Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, in line 10, recites “a stop surface is arranged on one side of the support member”. If this refers to the “two support members” claimed earlier (Claim 1, line 5), it is suggested that “a stop surface is arranged on one side of each of the two support members” (or alternative forms) is used instead, for consistency and to avoid 112(b) issues. A similar request is presented if it only refers to one of the “two support members”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, in lines 1-3 (and Claim 18, in lines 1-2) recites “a bump is arranged at both ends of the rotating shaft substrate in the length direction respectively”. This limitation is confusing because it is not clear if it refers to a different “bump” from that claimed in Claim 1, line 10 (Claim 15, line 5 in the case of Claim 18) or to the same “bump” element. If the former case applies, and the “bump” of claim 4 (Claim 18) is different from that of claim 1 (Claim 15) examiner respectfully request that Applicant specifies the support for said element in the disclosure of the instant application; if the latter case applies, “the” should be used instead of “a” to avoid antecedent issues. A similar confusing situation is found in the limitation: “a stop surface is arranged at both ends of each of the support members” (Claim 4, in line 3 and Claim 15, line 11) since a “stop surface” is also claimed in Claim 1, line 10 (Claim 15, line 11). For the purposes of examination, it will be understood that claim 4 (Claim 18) refers to the same elements claimed in claim 1 (Claim 15).
Claim 5, in lines 1-3 (and Claim 19, in lines 1-2), recites “a bump is arranged at both ends of the rotating shaft substrate in the length direction” and Claim 5, in lines 3-4 (Claim 19, in lines 2-4) recites “one stop surface is arranged at an end of one of the two support members in the length direction of the rotating shaft substrate, and one stop surface is arranged at another end”. These limitations are confusing because it is not clear whether the “bump” and “stop surface” elements are the same as those already claimed in claim 1 (Claim 15) or are different, individual elements. If the former case applies, and the elements of claim 5 (Claim 19) mentioned above are different from those of claim 1 (Claim 15) examiner respectfully request that Applicant specifies the corresponding support in the disclosure of the instant application; if the latter case applies, “the” should be used instead of “a”, and/or consistent language referring to the already claimed elements should be used, to avoid antecedent issues. For the purposes of examination, it will be understood that claim 5 (Claim 19) refers to the same elements claimed in claim 1 (Claim 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-7, 12-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20200352038 A1, and Kim hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a foldable assembly, comprising:
a rotating shaft mechanism (230, fig. 5A) comprising a bump (234, fig. 6) and a rotating shaft substrate (portion of 230 without considering 234, figs. 5A-B and 6), wherein the bump is arranged at an end portion of the rotating shaft substrate in a length direction (fig. 6); and
a connecting mechanism comprising two support members (210 and 220, fig. 5A), that are respectively connected to two sides of the rotating shaft substrate in a width direction (fig. 5A), wherein the two support members are respectively rotatable relative to the rotating shaft substrate, so that the foldable assembly is switched between an unfolded state and a folded state (figs. 5A-5B),
wherein a stop surface (including 217 and 227, fig. 5B) is arranged on one side of the support member close to the rotating shaft substrate, and in the folded state (fig. 5A), the bump and the stop surface are spaced apart and opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 5A shows vertical separation between bump 234 and end portions of 217 (see fig, 5B for label) above it).
Regarding Claim 2, Kim discloses the foldable assembly of claim 1, wherein the support member comprises:
a support substrate (fig. 5A: upper portion of 210 that extends above the curve region shown in fig. 5A) connected to one side of the rotating shaft substrate in the width direction (fig. 5A), wherein the support substrate is rotatable relative to the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 5A and 5B); and
a support block (fig. 5A: lower portion of 210 that extends above the curve region shown in fig. 5A) arranged on one side of the support substrate close to the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 5A), wherein one side surface of the support block is the stop surface (e.g., 217, fig. 5B).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses the foldable assembly of claim 1, wherein the rotating shaft substrate comprises a support surface (inner surface of 230, figs. 5B and 6), that is configured to support a to-be-supported object (“A portion of a hinge structure (e.g., the hinge structure 164 of FIG. 3) and/or a portion of a connecting member (e.g., the connecting member 163 of FIG. 3) may be disposed in the interior space 2332” [0094], in view of “together with inner surface 233, may form an interior space 2332 of the hinge housing 230”, [0093]), and the bump is arranged on the support surface of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 6 and 8).
