DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 12-16, 19-20, 26-29, 32-35 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-11, 13-15, 17-18, 22, 25, 28-31 of copending Application No. 18859400 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of following:
Copending Application
Application
1. A method for receiving configuration information, performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is configured to configure N search space (SS) sets with a link relationship, the N SS sets with the link relationship correspond to physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates, respectively, and the PDCCH candidate is configured to for PDCCH transmission, where N is an integer greater than 1.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving first indication information for indicating N transmission configuration indication (TCI) state sets; and monitoring the PDCCH on the PDCCH candidate based on the N TCI state sets.
1. A channel transmission method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
receiving first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is used to configure N search space sets having a link relationship, each of the N search space sets corresponds to one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate, the N PDCCH candidates are used for reception of one PDCCH, and N is an integer greater than 1; and
receiving indication information, wherein in response to the indication information indicating one set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, the one set of TCI states is used for one PDCCH candidate among the N PDCCH candidates.
With respect to the difference between the Application and the Copending, it have been held that the omission of the element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd. App. 1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, 12-16, 19-20, 26-29, 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the N PDCCH candidates" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Same rejection for claims 16, 32-35
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 12, 14-16, 19, 26, 28-29, 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moon et al. (Pub. No. 20210360667).
- With respect to claims 1, 16, 32-35, Moon teaches a channel transmission method, performed by a terminal, comprising: receiving first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is used to configure N search space sets having a link relationship, each of the N search space sets corresponds to one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate, the N PDCCH candidates are used for reception of one PDCCH, and N is an integer greater than 1 (e.g. par. 6 discloses “receiving configuration information of a resource set for a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring operation from a base station… wherein the resource set includes a first search space and a second search space for PDCCH”; par. 9); and receiving indication information, wherein in response to the indication information indicating one set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, the one set of TCI states is used for one PDCCH candidate among the N PDCCH candidates (see par. 94 discloses terminal perform PDCCH monitoring based on the TCI; par. 153).
- With respect to claims 4, 19, Moon teaches receiving second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is used to indicate a correspondence relationship between the one set of TCI states and one PDCCH candidate; or determining one PDCCH candidate corresponding to the one set of TCI states from the N PDCCH candidates based on a default mapping relationship (see par. 153).
- With respect to claim 6, Moon teaches determining a reference PDCCH candidate from the N PDCCH candidates; and determining a transmission time domain parameter based on the reference PDCCH candidate, or determining a transmission frequency domain resource based on the reference PDCCH candidate (e.g. par. 84, 121 discloses “The symbols constituting one CORESET may be consecutive in the time domain. The PRBs constituting one CORESET may be consecutive or non-consecutive in the frequency domain”).
- With respect to claims 12, 26, Moon teaches wherein the indication information comprises first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the one set of TCI states (see par. 9, 21) or a plurality of sets of TCI states; and wherein the first indication information comprises medium access control element (MAC CE) signaling (see par. 94, 143) or, the first indication information comprises MAC CE signaling and downlink control information (DCI).
- With respect to claims 14, 28, Moon teaches wherein: the one set of TCI states comprises one joint TCI state; the one set of TCI states comprises one downlink TCI state (e.g. the PDSCH base on the TCI state in par. 9; par. 96 and Fig. 7); the one set of TCI states comprises one uplink TCI state; or the one set of TCI states comprises one uplink TCI state and one downlink TCI state.
- With respect to claims 15, 29, Moon teaches wherein the one set of TCI states indicated by the indication information is used for transmission of at least two types of channels and/or signals, including a PDCCH, and the signal comprises at least one of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) or a sounding reference signal (SRS) (see par. 96 discloses “the base station may configure a TCI state for reception of physical signals and channels (e.g., PDCCH, PDSCH, CSI-RS, PUCCH, PUSCH, SRS, PRACH, etc.) of the terminal to the terminal based on the measurement information of the beam quality received from the terminal.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5,13,20,27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471