Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 40, 46, 52, and 58-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by YANG et al. (US 20210152274 A1, hereinafter, "YANG").
Regarding claim 40, YANG teaches a method for a downlink control information (DCI) size alignment, performed by a terminal, comprising:
YANG writes, “‘Wireless communication device’ may refer to UE 120 and/or to BS 110. In some aspects, a wireless communication device may include means for determining that a first set of DCI formats is associated with a same DCI size as a second set of DCI formats; means for performing a padding operation so that the first set of DCI formats and the second set of DCI formats are associated with different DCI sizes; means for performing a communication using one or more of the first set of DCI formats or the second set of DCI formats as modified based at least in part on the padding operation...” (paragraph 0042). YANG indicates a wireless device, UE or BS, may include means for determining a first set of DCI formats is associated with a same DCI size as a second set of DCI formats, and performing a padding operation so that the first set of DCI formats and the second set of DCI formats are associated with different DCI sizes.
determining that a size of first DCI for scheduling uplink data of a plurality of cells and a size of second DCI for scheduling downlink data of the plurality of cells are aligned.
YANG writes, “...means for selectively performing an operation that aligns DCI sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format with each other; means for determining that a first DCI format and a second DCI format are aligned…” (paragraph 0042). YANG explains the wireless communication device, UE or BS, includes means for performing an operation to align DCI sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format with each other and determining that a first DCI format and a second DCI format are aligned.
Claim 46 is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 40 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 40. Claim 46 is rejected under the same rational as claim 40.
Regarding claim 52, YANG teaches a terminal (paragraph 0040; figure 2, UE: 120), comprising:
a processor (paragraph 0040; figure 2, controller/processor: 280);
and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (paragraph 0041; figure 2, memory: 282);
wherein the processor is configured to:
YANG writes, “...the one or more instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the base station 110 or the UE 120, may cause the base station 110 or the UE 120 to perform or direct operations of process 500 of FIG. 5, process 600 of FIG. 6, and/or other processes as described herein” (paragraph 0041). YANG indicates the processor, of the UE or BS, may perform operations as described in the prior art through one or more instructions.
determine that a size of first DCI for scheduling uplink data of a plurality of cells and a size of second DCI for scheduling downlink data of the plurality of cells are aligned.
YANG writes, “...means for selectively performing an operation that aligns DCI sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format with each other; means for determining that a first DCI format and a second DCI format are aligned…” (paragraph 0042). YANG explains the wireless communication device, UE or BS, includes means for performing an operation to align DCI sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format with each other and determining that a first DCI format and a second DCI format are aligned.
Regarding claim 58, YANG teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 46.
Additionally, YANG teaches a network device (paragraph 0041; figure 2, base station: 110), comprising:
a processor (paragraph 0041; figure 2, controller/processor: 240);
and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (paragraph 0041; figure 2, memory: 242);
Regarding claim 59, YANG teaches causes the processor to perform the method of claim 40.
Additionally, YANG teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that, when executed by a processor,
YANG writes, “In some aspects, a non-transitory computer-readable medium may store one or more instructions for wireless communication. The one or more instructions, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless communication device, may cause the one or more processors to: determine that a first set of DCI formats is associated with a same DCI size as a second set of DCI formats; and perform a padding operation so that the first set of DCI formats and the second set of DCI formats are associated with different DCI sizes” (paragraph 0010). YANG states non-transitory computer-readable medium may store one or more instructions for wireless communication including instructions that cause the processor to: determine that a first set of DCI formats is associated with a same DCI size as a second set of DCI formats; and perform a padding operation so that the first set of DCI formats and the second set of DCI formats are associated with different DCI sizes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 41, 47, and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG as applied to claims 40, 46, and 52 above, and further in view of LIANG et al. (US 20240340919 A1, hereinafter, "LIANG").
Regarding claim 41, YANG teaches the method of claim 40,
YANG fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the first DCI is DCI format 0_3, and the second DCI is DCI format 1_3.”
However, in analogous art, LIANG teaches wherein the first DCI is DCI format 0_3, and the second DCI is DCI format 1_3.
