a visual object based on a first final target among N (N is an integer of 2 or more) final targets and a visual object based on a second final target among the N final targets are visually moving at different timings ([Page 2; Paragraph 4] reciting “In the first embodiment, a technique for providing an illusion that a target object having a complicated contour shape is translated in a specific direction even though it does not actually move (translation illusion) is provided.”; [Page 7; Paragraph 3] reciting “In the first embodiment, to obtain a final target object O from the target image M .sub.S after the synthesis, the final target product O was placed in the background BG. However, among the post-synthesis target image M .sub.S, of substantially the same shape, of the target object O .sub.T and dark object O .sub.D and the bright subject O .sub.L three overlapping "target" and the equivalent final target O .sub.S obtained by the layer When, a layer of an image background luminance changes periodically time, last target O .sub.S layer combined image (presentation image M .sub.B) as more is higher priority layer may be obtained. Such presentation for the viewer who viewed image M .sub.B is also an illusion as moving target object O .sub.T which should originally not moving.”; [Page 19; Paragraph 4] reciting “First, the target image .sub.M T comprising the target object .sub.O T is inputted to the decomposing portion 611 (FIG. 16). Decomposition unit 611, in order to give the illusion effect of different movements in the portion constituting the target object O .sub.T in the target image M .sub.T, firstly decompose the target object O .sub.T in part a target object O .sub.T -1 ~ J, partial Images (partial target images M .sub.T -j) each including the target object O .sub.T -j (where j = 1,..., J and J is an integer greater than or equal to 2) are obtained.”), wherein,
in the illusion presentation system, N final target matters in which the respective final targets are visually recognized from a surface side or an arranged matter in which the N final targets are visually recognized from a surface side of a transparent or translucent material is arranged on a presentation surface ([Page 24; Paragraph 4] reciting “Thus, the different movements depending spatial position of the background final targets O and final target O .sub.S is disposed can be perceived. Further, the periodic change cycle of the luminance may be switched every predetermined time. Thereby, a different motion can be perceived every predetermined time.”; [Page 25; Paragraph 1] reciting “For example, if the background is displayed on a transparent display, a transparent background displayed by the transparent display may be disposed between the observer and the final target object O.”; [Page 25; Paragraph 4] reciting “Even if the final target object O is arranged on a white surface such as a projector screen and a video projector is used to project an image whose luminance periodically changes on the white surface on which the final target object O is arranged, the present technology The effect is obtained.”),
as a first final target among the N final targets, a first target object and a first additional region added to at least a part of a contour line of the first target object are visually recognized from a surface side, as a second final target among the N final targets, a second target object and a second additional region added to at least a part of a contour line of the second target object are visually recognized from a surface side ([Abstract] reciting “According to the present invention, a target object, which does not actually move and has an arbitrary contour shape, is deluded as if moving. A thing, which includes a final target, is arranged in a background, the brightness of which temporally changes, the final target being equivalent to an object obtained from a triple superposition of a target object”; [Page 2; Paragraph 4] reciting “In the first embodiment, a technique for providing an illusion that a target object having a complicated contour shape is translated in a specific direction even though it does not actually move (translation illusion) is provided.”; [Page 23; Paragraph 3] reciting “At that time, the … target object is placed upward (in front of the observer), and the light target object or the dark target object is overlapped with different positions so that a part of the target object can be visually recognized.”),
a luminance of the presentation surface is uniform at each time ([Page 8; Paragraph 2] reciting “In the first embodiment and the modifications 1 and 2 thereof, the pixel values of all the pixels are the same in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L. That is, the luminance was uniform in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L.”), and periodically and temporally changes between a maximum luminance that is predetermined and a minimum luminance that is predetermined ([Page 25; Paragraph 4] reciting “Even if the final target object O is arranged on a white surface such as a projector screen and a video projector is used to project an image whose luminance periodically changes on the white surface on which the final target object O is arranged, the present technology The effect is obtained…The image projected from the video projector may be an image having a spatially uniform luminance, an image in which the luminance of an arbitrary image is temporally modulated…”; [Page 23; Paragraph 4] reciting “Brightness of the target object O .sub.T has to belong from the minimum value of the periodically varying brightness of the background in the range between the maximum value (the variation range of the background luminance)”; [Page 24; Paragraph 4] reciting “Thus, the different movements depending spatial position of the background final targets O and final target O .sub.S is disposed can be perceived. Further, the periodic change cycle of the luminance may be switched every predetermined time. Thereby, a different motion can be perceived every predetermined time.”),
