DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated November 25, 2024, has been received and fully considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Upstream element in Claim 1
Blocker element in Claim 3
Resilient element in Claim 4
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The Specification further details the structure of the respective elements as follows:
(Page 7, lines 15-17, It is desirable to provide inhaler articles for use in inhaler systems designed to deliver drypowder to a user, wherein the inhaler articles have an upstream element structured to reduce or minimize leakage of dry powder or loss of a capsule containing dry powder before and after use); (Page 27, lines 19-20, The upstream element provides a barrier between the active ingredient and the upstream end face of the inhaler article)
(Page 11, lines 17-19, In an aspect the blocker is a filter element. The blocker element functions to ensure that the capsule does not exit the tubular body from the downstream end, before, during and after use)
(Page 11, lines 9-10, The resilient element is made from elastic material suitable for opening and closing as described); (Page 11, lines 24-25, According to an aspect, the resilient element is a disk. In an aspect, the resilient element 25 is round)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation: “wherein the upstream end surface comprises colored indicia being a different color than the upstream end surface the colored indicia is disposed on”.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as the claim does not positively recite the upstream end surface having any color. This limitation renders the metes and bounds of the claim unclear. For examination purposes, the Examiner has interpreted “colored indicia” to be understood as any identifying feature that is able to distinguish the upstream end surface from other portions of the inhaler article.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campitelli (WO 2021079343 A1, hereinafter "Camp") in view of Wang (US 20220079249 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, Camp discloses: An inhaler article for insertion into a holder to form an inhaler system (Page 1, lines 3-5, This disclosure relates to an inhaler article, and an inhaler system that includes a holder and an inhaler article. The inhaler article includes an open distal end to receive inhalation airflow into the inhalation article during consumption) for providing a compound to lungs of a user (Page 1, lines 21-23, It would be desirable to provide a nicotine powder inhaler system that provides nicotine particles to the lungs at inhalation or air flow rates that are within conventional smoking regime inhalation or air flow rates), the inhaler article comprising
a tubular body (Figure 1, body 151) extending along a longitudinal axis from a downstream mouthpiece end (Figure 1, mouthpiece end 154) to an upstream end (Figure 1, distal end 156), (Page 6, lines 24-25, An inhaler article includes a body extending along a longitudinal axis of the inhaler article from a mouthpiece end to a distal end);
the upstream end comprising an upstream element (Page 27, lines 5-7, The tubular element 153 extends from a first end 148 defining an upstream boundary of the capsule cavity 155 to a second opposing end 149 defining the distal end 156 of the inhaler article body 151);
the upstream element comprising an upstream end surface (Page 27, lines 23-24, The membrane 158 may be fixed to the tubular element 153 second opposing end 149 defining the distal end 156 of the inhaler article body 151);
Camp further discloses a marking element for applying colored indicia or some other form of visual indicator to the outer surface of the inhaler article (Page 23, lines 22-24, The marking element may apply a color to the inhaler outer surface when received within the inhaler article cavity), (Page 6, lines 15-18, A single holder may be utilized […] [to] provide reliable activation and optionally, a visual indication (marking), for each inhaler article of the activation of the inhaler article).
Through insertion of the holder into the membrane, a colored indicia is applied to the membrane, and thus Camp teaches wherein the upstream end surface comprises colored indicia being a different color than the upstream end surface the colored indicia is disposed on (Page 29, lines 28-30, Upon insertion of the inhaler article 150 into the holder 110, the sleeve tubular element 130 open end 134 deforms and urges through the membrane 158 so that the sleeve tubular element 130 extends into the received inhaler article 150 tubular element 153).
However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Wang more explicitly disclose the limitation: wherein the upstream end surface comprises colored indicia being a different color than the upstream end surface the colored indicia is disposed on (Paragraph 0125, It will be appreciated that the silicone valve 3300 may come in various flavors, such as mango, blue raspberry, minty watermelon, mint, watermelon, apple, banana, caramel, spearmint, peppermint, or any other flavoring known to one of skill in the art, and in various colors, such as clear, white, black, red, blue, green, pink, etc., that can be selected by a user), (Paragraph 0128, The bottom portion 3610 also serves to secure the valve assembly within the housing. It will be appreciated that the bottom portions 3610 can be configured in various colors, such as clear, white, black, red, blue, green, pink, etc., that can be selected by a user).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Wang’s colored portions with the inhaler article taught by Camp, so as to provide customizable design to accommodate different user preferences. The colored indicia also aid in distinguishing between different inhaler articles with different capsule compounds.
