Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 16, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravasz et al (US 10,802,600) in view of Salter et al (US 2016/0027218).
As per claim 1 Ravasz et al discloses: A method of determining a virtual
determining position information of a virtual human body of a user 800 {figure 8} in the virtual reality scene, wherein the position information comprises a wrist position 804 and a waist position 802 {figure 8 & [column 14, lines 16-20] In each example 600, 700, 800, or 900, as the user moves her tracked origin point (shoulder, eye, or hip) and/or tracked control point (wrist, palm, or fingertips), corresponding movement to projection 606, 706, 806, or 906 will occur. Note: “waist position” is seen to include hip};
determining a virtual ray 806 based on the position information, wherein a starting point of the virtual ray 806 is determined based on the wrist position 804, and a direction of the virtual ray 806 is determined based on the waist position 802 and the wrist position 804 {figure 8}; and
determining a position of an intersection of the virtual ray 806 and a virtual object in the virtual reality scene or {figure 13 & [column 17, lines 41-44] In example 1300, the user has closed her index finger to her thumb (not shown) and reopened it, making a “click” gesture, causing target object 1308 to be selected. Note: because of the alternative language only one of claimed limitation need to be disclosed by the prior art }.
Regarding claim 1 Ravasz et al is silent as to: a cursor. With respect to claim 1 Salter et al discloses: a cursor. {[0034] In some implementations a cursor (not shown), or other suitable indicator, may be displayed on the HMD device of the originating user 210 at the point of intersection between the gaze ray and the virtual world. The cursor may be utilized to provide feedback to the originating user to confirm the point of intersection. The cursor can also be arranged to be visible to the other users in some cases.}
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the method of Ravasz et al with a cursor as taught by Salter et al . The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a method with a cursor to provide the user with a “. . . suitable indicator . . . to confirm the point of intersection with an object . . . ” See [0034] of Salter et al.
As per claim 2 Ravasz et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein determining the virtual ray 806 based on the position information comprises:
obtaining positioning information and gesture recognition information of a virtual reality device, and determining the waist position 802 and the wrist position 804 based on the positioning information and the gesture recognition information; determining the virtual ray 806 with the wrist position 804 as the starting point and based on an extending direction of the waist position 802 and the wrist position 804 { Figure 8 }.
As per claim 3 Ravasz et al discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the direction of the virtual ray 806 changes with a direction change of a line segment between the waist position 802 and the wrist position 804 { [column 14, lines 12-14] FIG. 8 is a conceptual diagram illustrating an example 800 of a ray projection 806 with a hip origin point 802 and a first control point 804.}.
As per claim 4 Ravasz et al discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein a degree of freedom of the waist position 802 on the X-axis is consistent with the degree of freedom of head position of the user on the X-axis; and the degree of freedom of the waist position 802 on the Z-axis is consistent with the degree of freedom of the head position of the user on the Z-axis {figure 8 & [column 14, lines 12-14] FIG. 8 is a conceptual diagram illustrating an example 800 of a ray projection 806 with a hip origin point 802 and a first control point 804.}.
As per claim 5 Ravasz et al discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying the virtual ray 806 and the virtual {figure 13 & [column 17, lines 41-44] In example 1300, the user has closed her index finger to her thumb (not shown) and reopened it, making a “click” gesture, causing target object 1308 to be selected.}.
As per claim 6 Ravasz et al discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a virtual ray 806, and displaying the
Regarding claims 6 and 19 Ravasz et al is silent as to: a visible ray. With respect to claims 6 and 19 Salter et al discloses: [0040] For example, such controls may be configured to enable the user to control how the visible ray and/or cursor appear to other users and/or behave, as described above. The controls can be virtual or physical in some cases.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the method and device of Ravasz et al with a visible ray as taught by Salter et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a method or device with a visible ray so that the users or others are able to see with the human eye the user’s interaction with an object.
As per claim 7 Ravasz et al discloses: The method of claim 6, wherein the predetermined part of the virtual human body comprises at least one of: a fist, a thumb tip, an index finger tip, a middle finger tip, a ring finger tip, or a little finger tip {figure 13}.
As per claim 9 Ravasz et al discloses: An electronic device, comprising:
one or more processors 110 {figure 1};
a storage device 150 {figure 1}, configured to store one or more programs; and
the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors 110, causing the one or more processors 110 to implement operations comprising:
determining position information of a virtual human body of a user 800 in the virtual reality scene, wherein the position information comprises a wrist position 804 and a waist position 802 determining a virtual ray 806 based on the position information {figure 8 & [column 14, lines 16-20] In each example 600, 700, 800, or 900, as the user moves her tracked origin point (shoulder, eye, or hip) and/or tracked control point (wrist, palm, or fingertips), corresponding movement to projection 606, 706, 806, or 906 will occur. Note: “waist position” is seen to include hip},
wherein a starting point of the virtual ray 806 is determined based on the wrist position 804, and a direction of the virtual ray 806 is determined based on the waist position 802 and the wrist position 804 and determining a position of an intersection of the virtual ray 806 and a virtual object in the virtual reality scene or {figure 13 & [column 17, lines 41-44] In example 1300, the user has closed her index finger to her thumb (not shown) and reopened it, making a “click” gesture, causing target object 1308 to be selected. Note: because of the alternative language only one of claimed limitation need to be disclosed by the prior art }.