LIANG writes, “The DCI used to schedule uplink data transmission and the DCI used to schedule downlink data transmission may be referred to as DCI in a same format (the first format) and correspondingly used to schedule uplink data transmission and downlink data transmission. For example, the DCI in the first format may include DCI format 0_3 and/or DCI format 1_3” (paragraph 0058). LIANG states the DCI used to schedule uplink data transmission and the DCI used to schedule downlink data transmission may be referred to as DCI in a same format (the first format). YANG provides an example wherein the DCI in the first format may include DCI format 0_3 and/or DCI format 1_3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of YANG to include aspects described by LIANG that “relates to the field of communications technologies, and more specifically, to a wireless communication method, a terminal device, and a network device.” LIANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “In embodiments of this application, the DCI sizes corresponding to different formats are preferably aligned. This is based on consideration that if there is a relatively large difference between uplink and downlink bandwidths, and there is also a relatively large difference between a quantity of DCI bits corresponding to an uplink and a quantity of DCI bits corresponding to a downlink. DCI sizes in different formats and correspondingly used to schedule uplink data transmission are preferably aligned, or DCI sizes in different formats and correspondingly used to schedule downlink data transmission are preferably aligned. This may reduce redundancy of a quantity of bits and improve utilization of transmission resources” (paragraph 0101).
Claims 47 and 53 are method and apparatus claims corresponding to the method claim 41 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 41. Claims 47 and 53 are rejected under the same rational as claim 41.
Claim(s) 42-43, 45, 48-49, 51, 54-55, and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG as applied to claims 40, 46, and 52 above, and further in view of LIANG and YI et al. (US 20200396760 A1, hereinafter, "YI").
Regarding claim 42, YANG teaches the method of claim 40, before determining that the size of the first DCI for scheduling the uplink data of the plurality of cells and the size of the second DCI for scheduling the downlink data of the plurality of cells are aligned, further comprising:
Additionally, YANG teaches determining that a size of a DCI format 0_1 and a size of a DCI format 1_1 are aligned, wherein determining that the size of the DCI format 0_1 and the size of the DCI format 1_1 are aligned comprises:
YANG writes, “As shown by reference number 340, the UE 120 may determine whether a first DCI format of the third set of DCI formats (e.g., DCI Format 0_1) and a second DCI format of the third set of DCI formats (e.g., DCI Format 1_1) have different DCI sizes. If the first DCI format and the second DCI format have different DCI sizes, then the UE 120 may perform an operation to align the DCI sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format. For example, the UE 120 may pad a shorter DCI format so that the DCI sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format are aligned. In this way, the UE 120 may reduce the number of candidates to be monitored by the UE 120 by 1 (e.g., since two different DCI sizes for the third set of DCI formats would require monitoring two candidates)” (paragraph 0055). YANG notes, “The operations described with regard to reference number 320, 330, and 340 may be performed by the UE 120 or the BS 110” (paragraph 0053). YANG states the UE may determine whether a first DCI format of the third set of DCI formats (e.g., DCI Format 0_1) and a second DCI format of the third set of DCI formats (e.g., DCI Format 1_1) have different DCI sizes and if the first DCI format and the second DCI format have different DCI sizes, then the UE may perform an operation to align the DCI sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format. YANG indicates the UE can determine if the DCI sizes of the different formats are aligned. YANG also remarks that the operation described may be performed by the UE or the BS.
YANG fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determining that a size of a DCI format 0_0 and a size of a DCI format 1_0 monitored in a common search space (CSS) are aligned;”, “determining that a size of a DCI format 0_0 and a size of a DCI format 1_0 monitored in a user equipment (UE) specific search space (USS) are aligned;”, “determining that a size of a DCI format 0_1 corresponding to a supplemented uplink (SUL) and a size of a DCI format 0_1 corresponding to a non-SUL are aligned;”, “determining that a size of a DCI format 0_2 corresponding to the SUL and a size of a DCI format 0_2 corresponding to the non-SUL are aligned;”, “determining whether a first preset condition is met after determining that the size of the DCI format 0_2 corresponding to the SUL and the size of the DCI format 0_2 corresponding to the non- SUL are aligned;”, “determining that the size of the DCI format 0_0/1_0 monitored in the USS and the size of the DCI format 0_0/1_0 monitored in the CSS are aligned in a case that the first preset condition is not met;”, “and ending a DCI alignment process in a case that the first preset condition is met;”, “determining whether the first preset condition is met again after determining that the size of the DCI format 0 0/1 0 monitored in the USS and the size of the DCI format 0_0/1_0 monitored in the CSS are aligned, determining that a size of the DCI format 0_2 and a size of a DCI format 1_2 are aligned in a case that the first preset condition is not met;”, “and ending the DCI alignment process in a case that the first preset condition is met;”, “and determining whether the first preset condition is met again after determining that the size of the DCI format 0_2 and the size of the DCI format 1_2 are aligned;”, “determining that the size of the DCI format 0_1 and the size of the DCI format 1_1 are aligned in a case that the first preset condition is not met;”, and “and ending the DCI alignment process in a case that the first preset condition is met.”