Regarding Claim 3, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Camp further discloses: wherein the tubular body comprises, in linear sequential arrangement, from the upstream end to the downstream mouthpiece end (Pages 26-27, lines 23-2, FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional schematic diagram of an illustrative inhaler article 150. The inhaler article 150 includes a body 151 extending along a longitudinal axis of the inhaler article from a mouthpiece end 154 to a distal end 156, a capsule cavity 155 and a capsule 160 retained within the capsule cavity 155. The capsule cavity 155 is defined within the body 151 and bounded downstream by a filter element 157 and bounded upstream by a tubular element 153 defining a central passage 152 in fluid communication with the capsule cavity 155):
the upstream element (Page 27, lines 5-7, The tubular element 153 extends from a first end 148 defining an upstream boundary of the capsule cavity 155 to a second opposing end 149 defining the distal end 156 of the inhaler article body 151);
a capsule cavity containing a capsule (Page 10, lines 11-12, The capsule cavity may define a cylindrical space configured to contain a capsule (the capsule may have an obround shape or a circular cross-section, for example));
the capsule containing dry powder active ingredient (Page 12, lines 20-21, The capsule may hold or contain at least about 5 mg of a dry powder (also referred to as a powder system) or at least about 10 mg of a dry powder), (Page 11, lines 19-20, The capsule may contain pharmaceutically active particles. For instance, the pharmaceutically active particles may comprise nicotine);
and a blocker element (Figure 1, filter element 157)
Regarding Claim 4, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 3. Camp further discloses: wherein the upstream element comprises a resilient element (Page 9, lines 23-29, The membrane may be arranged to interface with a holder such that the membrane is deformed from the closed configuration to the open configuration upon insertion into the holder. The term “deform” should be understood to mean that the shape of the membrane is changeable. The deformation of the membrane may include elastic deformation, where the membrane reverts back to the closed configuration in the absence of a force being applied to it).
Regarding Claim 5, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4. Camp further discloses: wherein the resilient element is affixed to the upstream end of the tubular body (Page 27, lines 23-24, The membrane 158 may be fixed to the tubular element 153 second opposing end 149 defining the distal end 156 of the inhaler article body 151).
Regarding Claim 6, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4. Camp further discloses: wherein the resilient element comprises cuts which form flaps (Page 27, lines 19-21, FIG. 2 is a front schematic diagram of an illustrative membrane 158. The illustrated membrane 158 has three intersecting lines of weakness 159 or slits that intersect at the center of the membrane 158).
Regarding Claim 7, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4. Camp further discloses: wherein the resilient element comprises a central aperture (Page 27, lines 2-4, The central passage 152 forms an air inlet aperture extending from the distal end 156 of the body 151 to the capsule cavity 155).
Regarding Claim 8, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4. Camp further discloses: wherein the resilient element comprises silicon, latex, rubber, or a combination thereof (Page 21, lines 19-23, Resealable elements or membranes may include a septum or septum-like element. Resealable elements or membranes may be formed of elastic material such as rubber, silicone, metal foil co-laminated with a polymer, or latex and the like, or cellulose acetate tow, such as high-density cellulose acetate tow).
Regarding Claim 9, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4. Camp further discloses: wherein the blocker element comprises a filter (Page 7, lines 23-24, The filter element located downstream of the capsule cavity may extend from the capsule cavity to the mouthpiece end of the inhaler article).
Regarding Claim 11, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 4. Camp further discloses: wherein the resilient element opens to an open position in response to an opening force, and upon removal of the opening force, closes to a closed position (Page 9, lines 19-22, The membrane may be deformable between a closed configuration and an open configuration. In the closed configuration, the membrane defines a closed boundary bounding the capsule cavity. In the open configuration, the deformable element defines an opening through which air can flow into the capsule cavity);
wherein when the resilient element is in the closed position, the resilient element is sufficiently closed to retain the capsule in the capsule cavity between the downstream mouthpiece end and the resilient element (Page 9, lines 23-29, The membrane may be arranged to interface with a holder such that the membrane is deformed from the closed configuration to the open configuration upon insertion into the holder. The term “deform” should be understood to mean that the shape of the membrane is changeable. The deformation of the membrane may include elastic deformation, where the membrane reverts back to the closed configuration in the absence of a force being applied to it).
