DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN202241029721, filed on 05/24/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 22-36 filed on 11/25/2024 are presently examined. Claims 1-21 filed on 11/25/2024 have been cancelled. Claims 22-36 filed on 11/25/2024 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 28 recites “The method as claimed in claim 22, wherein the infotainment system has minimal processing capabilities and is a non-OS based infotainment system.” Minimal processing is a vague term and considered to be a relative term without comparison to a baseline. Examiner is unable to ascertain from the claims what the metes and bounds are for minimal processing capability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-27, 29-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Penilla et al. (US 20190196851 A1), hereinafter referred to as Penilla.
Regarding claims 22 and 30, Penilla discloses A method for personalization of an infotainment system, the method comprising:
receiving, by an electronic device, a first input from a user indicative of selection one or more personalization associated with a user interface of the infotainment system ([0011] “interaction modes can be defined, selected and customized via any connected device over the Internet or through the vehicle computer and interfaces inputs.” [0035] “receiving selection options for associating applications to the custom user interface.”);
generating, by the electronic device, a preview of the selected one or more personalization on the user interface of a display screen of the infotainment system ([0261] “allow user to customize the types of skins provided to the displays and provide previews of the skins.” [0263] “Previews of the selected skins can also be provided, before implementation.”
receiving, by the electronic device, a second input from the user indicative of a confirmation to apply the selected one or more personalization ([0270] “different preferences were selected by a user. These preferences have now been determined by the computer to be most relevant or a best fit or most likely related to an informed mode. The user is provided with this determination and asked whether he or she wishes to apply that mode.”); and
transmitting, by the electronic device, the selection one or more personalization associated with the user interface of the infotainment system to a control unit of a vehicle, wherein the control unit is configured to apply the selected one or more personalization to the infotainment system of the vehicle ([0257] “Once the descriptive behaviors are selected by a user, the wizard can identify a specific type of interaction mode which will then apply a plurality of settings for the interaction mode.” [FIG. 11] user customizes settings on the display, the display previews the UI modifications, saves settings to the user profile, and outputs the custom settings onto the display.).
Regarding claims 23 and 33, Penilla discloses The method as claimed in claim 22, wherein the one or more personalization comprises one or more original equipment manufacturer (OEM) specified themes ([0043] “reset the display of the vehicle to provide the user interface with system interfaces that are default-set by the manufacturer of the vehicle”), background image, font size, font type, font color, widgets, notifications, screen resolution, brightness, type of content ([0133] “The customization is defined by the user, for example, by selecting specific applications, selecting different background colors, wallpapers, for the user interfaces, selecting different input interfaces, adjusting the location and positioning of application components displayed on a vehicle display” [0028] “change in function, or complexity, or display, or tone, or color, or font, or text, or icons”).
Regarding claims 24 and 31, Penilla discloses The method as claimed in claim 22, wherein the one or more personalization is stored centrally on an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) server or locally on the electronic device ([0163] “Settings and profile data can then be shared for a period of time on any vehicle and use data on that vehicle can be stored.” [0181] “The custom configuration, as mentioned above is stored in the database of the vehicle manufacturer, or a database held by a 3rd party that cooperates with the vehicle manufacturer to provide cloud services.”).
Regarding claims 25 and 34, Penilla discloses The method as claimed in claim 22, automatically identifying, by the electronic device, the one or more personalization based on a rider profile of the vehicle, weather conditions, speed of the vehicle, acceleration of the vehicle, driving pattern of the rider of the vehicle, rider’s age, a location of the vehicle, a gender of the rider, vehicle health condition ([0012] “individual settings of that interaction mode may be modified by the user or automatically in view of learned patterns, learned behavior” [0050] “automatically adjusting positional locations for graphical user interface (GUI) items of the custom configuration based on the learned patterns” [0092] “identify contextual recommendations that are displayed to the user's interfaces and automatic launching of applications and content in applications based on information that is believed to be needed at the time and at the location and for the user” [0266] “interaction mode to be suggested based on the profile, the age, the behavior, the gender, the circumstances, the external environment, and then send the configuration to the vehicle.” [0223] “information that is provided on the displays can be dynamically set based on the context of the vehicle's state, the user's calendars, the weather” [0175] “The configuration can also provide messages to the driver warning the driver of when the vehicle has exceeded a restriction, or is approaching a restriction in use, driving area, speed, etc.”).
Regarding claim 26, Penilla discloses The method as claimed in claim 22, providing, by the electronic device, one or more personalization recommendations based on the automatically identifying the one or more personalization ([0209] “the learned settings can also be communicated to the user via notifications. Such as, “We noticed you like your truck temperature at 3 pm to be 60 degrees? Please confirm”).