However, in analogous art, LIANG teaches determining that a size of a DCI format 0_0 and a size of a DCI format 1_0 monitored in a common search space (CSS) are aligned;
LIANG writes, “(1) Perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A” (paragraph 0130).
determining that a size of a DCI format 0_0 and a size of a DCI format 1_0 monitored in a user equipment (UE) specific search space (USS) are aligned;
LIANG writes, “(2) If a preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS and to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A” (paragraph 0131).
determining whether a first preset condition is met after determining that the size of the DCI format 0_2 corresponding to the SUL and the size of the DCI format 0_2 corresponding to the non- SUL are aligned;
LIANG writes, “In embodiments of this application, the limitation related to the quantity of DCI sizes may also be referred to as a preset condition. For example, the preset condition may be that the quantity of DCI sizes that may be supported by a carrier corresponding to the terminal device does not exceed 4, or the quantity of the sizes of the DCI scrambled by the C-RNTI that may be supported by a carrier corresponding to the terminal device does not exceed 3” (paragraph 0052). LIANG adds, “In embodiments of this application, before the alignment processing is performed on the DCI, a DCI size corresponding to an alignment operation is first determined. For example, a maximum value of all DCI sizes corresponding to a current DCI format that is to be aligned may be determined as the DCI size corresponding to the current alignment operation, or a minimum value of all the DCI sizes corresponding to the current DCI format that is to be aligned may be determined as the DCI size corresponding to the current alignment operation” (paragraph 0064). LIANG continues, “That is, if a determining result is that the preset condition is met after an alignment operation is performed each time, a subsequent alignment step may be stopped” (paragraph 0075). LIANG notes the limitation related to the quantity of DCI sizes may also be referred to as a preset condition. LIANG explains before the alignment processing is performed on the DCI, a DCI size corresponding to an alignment operation is first determined. LIANG states if a determining result is that the preset condition is met after an alignment operation is performed each time, a subsequent alignment step may be stopped. Therefore, LIANG indicates that it is determined whether the format sizes met the preset conditions, each time, after an alignment operation. If a preset condition is met any subsequent alignment step may be stopped.
determining that the size of the DCI format 0_0/1_0 monitored in the USS and the size of the DCI format 0_0/1_0 monitored in the CSS are aligned in a case that the first preset condition is not met;
LIANG writes, “In some embodiments, the plurality of DCI formats may include a DCI format detected in a CSS and a DCI format detected in a USS. When the plurality of DCI formats include both the DCI format detected in the CSS and the DCI format detected in the USS, DCI sizes corresponding to the DCI format detected in the CSS may be preferably aligned” (paragraph 0102). LIANG adds, “A plurality of DCI formats configured by a network device for a terminal device include DCI formats 0_0, 0_1, 0_2, 0_3, 1_0, 1_1, 1_2, and 1_3 detected in a USS, and DCI formats 0_0 and 0_1 detected in a CSS. If a quantity of different DCI sizes exceeds 4, or a quantity of DCI sizes of DCI scrambled by a C-RNTI exceeds 3, size alignment needs to be performed on the foregoing configured DCI formats. For a format of the DCI scrambled by the C-RNTI, steps of size alignment may be as follows. (1) Perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A. (2) If a preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS and to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A.” (paragraphs 0128-0131). LIANG states that in some embodiments, the plurality of DCI formats may include a DCI format detected in a CSS and a DCI format detected in a USS. LIANG explains that the plurality of DCI formats configured by a network device for a terminal device include DCI formats 0_0, 0_1, 0_2, 0_3, 1_0, 1_1, 1_2, and 1_3 detected in a USS, and DCI formats 0_0 and 0_1 detected in a CSS. If a preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS and to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS.