Regarding Claim 12, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Camp further discloses: An inhaler system (Page 3, lines 17-20, According to another aspect of the invention, an inhaler system includes the inhaler article described herein, and a holder for the inhaler article, the holder is configured to provide swirling or rotational inhalation airflow to the inhaler article. The holder includes a housing defining a housing cavity) comprising:
a holder (Figure 4, holder 110),
wherein the holder comprises a piercing element (Figure 4, piercing element 101) inserted into the holder (Page 4, lines 6-9, The holder may further include a piercing element fixed to and extending from a holder housing inner surface. The piercing element may be configured to extend through the second opposing end of the sleeve and into the sleeve cavity along a longitudinal axis of the housing and activate the capsule);
and an inhaler article according to claim 1 (Figure 4, inhaler article 150)
Regarding Claim 13, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 12. Camp further discloses: wherein the holder provides an opening force to open the upstream element (Page 27, lines 25-26, The holder, described below, may be configured to breach or open the membrane 158 upon being received into the holder), (Page 29, lines 28-30, Upon insertion of the inhaler article 150 into the holder 110, the sleeve tubular element 130 open end 134 deforms and urges through the membrane 158 so that the sleeve tubular element 130 extends into the received inhaler article 150 tubular element 153).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camp (WO 2021079343 A1) in view of Wang (US 20220079249 A1), further in view of Beeson (US 20170064995 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Camp further discloses a visual indicator (Page 6, lines 15-18, A single holder may be utilized […] [to] provide reliable activation and optionally, a visual indication (marking), for each inhaler article of the activation of the inhaler article), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the colored indicia comprises at least one symbol.
Beeson does disclose wherein the colored indicia comprises at least one symbol (Paragraph 0051, The wrapping element 16 can have indicia printed thereon. For example, a band 22 can indicate to a user the general location or position of the capsule 30 within the article 10. These indicia may help the user to locate the capsule so that it can be more easily ruptured by squeezing directly outside the position of the capsule. The indicia on the wrapping element may also indicate the nature of the payload carried by the capsule. For example, the indicia may indicate that the particular payload is a spearmint flavoring by having a particular color, shape, or design. By using indicia that is additive specific, a user may be able to know the location of the desired flavor to selectively allow for the consumption of specific flavorings at specific times when the product contains a plurality of different flavorings).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Beeson with Camp in view of Wang to provide an additional, art-recognized means of identifying and distinguishing between different inhaler articles.
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camp (WO 2021079343 A1) in view of Wang (US 20220079249 A1), further in view of Malgat et al. (US 20190075845 A1, hereinafter "Malgat")
Regarding Claim 10, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 3. Camp further discloses: wherein the tubular body comprises, in linear sequential arrangement, from the upstream end to the downstream mouthpiece end:
the upstream element (Page 27, lines 5-7, The tubular element 153 extends from a first end 148 defining an upstream boundary of the capsule cavity 155 to a second opposing end 149 defining the distal end 156 of the inhaler article body 151),
a blocker element (Figure 1, filter element 157),
and an outer wrapper circumscribing the upstream element and the blocker element (Page 27, lines 15-16, A paper wrapper 151 joins the tubular element 153, capsule cavity 155, and filter element 157 in serial abutting axial alignment).
Camp in view of Wang is silent regarding an aerosol-generating substrate and an aerosol-cooling element.