As per claim 10 Ravasz et al discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium 150 having stored thereon a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor 110 {figure 1}, implements operations comprising:
determining position information of a virtual human body of a user 600,700, 800 & 900 in the virtual reality scene, wherein the position information comprises a wrist position 804 and a waist position 802 determining a virtual ray 806 based on the position information {figure 8 & [column 14, lines 16-20] In each example 600, 700, 800, or 900, as the user moves her tracked origin point (shoulder, eye, or hip) and/or tracked control point (wrist, palm, or fingertips), corresponding movement to projection 606, 706, 806, or 906 will occur. Note: “waist position” is seen to include hip},
wherein a starting point of the virtual ray 806 is determined based on the wrist position 804, and a direction of the virtual ray 806 is determined based on the waist position 802 and the wrist position 804 and determining a position of an intersection of the virtual ray 806 and a virtual object in the virtual reality scene or {figure 13 & [column 17, lines 41-44] In example 1300, the user has closed her index finger to her thumb (not shown) and reopened it, making a “click” gesture, causing target object 1308 to be selected. Note: because of the alternative language only one of claimed limitation need to be disclosed by the prior art }.
As per Claim 12 Ravasz et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein there is a corresponding relationship between the virtual human body and a real body of the user and the position information is determined by identifying and tracking the real body of the user {[column 11, lines 24-28] Projection casting engine 434 can also control projection positions based on multiple tracked body parts, such as part of a hand as a control point and another point on a user's body, such as an eye, shoulder, or hip, as an origin point (as described in more detail below in relation to FIGS. 5-9).}
Regarding claims 13 and 22 Ravasz et al silent as to: a virtual cursor comprises at any one of: a cross cursor, a vertical cursor, an arrow cursor, or a hand cursor. With respect to claims 13 and 22 Salter et al discloses: [0035] The particular rendering form of the gaze ray and/or cursor may utilize different colors, shapes, patterns, animations, special effects, and the like according to the needs of a given implementation and may vary from what is shown and described here.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the method and device of Ravasz et al with a cursor as taught by Salter et al . The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a method and device with a cursor to provide the user with a “. . . suitable indicator . . . to confirm the point of intersection with an object . . . ” See [0034] of Salter et al.
As per claim 14 Ravasz et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein virtual {figure 13 & [column 17, lines 41-44] In example 1300, the user has closed her index finger to her thumb (not shown) and reopened it, making a “click” gesture, causing target object 1308 to be selected.}.
As per claim 15 Ravasz et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 9, wherein determining the virtual ray 806 based on the position information comprises:
obtaining positioning information and gesture recognition information of a virtual reality device, and determining the waist position 802 and the wrist position 804 based on the positioning information and the gesture recognition information; determining the virtual ray 806 with the wrist position 804 as the starting point and based on an extending direction of the waist position 802 and the wrist position 804 {figure 8}.
As per claim 16 Ravasz et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the direction of the virtual ray 806 changes with a direction change of a line segment between the waist position 802 and the wrist position 804 { [column 14, lines 12-14] FIG. 8 is a conceptual diagram illustrating an example 800 of a ray projection 806 with a hip origin point 802 and a first control point 804.}.
As per claim 17 Ravasz et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 15, wherein a degree of freedom of the waist position 802 on the X-axis is consistent with the degree of freedom of head position of the user on the X-axis; and the degree of freedom of the waist position 802 on the Z-axis is consistent with the degree of freedom of the head position of the user on the Z-axis {figure 8 & [column 14, lines 12-14] FIG. 8 is a conceptual diagram illustrating an example 800 of a ray projection 806 with a hip origin point 802 and a first control point 804.}.
As per claim 18 Ravasz et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 9, the operations further comprising: displaying the virtual ray 806 and the virtual {figure 13 & [column 17, lines 41-44] In example 1300, the user has closed her index finger to her thumb (not shown) and reopened it, making a “click” gesture, causing target object 1308 to be selected.}.
As per claim 19 Ravasz et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 9, the operations further comprising: determining a virtual ray 806, and displaying the
As per claim 20 Ravasz et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 19, wherein the predetermined part of the virtual human body comprises at least one of: a fist, a thumb tip, an index finger tip, a middle finger tip, a ring finger tip, or a little finger tip {figure 13}.
As per claim 21 Ravasz et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 9, wherein there is a corresponding relationship between the virtual human body and a real body of the user and the position information is determined by identifying and tracking the real body of the user {[column 11, lines 24-28] Projection casting engine 434 can also control projection positions based on multiple tracked body parts, such as part of a hand as a control point and another point on a user's body, such as an eye, shoulder, or hip, as an origin point (as described in more detail below in relation to FIGS. 5-9).}.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 9, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts in the third full paragraph on page 6 the following:
Ravasz merely discloses a method for selecting multiple objects in an artificial reality environment. The Office acknowledges that Ravasz fails to disclose a cursor. Thus, it cannot be said that Ravasz discloses or suggests at least "determining a position of an intersection of the virtual ray and a virtual object in the virtual reality scene or a position extended a fixed distance inward the virtual object with the intersection point as a starting point, as a position of a virtual cursor," as now recited in claim 1.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant asserts in the fourth full paragraph on page 6 the following:
Salter merely discloses at paragraph [0034] that a cursor may be displayed on the HMD device at the point of intersection between the gaze ray and the virtual world. However, it can be readily understood that Salter fails to disclose the cursor at a position extended a fixed distance inward the virtual object with the intersection point as a starting point.
As state supra, because of the use of alternative language only one of claimed limitation need to be disclosed by the prior art, and “determining a position of an intersection of the virtual ray 806 and a virtual object in the virtual reality scene” is depicted in figure 13 and disclosed in [column 17, lines 41-44] as follows: “In example 1300, the user has closed her index finger to her thumb (not shown) and reopened it, making a “click” gesture, causing target object 1308 to be selected.” Therefore, contrary to applicant’s assertion the applied prior art discloses the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD