DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 22, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-15 and 29-45 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-15, 29-39, and 42-45 are noted as amended. Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims have overcome all previous objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed April 1, 2026 and all objections therein have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 and 29-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites a process including the steps of obtaining contextual information related to one or more environmental sounds associated with one or more ambient environments; and provide environmental signal training to a medical device user. The recited steps, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are obtaining contextual information related to one or more environmental sounds; and providing environmental signal training to a user. The recited steps, as drafted, are a process that is a method of applying an abstract idea, specifically mental processes (observation (obtaining contextual information)) and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (providing training to a user). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite additional elements that are significantly more than the judicial exception or meaningfully limit the practice of the judicial exception. The additional elements are in response to the obtaining of the contextual information, recording, at a computing device, one or more environmental signals representing the one or more environmental sounds; and delivering the one or more environmental signals recorded at the computing device to provide the training. The additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activity and instructions for applying the judicial exception with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional step(s) is/are merely data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and defining the data to be manipulated/used (see MPEP 2106.05(g) as well as outputting/transmitting data (delivering). The other additional elements of a computing device are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea. Further, paragraph 33 of the specification states the computing device is a personal computer, server, laptop, multiprocessor system, and/or the like. As such, these additional elements are interpreted as merely instructions to apply the judicial exception. Accordingly, the additional elements and steps do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above, the additional step(s) of recording signals and delivering the signals is/are insignificant extra-solution activity performed during the abstract idea. The additional elements of a computing device used to perform the process are generic computing components/device used to apply the judicial exception and therefore fall under the “apply it” limitation of the judicial exception and do not amount to significantly more per MPEP 2106.05(f). Further, the limitations, taken in combination, add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. As such, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements do not meaningfully limit the practice of the abstract idea and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Therefore, claim 1 is not directed to eligible subject matter as it is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 2-15 are dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of the independent claim. Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claim 2 recite insignificant extra-solution activity by merely further defining the data by defining an ambient environment as an ambient sound environment (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Therefore, the limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claim is also applicable on this claim.
The limitations of claims 3-15 recite further abstract ideas including further “providing training” steps (CMOHA), delivering signals to the user (CMOHA), identifying the sound (Mental process), indicating whether a difference was perceived (mental process), identifying a sequence (mental process), and providing suggestions of signals to record (mental process; CMOHA). As the limitations are further abstract ideas, the limitations cannot meaningfully limit or amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas of the independent claims. The additional elements of the dependent claims are further insignificant extra-solution activities including providing a visual display, providing input for the user to enter data, and a display screen (generic computing component). The limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claim is also applicable on these claims.
Accordingly, claims 2-15 are directed to abstract ideas without significantly more and are not drawn to eligible subject matter.
Claim 29 recites a process including the steps of provide environmental sound training to a hearing device user. The recited steps, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are providing environmental sound training to a user. The recited steps, as drafted, are a process that is a method of applying an abstract idea, specifically certain methods of organizing human activity (providing training to a user). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claim 29 recites an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite additional elements that are significantly more than the judicial exception or meaningfully limit the practice of the judicial exception. The additional elements are one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the process to; deliver one or more user interfaces enabling a user to record one or more environmental sounds; store the one or more environmental sounds in an environmental sound library; and deliver at least one environmental signal representing at least one of the one or more environmental sounds stored in the environmental sound library to provide the training. The additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activity and instructions for applying the judicial exception with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional step(s) is/are displaying a user interface, mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), storing the data (see MPEP 2106.05(d)), defining the data to be manipulated/used (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and outputting data/data transmission (deliver) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). The other additional elements of a NTCRSM and processor are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea. Further, paragraph 33 of the specification states the computing device is a personal computer, server, laptop, multiprocessor system, and/or the like. As such, these additional elements are interpreted as merely instructions to apply the judicial exception. Accordingly, the additional elements and steps do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above, the additional step(s) of delivering a user interface, recording sounds, storing the sounds, and delivering the sounds is/are insignificant extra-solution activity performed during the abstract idea. The additional elements of a NTCRSM and processor used to perform the process are generic computing components/device used to apply the judicial exception and therefore fall under the “apply it” limitation of the judicial exception and do not amount to significantly more per MPEP 2106.05(f). Further, the limitations, taken in combination, add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. As such, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements do not meaningfully limit the practice of the abstract idea and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Therefore, claim 29 is not directed to eligible subject matter as it is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 30-38 are dependent from claim 29 and include all the limitations of the independent claim. Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 30-38 recite further abstract ideas including further “providing training” steps (CMOHA), delivering sounds to the user (CMOHA), identifying the sound (Mental process), indicating whether a difference was perceived (mental process), identifying a sequence (mental process), and providing suggestions of signals to record (mental process; CMOHA). As the limitations are further abstract ideas, the limitations cannot meaningfully limit or amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas of the independent claims. The additional elements of the dependent claims are further insignificant extra-solution activities including providing a visual display, providing input for the user to enter data, and a display screen (generic computing component). The limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claim is also applicable on these claims
Accordingly, claims 30-38 are directed to abstract ideas without significantly more and are not drawn to eligible subject matter.
