DETAILED ACTION
The amendment of claims 1-15, filed on 6/24/2026, is acknowledged and considered.
Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1, 6, and 11 are independent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, ands 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the arguments directed towards the new limitations:
Necessitated by the current amendment, the current rejection is under a new combination of prior art, Ponceleon and Zhu, where the new limitation of “executing/cause, by the one or more processors of the system and at a worker node, the smart contract by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation”, is rejected under Zhu in accordance to the rejection below.
As for the new limitation “the smart contract comprises precompiled native executable code built for at least one target architecture. The blockchain architecture configuration of FIG. 2A process and execute program/application code and services provided by blockchain platform. The code controls blockchain assets. For example, the code store and transfer data, and executed by nodes in the form of a smart contract and associated chaincode with conditions or other code elements subject to its execution [Ponceleon: para 0050]. Thus, the code stored and transfer data suggest smart contract comprises precompiled native executable code and that the code is applicable (or built) for the target architecture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponceleon, et al. [US 20210311926] in view of Zhu, et al. [US 20210357195].
As per claim 1: Ponceleon, et al. teaches a method, comprising:
determining, by one or more processors of a system, a smart contract written in a high-level programming language [Ponceleon: para 0052; A smart contract may be created via a high-level application and programming language, and then written to a block in the blockchain] that is able to utilize a predefined list of supported libraries in a containerized environment [Ponceleon: para 0037; a smart contract can access to libraries based on metadata that is managed on the blockchain. Para 0080; the blockchain peer determine whether the library already exists on the blockchain by comparing a name of the software library to a known list of software libraries that are stored within a world state database, etc. The smart contract may update the previously stored metadata of the library which was previously stored. The list of libraries that exist and updated stored in a database suggest a smart contract determined that is able to utilize the predefined list of supported libraries in the containerized environment], wherein the smart contract comprises precompiled native executable code built for at least one target architecture; [Ponceleon: para 0050; The blockchain architecture configuration of FIG. 2A process and execute program/application code and services provided, by blockchain platform. The code control blockchain assets. For example, the code store and transfer data, and executed by nodes in the form of a smart contract and associated chaincode with conditions or other code elements subject to its execution. Thus, the code store and transfer data suggest smart contract comprises precompiled native executable code and that the code is applicable for the target architecture]
deploying, by the one or more processors of the system, the smart contract to a blockchain network; [Ponceleon: para 0037; a smart contract (i.e., software logic) which is deployed as chaincode on a blockchain peer. More examples on para 0054]
**determining, by the one or more processors of the system, activation of the smart contract; [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
**executing, by the one or more processors of the system and at a worker node, the smart contract by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation; and
validating, by the one or more processors of the system and at a validator node, correct execution of the smart contract. [Ponceleon: para 0052; A transaction is an execution of the smart contract logic which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied. The executing of the smart contract may trigger a trusted modification(s) to a state of a digital blockchain ledger. Para 0054; A chaincode may include the code interpretation (e.g., the logic) of a smart contract where the chaincode include a packaged and deployable version of the logic within the smart contract. The chaincode is a program code deployed on a computing network, where it is executed and validated by chain validators together during a consensus process. By the smart contract logic is performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied or the code interpretation where the chaincode include deployable version of the logic suggest the validating correct execution of the smart contract]
Ponceleon discloses the blockchain node initiate a blockchain authentication and seek to write to a blockchain immutable ledger stored in blockchain layer, a copy stored on the underpinning physical infrastructure. The blockchain configuration execute stored program/application code (e.g., chaincode, smart contracts, etc.) which can be created according to a customized configuration [Ponceleon: para 0049]. This suggest the initiation of the blockchain authentication that determine to write to the blockchain and execute the smart contract. Ponceleon also suggest “executing, by the one or more processors of the system and at a worker node, the smart contract” by disclosing the smart contract (or chaincode executing the logic of the smart contract) may read blockchain data [Ponceleon: para 0051]. However, Ponceleon did not clearly teach “determining, by the one or more processors of the system, activation of the smart contract” and “executing, by the one or more processors of the system and at a worker node, the smart contract by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation”.
