Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2026, with respect to claim 4 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amended claim 4 is not supported by specification, as detailed below.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/24/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and the rejections of claims 2-5, and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim asserts that “the housing body is located toward a center of the vehicle in a left and right direction of the vehicle body, relative to an outermost edge of the counterweight in the left and right direction of the vehicle body,” however this is directly contradicted by Figure 2 of the drawings and the written specification is silent on the location of the housing body in a left-right direction. As shown below, Figure 2 specifically shows that the housing body is aligned with the outermost extent of the counterweight.
Iwaki, Figure 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruich (US 20020109376 A1), in view of Niemela (US 20040164537 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gruich teaches “A work vehicle comprising:
a vehicle body (see Gruich, Figure 2, Annotation set 1);
a plurality of wheels provided on the vehicle body (see Gruich, Figure 2, Annotation set 1);
the housing body including:
a main body provided with an opening through which an inside of the main body is accessible (see Gruich, Abstract);
a cover for covering the opening, which is mounted to the main body so as to be openable and closable (door is provided over the opening, see Gruich Abstract); and
a locking tool for locking the cover to the main body (locking latches, see paragraph 0030),
wherein the housing body is formed into a box shape including:
a bottom surface portion (bottom surface, see paragraph 0030);
a top surface portion arranged to face the bottom surface portion (top surface, see paragraph 0033);
a first side surface portion connecting the bottom surface portion and the top surface portion on a side facing the one of the wheels (see Gruich, Figure 2, Annotation set 2); and
a second side surface portion connecting the bottom surface portion, the top surface portion, and the first side surface portion from a lateral side at a position more rearward than the first side surface portion (see Gruich, Figure 2, Annotation set 2),
the top surface portion consists of the main body and the cover (door, see Gruich Abstract),
the top surface portion includes:
a horizontal region parallel to a ground surface in contact with the vehicle body (see Gruich, Figure 1); and
an inclined region inclined downward from the horizontal region toward the second side surface portion (see Gruich, Figure 1), and
the locking tool is provided on an end portion of the inclined region of the top surface portion (see Gruich, Figure 1),.” Gruich does not teach “a working device mounted to a front portion of the vehicle body so as to be rotatable in an upward and downward direction;
a counterweight mounted to a rear portion of the vehicle body; and
a housing body mounted to a portion which is a side portion of the vehicle body, and behind one of the plurality of wheels, and ahead of the counterweight
the end portion being on a side where the counterweight is positioned along the forward and rearward direction of the vehicle body.”
However, Gruich, in view of Niemela, teaches “a working device mounted to a front portion of the vehicle body so as to be rotatable in an upward and downward direction (mounted plow, 22, see Niemela, Figure 1);
a counterweight mounted to a rear portion of the vehicle body (ballast attachment, 30, see Niemela, Figure 1); and
a housing body mounted to a portion which is a side portion of the vehicle body, and behind one of the plurality of wheels, and ahead of the counterweight (dashed rectangle denotes position of Gruich’s rearmost housing body which would be located behind wheels and ahead of ballast, see Niemela, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1)
the end portion being on a side where the counterweight is positioned along the forward and rearward direction of the vehicle body (housing body and thus lock of Gruich is positioned on the counterweight side of the vehicle in a front-rear direction, as opposed to the plow side of the vehicle, see Niemela, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the storage body as taught by Gruich to a work pickup truck with a rear ballast and front plow, as taught by Niemela, in order to provide a plow truck comprising a convenient storage area for tools and equipment that may be needed during the operation of the vehicle in a work setting, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Gruich, Figure 2 (Annotation set 1)
Gruich, Figure 2 (Annotation set 2)
Gruich, Figure 1
Niemela, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruich (US 20020109376 A1), in view of Niemela (US 20040164537 A1) and Christensen (US 20050145527 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Gruich, in view of Niemela, teaches all the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 1 above, except “wherein the housing body further includes a handle for opening and closing the cover, and the handle is provided on the cover at the inclined region of the top surface portion thereof.”