Claim 39 recites a process including the steps of provide environmental sound discrimination training to the hearing device user; and provide environmental sound identification training to the hearing device user. The recited steps, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are providing environmental sound discrimination training and providing environmental sound identification training to a user. The recited steps, as drafted, are a process that is a method of applying an abstract idea, specifically certain methods of organizing human activity (providing training to a user). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claim 39 recites an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite additional elements that are significantly more than the judicial exception or meaningfully limit the practice of the judicial exception. The additional elements are one or more microphones configured to record a plurality of environmental sounds associated with at least one ambient sound environment experienced by a hearing device user; one or more speakers; and at least one processor configured to: store the plurality of environmental sounds in an environmental sound library; deliver a first one or more environmental signals representing a first one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds, wherein the first one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds comprise non-speech and non-musical ambient sounds; and deliver a second one or more environmental signals representing a second one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds, wherein the second one or more environmental sounds comprise non-speech and non-musical ambient sounds. The additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activity and instructions for applying the judicial exception with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional step(s) is/are mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), storing the data (see MPEP 2106.05(d)), and defining the data to be manipulated/used (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and outputting/transmitting (deliver) the data (see MPEP 2106.05(d)). The other additional elements of one or more microphones, one or more speakers, and at least one processor are generic computer components for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea. Further, paragraph 33 of the specification states the computing device is a personal computer, server, laptop, multiprocessor system, and/or the like. As such, these additional elements are interpreted as merely instructions to apply the judicial exception. Accordingly, the additional elements and steps do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above, the additional step(s) of recording sounds, storing the sounds, and delivering the signals is/are insignificant extra-solution activity performed during the abstract idea. The additional elements of one or more microphones, one or more speakers, and at least one processor used to perform the process are generic computing components/device used to apply the judicial exception and therefore fall under the “apply it” limitation of the judicial exception and do not amount to significantly more per MPEP 2106.05(f). Further, the limitations, taken in combination, add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. As such, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements do not meaningfully limit the practice of the abstract idea and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Therefore, claim 39 is not directed to eligible subject matter as it is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 40-45 are dependent from claim 39 and include all the limitations of the independent claim. Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 40-41 recite clarification of the types of data used/comprising the environmental sounds. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are merely defining/selecting a type of data to be manipulated which, per MPEP 2106.05(g), is insignificant extra-solution activity. The limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claim is also applicable on these claims
The limitations of claims 42-45 recite further abstract ideas including further generating and providing suggestions of signals to record (mental process; CMOHA), “providing training” steps (CMOHA), delivering signals/sounds/sequence to the user (CMOHA), and identifying a sequence (mental process). As the limitations are further abstract ideas, the limitations cannot meaningfully limit or amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas of the independent claims. The additional elements of the dependent claims are further insignificant extra-solution activities including providing a visual display, providing input for the user to enter data, and a display screen (generic computing component). The limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claim is also applicable on these claims.
Accordingly, claims 40-45 are directed to abstract ideas without significantly more and are not drawn to eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper (US PGPub 20080124685) in view of Suwa (US PGPub 20190254572) and further in view of von Brasch et al. (US PGPub 20220264234), hereinafter referred to as Brasch.
With regard to claim 1, Chalupper teaches a method (Paragraphs 0014; “a method for training auditory skills of a hearing aid wearer”), comprising: provide environmental signal training to a medical device user (Abstract; Paragraphs 0014, 0026-0027 teach a method for providing hearing training to a hearing aid user using sounds (environmental signals)).
Chalupper may not explicitly teach recording, at a computing device, one or more environmental signals representing the one or more environmental sounds; and delivering the one or more environmental signals recorded at the computing device to provide the training. However, Suwa teaches a method for hearing training including acquiring target audio which can be recorded and/or microphone audio including ambient sounds which are used to perform hearing training exercises (Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper to incorporate the teachings of Suwa by incorporating the step of acquiring audio including ambient environment sounds of Suwa for the audio sounds used in the training of Chalupper, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper to record audio from the ambient environment and use the recorded sounds to generate the audio for the training exercises. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper would include recording, at a computing device, one or more environmental signals representing the one or more environmental sounds; and using the one or more environmental signals recorded at the computing device to provide the training. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa with Chalupper’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide relevant sounds/training to the user.
Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach obtaining contextual information related to one or more environmental sounds associated with one or more ambient environments; and in response to the obtaining of the contextual information, recording the signals. However, Brasch teaches an audio training device and method wherein a device can record and identify sounds present in an auditory environment in real time including contextual data related to the analyzed audio such as geographic or location information, image data, and description of the sound wherein the data can be stored in an identified sound database (Paragraphs 0047, 0051, 0055, 0082, 0084).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Brasch by incorporating the step of receiving contextual data aas part of the data sent by a system while recording sound signals of Brasch for recording the audio sounds of Chalupper in view of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa to receive and store contextual data related to a recorded sound signal and using the contextual data to identify the sound wherein receiving the contextual data allows for recording an identified sound from the recipient’s auditory environment. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include obtaining contextual information related to one or more environmental sounds associated with one or more ambient environments; and in response to the obtaining of the contextual information, recording the signals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Brasch with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to improve sound identification and provide user’s further feedback for identifying and learning presented audio and sounds.
With regard to claim 2, Chalupper may not explicitly teach wherein the one or more ambient environments comprises: one or more ambient sound environments (Paragraph 0004 teaches the hearing aid microphones are for recording ambient sound around the user).
With regard to claim 3, Chalupper, as modified, teaches wherein delivering the one or more environmental signals to provide the environmental signal training to the medical device user comprises: using the one or more environmental sounds to provide environmental sound training (see prior art rejection of claim 1 above) to a hearing device user (Abstract; Paragraphs 0003, 0014, 0026 teach the method and system are for a user with a hearing aid).