a luminance of the first target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and , a luminance of the second target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and ([Page 8; Paragraph 2] reciting “In the first embodiment and the modifications 1 and 2 thereof, the pixel values of all the pixels are the same in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L. That is, the luminance was uniform in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L.”; [Page 23; Paragraph 4] reciting “Brightness of the target object O .sub.T has to belong from the minimum value of the periodically varying brightness of the background in the range between the maximum value (the variation range of the background luminance)… It is also desirable that the brightness of the bright object (additional bright area) also belongs to the “background brightness change range”. For example, the contour part of the target object O .sub.T (e.g., top and bottom of the target object O .sub.T) target object O .sub.T in luminance brightness is close to (e.g., luminance difference from the luminance of the following first value of the target object O .sub.T ) place a dark object (additional dark region) and bright subject (additional bright region) with other parts of the contour of the target object O .sub.T…”),
a luminance of the first additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and , a luminance of the second additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and ,
a luminance of the first target object and a luminance of the second target object are different ([Page 3; Paragraph 1] reciting “Pixel value of each pixel in the background area B .sub.D is the pixel value different from the dark subject O .sub.D.”), and
a luminance of the first additional region and a luminance of the second additional region are same, and are lower than a luminance of the first target object and a luminance of the second target object or higher than a luminance of the first target object and a luminance of the second target object ([Page 3; Paragraph 4] reciting “Luminance operating portion 111, on the basis of the target image M .sub.T and the luminance operation amount L .sub.D input, the target object O .sub.T pixel value of each pixel has the same shape only L .sub.D than the target object O .sub.T and small area ( An image (dark target image M .sub.D ) including the dark target O .sub.D ) and the other region (background region B .sub.D ) is obtained.”; [Page 26; Paragraph 8] reciting “In the first embodiment, the image generating apparatus 11, to give an image including a dark subject O .sub.D is lower luminance than the target object O .sub.T, the image including a bright object O .sub.L is higher luminance than the target object O .sub.T, dark subject O .sub.D a post-movement is moved parallel to the first direction dark object O 'image containing .sub.D and the bright subject O .sub.L movement after bright object O is moved parallel to the second direction opposite the first direction”).
7 Although Kawabe could teach a luminance of the first target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the first additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change ([Page 2; Paragraph 4] reciting “In the first embodiment, a technique for providing an illusion that a target object having a complicated contour shape is translated in a specific direction even though it does not actually move (translation illusion) is provided.”), prior art from Kohashikawa can teach this limitation further.
8 Kohashikawa teaches a luminance of the first target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the first additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change ([0013] reciting “A forth technical means is the video display device of anyone of the first to the third technical means, wherein the gradation control portion of each of the monitors defines the second luminance by multiplying the first luminance by a fixed multiplying factor according to the minimum luminance stretch quantity, and acquires a maximum LED gradation value from maximum luminance of the second luminance.”; [0067] reciting “The gradation control portion 131b of the monitor 1 defines first luminance of an LED for each divided region according to the maximum gradation value of the video signal of each divided region acquired by the image analysis portion 131a. Then, the gradation control portion 131b multiplies the first luminance in each divided region by the fixed multiplying factor for stretching the first luminance in a range where a total value of LED drive current is equal to or less than a predetermined allowable current value, thereby defining second luminance for each region. At this time, the gradation control portion 131b multiplies the first luminance by the fixed multiplying factor according to the minimum luminance stretch quantity b2' acquired from the microcomputer 19 to define the second luminance, thereby acquiring a maximum LED gradation value from the maximum value of the second luminance.”)…
9 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Kawabe) to incorporate the teachings of Kohashikawa to provide a clearer method that provides a value of a luminance to simply not change over time based on the luminance, utilizing the luminance methods provided by Kawabe, which prior art from Kohashikawa could adjust the temporal changes. Doing so would achieve high contrast as stated by Kohashikawa ([Abstract] recited).
