DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A – Applicant argues: On pages 7-8 of Remarks of 06/24/2026, that a shortening a discovery-phase waiting time in a protocol based on a user confirmation that the intended peer device has had time to participate is not the same as Carlson’s shortening of a time with the press of a button.
A – The Examiner respectfully disagrees: The claims as written require a shortening of a waiting time and Carlson shortens the waiting time with the button press. The concepts within the Specification are not read into the claims. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
B – Applicant argues: On page 6 of Applicant remarks of 06/24/2026 Applicant claims to have addressed claim 11 112 4th paragraph rejection.
B – The Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Applicant did not address the 112 4th paragraph rejection of claim 11, merely corrected the claim that claim 11 was dependent on. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 depends from claim 7, merely changing the embodiment, however claim 11 does not further limit claim 7. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gollakota et al., (Secure In-Band Wireless Pairing; 2011, from IDS of 11/25/2024), hereinafter “Gollakota”, and further in view of Carlson et al., (US Publication No. 2006/0105794), hereinafter “Carlson”.
Regarding claims 1, 7, 11 Gollakota discloses
sending, by the first device, a first message after receiving a first button press [Gollakota, section 5.2, see also section 1 and section 3.1];
listening by the first device for a second message until an expiry of a waiting time [Gollakota, section 5.2],
aborting, by the first device, the push-button protocol if no second messages have been received or if second messages have been received from more than one device [Gollakota, section 5.2, see also section 1 and section 3.1];
listening, by the second device, for the first message after receiving a first button press and until the expiry of a waiting time [Gollakota, section 5.2, see also section 1 and section 3.1],
sending, by the second device, the second message if a first message has been received [Gollakota, section 5.2, see also section 1 and section 3.1; Every time a TEA message is received, the registrar records the message payload, and immediately sends its own TEA message in response];
proceeding to the secure phase if one or more first messages have been received from only one device, and the wait time has ended [Gollakota, section 5.2]; and
aborting, by the second device, the push-button protocol if no first messages have been received or if the first messages have been received from more than one device [Gollakota, section 5.2].
Gollakota does not specifically disclose, however Carlson teaches
wherein the waiting time is shortened by the detection of a subsequent button press on the first device [Carlson, paragraph 10, a press of the P2V button activates the P2V session and a second push of the P2V button or another designated button ends the session];
wherein the waiting time is shortened by the detection of a subsequent button press on the second device [Carlson, paragraph 10, a press of the P2V button activates the P2V session and a second push of the P2V button or another designated button ends the session].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second push of the button in order to provide security for the system when there is no longer a need to have the channel open. It would have been obvious to combine Carlson with Gollakota as both arts relate to a similar field.
Regarding claim 3, Gollakota-Carlson further discloses
where the first device sends first messages over more than one channel [Gollakota, section 5.2].
Regarding claim 4, Gollakota-Carlson further discloses
where the first device listens for first messages on more than one channel [Gollakota, section 5.2].
Regarding claims 5, 10, Gollakota-Carlson further discloses
where the first message is a Push Button Presence Announcement, the second message is a Push Button Presence Announcement Response [Gollakota, section 5.2] and the secure phase of the protocol starts with the PKIEX protocol from the Device Provisioning Protocol (DPP) [Gollakota, section 5.2, see also section 1 and section 3.1].
Regarding claim 8, Gollakota-Carlson further discloses
where the first device sends first messages over more than one channel [Gollakota, section 5.2].
Regarding claim 9, Gollakota-Carlson further discloses
where the second first device listens for first messages on more than one channel [Gollakota, section 5.2].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/William J. Goodchild/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433