With regard to claim 4, Chalupper, as modified, teaches wherein using the one or more environmental sounds to provide the environmental sound training to the hearing device user comprises: using the one or more environmental sounds to provide the environmental sound training (see prior art rejection of claims 1 and 2 above) to a cochlear implant user (Paragraph 0003 teaches the hearing aid can be an implantable hearing aid).
With regard to claim 6, Chalupper, as modified, teaches wherein using the one or more environmental sounds to provide the environmental sound training to the hearing device user (see prior art rejection of claim 3 above) comprises: using the one or more environmental sounds (see prior art rejection of claim 3 above) to provide environmental sound discrimination training to the hearing device user (Paragraphs 0032-0038 teach the method includes training to improve the ability to differentiate sounds).
With regard to claim 7, Chalupper, as modified, teaches wherein using the one or more environmental sounds to provide the environmental sound discrimination training to the hearing device user (see prior art rejection of claim 6 above) comprises: delivering at least one stimulation signal representing a first one of the one or more environmental sounds to the hearing device user (Paragraphs 0019, 0032-0035 teach the system presents two sounds to the user which would include a first sound); delivering at least one stimulation signal representing a second one of the one or more environmental sounds to the hearing device user (Paragraphs 0019, 0032-0035 teach the system presents two sounds to the user which would include a second sound that can be different from the first); and providing at least one input for use by the hearing device user to indicate whether the hearing device user perceived a difference between the at least one stimulation signal representing the first one of the one or more environmental sounds and the at least one stimulation signal representing the second one of the one or more environmental sounds (Paragraphs 0027, 0035 teach the user can provide a response/input via the remote control whether the sounds are identical or different).
Chalupper may not explicitly teach providing, via a display screen, the input. However, Suwa teaches system includes a display and touch sensor to receive user inputs including responses/results to the training (Paragraphs 0039-0040, 0050).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper to incorporate the teachings of Suwa by including the substituting the apparatus including a display and touch screen of Suwa for the controller of Chalupper, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper by substituting the controller with the apparatus of Suwa including a display and touchscreen for receiving user inputs in order to improve Chalupper in the same way by allowing users to select and manage trainings and input responses to the training. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper would include providing, via a display screen, the input. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa with Chalupper’s system and method as displays and touch screens are known input means and in order to improve user interaction and ease of use by presenting and collecting user inputs visually.
With regard to claim 8, Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach using the one or more environmental sounds to provide sound identification training to the hearing device user, wherein the one or more ambient environments are experienced by the hearing device user. However, Brasch further teaches using the captured/recorded sounds to train a user of an auditory prosthesis wherein the recorded sounds are from a recipient’s surround/ambient auditory environment (Abstract; Paragraphs 0045, 0051, 0057, 0065).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Brasch by incorporating the sound identification training of Brasch as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa by coding the display to present the sound identification information in order to rehabilitate and train a user as taught by Brasch as an exercise of Chalupper including sounds recorded in the user’s ambient environment. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch would include using the one or more environmental signals to provide sound identification training to the hearing device user, wherein the one or more ambient environments are experienced by the hearing device user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Brasch with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Donaher et al. (US PGPub 20040197750), hereinafter referred to as Donaher.
With regard to claim 5, Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch may not explicitly teach wherein using the one or more environmental sounds to provide the environmental sound training to the hearing device user comprises: using the one or more environmental sounds to provide environmental sound familiarization training to the hearing device user. However, Donaher teaches a system and method for role-playing life skill simulation by a user having a disability including hearing loss including training an individual to differentiate among sounds and improve their ability to recognize familiar sounds (Paragraphs 0109, 0146, 0150-0151, 0230).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch to incorporate the teachings of Donaher by using the recorded ambient audio to train the user to recognize sounds and become familiar of environmental sounds as taught by Donaher using the audio sounds of Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch to provide training to the user to differentiate environmental sounds in order to improve recognition of familiar sounds. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch would include wherein using the one or more environmental sounds to provide the environmental sound training to the hearing device user comprises: using the one or more environmental sounds to provide environmental sound familiarization training to the hearing device user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Donaher with Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide relevant sounds/training to the user.
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper and Suwa and Brasch as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Weber (“Sounds Around Us” NPL, see attached for citations).
With regard to claim 9, Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch may not explicitly teach delivering at least one stimulation signal representing a first one of the one or more environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and providing, via a display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify the first one of the one or more environmental sounds. However, as discussed above, Weber teaches a game/method for training users in sound identification by providing sounds and having a user select an input corresponding to the environmental sound (Figures 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in the environment and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch would include delivering at least one stimulation signal representing a first one of the one or more environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and providing, via a display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify the first one of the one or more environmental sounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 10, Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch may not explicitly teach providing, to the hearing device user via a display screen, a visual display representing an ambient sound environment; and providing the hearing device user with the environmental sound training using one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display. However, as discussed above, Weber teaches a game/method for training users in sound identification by providing sounds and having a user select an input corresponding to the environmental sound wherein the system displays a variety of environments such as a kitchen and bathroom wherein the sounds correspond to the elements in the displayed environment (Figures 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa and Brasch, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in a plurality of environments and displaying the sound environment and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch would include providing, to the hearing device user via a display screen, a visual display representing an ambient sound environment; and providing the hearing device user with environmental sound training using one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 11, Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch may not explicitly teach delivering, to the hearing device user along with the visual display, one or more stimulation signals representing at least one environmental sound associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display. However, as discussed above, Weber teaches a game/method for training users in sound identification by providing sounds and having a user select an input corresponding to the environmental sound wherein the system displays a variety of environments such as a kitchen and bathroom wherein the sounds correspond to the elements in the displayed environment (Figures 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in a plurality of environments which can be processed via the hearing aid of Suwa and displaying the sound environment and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch would include delivering, to the hearing device user along with the visual display, one or more stimulation signals representing at least one environmental sound associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 12, Chalupper, as modified, teaches delivering at least one stimulation signal representing a first one of the one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display (see prior art rejection of claim 10 above) to the hearing device user (Paragraphs 0019, 0032-0035 teach the system presents two sounds to the user which would include a first sound such as an environmental/ambient sound per Suwa and Weber discussed above); delivering at least one stimulation signal representing a second one of the one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display (see prior art rejection of claim 10 above) to the hearing device user (Paragraphs 0019, 0032-0035 teach the system presents two sounds to the user which would include a second sound such as an environmental/ambient sound per Suwa and Weber discussed above); and providing at least one input for use by the hearing device user to indicate whether the hearing device user perceived a difference between the at least one stimulation signal representing the first one of the one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display (see prior art rejection of claim 10 above) and the at least one stimulation signal representing the second one of the one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display (see prior art rejection of claim 10 above) (Paragraphs 0027, 0035 teach the user can provide a response/input via the remote control whether the sounds are identical or different).