10 Regarding claim 2, Kawabe teaches an illusion video presentation device comprises processing circuitry configured to present a video for causing an illusion that a visual object based on a first final target among N (N is an integer of 2 or more) final targets and a visual object based on a second final target among the N final targets are visually moving at different timings ([Page 2; Paragraph 4] reciting “In the first embodiment, a technique for providing an illusion that a target object having a complicated contour shape is translated in a specific direction even though it does not actually move (translation illusion) is provided.”; [Page 7; Paragraph 3] reciting “In the first embodiment, to obtain a final target object O from the target image M .sub.S after the synthesis, the final target product O was placed in the background BG. However, among the post-synthesis target image M .sub.S, of substantially the same shape, of the target object O .sub.T and dark object O .sub.D and the bright subject O .sub.L three overlapping "target" and the equivalent final target O .sub.S obtained by the layer When, a layer of an image background luminance changes periodically time, last target O .sub.S layer combined image (presentation image M .sub.B) as more is higher priority layer may be obtained. Such presentation for the viewer who viewed image M .sub.B is also an illusion as moving target object O .sub.T which should originally not moving…Such presentation for the viewer who viewed image M .sub.B is also an illusion as moving target object O .sub.T which should originally not moving. In general, a still image composed of one frame image is called an “image”, a moving image composed of a plurality of frame images is sometimes called a “video”, and both a still image and a moving image are called “images”.”; [Page 19; Paragraph 4] reciting “First, the target image .sub.M T comprising the target object .sub.O T is inputted to the decomposing portion 611 (FIG. 16). Decomposition unit 611, in order to give the illusion effect of different movements in the portion constituting the target object O .sub.T in the target image M .sub.T, firstly decompose the target object O .sub.T in part a target object O .sub.T -1 ~ J, partial Images (partial target images M .sub.T -j) each including the target object O .sub.T -j (where j = 1,..., J and J is an integer greater than or equal to 2) are obtained.”), wherein
a video presented by the illusion video presentation device includes the N final targets and a background region ([Page 7; Paragraph 3] reciting “In the first embodiment, to obtain a final target object O from the target image M .sub.S after the synthesis, the final target product O was placed in the background BG. However, among the post-synthesis target image M .sub.S, of substantially the same shape, of the target object O .sub.T and dark object O .sub.D and the bright subject O .sub.L three overlapping "target" and the equivalent final target O .sub.S obtained by the layer…In general, a still image composed of one frame image is called an “image”, a moving image composed of a plurality of frame images is sometimes called a “video”, and both a still image and a moving image are called “images”. However, in this specification, both still images and moving images are referred to as “images”. In the following, differences from the items described so far will be mainly described, and the items already described will be simplified by using the same reference numbers.”),
a first final target among the N final targets includes a first target object and a first additional region added to at least a part of a contour line of the first target object, a second final target among the N final targets includes a second target object and a second additional region added to at least a part of a contour line of the second target object ([Abstract] reciting “According to the present invention, a target object, which does not actually move and has an arbitrary contour shape, is deluded as if moving. A thing, which includes a final target, is arranged in a background, the brightness of which temporally changes, the final target being equivalent to an object obtained from a triple superposition of a target object”; [Page 2; Paragraph 4] reciting “In the first embodiment, a technique for providing an illusion that a target object having a complicated contour shape is translated in a specific direction even though it does not actually move (translation illusion) is provided.”; [Page 23; Paragraph 3] reciting “At that time, the … target object is placed upward (in front of the observer), and the light target object or the dark target object is overlapped with different positions so that a part of the target object can be visually recognized.”),
a luminance of the background region is uniform at each time ([Abstract] reciting “A thing, which includes a final target, is arranged in a background, the brightness of which temporally changes, the final target being equivalent to an object obtained from a triple superposition of a target object, a dark object and a bright object that have an approximately identical shape…”; [Page 8; Paragraph 2] reciting “In the first embodiment and the modifications 1 and 2 thereof, the pixel values of all the pixels are the same in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L. That is, the luminance was uniform in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L.”), and periodically and temporally changes between a maximum luminance that is predetermined and a minimum luminance that is predetermined ([Page 25; Paragraph 4] reciting “Even