Regarding Claim 4 (as best understood), Kim discloses the foldable assembly of claim 3, wherein a bump (240-1 and 240-2, fig. 6) is arranged at both ends of the rotating shaft substrate in the length direction respectively (fig. 6), wherein a stop surface (217 and 227, fig. 5B) is arranged at both ends of each of the support members in the length direction (figs. 5A and 5B in view of 4A, 4B, and 6; curved shape of 217 and 227 is complementary to that of surface 232 which extends along the length direction, represented with the double-headed arrow F1-F2 of fig. 6, this complementary shape allows folding/unfolding, thus 217 and 227 would necessarily also extend along said direction), and wherein, in the folded state, each bump and the stop surfaces of the two support members are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 5A shows vertical separation between bump 234 and end portions of 217 (see fig, 5B for label) above it; similarly for 227).
Regarding Claim 5 (as best understood), Kim discloses the foldable assembly of claim 3, wherein a bump (240-1 and 240-2, fig. 6) is arranged at both ends of the rotating shaft substrate in the length direction respectively (217 and 227, fig. 5B), wherein one stop surface is arranged at an end of one of the two support members in the length direction of the rotating shaft substrate (e.g., portion of 217 of fig. 5B that is located at the end closer to 234-1 in the F1-F2 direction of fig. 6), and one stop surface is arranged at another end of the other of the two support members in the length direction of the rotating shaft substrate (e.g., portion of 227 of fig. 5B that is located at the end closer to 234-2 in the F1-F2 direction of fig. 6), and wherein, in the folded state, one of the bumps and the stop surface of one of the support members are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate, and the other of the bumps and the stop surface of the other of the support members are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 5A shows vertical separation between bump 234 and end portions of 217 (see fig, 5B for label) above it; similarly for 227).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses the foldable assembly of claim 3, wherein two bumps are arranged at at least one end of the rotating shaft substrate in the length direction (335, fig. 13B), the two bumps are spaced apart in the width direction of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 13B), and the stop surface is arranged at end portions of the two support members corresponding to the bumps in the length direction of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 13B in view of details of housing elements 210 and 220, specifically surfaces 217 and 227 of fig. 5B. See also fig. 6), and wherein, in the folded state, one of the bumps and the stop surface of one of the support members are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 5A and 13B), and the other of the bumps and the stop surface of the other of the support members are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 5A and 13B).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses the foldable assembly of claim 1, wherein the bump is arranged on a side surface of the rotating shaft substrate in the width direction (235-1 and 235-2, fig. 6), the support member is provided with a groove (219 and 229, fig. 5A), and an inner wall of one side of the groove forms the stop surface (217 and 227 fig. 5B), and wherein, in the folded state, the bump is located in the groove and is spaced apart and opposite to the stop surface in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 5A and 5B).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim discloses the foldable assembly of claim 1, wherein a buffer structure (240, fig. 6) is arranged on the stop surface and/or the bump (on the bump, fig. 6), and in the folded state, the buffer structure is located between the stop surface and the bump (figs. 4A, 5A, 8, and 9B).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim discloses the foldable assembly of claim 12, wherein the buffer structure comprises a flexible buffer pad (fig. 6: “cushioning member 240”, comprises 240-1 and 240-“240-1, may absorb part of shock applied to the flexible display 250”).
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses a foldable display device, comprising:
a foldable assembly comprising:
a rotating shaft mechanism (230, fig. 5A) comprising a bump (234, fig. 6) and a rotating shaft substrate (portion of 230 without considering 234, figs. 5A-B and 6), wherein the bump is arranged at an end portion of the rotating shaft substrate in a length direction (fig. 6); and
a connecting mechanism comprising two support members (210 and 220, fig. 5A) that are respectively connected to two sides of the rotating shaft substrate in a width direction (fig. 5A), wherein the two support members are respectively rotatable relative to the rotating shaft substrate, so that the foldable assembly is switched between an unfolded state and a folded state (figs. 5A-5B),
wherein a stop surface (including 217 and 227, fig. 5B) is arranged on one side of the support member close to the rotating shaft substrate, and in the folded state (fig. 5A), the bump and the stop surface are spaced apart and opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 5A shows vertical separation between bump 234 and end portions of 217 (see fig, 5B for label) above); and
a flexible screen (250, fig. 5A) that is laid on the two support members in the foldable assembly and that covers the support surface of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 5A-5B).
Regarding Claim 16, Kim discloses the foldable display device of claim 15, wherein the support member comprises:
a support substrate (fig. 5A: upper portion of 210 that extends above the curve region shown in fig. 5A) connected to one side of the rotating shaft substrate in the width direction (fig. 5A), wherein the support substrate is rotatable relative to the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 5A and 5B); and
a support block (fig. 5A: lower portion of 210 that extends above the curve region shown in fig. 5A) arranged on one side of the support substrate close to the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 5A), wherein one side surface of the support block is the stop surface (e.g., 217, fig. 5B).
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses the foldable display device of claim 15, wherein the rotating shaft substrate comprises a support surface (inner surface of 230, figs. 5B and 6) that is configured to support a to-be-supported object (“A portion of a hinge structure (e.g., the hinge structure 164 of FIG. 3) and/or a portion of a connecting member (e.g., the connecting member 163 of FIG. 3) may be disposed in the interior space 2332” [0094], in view of “together with inner surface 233, may form an interior space 2332 of the hinge housing 230”, [0093]), and the bump is arranged on the support surface of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 6 and 8).
Regarding Claim 18 (as best understood), Kim discloses the foldable display device of claim 17, wherein a bump (240-1 and 240-2, fig. 6) is arranged at both ends of the rotating shaft substrate in the length direction respectively (fig. 6), wherein a stop surface (217 and 227, fig. 5B) is arranged at both ends of each of the support members in the length direction (figs. 5A and 5B in view of 4A, 4B, and 6; curved shape of 217 and 227 is complementary to that of surface 232 which extends along the length direction, represented with the double-headed arrow F1-F2 of fig. 6, this complementary shape allows folding/unfolding, thus 217 and 227 would necessarily also extend along said direction), and wherein, in the folded state, each bump and the stop surfaces of the two support members are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 5A shows vertical separation between bump 234 and end portions of 217 (see fig, 5B for label) above it; similarly for 227).
Regarding Claim 19 (as best understood), Kim discloses the foldable display device of claim 17, wherein a bump (240-1 and 240-2, fig. 6) is arranged at both ends of the rotating shaft substrate in the length direction respectively (217 and 227, fig. 5B), wherein one stop surface is arranged at an end of one of the two support members in the length direction of the rotating shaft substrate e (e.g., portion of 217 of fig. 5B that is located at the end closer to 234-1 in the F1-F2 direction of fig. 6), and one stop surface is arranged at another end of the other of the two support members in the length direction of the rotating shaft substrate (e.g., portion of 227 of fig. 5B that is located at the end closer to 234-2 in the F1-F2 direction of fig. 6), and wherein, in the folded state, one of the bumps and the stop surface of one of the support members are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate, and the other of the bumps and the stop surface of the other of the support members are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 5A shows vertical separation between bump 234 and end portions of 217 (see fig, 5B for label) above it; similarly for 227).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim discloses the foldable assembly of claim 17, wherein two bumps are arranged at at least one end of the rotating shaft substrate in the length direction (335, fig. 13B), the two bumps are spaced apart in the width direction of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 13B), and the stop surface is arranged at end portions of the two support members corresponding to the bumps in the length direction of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 13B in view of details of housing elements 210 and 220, specifically surfaces 217 and 227 of fig. 5B. See also fig. 6), and wherein, in the folded state, one of the bumps and the stop surface of one of the 10support members are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 5A and 13B), and the other of the bumps and the stop surface of the other of the support members are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 5A and 13B).