Chalupper may not explicitly teach providing, via a display screen, the input. However, Suwa teaches system includes a display and touch sensor to receive user inputs including responses/results to the training (Paragraphs 0039-0040, 0050).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper to incorporate the teachings of Suwa by including the substituting the apparatus including a display and touch screen of Suwa for the controller of Chalupper, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper by substituting the controller with the apparatus of Suwa including a display and touchscreen for receiving user inputs in order to improve Chalupper in the same way by allowing users to select and manage trainings and input responses to the training. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper would include providing, via a display screen, the input. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa with Chalupper’s system and method as displays and touch screens are known input means and in order to improve user interaction and ease of use by presenting and collecting user inputs visually.
With regard to claim 13, Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch may not explicitly teach delivering at least one stimulation signal representing a first one of the one or more environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and providing, via a display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify the first one of the one or more environmental sounds. However, as discussed above, Weber teaches a game/method for training users in sound identification by providing sounds and having a user select an input corresponding to the environmental sound (Figures 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in the environment and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch would include delivering at least one stimulation signal representing a first one of the one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display to the hearing device user; and providing, via a display screen, at least one input for use by the user to identify the first one of the one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 14, Chalupper, as modified, may not explicitly teach delivering a sequence of stimulation signals representing a plurality of environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and providing, via the display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify a sequence of the plurality of environmental sounds. However, Suwa further teaches the system can include an exercise for presenting a sequence of words/sounds and receiving user inputs related to the sequence such as identifying the wrong sounds based on the identified sound group (Paragraphs 0053, 0059-0061, 0073)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper to incorporate the teachings of Suwa by incorporating the exercise of presenting a sequence of sounds of Suwa for the exercises of Chalupper, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper by coding the system to include an exercise for presenting a sequence of sounds and having a user input, via the interface, a response related to the sequence such as identifying the group of sounds and wrong/different sounds or when a wrong sound is output. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper would include delivering a sequence of stimulation signals representing a plurality of environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and providing, via the display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify a sequence of the plurality of environmental sounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa with Chalupper’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide comprehensive training to the user.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reed et al. (US PGPub 20180012511), hereinafter referred to as Reed.
With regard to claim 15, Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach wherein the contextual information comprises an identification of the one or more environmental sounds. However, as discussed above, Brasch teaches an audio training device and method wherein a device can record and identify sounds present in an auditory environment in real time including contextual data related to the analyzed audio such as geographic or location information, image data, and description of the sound wherein the data can be stored in an identified sound database (Paragraphs 0047, 0051, 0055, 0082, 0084).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Brasch by incorporating the step of receiving contextual data as part of the data sent by a system while recording sound signals of Brasch for recording the audio sounds of Chalupper in view of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa to receive and store contextual data related to a recorded sound signal including the sound descriptor and using the contextual data to identify the sound wherein receiving the contextual data allows for recording an identified sound from the recipient’s auditory environment. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include wherein the contextual information comprises an identification of the one or more environmental sounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Brasch with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to improve sound identification and provide user’s further feedback for identifying and learning presented audio and sounds.
Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch may not explicitly teach further comprising: providing the medical device user with suggestions of environmental sounds to record. However, Suwa further teaches determining a user’s performance and modifying the training based on performance including modifying the noises and target audio (Paragraphs 0018, 0043, 0045, 0052) and Reed teaches techniques for increasing user experience of hearing prostheses including providing individualized training based on a determination of user problems based on user performance wherein input signals can be used as the output signals for the individualized training and wherein the system can determine noise types and levels the user finds difficult and use that determination for the personalization of training (Paragraphs 0025, 0034, 0052, 0057).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch to incorporate the teachings of Suwa and Reed by incorporating the technique of individualizing the training of Reed by including target training audio of Suwa for the exercises of Chalupper, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch by coding the system to individualize the training by identifying noise types that the user has issues with and having the user record audio to include in the target audio that matches those noise types in order to increase the training intensity to improve user performance. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch would include further comprising: providing the medical device user with suggestions of environmental signals to record. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa and Reed with Chalupper in view of Suwa and Brasch’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide comprehensive training to the user by determining user areas of concern and targeting training to those areas to provide individualized training.
Claim(s) 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper in view of Suwa.