However, Christensen teaches “wherein the housing body further includes a handle for opening and closing the cover (see Christensen, Figure 2, Annotation set 1), and
the handle is provided on the cover at the inclined region of the top surface portion thereof (see Christensen, Figure 2, Annotation set 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the storage body as taught by Gruich to a work pickup truck with a rear ballast and front plow, as taught by Niemela, in order to provide a plow truck comprising a convenient storage area for tools and equipment that may be needed during the operation of the vehicle in a work setting, with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the latch assembly as taught by Gruich, on the plowing vehicle, taught by Niemela, with the latch and handle assembly as taught by Christensen, to provide a convenient point of contact for the user to gain leverage to open the assembly, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Christensen, Figure 2 (Annotation set 1)
Regarding claim 3, Gruich, in view of Niemela, teaches all the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 2 above, except “wherein each of the locking tool and the handle is formed in a rectangular shape, and placed such that a longitudinal direction thereof is along an inclination direction of the inclined region.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the storage body as taught by Gruich to a work pickup truck with a rear ballast and front plow, as taught by Niemela, in order to provide a plow truck comprising a convenient storage area for tools and equipment that may be needed during the operation of the vehicle in a work setting, with a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Christensen teaches “wherein each of the locking tool and the handle is formed in a rectangular shape, and placed such that a longitudinal direction thereof is along an inclination direction of the inclined region (see Christensen, Figure 2, Annotation Set 2).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the latch assembly as taught by Gruich, on the plowing vehicle, taught by Niemela, with the vertically aligned latch and handle assembly as taught by Christensen, to provide a convenient point of contact for the user to gain leverage to open the assembly and that the handle may be actuated upward to disengage the latching mechanism, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Christensen, Figure 2 (Annotation set 2)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruich (US 20020109376 A1), in view of Niemela (US 20040164537 A1) and Anderson (US 11186167 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Gruich, in view of Niemela, teaches all the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 1 above, except “inside the housing body, a fueling port for filling a fuel is installed.”
However, Anderson teaches “inside the housing body, a fueling port for filling a fuel is installed (see Anderson, Figure 4).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the storage body as taught by Gruich to a work pickup truck with a rear ballast and front plow, as taught by Niemela, in order to provide a plow truck comprising a convenient storage area for tools and equipment that may be needed during the operation of the vehicle in a work setting, with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place a fuel filling port as taught by Anderson inside the covered storage assembly as taught by Gruich, on the plowing vehicle, taught by Niemela, to eliminate the need for a separate cover over the fuel port, instead letting the cover over the storage box protect the port as well, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Anderson, Figure 4
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruich (US 20020109376 A1), in view of Niemela (US 20040164537 A1) and Thelen et al. (US 20070267885 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Gruich, in view of Niemela, teaches all the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 1 above, except “the housing body is provided with a hinge for fixing the cover with respect to the main body on the first side surface portion so as to be rotatable,
the cover opens and closes with rotating around the hinge in a forward and rearward direction of the vehicle body.”
However, Thelen teaches “the housing body is provided with a hinge for fixing the cover with respect to the main body on the first side surface portion so as to be rotatable (doors are connected to the sides of the compartment, see Thelen, paragraph 0023),
the cover opens and closes with rotating around the hinge in a forward and rearward direction of the vehicle body (hinge allows doors to swing open horizontally, see Thelen, paragraph 0023).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the storage body as taught by Gruich to a work pickup truck with a rear ballast and front plow, as taught by Niemela, in order to provide a plow truck comprising a convenient storage area for tools and equipment that may be needed during the operation of the vehicle in a work setting, with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, move the horizontally aligned hinge as taught by Gruich, on the plowing vehicle, taught by Niemela, to the side of the opening such that it becomes a vertically aligned hinge as taught by Thelen, to prevent the accidental closure of the cover under the influence of gravity, contributing to simplicity and ease of use while on the job-site, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JRC/
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
October 22, 2026