Claims 1 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20260010207 A1, and Zhang hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a foldable assembly, comprising:
a rotating shaft mechanism comprising a bump (2, fig. 21) and a rotating shaft substrate (02, fig. 1), wherein the bump is arranged at an end portion of the rotating shaft substrate in a length direction (fig. 21); and
a connecting mechanism comprising two support members (011 and 012, fig. 3), that are respectively connected to two sides of the rotating shaft substrate in a width direction (fig. 2), wherein the two support members are respectively rotatable relative to the rotating shaft substrate, so that the foldable assembly is switched between an unfolded state and a folded state (figs. 9-10),
wherein a stop surface (011C, fig. 5) is arranged on one side of the support member close to the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 2), and in the folded state, the bump and the stop surface are spaced apart and opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 4-5, 7, and 9 in view of “The mounting groove 011C and the mounting groove 012C may enclose an accommodating groove 1 used to dispose the hinge structure 02”, [0118]; in the folded state, end portions of 011C and 012C that are away from the rotation axes would necessarily be located at a distance above 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang discloses the foldable assembly of claim 1, wherein the rotating shaft mechanism further comprises a decorative member (4, fig. 22), that is mounted on an outer side of the rotating shaft substrate (fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang discloses the foldable assembly of claim 8, wherein the decorative member comprises an accommodating cavity (fig. 4), at least a part of a structure of the rotating shaft substrate is located in the accommodating cavity (fig. 4), and at least a part of a structure of the bump is located outside the accommodating cavity (fig. 21).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang discloses the foldable assembly of claim 8, wherein the rotating shaft substrate comprises a main body (rectangular top plate portion of 02, figs. 20-22) and a connecting body (portion of 02 and 021 excluding top plate portion, figs. 20-22), an end portion of the main body in the length direction is provided with the connecting body (fig. 20), the bump is arranged on the connecting body (fig. 20), and a thickness of the connecting body is greater than a thickness of the main body (fig. 20).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang discloses the foldable assembly of claim 10, wherein a bracket is provided at an end portion of the decorative member (figs. 20-21: end portions of 20 located under 2) in the length direction of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 21-22), the connecting body is limited in the bracket (figs. 21-22, limited vertically), and the bump protrudes from the bracket in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (figs. 21-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Zhou (CN113450646A, and Zhou hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim discloses the foldable assembly of claim 12, wherein the buffer structure is mounted on the bump (figs. 6 and 13A-13C), the buffer structure comprises a buffer plate (e.g., 340, fig. 13B), and in the folded state, the buffer plate and the stop surface are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate (figs 13A-13C in view of figs. 5A-B. that show vertical separation between bump 234 and end portions of 217).
Kim does not explicitly disclose and an elastomer, the buffer plate and the bump are spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate, the elastomer is located between the buffer plate and the bump, the elastomer is connected to the buffer plate and the bump respectively.
Zhou discloses a buffer structure (including 111 and 113, fig. 9) comprising an elastomer (113, fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim to incorporate the teachings of Zhou so that the buffer structure includes an elastomer, in order to enhance cushioning and prevent wear (“rubber buffer layer 113 is located between the metal buffer layer 111 and the shaft structure 2, and is used to separate the metal buffer layer from the shaft structure, so as to increase the bendability of the buffer layer 11 while preventing the metal buffer layer 111 and the multiple gears 211 in the rotating shaft structure 2 generate friction, which causes the metal buffer layer, which causes the metal buffer layer 111 or the multiple gears 211 to wear”, [0082] of Zhou). Said modification would be implemented by interposing the elastomer between the bump and the buffer plate, thus the buffer plate and the bump are necessarily spaced apart and opposite to each other in the thickness direction of the rotating shaft substrate, the elastomer is located between the buffer plate and the bump, the elastomer is connected to the buffer plate and the bump respectively.
Conclusion
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2841