Regarding claim 27, Pennilla discloses The method as claimed in claim 22, receiving, by the electronic device, a third input to apply the automatically identified the one or more personalization ([0270] “These preferences have now been determined by the computer to be most relevant or a best fit or most likely related to an informed mode. The user is provided with this determination and asked whether he or she wishes to apply that mode.”).
Regarding claim 29, Penilla discloses The method as claimed in claim 22, wherein the infotainment system comprises a first application configured to enable personalization of the infotainment system, wherein the application is configured to receive information from the electronic device, wherein the information comprises contacts, incoming calls, incoming messages, electronic device location, and GPS data ([0151] “if the user wishes to use his own telephone calling interface and contacts that are stored on the portable device 210, that information can be populated and mirrored to the display device 162” [0166] “phone messages, notes and the like can be synchronized” [0299] “Information sent to the vehicle can be provided by way of one of the user interfaces, or audio output, text messages to a user's device” [0211] “logic module can take inputs from various systems and data streams including but not limited to GPS 2206” [0125] “if certain applications are already loaded on a smartphone or portable device that is proximate or in the vehicle, the applications can synchronize or pair with the applications that are part of the customize configuration 126.” [0167] “data from the local devices can be synchronized locally to the display of the vehicle in selected regions. These selected regions of the display can be defined by the user during customization, or can be defined automatically by the system based on sizing areas on the display, relative to other applications or features displayed on the one or more displays of the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 32, Penilla discloses The system as claimed in claim 30, wherein the first input and second input being provided using at least one of a touch input, a voice input, and a gesture input ([0159] “The input can also be changed from touchscreen, button touches, selections, and/or voice input.”).
Regarding claim 35, Penilla discloses The system as claimed in claim 30, wherein the electronic device is configured to:
provide one or more personalization recommendations based on the automatically identifying the one or more personalization ([0209] “the learned settings can also be communicated to the user via notifications. Such as, “We noticed you like your truck temperature at 3 pm to be 60 degrees? Please confirm”); and
receive a third input to apply the automatically identified the one or more personalization ([0270] “These preferences have now been determined by the computer to be most relevant or a best fit or most likely related to an informed mode. The user is provided with this determination and asked whether he or she wishes to apply that mode.”).
Regarding claim 36, Penilla discloses The system as claimed in claim 30, wherein the infotainment system comprises a first application configured to enable personalization of the infotainment system, wherein the application is configured to receive information from the electronic device, wherein the information comprises contacts, incoming calls, incoming messages, electronic device location, and GPS data ([0151] “if the user wishes to use his own telephone calling interface and contacts that are stored on the portable device 210, that information can be populated and mirrored to the display device 162” [0166] “phone messages, notes and the like can be synchronized” [0299] “Information sent to the vehicle can be provided by way of one of the user interfaces, or audio output, text messages to a user's device” [0211] “logic module can take inputs from various systems and data streams including but not limited to GPS 2206” [0125] “if certain applications are already loaded on a smartphone or portable device that is proximate or in the vehicle, the applications can synchronize or pair with the applications that are part of the customize configuration 126.” [0167] “data from the local devices can be synchronized locally to the display of the vehicle in selected regions. These selected regions of the display can be defined by the user during customization, or can be defined automatically by the system based on sizing areas on the display, relative to other applications or features displayed on the one or more displays of the vehicle.”), and
wherein the electronic device comprises a second application configured to receive personalization inputs and transmit the same to the control unit ([0257] “Once the descriptive behaviors are selected by a user, the wizard can identify a specific type of interaction mode which will then apply a plurality of settings for the interaction mode.” [FIG. 11] user customizes settings on the display, the display previews the UI modifications, saves settings to the user profile, and outputs the custom settings onto the display.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penilla as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Xu et al. (Mathematical Problems in Engineering “Design of a TFT-LCD Based Digital Automobile Instrument”), hereinafter referred to as Xu.
Regarding claim 28, Penilla fails to explicitly disclose The method as claimed in claim 22, wherein the infotainment system has minimal processing capabilities and is a non-OS based infotainment system.
However, Xu teaches the infotainment system has minimal processing capabilities and is a non-OS based infotainment system ([Page 1, abstract] “TFT-LCD and the 32-bit microcontroller MB91F599” [3. System Hardware Design, Page 2] “The power consumption of the instrument should be of low level.” Microcontrollers like the MB91F599 do not use operating systems, and instead opt for “bare metal” processing, using a graphics display controller processing signals to output video display directly from the chip.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Penilla with Xu’s teaching of a vehicle infotainment system with minimal processing and is non-OS based. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success design an infotainment system to use a microcontroller similar to the MB91F599 in order to provide a low cost and highly-compatible vehicle instrument panel for vehicles ([Page 1] “the accomplished automobile instrument meets the requirements of automobile instrument markets with its characters of low cost, favorable compatibility, friendly interfaces, and easy upgrading.”).
Conclusion
/M.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Angelina M Shudy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668