if the final target object O is arranged on a white surface such as a projector screen and a video projector is used to project an image whose luminance periodically changes on the white surface on which the final target object O is arranged, the present technology The effect is obtained…The image projected from the video projector may be an image having a spatially uniform luminance, an image in which the luminance of an arbitrary image is temporally modulated…”; [Page 23; Paragraph 4] reciting “Brightness of the target object O .sub.T has to belong from the minimum value of the periodically varying brightness of the background in the range between the maximum value (the variation range of the background luminance)”; [Page 24; Paragraph 4] reciting “Thus, the different movements depending spatial position of the background final targets O and final target O .sub.S is disposed can be perceived. Further, the periodic change cycle of the luminance may be switched every predetermined time. Thereby, a different motion can be perceived every predetermined time.”),
a luminance of the first target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and , a luminance of the second target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and ([Page 8; Paragraph 2] reciting “In the first embodiment and the modifications 1 and 2 thereof, the pixel values of all the pixels are the same in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L. That is, the luminance was uniform in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L.”; [Page 23; Paragraph 4] reciting “Brightness of the target object O .sub.T has to belong from the minimum value of the periodically varying brightness of the background in the range between the maximum value (the variation range of the background luminance)… It is also desirable that the brightness of the bright object (additional bright area) also belongs to the “background brightness change range”. For example, the contour part of the target object O .sub.T (e.g., top and bottom of the target object O .sub.T) target object O .sub.T in luminance brightness is close to (e.g., luminance difference from the luminance of the following first value of the target object O .sub.T ) place a dark object (additional dark region) and bright subject (additional bright region) with other parts of the contour of the target object O .sub.T…”),
a luminance of the first additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and , a luminance of the second additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and ([Page 8; Paragraph 2] reciting “In the first embodiment and the modifications 1 and 2 thereof, the pixel values of all the pixels are the same in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L. That is, the luminance was uniform in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L. However, the luminance may not be uniform in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L.”; [Page 6; Paragraph 3] reciting “Minimum luminance value in the time variation of the luminance of the background BG is preferably a value in the vicinity of the luminance values for "luminance value or dark region O of .sub.D" .sub.D dark region O. The maximum luminance value in the time variation of the luminance of the background BG is preferably a value in the vicinity of the luminance value of the bright region O .sub."L luminance value or the bright area O" .sub.L. However, the minimum luminance value and the maximum luminance value of the luminance of the background BG that changes with time may be other values.”),
a luminance of the first target object and a luminance of the second target object are different ([Page 3; Paragraph 1] reciting “Pixel value of each pixel in the background area B .sub.D is the pixel value different from the dark subject O .sub.D.”), and
a luminance of the first additional region and a luminance of the second additional region are same, and are lower than a luminance of the first target object and a luminance of the second target object or higher than a luminance of the first target object and a luminance of the second target object ([Page 3; Paragraph 4] reciting “Luminance operating portion 111, on the basis of the target image M .sub.T and the luminance operation amount L .sub.D input, the target object O .sub.T pixel value of each pixel has the same shape only L .sub.D than the target object O .sub.T and small area ( An image (dark target image M .sub.D ) including the dark target O .sub.D ) and the other region (background region B .sub.D ) is obtained.”; [Page 26; Paragraph 8] reciting “In the first embodiment, the image generating apparatus 11, to give an image including a dark subject O .sub.D is lower luminance than the target object O .sub.T, the image including a bright object O .sub.L is higher luminance than the target object O .sub.T, dark subject O .sub.D a post-movement is moved parallel to the first direction dark object O 'image containing .sub.D and the bright subject O .sub.L movement after bright object O is moved parallel to the second direction opposite the first direction”).
11 Although Kawabe could teach a luminance of the first target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the first additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change ([Page 2; Paragraph 4] reciting “In the first embodiment, a technique for providing an illusion that a target object having a complicated contour shape is translated in a specific direction even though it does not actually move (translation illusion) is provided.”), prior art from Kohashikawa can teach this limitation further.
