DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moriyama et al. (JP 2012-206971 A; published 25 October 2012; of record; citations herein to English translation provided by applicant 21 February 2025; of record).
Regarding claim 1, Moriyama et al. discloses an oil-in-water massage cosmetic Example 8 comprising 15% w/w 2-decyltetradecanol (i.e., a primary alcohol having a branched chain and 20-30 carbon atoms; component A) and 2% w/w isostearyl alcohol (i.e., 16-methyl-1-heptadecanol, a primary alcohol having a branched chain and 12-19 carbon atoms; component B) (paragraph [0073]).
Further regarding claim 1, the total of components A + B is thus, 15% + 2% = 17% w/w, with component A being 15%/17% or about 88% w/w, and component B being 2%/17% or about 12% w/w, with component A plus component B corresponding to the claimed oil agent for cosmetics of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the oil agent for cosmetics of Moriyama et al. as discussed above regarding claim 1 is 17% w/w of the oil-in-water massage cosmetic Example 8 as discussed above regarding claim 1, and Moriyama et al. further discloses that the oil-in-water massage cosmetic Example 8 further comprises 10% w/w 1,3-butylene glycol (i.e., a divalent to hexavalent polyhydric alcohol having 3-6 carbon atoms; component C), polyglyceryl diisostearate (i.e., a non-ionic surfactant having an HLB value of 10; component D), and POE (60) hydrogenated castor oil (i.e., a non-ionic surfactant having an HLB value of 14; component D) (paragraph [0073]).
Further regarding claim 2, the ratio of components (A + B) / C is thus 17%/10% = 1.7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (JP 2019-19077 A; published 07 February 2019; of record; citations herein to English translation provided by applicant 21 February 2025; of record) in view of Schwan-Stabilo (DE 10 2005 057 593 A1; published 11 January 2007; citations herein to English machine translation made 07 August 2026).
Regarding claim 3, Mori discloses a lip gloss cosmetic preparation Example 28 (paragraph [0087]) comprising 0.1% w/w octyl dodecanol (i.e., a primary alcohol having a branched chain and 20-30 carbon atoms; component A), 5% w/w decyltetradecanol (i.e., a primary alcohol having a branched chain and 20-30 carbon atoms; component A), 0.1% w/w isostearyl alcohol (i.e., 16-methyl-1-heptadecanol, a primary alcohol having a branched chain and 12-19 carbon atoms; component B), 1% w/w titanium dioxide (i.e., inorganic powder, component F), and 1% w/w iron oxide (i.e., inorganic powder, component F) (paragraph [0088]) wherein titanium oxide may be fine particle at 2% w/w (paragraph [0064]).
Further regarding claim 3, 1% titanium dioxide plus 1% iron oxide equals 2% w/w inorganic powder component F, and the ratio of component A/B = 5.1%/0.1% = 51.
Mori does not disclose that the titanium dioxide and iron oxide inorganic powder have an average particle size of 10 nm to 100 µm as in claim 3.
Schwan-Stabilo discloses cosmetic preparations (title) such as lip gloss (page 2 Description second paragraph) wherein titanium dioxide and iron oxide are pigments wherein commercial sizes thereof are about 0.1-200 µm (page 5 first paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mori and Schwan-Stabilo by using sizes of titanium dioxide and iron oxide of about 0.1-200 µm as suggested by Schwann-Stabilo as the titanium dioxide and iron oxide in the composition of Mori Example 28 as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to use titanium dioxide and iron oxide that is commercially available and is suitable for lip gloss cosmetic use as suggested by Schwann-Stabilo. Such particle size range of about 0.1-200 µm overlaps the claimed range of 10 nm to 100 µm, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where prior art and claimed ranges overlap per MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MICHAEL B. PALLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617