and ending a DCI alignment process in a case that the first preset condition is met;
LIANG writes, “That is, if a determining result is that the preset condition is met after an alignment operation is performed each time, a subsequent alignment step may be stopped” (paragraph 0075). LIANG indicates that if a preset condition is met any subsequent alignment step may be stopped.
determining whether the first preset condition is met again after determining that the size of the DCI format 0 0/1 0 monitored in the USS and the size of the DCI format 0_0/1_0 monitored in the CSS are aligned, determining that a size of the DCI format 0_2 and a size of a DCI format 1_2 are aligned in a case that the first preset condition is not met;
LIANG writes, “If a quantity of different DCI sizes exceeds 4, or a quantity of DCI sizes of DCI scrambled by a C-RNTI exceeds 3, size alignment needs to be performed on the foregoing configured DCI formats. For a format of the DCI scrambled by the C-RNTI, steps of size alignment may be as follows. (1) Perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A. (2) If a preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS and to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A. (3) If the preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_2 and 1_2 configured in the USS. A size obtained after the alignment is B” (paragraph 0129-0132). LIANG indicates if the preset condition is not met size alignment on DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS and to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. If the preset condition is not met again, then size alignment on the DCI formats 0_2 and 1_2 configured in the USS is performed.
and ending a DCI alignment process in a case that the first preset condition is met;
LIANG writes, “That is, if a determining result is that the preset condition is met after an alignment operation is performed each time, a subsequent alignment step may be stopped” (paragraph 0075). LIANG indicates that if a preset condition is met any subsequent alignment step may be stopped.
and determining whether the first preset condition is met again after determining that the size of the DCI format 0_2 and the size of the DCI format 1_2 are aligned;
LIANG writes, “If a quantity of different DCI sizes exceeds 4, or a quantity of DCI sizes of DCI scrambled by a C-RNTI exceeds 3, size alignment needs to be performed on the foregoing configured DCI formats. For a format of the DCI scrambled by the C-RNTI, steps of size alignment may be as follows. (1) Perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A. (2) If a preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS and to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A. (3) If the preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_2 and 1_2 configured in the USS. A size obtained after the alignment is B. (4) If the preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_1 and 1_1 configured in the USS. A size obtained after the alignment is C” (paragraphs 0129-0133). LIANG indicates that after the size alignment operation on the DCI formats 0_2 and 1_2 is performed, it is determined whether the preset condition is met again.
determining that the size of the DCI format 0_1 and the size of the DCI format 1_1 are aligned in a case that the first preset condition is not met;
LIANG writes, “If a quantity of different DCI sizes exceeds 4, or a quantity of DCI sizes of DCI scrambled by a C-RNTI exceeds 3, size alignment needs to be performed on the foregoing configured DCI formats. For a format of the DCI scrambled by the C-RNTI, steps of size alignment may be as follows. (1) Perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A. (2) If a preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS and to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A. (3) If the preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_2 and 1_2 configured in the USS. A size obtained after the alignment is B. (4) If the preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_1 and 1_1 configured in the USS. A size obtained after the alignment is C” (paragraphs 0129-0133). LIANG indicates in step 4 that if the preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_1 and 1_1 configured in the USS.
and ending a DCI alignment process in a case that the first preset condition is met;
LIANG writes, “That is, if a determining result is that the preset condition is met after an alignment operation is performed each time, a subsequent alignment step may be stopped” (paragraph 0075). LIANG indicates that if a preset condition is met any subsequent alignment step may be stopped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of YANG to include aspects described by LIANG that “relates to the field of communications technologies, and more specifically, to a wireless communication method, a terminal device, and a network device.” LIANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “In embodiments of this application, the DCI sizes corresponding to different formats are preferably aligned. This is based on consideration that if there is a relatively large difference between uplink and downlink bandwidths, and there is also a relatively large difference between a quantity of DCI bits corresponding to an uplink and a quantity of DCI bits corresponding to a downlink. DCI sizes in different formats and correspondingly used to schedule uplink data transmission are preferably aligned, or DCI sizes in different formats and correspondingly used to schedule downlink data transmission are preferably aligned. This may reduce redundancy of a quantity of bits and improve utilization of transmission resources” (paragraph 0101).