12 Kohashikawa teaches a luminance of the first target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the first additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change ([0013] reciting “A forth technical means is the video display device of anyone of the first to the third technical means, wherein the gradation control portion of each of the monitors defines the second luminance by multiplying the first luminance by a fixed multiplying factor according to the minimum luminance stretch quantity, and acquires a maximum LED gradation value from maximum luminance of the second luminance.”; [0067] reciting “The gradation control portion 131b of the monitor 1 defines first luminance of an LED for each divided region according to the maximum gradation value of the video signal of each divided region acquired by the image analysis portion 131a. Then, the gradation control portion 131b multiplies the first luminance in each divided region by the fixed multiplying factor for stretching the first luminance in a range where a total value of LED drive current is equal to or less than a predetermined allowable current value, thereby defining second luminance for each region. At this time, the gradation control portion 131b multiplies the first luminance by the fixed multiplying factor according to the minimum luminance stretch quantity b2' acquired from the microcomputer 19 to define the second luminance, thereby acquiring a maximum LED gradation value from the maximum value of the second luminance.”)…
13 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Kawabe) to incorporate the teachings of Kohashikawa to provide a clearer method that provides a value of a luminance to simply not change over time based on the luminance, utilizing the luminance methods provided by Kawabe, which prior art from Kohashikawa could adjust the temporal changes. Doing so would achieve high contrast as stated by Kohashikawa ([Abstract] recited).
14 Regarding claim 3, Kawabe teaches an illusion video generation device comprises processing circuitry configured to generate a video for causing an illusion that a visual object based on a first final target among N (N is an integer of 2 or more) final targets and a visual object based on a second final target among the N final targets are visually moving at different timings ([Page 2; Paragraph 4] reciting “In the first embodiment, a technique for providing an illusion that a target object having a complicated contour shape is translated in a specific direction even though it does not actually move (translation illusion) is provided.”; [Page 7; Paragraph 3] reciting “In the first embodiment, to obtain a final target object O from the target image M .sub.S after the synthesis, the final target product O was placed in the background BG. However, among the post-synthesis target image M .sub.S, of substantially the same shape, of the target object O .sub.T and dark object O .sub.D and the bright subject O .sub.L three overlapping "target" and the equivalent final target O .sub.S obtained by the layer When, a layer of an image background luminance changes periodically time, last target O .sub.S layer combined image (presentation image M .sub.B) as more is higher priority layer may be obtained. Such presentation for the viewer who viewed image M .sub.B is also an illusion as moving target object O .sub.T which should originally not moving…Such presentation for the viewer who viewed image M .sub.B is also an illusion as moving target object O .sub.T which should originally not moving. In general, a still image composed of one frame image is called an “image”, a moving image composed of a plurality of frame images is sometimes called a “video”, and both a still image and a moving image are called “images”. However, in this specification, both still images and moving images are referred to as “images”.”; [Page 8; Paragraph 1] reciting “That is, the background composite unit 115, based on the input composite after the target image M .sub.S, the target object O .sub.T the mean value of the change in luminance with time is included in the composite after the target image M .sub.S luminance values or target object O .sub.T which is a value in the vicinity of the brightness value may be generated images B .sub.V background.”; [Page 19; Paragraph 4] reciting “First, the target image .sub.M T comprising the target object .sub.O T is inputted to the decomposing portion 611 (FIG. 16). Decomposition unit 611, in order to give the illusion effect of different movements in the portion constituting the target object O .sub.T in the target image M .sub.T, firstly decompose the target object O .sub.T in part a target object O .sub.T -1 ~ J, partial Images (partial target images M .sub.T -j) each including the target object O .sub.T -j (where j = 1,..., J and J is an integer greater than or equal to 2) are obtained.”), wherein
the illusion video generation device generates a video including the N final targets and a background region ([Page 7; Paragraph 3] reciting “In the first embodiment, to obtain a final target object O from the target image M .sub.S after the synthesis, the final target product O was placed in the background BG. However, among the post-synthesis target image M .sub.S, of substantially the same shape, of the target object O .sub.T and dark object O .sub.D and the bright subject O .sub.L three overlapping "target" and the equivalent final target O .sub.S obtained by the layer…In general, a still image composed of one frame image is called an “image”, a moving image composed of a plurality of frame images is sometimes called a “video”, and both a still image and a moving image are called “images”. However, in this specification, both still images and moving images are referred to as “images”. In the following, differences from the items described so far will be mainly described, and the items already described will be simplified by using the same reference numbers.”; [Page 8; Paragraph 1] reciting “That is, the background composite unit 115, based on the input composite after the target image M .sub.S, the target object O .sub.T the mean value of the change in luminance with time is included in the composite after the target image M .sub.S luminance values or target object O .sub.T which is a value in the vicinity of the brightness value may be generated images B .sub.V background.”),