Zhu’s invention uses the specified smart contract language to formally represent attributes and terms in natural language contracts, further generate smart contracts. Use the conversion rules over target language to translate the smart legal contracts into executable target language contracts. Each of target language contracts is compiled, further encapsulated as a blockchain transaction which is issued into blockchain via consensus protocol. The deployment of the contracts is completed once the contracting parties sign the target language contracts. Once term of the smart legal contract is triggered, the corresponding functions of the target language contract will be executed by the blockchain nodes, and the execution results are issued to blockchain in a blockchain transaction form. After validation, the transaction is stored into blockchain as an electronic certification of contract execution [Zhu: Abstract]. Smart contract is a computer program that uses a programming language to realize a set of commitment expressions, and now refers to a program or script which runs on the blockchain, and has characteristics of automatic execution, tamper proof, traceability, etc. The conversion from traditional contract to smart contract and the improvement of contract form automation, standardization and digitalization will help to promote the electronic development of law, economy, and other aspects [Zhu: para 0002]. As such, Zhu provides the motivation to provide conversion from traditional contract to smart contract and the improvement of contract form automation, standardization and digitalization will help to promote the electronic development of law, economy, and other aspects. Zhu further discusses machine code refers to the program code that can be directly processed by the computer, which is compiled and generated by the target language program, including program intermediate code, binary code, etc. The module of smart legal contract is used to formally represent the attributes and terms in natural language contracts, further generate the smart contracts according to the specified smart contract language. The conversion module of target language contract is used to translate the smart legal contracts into executable target language contracts according to the conversion rules over target language. These conversion rules refer to a specified conversion mechanism which is used to realize time sequence control, default detection, party management and trigger mechanisms. The module to deploy smart contract is used to compile each of target language contracts, further encapsulate these contracts as blockchain transactions which are issued into blockchain via consensus protocol. The module of contract execution and verification is used to execute the functions of the target language contract by the blockchain nodes once the corresponding terms of the smart legal contract are triggered, further issue the execution results to blockchain in a blockchain transaction form after the execution termination. The transaction is stored into blockchain as an electronic certification of contract execution after the transaction contents are validated by the consensus protocol [Zhu: para 0016-0021]. The smart contract was triggered based on terms suggest the activation of the smart contract was determined and that the translation of the contracts into executable target language contracts per the conversion rules suggest the smart contract executed by running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation. Zhu obviously suggest “determining, by the one or more processors of the system, activation of the smart contract” and “executing, by the one or more processors of the system and at a worker node, the smart contract by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu with Ponceleon to teach “determining, by the one or more processors of the system, activation of the smart contract” and “executing, by the one or more processors of the system and at a worker node, the smart contract by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation” for the reason to provide conversion from traditional contract to smart contract and the improvement of contract form automation, standardization and digitalization will help to promote the electronic development of law, economy, and other aspects [Zhu: para 0002].
Claim 2: Ponceleon: para 0052 [the high-level programming language suggesting Go]; discussing the method of claim 1, wherein the high-level programming language is Go.
Claim 3: Ponceleon: para 0052 [smart contract may include executable code]; discussing the method of claim 1, wherein the smart contract comprises executable code in one or more target architectures.
Claim 4: Objected
Claim 5: Ponceleon: para 0038, 0044 [smart contract provide data to an external service which can generate a software dependency model of a library]; discussing the method of claim 1, wherein the predefined list of supported libraries includes an oracle library for interacting with external data.
