DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, ll. 1, “a triboelectric energy harvester” was already recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirai et al. (JP 2015-198149 A).
Regarding claim 1, Hirai disclose a polymer gel (gel polymer) for a triboelectric energy harvester (10; polymer is charged by friction) comprising a polymer resin (a polymer) and a plasticizer (a compound is added as a plasticizer to the polymer).
Regarding claim 2/1, Hirai was discussed above in claim 1. Hirai further discloses the polymer resin (the polymer) comprises a polymer resin selected from the group consisting of polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyurethane (PU), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyvinyl pyrrolidone (PVP), polyethylene oxide (PEO), polyimide (PI), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 3/1, Hirai was discussed above in claim 1. Hirai further discloses the plasticizer (the compound) comprises a plasticizer selected from the group consisting of a phthalate-based plasticizer, an ester-based plasticizer, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 4/3, Hirai was discussed above in claim 3. Hirai further discloses the phthalate-based plasticizer comprises a plasticizer selected from the group consisting of butyl benzoate (BB), dibutyl phthalate (DBP), tributylbenzene-1,2,4-tricarboxylate (TBT), di-2-ethylhexyl phthalate (DOP), diheptyl phthalate (DHP), diisodecyl phthalate (DIDP), and combinations thereof (see excerpt above).
Regarding claim 5/3, Hirai was discussed above in claim 3. Hirai further discloses the ester-based plasticizer comprises a plasticizer selected from the group consisting of dibutyl adipate (DBA), ethylhexyl adipate (DOA), diisobutyl adipate (DIBA), adipic acid ester, adipic 14 acid polyester, tri-2-ethylhexyl trimellitate (TOTM), triisononyl trimellitate (TINTM), and combinations thereof (see excerpt above).
Regarding claim 6/1, Hirai was discussed above in claim 1. Hirai further discloses the plasticizer (the compound) is present in an amount of 100 to 500 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the polymer resin (the polymer; see excerpt below).
Regarding claim 7/1, Hirai was discussed above in claim 1. Hirai further discloses the plasticizer (the compound) is present in an amount of 100 to 300 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the polymer resin (the polymer; see excerpt above).
Regarding claim 8/1, Hirai was discussed above in claim 1. Hirai further discloses a triboelectric energy harvester (10) comprising: a first electrode (2a) and a second electrode (2b), which are positioned spaced apart from each other; and a charged polymer layer (gel polymer near electrode 2a) comprising the polymer gel (gel polymer) according to claim 1, bonded to one surface of the first electrode (2a; gel polymer in the vicinity of the electrode 2a).
Regarding claim 9/8, Hirai was discussed above in claim 8. Hirai further discloses the first electrode (2a) comprises a material selected from the group consisting of indium tin oxide (ITO), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), graphene, carbon nanotubes, and combinations thereof (see excerpt below).
Regarding claim 10/8, Hirai was discussed above in claim 8. Hirai further discloses the second electrode (2b) comprises a metal selected from the group consisting of aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), gold (Au), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), nickel (Ni), zinc (Zn), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), and combinations thereof (see excerpt above).
Regarding claim 11/8, Hirai was discussed above in claim 8. Hirai further discloses a conductive layer (1) bonded to one surface of the second electrode (2b; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 12/11, Hirai was discussed above in claim 11. Hirai further discloses the conductive layer (1) comprises a material selected from the group consisting of nylon, cotton, silk, wool, polyester, polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polycarbonate (PC), polyarylate (PAR), ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA), polyimide (PI), and combinations thereof (the mechanical stimulus response layer 1 is mainly composed of a gel-like polymer material; see excerpt below).
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834