a first final target among the N final targets includes a first target object and a first additional region added to at least a part of a contour line of the first target object, a second final target among the N final targets includes a second target object and a second additional region added to at least a part of a contour line of the second target object ([Abstract] reciting “According to the present invention, a target object, which does not actually move and has an arbitrary contour shape, is deluded as if moving. A thing, which includes a final target, is arranged in a background, the brightness of which temporally changes, the final target being equivalent to an object obtained from a triple superposition of a target object”; [Page 2; Paragraph 4] reciting “In the first embodiment, a technique for providing an illusion that a target object having a complicated contour shape is translated in a specific direction even though it does not actually move (translation illusion) is provided.”; [Page 23; Paragraph 3] reciting “At that time, the … target object is placed upward (in front of the observer), and the light target object or the dark target object is overlapped with different positions so that a part of the target object can be visually recognized.”),
a luminance of the background region is uniform at each time ([Abstract] reciting “A thing, which includes a final target, is arranged in a background, the brightness of which temporally changes, the final target being equivalent to an object obtained from a triple superposition of a target object, a dark object and a bright object that have an approximately identical shape…”; [Page 8; Paragraph 2] reciting “In the first embodiment and the modifications 1 and 2 thereof, the pixel values of all the pixels are the same in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L. That is, the luminance was uniform in each of the target object O .sub.T , the dark region O ″ .sub.D , and the bright region O ″ .sub.L.”), and periodically and temporally changes between a maximum luminance that is predetermined and a minimum luminance that is predetermined ([Page 25; Paragraph 4] reciting “Even if the final target object O is arranged on a white surface such as a projector screen and a video projector is used to project an image whose luminance periodically changes on the white surface on which the final target object O is arranged, the present technology The effect is obtained…The image projected from the video projector may be an image having a spatially uniform luminance, an image in which the luminance of an arbitrary image is temporally modulated…”; [Page 23; Paragraph 4] reciting “Brightness of the target object O .sub.T has to belong from the minimum value of the periodically varying brightness of the background in the range between the maximum value (the variation range of the background luminance)”; [Page 24; Paragraph 4] reciting “Thus, the different movements depending spatial position of the background final targets O and final target O .sub.S is disposed can be perceived. Further, the periodic change cycle of the luminance may be switched every predetermined time. Thereby, a different motion can be perceived every predetermined time.”),
a luminance of the first target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and , a luminance of the second target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and “background brightness change range”. For example, the contour part of the target object O .sub.T (e.g., top and bottom of the target object O .sub.T) target object O .sub.T in luminance brightness is close to (e.g., luminance difference from the luminance of the following first value of the target object O .sub.T ) place a dark object (additional dark region) and bright subject (additional bright region) with other parts of the contour of the target object O .sub.T…”),
a luminance of the first additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and , a luminance of the second additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and ,
a luminance of the first target object and a luminance of the second target object are different ([Page 3; Paragraph 1] reciting “Pixel value of each pixel in the background area B .sub.D is the pixel value different from the dark subject O .sub.D.”), and
a luminance of the first additional dark region and a luminance of the second additional dark region are same, and are lower than a luminance of the first target object and a luminance of the second target object or higher than a luminance of the first target object and a luminance of the second target object ([Page 3; Paragraph 4] reciting “Luminance operating portion 111, on the basis of the target image M .sub.T and the luminance operation amount L .sub.D input, the target object O .sub.T pixel value of each pixel has the same shape only L .sub.D than the target object O .sub.T and small area ( An image (dark target image M .sub.D ) including the dark target O .sub.D ) and the other region (background region B .sub.D ) is obtained.”; [Page 26; Paragraph 8] reciting “In the first embodiment, the image generating apparatus 11, to give an image including a dark subject O .sub.D is lower luminance than the target object O .sub.T, the image including a bright object O .sub.L is higher luminance than the target object O .sub.T, dark subject O .sub.D a post-movement is moved parallel to the first direction dark object O 'image containing .sub.D and the bright subject O .sub.L movement after bright object O is moved parallel to the second direction opposite the first direction”).