As per claim 6: Ponceleon, et al. teaches a system, comprising:
one or more processors; and [Ponceleon: para 0002]
memory storing executable instructions that, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors [Ponceleon: para 0002], cause the system to at least:
determine a smart contract written in a high-level programming language [Ponceleon: para 0052; A smart contract may be created via a high-level application and programming language, and then written to a block in the blockchain] that is able to utilize a predefined list of supported libraries in a containerized environment [Ponceleon: para 0037; a smart contract can access to libraries based on metadata that is managed on the blockchain. Para 0080; the blockchain peer determine whether the library already exists on the blockchain by comparing a name of the software library to a known list of software libraries that are stored within a world state database, etc. The smart contract may update the previously stored metadata of the library which was previously stored. The list of libraries that exist and updated stored in a database suggest a smart contract determined that is able to utilize the predefined list of supported libraries in the containerized environment], wherein the smart contract comprises precompiled native executable code built for at least one target architecture; [Ponceleon: para 0050; The blockchain architecture configuration of FIG. 2A process and execute program/application code and services provided, by blockchain platform. The code control blockchain assets. For example, the code store and transfer data, and executed by nodes in the form of a smart contract and associated chaincode with conditions or other code elements subject to its execution. Thus, the code store and transfer data suggest smart contract comprises precompiled native executable code and that the code is applicable for the target architecture]
deploy the smart contract to a blockchain network; [Ponceleon: para 0037; a smart contract (i.e., software logic) which is deployed as chaincode on a blockchain peer. More examples on para 0054]
**determine activation of the smart contract; [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
**cause execution of the smart contract at a worker node of the blockchain network by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation; and [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
cause validation of correct execution of the smart contract at a validator node of the blockchain network. [Ponceleon: para 0052; A transaction is an execution of the smart contract logic which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied. The executing of the smart contract may trigger a trusted modification(s) to a state of a digital blockchain ledger. Para 0054; A chaincode may include the code interpretation (e.g., the logic) of a smart contract where the chaincode include a packaged and deployable version of the logic within the smart contract. The chaincode is a program code deployed on a computing network, where it is executed and validated by chain validators together during a consensus process. By the smart contract logic is performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied or the code interpretation where the chaincode include deployable version of the logic suggest the validating correct execution of the smart contract]
Ponceleon discloses the blockchain node initiate a blockchain authentication and seek to write to a blockchain immutable ledger stored in blockchain layer, a copy stored on the underpinning physical infrastructure. The blockchain configuration execute stored program/application code (e.g., chaincode, smart contracts, etc.) which can be created according to a customized configuration [Ponceleon: para 0049]. This suggest the initiation of the blockchain authentication that determine to write to the blockchain and execute the smart contract. Ponceleon also suggest “executing, by the one or more processors of the system and at a worker node, the smart contract” by disclosing the smart contract (or chaincode executing the logic of the smart contract) may read blockchain data [Ponceleon: para 0051]. However, Ponceleon did not clearly teach “determining, by the one or more processors of the system, activation of the smart contract” and “executing, by the one or more processors of the system and at a worker node, the smart contract by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation”.
Zhu’s invention uses the specified smart contract language to formally represent attributes and terms in natural language contracts, further generate smart contracts. Use the conversion rules over target language to translate the smart legal contracts into executable target language contracts. Each of target language contracts is compiled, further encapsulated as a blockchain transaction which is issued into blockchain via consensus protocol. The deployment of the contracts is completed once the contracting parties sign the target language contracts. Once term of the smart legal contract is triggered, the corresponding functions of the target language contract will be executed by the blockchain nodes, and the execution results are issued to blockchain in a blockchain transaction form. After validation, the transaction is stored into blockchain as an electronic certification of contract execution [Zhu: Abstract]. Smart contract is a computer program that uses a programming language to realize a set of commitment expressions, and now refers to a program or script which runs on the blockchain, and has characteristics of automatic execution, tamper proof, traceability, etc. The conversion from traditional contract to smart contract and the improvement of contract form automation, standardization and digitalization will help to promote the electronic development of law, economy, and other aspects [Zhu: para 0002]. As such, Zhu provides the motivation to provide conversion from traditional contract to smart contract and the improvement of contract form automation, standardization and digitalization will help to promote the electronic development of law, economy, and other aspects. Zhu further discusses machine code refers to the program code that can be directly processed by the computer, which is compiled and generated by the target language program, including program intermediate code, binary code, etc. The module of smart legal contract is used to formally represent the attributes and terms in natural language contracts, further generate the smart contracts according to the specified smart contract language. The conversion module of target language contract is used to translate the smart legal contracts into executable target language contracts according to the conversion rules over target language. These conversion rules refer to a specified conversion mechanism which is used to realize time sequence control, default detection, party management and trigger mechanisms. The module to deploy smart contract is used to compile each of target language contracts, further encapsulate these contracts as blockchain transactions which are issued into blockchain via consensus protocol. The module of contract execution and verification is used to execute the functions of the target language contract by the blockchain nodes once the corresponding terms of the smart legal contract are triggered, further issue the execution results to blockchain in a blockchain transaction form after the execution termination. The transaction is stored into blockchain as an electronic certification of contract execution after the transaction contents are validated by the consensus protocol [Zhu: para 0016-0021]. The smart contract was triggered based on terms suggest the activation of the smart contract was determined and that the translation of the contracts into executable target language contracts per the conversion rules suggest the smart contract executed by running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation. Zhu obviously suggest “determining, by the one or more processors of the system, activation of the smart contract” and “cause execution of the smart contract at a worker node of the blockchain network by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu with Ponceleon to teach “determining, by the one or more processors of the system, activation of the smart contract” and “cause execution of the smart contract at a worker node of the blockchain network by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation” for the reason to provide conversion from traditional contract to smart contract and the improvement of contract form automation, standardization and digitalization will help to promote the electronic development of law, economy, and other aspects [Zhu: para 0002].
