DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2023/064970 filed 5 June 2023. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to EP22177930.9 filed 8 June 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 24 February 2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the document contained mostly blank sheets and no list of references. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 16 recites, “wherein the chemotherapeutic agent is 5-fluorouracil or a derivative.” The claim does not define what “a derivative” is referring to nor does it define the metes and bounds thereof. As such, it is unclear and indefinite as to the scope of the term “derivative.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser et al. (US 2017/0233394).
Moser teaches a preparation comprising between 10-3,000 mg of (6R)-5,10-CH2-THF in a daily dose, which reads on the compound of instant claim 1 [0062, 0125]. The dosage can be adjusted depending on the therapy and the age, weight, and condition of the patient [0126]. In one example, a lyophilizate of the sulfate salt of 5,10-methylene-(6R)-tetrahydrofolic acid is prepared with the presence of citrate wherein the lyophilizate can be reconstituted in water [0308]. The ratio of 5,10-methylene-(6R)-tetrahydrofolic acid to sulfate ion can be about 2:1 [0154]. The formulation can be used to treat forms of cancer and can be formulated with additional agents such as 5-fluorouracil and antifolate agents [0017, 0307]. Regarding the salt, Moser teaches that the sulfate salt form can be made from alkali or alkaline earth metal salts such as sodium and calcium [0100-0101]. The formulation may be prepared as a concentrate [0121]. The water can be sterile water and the composition can further comprise carriers and buffers [0120-0121, 0123]. The purity of the 5,10-methylene-(6R)-tetrahydrofolic acid is preferred to be greater than 99.5% [0172].
Moser does not teach the claimed composition in a single embodiment.
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the reconstituted aqueous formulation comprising 5,10-methylene-(6R)-tetrahydrofolic acid and a sulfate salt of Moser and to modify it so that the sulfate is from the inclusion of sodium sulfate (1:2 ratio of active to sulfate salt). It would have been obvious to purify the 5,10-methylene-(6R)-tetrahydrofolic acid to be greater than 99% pure. The form of the liquid composition can be as a concentrate using sterile water, carriers, and buffers, based on the alternatives taught in Moser, in a composition to treat various cancers. Moreover, it would have been obvious to further include 5-fluorouracil and/or antifolates as chemotherapeutic agents. That being said, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of counter ions and salts, forms of the composition, and additional chemotherapeutic agents from within Moser, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Regarding the amount of 5,10-methylene-(6R)-tetrahydrofolic acid, the art teaches dosing anywhere from 10-3,000 mg/day that can be adjusted based on the specific situation and needs of the patient. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05 (I).
The composition of Moser accordingly renders obvious instant claims 1-17.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, and 15-18 of copending Application No. 18/869,144 in view of Moser et al. (US 2017/0233394).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘144 does not teach the sulfate as being an alkali metal sulfate. Moser teaches forming a concentrate of a sulfate salt of 5,10-methylene-(6R)-tetrahydrofolic acid using a metal salt such as sodium or calcium. Moser also teaches further including various chemotherapeutic agents, buffers, carriers, and sterile water to the formulation. It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the composition of ‘144 wherein sodium sulfate is provided in a 1:2 ratio with 5,10-methylene-(6R)-tetrahydrofolic acid to form the sodium salt and to further include sterile water, buffer, carriers, and chemotherapeutics as needed. The resulting composition renders obvious instant claims 1-17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 9-14, 16-17, and 21-22 of copending Application No. 18/869,153 in view of Moser et al. (US 2017/0233394).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘153 does not teach the sulfate as being an alkali metal sulfate. Moser teaches forming a concentrate of a sulfate salt of 5,10-methylene-(6R)-tetrahydrofolic acid using a metal salt such as sodium or calcium. Moser also teaches further including various buffers, carriers, and sterile water to the formulation. It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the composition of ‘153 wherein sodium sulfate is provided in a 1:2 ratio with 5,10-methylene-(6R)-tetrahydrofolic acid to form the sodium salt and to further include sterile water, buffer, and carriers as needed. The resulting composition renders obvious instant claims 1-17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613