15 Although Kawabe could teach a luminance of the first target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the first additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change ([Page 2; Paragraph 4] reciting “In the first embodiment, a technique for providing an illusion that a target object having a complicated contour shape is translated in a specific direction even though it does not actually move (translation illusion) is provided.”), prior art from Kohashikawa can teach this limitation further.
16 Kohashikawa teaches a luminance of the first target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second target object is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the first additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change, a luminance of the second additional region is a uniform predetermined luminance that is between the maximum luminance and the minimum luminance and does not temporally change ([0013] reciting “A forth technical means is the video display device of anyone of the first to the third technical means, wherein the gradation control portion of each of the monitors defines the second luminance by multiplying the first luminance by a fixed multiplying factor according to the minimum luminance stretch quantity, and acquires a maximum LED gradation value from maximum luminance of the second luminance.”; [0067] reciting “The gradation control portion 131b of the monitor 1 defines first luminance of an LED for each divided region according to the maximum gradation value of the video signal of each divided region acquired by the image analysis portion 131a. Then, the gradation control portion 131b multiplies the first luminance in each divided region by the fixed multiplying factor for stretching the first luminance in a range where a total value of LED drive current is equal to or less than a predetermined allowable current value, thereby defining second luminance for each region. At this time, the gradation control portion 131b multiplies the first luminance by the fixed multiplying factor according to the minimum luminance stretch quantity b2' acquired from the microcomputer 19 to define the second luminance, thereby acquiring a maximum LED gradation value from the maximum value of the second luminance.”)…
17 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Kawabe) to incorporate the teachings of Kohashikawa to provide a clearer method that provides a value of a luminance to simply not change over time based on the luminance, utilizing the luminance methods provided by Kawabe, which prior art from Kohashikawa could adjust the temporal changes. Doing so would achieve high contrast as stated by Kohashikawa ([Abstract] recited).
18 Claim 4 has similar limitations as of claim 2, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
19 Claim 5 has similar limitations as of claim 3, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
20 Regarding claim 6, Kawabe in view of Kohashikawa teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to function (Kawabe; [Page 28; Paragraph 5] reciting “When the above configuration is realized by a computer, the processing contents of functions that each device should have are described by a program. By executing this program on a computer, the above processing functions are realized on the computer. The program describing the processing contents can be recorded on a computer-readable recording medium. An example of a computer-readable recording medium is a non-transitory recording medium. Examples of such a recording medium are a magnetic recording device, an optical disk, a magneto-optical recording medium, a semiconductor memory, and the like.”) as the illusion video presentation device according to claim 2 (see claim 2 rejection above).
21 Regarding claim 7, Kawabe in view of Kohashikawa teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer to function (Kawabe; [Page 28; Paragraph 5] reciting “When the above configuration is realized by a computer, the processing contents of functions that each device should have are described by a program. By executing this program on a computer, the above processing functions are realized on the computer. The program describing the processing contents can be recorded on a computer-readable recording medium. An example of a computer-readable recording medium is a non-transitory recording medium. Examples of such a recording medium are a magnetic recording device, an optical disk, a magneto-optical recording medium, a semiconductor memory, and the like.”) as the illusion video generation device according to claim 3 (see claim 3 rejection above).
Conclusion
22 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jung et al. (US 20120206502 A1) teaches displaying a luminence coefficients of a plurality of light emitting blocks, and contains maximum blocks.
23 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHNNY TRAN LE whose telephone number is (571)272-5680. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thu: 7:30am-5pm; First Fridays Off; Second Fridays: 7:30am-4pm.
/JOHNNY T LE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614