With regard to claim 29, Chalupper teaches one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor (Paragraphs 0004, 0014, 0026 teach a method for training auditory skills of a hearing aid wearer wherein the exercises are stored on a hearing aid including a processing unit), to: provide environmental sound training to a hearing device user (Abstract; Paragraphs 0014, 0026-0027 teach a method for providing hearing training to a hearing aid user using sounds (environmental signals)).
Chalupper may not explicitly teach deliver one or more user interfaces enabling a user to record one or more environmental sounds; store the one or more environmental sounds in an environmental sound library; and deliver at least one environmental signal representing at least one of the one or more environmental sounds stored in the environmental sound library to provide the training. However, Suwa teaches a method for hearing training including acquiring target audio which can be recorded and/or microphone audio including ambient sounds which are used to perform hearing training exercises wherein the audio is stored in a storage means (sound library) and providing a user interface to record or acquire target audio (Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper to incorporate the teachings of Suwa by substituting the apparatus including a display and touch screen of Suwa for the controller of Chalupper and incorporating the step of recording and storing audio including ambient environment sounds of Suwa for the audio sounds used in the training of Chalupper, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper to record audio from the ambient environment and use the recorded sounds to generate the audio for the training exercises and substituting the controller with the apparatus of Suwa including a display and touchscreen for receiving user inputs in order to improve Chalupper in the same way by allowing users to select and manage trainings and input responses to the training. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper would include deliver one or more user interfaces enabling a user to record one or more environmental sounds; store the one or more environmental sounds in an environmental sound library; and deliver at least one environmental signal representing at least one of the one or more environmental sounds stored in the environmental sound library to provide the training. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa with Chalupper’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide relevant sounds/training to the user and as displays and touch screens are known input means and in order to improve user interaction and ease of use by presenting and collecting user inputs visually.
With regard to claim 31, Chalupper, as modified, teaches provide environmental sound discrimination training to the hearing device user (Paragraphs 0032-0038 teach the method including training to improve the ability to differentiate sounds) using at least one of the one or more environmental sounds stored in the environmental sound library (see prior art rejection of claim 29 above wherein Chalupper would use a recorded audio of Suwa for the ambient sounds).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper in view of Suwa as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Donaher et al. (US PGPub 20040197750), hereinafter referred to as Donaher.
With regard to claim 30, Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach provide environmental sound familiarization training to the hearing device user using at least one of the one or more environmental sounds stored in the environmental sound library. However, Donaher teaches a system and method for role-playing life skill simulation by a user having a disability including hearing loss including training an individual to differentiate among sounds and improve their ability to recognize familiar sounds (Paragraphs 0109, 0146, 0150-0151, 0230).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Donaher by using the recorded ambient audio to train the user to recognize sounds and become familiar of environmental sounds as taught by Donaher using the audio sounds of Chalupper in view of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa to provide training to the user to differentiate environmental sounds in order to improve recognition of familiar sounds. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include provide environmental sound familiarization training to the hearing device user using at least one of the one or more environmental sounds stored in the environmental sound library. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Donaher with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide relevant sounds/training to the user.
Claim(s) 32-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper and Suwa as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Weber (“Sounds Around Us” NPL, see attached for citations).
With regard to claim 32, Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach provide sound identification training to the hearing device user using at least one of the one or more environmental sounds stored in the environmental sound library. However, Weber teaches a game/method for training users in sound identification by providing sounds and having a user select an input corresponding to the environmental sound (Figures 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in the environment using the recorded audio of Suwa and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include provide sound identification training to the hearing device user using at least one of the one or more environmental sounds stored in the environmental sound library. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 33, Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach provide, to the hearing device user via a display screen, a visual display representing an ambient sound environment; and provide the hearing device user with environmental sound training using one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display. However, as discussed above, Weber teaches a game/method for training users in sound identification by providing sounds and having a user select an input corresponding to the environmental sound wherein the system displays a variety of environments such as a kitchen and bathroom wherein the sounds correspond to the elements in the displayed environment (Figures 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in a plurality of environments and displaying the sound environment and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include provide, to the hearing device user via a display screen, a visual display representing an ambient sound environment; and provide the hearing device user with environmental sound training using one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 34, Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach while providing the visual display, provide at least one pre-recorded environmental sound associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display. However, Weber further teaches the method includes providing a “sound board” in the form of selectable elements that when selected provide pre-recorded sounds based on the displayed elements (Figure 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game including selectable sounds of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in a plurality of environments and displaying the sound environment wherein a user can select elements to provide the corresponding pre-recorded sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include provide, to the hearing device user via a display screen, a visual display representing an ambient sound environment; and provide the hearing device user with environmental sound training using one or more environmental sounds associated with the ambient sound environment represented by the visual display. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 35, Chalupper, as modified, teaches provide a first one of the one or more pre-recorded environmental sounds to the hearing device user (Paragraphs 0019, 0032-0035 teach the system presents two sounds to the user which would include a first sound such as an environmental/ambient sound per Suwa and Weber discussed above); provide a second one of the one or more pre-recorded environmental sounds to the hearing device user (Paragraphs 0019, 0032-0035 teach the system presents two sounds to the user which would include a second sound such as an environmental/ambient sound per Suwa and Weber discussed above); and providing at least one input for use by the hearing device user to indicate whether the hearing device user perceived a difference between the first one of the one or more pre-recorded environmental sounds and the second one of the one or more pre-recorded environmental sounds (Paragraphs 0027, 0035 teach the user can provide a response/input via the remote control whether the sounds are identical or different).