Claim 7: Ponceleon: para 0052 [the high-level programming language suggest the language may be Go]; discussing the system of claim 6, wherein the high-level programming language is Go.
Claim 8: Ponceleon: para 0052 [smart contract may include executable code]; discussing the system of claim 6, wherein the smart contract comprises executable code in one or more target architectures.
Claim 9: Objected
Claim 10: Ponceleon: para 0038, 0044 [smart contract provide data to an external service which can generate a software dependency model of a library]; discussing the system of claim 6, wherein the predefined list of supported libraries includes an oracle library for interacting with external data.
As per claim 11: Ponceleon, et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to:
determine a smart contract written in a high-level programming language [Ponceleon: para 0052; A smart contract may be created via a high-level application and programming language, and then written to a block in the blockchain] that is able to utilize a predefined list of supported libraries in a containerized environment [Ponceleon: para 0037; a smart contract can access to libraries based on metadata that is managed on the blockchain. Para 0080; the blockchain peer determines whether the library already exists on the blockchain by comparing a name of the software library to a known list of software libraries that are stored within a world state database, etc. The smart contract may update the previously stored metadata of the library which was previously stored. The list of libraries that exist and updated stored in a database suggest a smart contract determined that is able to utilize the predefined list of supported libraries in the containerized environment], wherein the smart contract comprises precompiled native executable code built for at least one target architecture; [Ponceleon: para 0050; The blockchain architecture configuration of FIG. 2A process and execute program/application code and services provided, by blockchain platform. The code control blockchain assets. For example, the code store and transfer data, and executed by nodes in the form of a smart contract and associated chaincode with conditions or other code elements subject to its execution. Thus, the code store and transfer data suggest smart contract comprises precompiled native executable code and that the code is applicable for the target architecture]
deploy the smart contract to a blockchain network; [Ponceleon: para 0037; a smart contract (i.e., software logic) which is deployed as chaincode on a blockchain peer. More examples on para 0054]
**determine activation of the smart contract; [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
**cause execution of the smart contract at a worker node of the blockchain network by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation; and [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
cause validation of correct execution of the smart contract at a validator node of the blockchain network. [Ponceleon: para 0052; A transaction is an execution of the smart contract logic which can be performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied. The executing of the smart contract may trigger a trusted modification(s) to a state of a digital blockchain ledger. Para 0054; A chaincode may include the code interpretation (e.g., the logic) of a smart contract where the chaincode include a packaged and deployable version of the logic within the smart contract. The chaincode is a program code deployed on a computing network, where it is executed and validated by chain validators together during a consensus process. By the smart contract logic is performed in response to conditions associated with the smart contract being satisfied or the code interpretation where the chaincode include deployable version of the logic suggest the validating correct execution of the smart contract]
Ponceleon discloses the blockchain node initiate a blockchain authentication and seek to write to a blockchain immutable ledger stored in blockchain layer, a copy stored on the underpinning physical infrastructure. The blockchain configuration execute stored program/application code (e.g., chaincode, smart contracts, etc.) which can be created according to a customized configuration [Ponceleon: para 0049]. This suggest the initiation of the blockchain authentication that determine to write to the blockchain and execute the smart contract. Ponceleon also suggest “executing, by the one or more processors of the system and at a worker node, the smart contract” by disclosing the smart contract (or chaincode executing the logic of the smart contract) may read blockchain data [Ponceleon: para 0051]. However, Ponceleon did not clearly teach “determining, by the one or more processors of the system, activation of the smart contract” and “cause execution of the smart contract at a worker node of the blockchain network by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation”.