YANG and LIANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “determining that a size of a DCI format 0_1 corresponding to a supplemented uplink (SUL) and a size of a DCI format 0_1 corresponding to a non-SUL are aligned;” and “determining that a size of a DCI format 0_2 corresponding to the SUL and a size of a DCI format 0_2 corresponding to the non-SUL are aligned;”
However, in analogous art, YI teaches determining that a size of a DCI format 0_1 corresponding to a supplemented uplink (SUL) and a size of a DCI format 0_1 corresponding to a non-SUL are aligned;
YI writes, “The wireless device may determine the size of the first DCI format and/or the second DCI format, for example, based on information sent (e.g., broadcasted/transmitted) by the base station via system information messaging (e.g., an SIB), and/or based on being preconfigured with field sizes corresponding to the first DCI format” (paragraph 0352). YI adds, “Padding bits may be any bits that may be needed to align a UL grant to a downlink scheduling DCI format. The UL/SUL indicator field may indicate an UL carrier corresponding to a DL carrier of a cell, or an SUL carrier of the cell. The field may not be present, for example, if the cell does not support UL/SUL in the cell, if the wireless device does not support SUL in the cell, and/or if a first DCI size corresponding to the first DCI format, without including the padding bits and the UL/SUL indicator, is equal to or larger than a second DCI size of a downlink scheduling DCI based on a second DCI format” (paragraph 0364). YI continues, “DCI (e.g., corresponding to the third DCI format) for scheduling resource(s) for UL transmission(s)/data (e.g., a DCI format 0_1) may comprise one or more DCI fields. The one or more DCI fields may comprise one or more of: a DCI format indicator field, a carrier indicator field, a UL/SUL indicator field...” (paragraph 0381). YI indicates the wireless device may determine DCI size based on information set or being preconfigured. YI mentions the use of an UL/SUL indicator that may indicate an UL carrier corresponding to a DL carrier of a cell, or an SUL carrier of the cell.
determining that a size of a DCI format 0_2 corresponding to the SUL and a size of a DCI format 0_2 corresponding to the non-SUL are aligned;
YI writes, “The wireless device may determine the size of the first DCI format and/or the second DCI format, for example, based on information sent (e.g., broadcasted/transmitted) by the base station via system information messaging (e.g., an SIB), and/or based on being preconfigured with field sizes corresponding to the first DCI format” (paragraph 0352). YI adds, “Padding bits may be any bits that may be needed to align a UL grant to a downlink scheduling DCI format. The UL/SUL indicator field may indicate an UL carrier corresponding to a DL carrier of a cell, or an SUL carrier of the cell. The field may not be present, for example, if the cell does not support UL/SUL in the cell, if the wireless device does not support SUL in the cell, and/or if a first DCI size corresponding to the first DCI format, without including the padding bits and the UL/SUL indicator, is equal to or larger than a second DCI size of a downlink scheduling DCI based on a second DCI format” (paragraph 0364). YI continues, “DCI (e.g., corresponding to the third DCI format) for scheduling resource(s) for UL transmission(s)/data (e.g., a DCI format 0_1) may comprise one or more DCI fields. The one or more DCI fields may comprise one or more of: a DCI format indicator field, a carrier indicator field, a UL/SUL indicator field...” (paragraph 0381). YI indicates the wireless device may determine DCI size based on information set or being preconfigured. YI mentions the use of an UL/SUL indicator that may indicate an UL carrier corresponding to a DL carrier of a cell, or an SUL carrier of the cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of YANG and LIANG to include aspects described by YI that relates to "Base stations and wireless devices send and receive a variety of messages, include control information for configuring communications.” YI provides the motivation for modification stating, “Examples described herein may provide advantages such as more efficient control information signaling, increased reliability of wireless communications, and/or reduced transmission latencies” (paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 43, YANG, LIANG, and YI teach the method of claim 42, wherein determining that the size of the DCI format 0_0/1_0 monitored in the USS and the size of the DCI format 0_0/1_0 monitored in the CSS are aligned comprises:
Additionally, LIANG teaches determining that the size of the DCI format 0_0 monitored in the USS and the size of the DCI format 0_0 monitored in the CSS are aligned;
LIANG writes, “(1) Perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A. (2) If a preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A” (paragraph 0130-0131). LIANG adds, “That is, if a determining result is that the preset condition is met after an alignment operation is performed each time, a subsequent alignment step may be stopped” (paragraph 0075). LIANG indicates that if a preset condition is not met, size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. The sizes of the DCI formats are the preset conditions and are obtained before the alignment. Also, the sizes of the DCI formats is obtained after the alignment.
and determining that the size of the DCI format 1_0 monitored in the USS and the size of the DCI format 1_0 monitored in the CSS are aligned.