Chalupper may not explicitly teach while providing the visual display and providing, via a display screen, the input. However, Suwa teaches system includes a display and touch sensor to receive user inputs including responses/results to the training (Paragraphs 0039-0040, 0050).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper to incorporate the teachings of Suwa by including the substituting the apparatus including a display and touch screen of Suwa for the controller of Chalupper, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper by substituting the controller with the apparatus of Suwa including a display and touchscreen for receiving user inputs in order to improve Chalupper in the same way by allowing users to select and manage trainings and input responses to the training. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper would include while providing the visual display and providing, via a display screen, the input. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa with Chalupper’s system and method as displays and touch screens are known input means and in order to improve user interaction and ease of use by presenting and collecting user inputs visually.
With regard to claim 36, Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach while providing the visual display, provide a first one of the one or more pre-recorded environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and provide, via a display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify the first one of the one or more environmental sounds. However, as discussed above, Weber teaches a game/method for training users in sound identification by providing sounds and having a user select an input corresponding to the environmental sound (Figures 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in the environment and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include while providing the visual display, provide a first one of the one or more pre-recorded environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and provide, via a display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify the first one of the one or more environmental sounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 37, Chalupper, as modified, may not explicitly teach while providing the visual display, provide a plurality of environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and provide, via the display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify a sequence of the plurality of environmental sounds. However, Suwa further teaches the system can include an exercise for presenting a sequence of words/sounds and receiving user inputs related to the sequence such as identifying the wrong sounds based on the identified sound group (Paragraphs 0053, 0059-0061, 0073)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper to incorporate the teachings of Suwa by incorporating the exercise of presenting a sequence of sounds of Suwa for the exercises of Chalupper, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper by coding the system to include an exercise for presenting a sequence of sounds and having a user input, via the interface, a response related to the sequence such as identifying the group of sounds and wrong/different sounds or when a wrong sound is output. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper would include while providing the visual display, provide a plurality of environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and provide, via the display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify a sequence of the plurality of environmental sounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa with Chalupper’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide comprehensive training to the user.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper in view of Suwa as applied to claims 29 above, and further in view of Reed et al. (US PGPub 20180012511), hereinafter referred to as Reed.
With regard to claim 38, Chalupper may not explicitly teach further comprising: provide the hearing device user with suggestions of environmental sounds to record. However, Suwa further teaches determining a user’s performance and modifying the training based on performance including modifying the noises and target audio (Paragraphs 0018, 0043, 0045, 0052), and Reed teaches techniques for increasing user experience of hearing prostheses including providing individualized training based on a determination of user problems based on user performance wherein input signals can be used as the output signals for the individualized training and wherein the system can determine noise types and levels the user finds difficult and use that determination for the personalization of training (Paragraphs 0025, 0034, 0052, 0057).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper to incorporate the teachings of Suwa and Reed by incorporating the technique of individualizing the training of Reed by including target training audio of Suwa for the exercises of Chalupper, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper by coding the system to individualize the training by identifying noise types that the user has issues with and having the user record audio to include in the target audio that matches those noise types in order to increase the training intensity to improve user performance. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper would include further comprising: provide the hearing device user with suggestions of environmental sounds to record. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa and Reed with Chalupper’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide comprehensive training to the user by determining user areas of concern and targeting training to those areas to provide individualized training.
Claim(s) 39-41 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper in view of Suwa and Weber.
With regard to claim 39, Chalupper teaches an apparatus (Paragraphs 0004, 0014; a hearing aid), comprising: one or more microphones configured to record a plurality of environmental sounds associated with at least one ambient sound environment experience by a hearing device user (Paragraph 0004 teaches the hearing aid includes a microphone for recording ambient sound); one or more speakers (Paragraph 0004; “loudspeaker and/or receiver 4”); at least one processor (Paragraph 0004; “processing unit”) configured to: provide environmental sound discrimination training to the hearing device user using a first sound, wherein the first sound comprise non-speech and non-musical sounds (Paragraphs 0032-0038 teach the method includes training to improve the ability to differentiate sounds by presenting sounds or tones (non-speech and non-musical sound)).
Chalupper may not explicitly teach store the plurality of environmental sounds in an environmental sound library; and deliver a first one or more environmental signals representing a first one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds, wherein the first one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds comprise ambient sounds. However, Suwa teaches a method for hearing training including acquiring target audio which can be recorded and/or microphone audio including ambient sounds which are used to perform hearing training exercises wherein the audio is stored in a storage means (sound library) and providing a user interface to record or acquire target audio (Paragraphs 0038, 0043-0044).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper to incorporate the teachings of Suwa by incorporating the step of acquiring and storing audio including ambient environment sounds of Suwa for the audio sounds used in the training of Chalupper, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper to record audio from the ambient environment and use the recorded sounds to generate the audio for the training exercises. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper would include store the plurality of environmental sounds in an environmental sound library; and deliver a first one or more environmental signals representing a first one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds, wherein the first one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds comprise ambient sounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa with Chalupper’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide relevant sounds/training to the user.
Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach deliver a second one or more environmental signals representing a second one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds to provide environmental sound identification training to the hearing device user, wherein the second one or more environmental sounds comprise non-speech and non-musical ambient sounds. However, Weber teaches a game/method for training users in sound identification by providing sounds including non-speech and non-musical sounds such as a blender, springs, or siren and having a user select an input corresponding to the environmental sound (Figures 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in the environment including non-speech and non-musical sounds such as a blender, springs, and/or siren and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include deliver a second one or more environmental signals representing a second one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds to provide environmental sound identification training to the hearing device user, wherein the second one or more environmental sounds comprise non-speech and non-musical ambient sounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 40, Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach wherein the first one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds and the second one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds are different sets of environmental sounds associated with different ambient environments. However, Weber further teaches a hearing training game including a plurality of environments such as a kitchen and bathroom wherein each environment has different sounds (Figures 1-2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game including a plurality of environments of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in a plurality of environments wherein each environment has different sounds wherein the exercise audio/sounds are the sounds from the environments and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include wherein the first one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds and the second one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds are different sets of environmental sounds associated with different ambient environments. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 41, Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach wherein the first one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds and the second one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds are overlapping sets of environmental sounds associate with a same ambient environment. However, Weber further teaches a hearing training game including a plurality of environments such as a kitchen and bathroom wherein each environment has different sounds that can be presented as a set (Figures 1-2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game including an environments with a plurality of sounds of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in an environment wherein the environment has a plurality of sounds (overlapping set) and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include wherein the first one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds and the second one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds are overlapping sets of environmental sounds associate with a same ambient environment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
With regard to claim 45, Chalupper may not explicitly teach while providing the visual display, deliver a sequence of stimulation signals representing at least a subset of the plurality of environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and provide, via the display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify a sequence of the subset of the plurality of environmental sounds. However, Suwa further teaches the system can include an exercise for presenting a sequence of words/sounds and receiving user inputs related to the sequence such as identifying the wrong sounds based on the identified sound group (Paragraphs 0053, 0059-0061, 0073)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper to incorporate the teachings of Suwa by incorporating the exercise of presenting a sequence of sounds of Suwa for the exercises of Chalupper, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper by coding the system to include an exercise for presenting a sequence of sounds and having a user input, via the interface, a response related to the sequence such as identifying the group of sounds and wrong/different sounds or when a wrong sound is output. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper would include while providing the visual display, deliver a sequence of stimulation signals representing at least a subset of the plurality of environmental sounds to the hearing device user; and provide, via the display screen, at least one input for use by the hearing device user to identify a sequence of the subset of the plurality of environmental sounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa with Chalupper’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide comprehensive training to the user.
Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach provide, to the hearing device user via a display screen, a visual display representing a selected ambient sound environment. However, as discussed above, Weber teaches a game/method for training users in sound identification by providing sounds and having a user select an input corresponding to the environmental sound wherein the system displays a variety of environments such as a kitchen and bathroom wherein the sounds correspond to the elements in the displayed environment (Figures 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game including ambient sound environments of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa by coding the display to present the environments of Weber wherein the sequence of sounds would be the sounds representative of elements in a plurality of environments and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound sequence identification training by selecting the elements corresponding to the sound sequence. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include provide, to the hearing device user via a display screen, a visual display representing a selected ambient sound environment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper in view of Suwa and Weber as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Reed.
With regard to claim 42, Chalupper in view of Weber may not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to generate and provide the hearing device user with suggestions of environmental sounds to record. However, Suwa further teaches determining a user’s performance and modifying the training based on performance including modifying the noises and target audio (Paragraphs 0018, 0043, 0045, 0052), and Reed teaches techniques for increasing user experience of hearing prostheses including providing individualized training based on a determination of user problems based on user performance wherein input signals can be used as the output signals for the individualized training and wherein the system can determine noise types and levels the user finds difficult and use that determination for the personalization of training (Paragraphs 0025, 0034, 0052, 0057).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Weber to incorporate the teachings of Suwa and Reed by incorporating the technique of individualizing the training of Reed by including target training audio of Suwa for the exercises of Chalupper, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper by coding the system to individualize the training by identifying noise types that the user has issues with and having the user record audio to include in the target audio that matches those noise types in order to increase the training intensity to improve user performance. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Weber would include wherein the at least one processor is configured to generate and provide the hearing device user with suggestions of environmental sounds to record. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Suwa and Reed with Chalupper in view of Weber’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide comprehensive training to the user by determining user areas of concern and targeting training to those areas to provide individualized training.
Claim(s) 43-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalupper in view of Suwa and Weber as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Donaher.
With regard to claim 43, Chalupper in view of Suwa and Weber may not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to use the at least one of the first one or more environmental sounds or the second one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds to provide environmental sound familiarization training to the hearing device user. However, Donaher teaches a system and method for role-playing life skill simulation by a user having a disability including hearing loss including training an individual to differentiate among sounds and improve their ability to recognize familiar sounds (Paragraphs 0109, 0146, 0150-0151, 0230).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa and Weber to incorporate the teachings of Donaher by using the recorded ambient audio to train the user to recognize sounds and become familiar of environmental sounds as taught by Donaher using the audio sounds of Chalupper in view of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa and Weber to provide training to the user to differentiate environmental sounds in order to improve recognition of familiar sounds. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa and Weber would include wherein the at least one processor is configured to use the at least one of the first one or more environmental sounds or the second one or more of the plurality of environmental sounds to provide environmental sound familiarization training to the hearing device user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Donaher with Chalupper in view of Suwa and Weber’s system and method in order to improve user performance and provide relevant sounds/training to the user.