Malgat does disclose wherein the tubular body comprises, in linear sequential arrangement, from the upstream end to the downstream mouthpiece end (Paragraph 0089, FIG. 1 illustrates an aerosol-generating article 10. The aerosol-generating article 10 comprises five elements arranged in coaxial alignment: a plug element 90, an aerosol-forming substrate 20, a support element 30, an aerosol-cooling element 40, and a mouthpiece 50):
the upstream element (Paragraph 0093, The plug element 90 is located at the extreme distal or upstream end 80 of the aerosol-generating article 10),
a rod of aerosol-generating substrate located downstream of the upstream element (Paragraph 0094, The aerosol-forming substrate 20 is located immediately downstream of the plug element 90 in the aerosol-generating article 10. In FIG. 1, the aerosol-forming substrate 20 comprises a gathered sheet of crimped homogenised tobacco material circumscribed by a wrapper),
an aerosol-cooling element located downstream of the rod of aerosol-generating substrate (Paragraph 0096, The aerosol-cooling element 40 is located immediately downstream of the support element 30 and abuts the support element 30. In use, volatile substances released from the aerosol-forming substrate 20 pass along the aerosol-cooling element 40 towards the mouth end 70 of the aerosol-generating article 10. The volatile substances may cool within the aerosol-cooling element 40 to form an aerosol that is inhaled by the user.),
a blocker element located downstream of the aerosol-cooling element ([0097] The mouthpiece 50 is located immediately downstream of the aerosol-cooling element 40 and abuts the aerosol-cooling element 40. In FIG. 1, the mouthpiece 50 comprises a conventional cellulose acetate tow filter of low filtration efficiency),
and an outer wrapper circumscribing the upstream element, the aerosol-cooling element and the blocker element (Paragraph 0089, These five elements are arranged sequentially and are circumscribed by an outer wrapper 60 to form a cylindrical rod).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Malgat’s aerosol generating elements with the inhaler article taught by Camp in view of Wang, so as to provide an art-recognized means of administering vaporized, atomized, and/or aerosolized compounds for inhalation.
Regarding Claim 14, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 12. Camp in view of Wang does not disclose a heater.
Malgat does disclose: wherein the holder comprises a heater (Paragraph 0078, When inserting an aerosol-generating article into an electronic heating device a consumer typically holds the article at its proximal end or pushes the article at its proximal end. Thus, the article is typically pushed at the hollow tube since the hollow tube is preferably the most proximal segment of the article. The above mentioned wall thicknesses have shown to suffice stability requirements for hollow tubes, in particular of cardboard tubes, when the aerosol-generating article is inserted into the electronic heating device), (Paragraph 0029, Optionally, the solid aerosol-forming substrate may contain additional tobacco or non-tobacco volatile flavour compounds, to be released upon heating of the solid aerosol-forming substrate. The solid aerosol-forming substrate may also contain capsules that, for example, include the additional tobacco or non-tobacco volatile flavour compounds and such capsules may melt during heating of the solid aerosol-forming substrate).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Malgat’s aerosol generating elements with the inhaler article taught by Camp in view of Wang, so as to provide an art-recognized means of administering vaporized, atomized, and/or aerosolized compounds for inhalation.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camp (WO 2021079343 A1) in view of Wang (US 20220079249 A1), further in view of Moll Neto et al. (US 20180093067 A1, hereinafter "Moll").
Regarding Claim 15, Camp in view of Wang discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Camp in view of Wang is silent regarding a pack containing a plurality of inhaler articles.
Moll does disclose: A pack containing a plurality of inhaler articles according to claim 1 (Paragraph 0045, FIG. 11 illustrates a plurality of delivery devices packaged in a box so as to mimic a pack of cigarettes), and wherein at least one upstream end surface comprising colored indicia of at least one inhaler article contained in the pack is visible when the pack is open (Paragraph 0161, a plurality of delivery devices 12 may be packaged in a box 130, as illustrated in FIG. 11, so as to mimic a pack of cigarettes. Such a display is familiar to a smoker and can readily replace a habit of cigarette carrying. It may be appreciated that each of the delivery devices 12 in the plurality of delivery devices 12 may be the same (i.e. have the same quantity of the same type of coffee substance 110 therein), (Paragraph 0162, The device 12 includes an end cap 140 which is insertable into the first end 102. As illustrated in FIG. 13, the end cap 140 includes an inlet opening 105 leading to an airway lumen 106. In addition, the end cap 140 includes a first protrusion 142 having an edge configured for puncturing a membrane, such as a pointed or beveled edge. In some embodiment, the end cap 140 is also removable so as to allow insertion of the cartridge 112 through the first end 102 to a location within the shaft 100.).
Similar to Camp in view of Wang, Moll also teaches the use of an end cap and a puncturable membrane for accessing a capsule of the deliverable compound in an inhaler device. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Moll’s packaging arrangement with the inhaler article taught by Camp in view of Wang, so as to provide a familiar and art-recognized carrying means for a plurality of inhalers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Alvarez (US 20170006917 A1) discloses an e-vapor device that includes pierceable capsules configured to hold pre-vapor formulations therein
Alderman et al. (US 20200146340 A1) discloses a multi-segment filter element for an aerosol generating smoking article
/MISHAL HUSSAIN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785