LIANG writes, “(1) Perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A. (2) If a preset condition is not met, perform size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. A size obtained after the alignment is A” (paragraph 0130-0131). LIANG adds, “That is, if a determining result is that the preset condition is met after an alignment operation is performed each time, a subsequent alignment step may be stopped” (paragraph 0075). LIANG indicates that if a preset condition is not met, size alignment on the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the USS to the DCI formats 0_0 and 1_0 configured in the CSS. The sizes of the DCI formats are the preset conditions and are obtained before the alignment. Also, the sizes of the DCI formats is obtained after the alignment.
Regarding claim 45, YANG, LIANG, and YI teach the method of claim 42, wherein the first preset condition comprises:
Additionally, LIANG teaches a number of DCI size categories received in a serving cell being less than or equal to four;
LIANG writes, “If a quantity of different DCI sizes exceeds 4, or a quantity of DCI sizes of DCI scrambled by a C-RNTI exceeds 3, size alignment needs to be performed on the foregoing configured DCI formats. For a format of the DCI scrambled by the C-RNTI, steps of size alignment may be as follows” (paragraph 0129).
and a number of DCI size categories of scrambled DCI by a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) and received in the serving cell being less than or equal to three.
LIANG writes, “If a quantity of different DCI sizes exceeds 4, or a quantity of DCI sizes of DCI scrambled by a C-RNTI exceeds 3, size alignment needs to be performed on the foregoing configured DCI formats. For a format of the DCI scrambled by the C-RNTI, steps of size alignment may be as follows” (paragraph 0129).
Claims 48-49, 51, 54-55, and 57 are method and apparatus claims corresponding to the method claims 42-43 and 45 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 42-43 and 45. Claims 48-49, 51, 54-55, and 57 are rejected under the same rational as claims 42-43 and 45.
Claim(s) 44, 50, and 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG as applied to claims 40, 46, and 52 above, and further in view of LUO et al. (US 20220116143 A1, hereinafter, "LUO").
Regarding claim 44, YANG teaches the method of claim 40, wherein determining that the size of the first DCI for scheduling the uplink data of the plurality of cells and the size of that second DCI for scheduling the downlink data of the plurality of cells are aligned comprises one of:
YANG fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “zero padding; or reducing a bit in a specific information field.”
However, in analogous art, LUO teaches zero padding; or reducing a bit in a specific information field.
LUO writes, “if the first size of the first DCI format monitored in the CSS is smaller than the first size of the second DCI format monitored in the CSS, performing zero padding on the first DCI format monitored in the CSS to align the first size of the first DCI format monitored in the CSS with the first size of the second DCI format monitored in the CSS; and if the first size of the first DCI format monitored in the CSS is larger than the first size of the second DCI format monitored in the CSS, truncating one or more most significant bits at the beginning of a frequency domain resource assignment field of the first DCI format monitored in the CSS to align the first size of the first DCI format monitored in the CSS with the first size of the second DCI format monitored in the CSS” (claim 4). LUO specifies the use of zero padding to align the DCI sizes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of YANG to include aspects described by LUO that "relates to the technical field of wireless communication, and more particularly, to a method executed by a user equipment and a corresponding user equipment.” LUO provides the motivation for modification stating, “...the present invention provides a user equipment and a method executed by a user equipment, which can avoid the DCI format ambiguity generated when the UE receives the DCI and can improve the reliability of the downlink control signaling” (paragraph 0064).
Claims 50 and 56 are method and apparatus claims corresponding to the method claim 44 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 44. Claims 50 and 56 are rejected under the same rational as claim 44.
Claims 1-39 have been canceled by the applicant, respectfully.
Conclusion
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 9/1/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475