With regard to claim 44, Chalupper in view of Suwa may not explicitly teach provide, to the hearing device user via a display screen, a visual display representing a selected ambient sound environment; and while providing the visual display, deliver, to the hearing device user along with the visual display, one or more stimulation signals representing at least one of the first one or more environmental sounds or the second one or more environmental sounds. However, as discussed above, Weber teaches a game/method for training users in sound identification by providing sounds and having a user select an input corresponding to the environmental sound wherein the system displays a variety of environments such as a kitchen and bathroom wherein the sounds correspond to the elements in the displayed environment and providing a “sound board” in the form of selectable elements that when selected provide pre-recorded sounds based on the displayed elements (Figures 1-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chalupper in view of Suwa to incorporate the teachings of Weber by incorporating the sound identification game including selectable sounds of Weber as an exercise of Chalupper displayed on the interface of Suwa, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to hearing training systems and methods using stored audio. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chalupper in view of Suwa by coding the display to present the sound identification exercise of Weber including sounds representative of elements in a plurality of environments and displaying the sound environment and receive user inputs/responses to perform sound identification training by selecting the element corresponding to the sound wherein a user can select elements to provide the corresponding pre-recorded sound. Upon such modification, the method and system of Chalupper in view of Suwa would include provide, to the hearing device user via a display screen, a visual display representing a selected ambient sound environment; and while providing the visual display, deliver, to the hearing device user along with the visual display, one or more stimulation signals representing at least one of the first one or more environmental sounds or the second one or more environmental sounds. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Weber with Chalupper in view of Suwa’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive hearing training and improve user engagement through a game exercise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed June 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 and 29-45 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are as follows: A) the claims are not directed to an abstract idea and do not recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, prong one analysis as the claims require a computing device to perform the steps, see pages 14-15; B) the claims are integrated into a practical application as the claims reflect improvements to the technical field of computer-implemented training, see pages 15-17; and C) the claims provide significantly more as the claims recite improvements to the technical field of computer-implemented training and the additional elements are not well-understood, routine, and conventional, see pages 17-18. With regard to argument A, Examiner notes that under prong one analysis the analysis is whether elements of the claims recite judicial exceptions under their broadest reasonable interpretation and does not include determining if the claims are directed to the judicial exceptions which requires the analysis under prong two. The instant claims recite judicial exceptions as discussed above and the implementation on a computing device does not inherently prevent claims from reciting judicial exceptions per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Further, the courts have established, see cxLoyalty, Inc. v. Maritz Holdings Inc., No. 20-1307 (Fed. Cir. 2021), that claims can recite judicial exceptions when a device is acting as an intermediary in place of a human being. In the instant application, the computing device is performing the process of providing various environmental signal/sound training to a medical device user which could instead be performed by a human under its broadest reasonable interpretation. Therefore, as discussed above, the claims recite judicial exceptions except for the recitation of insignificant extra-solution activity and implementing the process on a generic computing device as discussed in the prong two and step 2B analysis.
Regarding arguments B and C, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive as the claimed technological improvement is merely a conclusory statement and is not commensurate or evidenced by the claim language. Further, assuming the claimed improvement is supported, the claimed improvement of providing techniques “improving a hearing device user’s perception of environmental sounds” and to “enable a user to correctly perceive environmental signals” are improvements experienced by the user, not improvements to the technology or technical field. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions by including a technical improvement. Further, as discussed above, the additional elements, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are insignificant extra-solution activity including gathering data, storing data, and outputting/transmitting data/signals which, per MPEP 2106, do not amount to a practical application or significantly more as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations are generic computing functions and processes and are well-understood, routine, and conventional per the MPEP and relevant court decisions. Therefore, the claims stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed June 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive by virtue of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of the newly cited combination of prior art discussed above. Applicant’s arguments that are related to elements recited in claims 29-45 are discussed below.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed June 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 29-45 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, with regard to the independent claims, that Suwa fails to teach recording audio, that the “recorded audio” cannot be analogized to the recorded environmental sounds, and does not disclose storing the microphone audio. Examiner agrees with Applicant that Suwa states microphone audio as real time audio, but Applicant is incorrect that the recorded audio cannot be analogized to the recorded sounds and storing the recorded audio. Specifically, Suwa states the recorded audio is audio that is stored. Suwa further states the audio recorded can be from classes of the like of the user and the microphone collects ambient sound and converts it into a sound signal wherein the stored recorded audio are stored sound signals. While Suwa may not use the explicit terminology of the instant application, the cited teachings implicitly teach collecting audio using a microphone, storing the audio as recorded audio in a storage means (sound library), and using the sound for providing training as discussed above. Regarding claim 39, Applicant argues that Chalupper does not teach a microphone for recording ambient sound as Chalupper does not teach using the recorded sounds to provide the training. Examiner does not find this persuasive as it is not commensurate with the claim language as the taught limitation is merely the device comprising/having one or more microphones, which Chalupper explicitly teaches, and recording ambient noise, which Chalupper explicitly teaches. The claim language for this limitation does not require storing the audio or using that specific audio for the training. Regardless, the limitations are using recorded audio for the training are taught by Suwa and used to modify the teachings of Chalupper as discussed above. Further, Applicant is analyzing Weber individually rather than as a combination with the combination of references as Weber is used to teach the discussed modifications and does not need to recite the microphone which is taught by Chalupper and Suwa. Similarly, Applicant’s analysis of the rejections of the dependent claims relies on piecemeal analysis of the references and disregards how the secondary references are used to modify the teachings of Chalupper such as using the sounds of Suwa for the discrimination training of claims 6 and 31 as claims 6 and 31 depend from claims 3 and 29 respectfully in which Chalupper is modified by Suwa to teach training using environmental sounds. Suwa teaches the claimed limitations and is used to modify Chalupper to teach using recorded environmental sounds to provide the training. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The claims stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above in view of the previously cited combination of prior art references.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-15 and 29-45 are rejected.
Examiner recommends Applicant reach out to the Examiner to schedule an interview to progress prosecution.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORRELL T FRENCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3715