Zhu’s invention uses the specified smart contract language to formally represent attributes and terms in natural language contracts, further generate smart contracts. Use the conversion rules over target language to translate the smart legal contracts into executable target language contracts. Each of target language contracts is compiled, further encapsulated as a blockchain transaction which is issued into blockchain via consensus protocol. The deployment of the contracts is completed once the contracting parties sign the target language contracts. Once term of the smart legal contract is triggered, the corresponding functions of the target language contract will be executed by the blockchain nodes, and the execution results are issued to blockchain in a blockchain transaction form. After validation, the transaction is stored into blockchain as an electronic certification of contract execution [Zhu: Abstract]. Smart contract is a computer program that uses a programming language to realize a set of commitment expressions, and now refers to a program or script which runs on the blockchain, and has characteristics of automatic execution, tamper proof, traceability, etc. The conversion from traditional contract to smart contract and the improvement of contract form automation, standardization and digitalization will help to promote the electronic development of law, economy, and other aspects [Zhu: para 0002]. As such, Zhu provides the motivation to provide conversion from traditional contract to smart contract and the improvement of contract form automation, standardization and digitalization will help to promote the electronic development of law, economy, and other aspects. Zhu further discusses machine code refers to the program code that can be directly processed by the computer, which is compiled and generated by the target language program, including program intermediate code, binary code, etc. The module of smart legal contract is used to formally represent the attributes and terms in natural language contracts, further generate the smart contracts according to the specified smart contract language. The conversion module of target language contract is used to translate the smart legal contracts into executable target language contracts according to the conversion rules over target language. These conversion rules refer to a specified conversion mechanism which is used to realize time sequence control, default detection, party management and trigger mechanisms. The module to deploy smart contract is used to compile each of target language contracts, further encapsulate these contracts as blockchain transactions which are issued into blockchain via consensus protocol. The module of contract execution and verification is used to execute the functions of the target language contract by the blockchain nodes once the corresponding terms of the smart legal contract are triggered, further issue the execution results to blockchain in a blockchain transaction form after the execution termination. The transaction is stored into blockchain as an electronic certification of contract execution after the transaction contents are validated by the consensus protocol [Zhu: para 0016-0021]. The smart contract was triggered based on terms suggest the activation of the smart contract was determined and that the translation of the contracts into executable target language contracts per the conversion rules suggest the smart contract executed by running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation. As such, Zhu obviously suggest “cause execution of the smart contract at a worker node of the blockchain network by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhu with Ponceleon to teach “determining, by the one or more processors of the system, activation of the smart contract” and “cause execution of the smart contract at a worker node of the blockchain network by at least running the precompiled native executable code directly on the target architecture in the containerized environment without additional compilation or interpretation” for the reason to provide conversion from traditional contract to smart contract and the improvement of contract form automation, standardization and digitalization will help to promote the electronic development of law, economy, and other aspects [Zhu: para 0002].
Claim 12: Ponceleon: para 0052 [the high-level programming language suggest the language may be Go]; discussing the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the high-level programming language is Go.
Claim 13: Ponceleon: para 0052 [smart contract may include executable code]; discussing the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the smart contract comprises executable code in one or more target architectures.
Claim 14: Objected
Claim 15: Ponceleon: para 0038, 0044 [smart contract provide data to an external service which can generate a software dependency model of a library]; discussing the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the predefined list of supported libraries includes an oracle library for interacting with external data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Leynna Truvan
Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/L.TT/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/EDWARD ZEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435