DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 20, line 1, the language, “it is” is unclear.
In claim 24, line 1, the language, “it” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9 and 12-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Josefsson (5,541,612) [cited by applicant].
Regarding claim 1, Josefsson discloses antenna structure comprising a waveguide (title), wherein the waveguide comprises a guide element for guiding waves (fig.1, hollow waveguide 2), a termination structure 10 protruding away from the guide element is provided adjacent to the latter (fig.1).
Josefsson also discloses the guide element is a dielectric waveguide (hollow waveguide 2, fig.1, col5, lines 65+), the antenna structure comprises slots or other perforations 6-8 as radiating elements on one or two or more than two sides (figs1-6), the guide element is a hollow waveguide 2 which comprises a guide channel (channel for E fields propagate through the waveguide), the inner surfaces of which are electrically conductive at least in some areas, wherein the guide channel comprises a first wall which comprises one or more radiating perforations (figs1-6), the guide channel comprises one or more walls and in that the perforations are provided in one, several or all walls (figs1-6), the guide element has a longitudinal axis and in that the termination structure 10 extends in the direction of the longitudinal axis, the termination structure has a different cross-sectional shape than the guide element and/or in that the termination structure is configured as a compact or hollow body (figs1-6), the termination structure is polygonal and/or in that the guide element is closed at one end (figs1-6), the guide channel comprises a third wall which has no perforations, one perforation or several perforations (fig1), the termination structure is located in at least one area where the guide element has radiating perforations in the wall thereof (fig1), the termination structure extends over more than half the length of the guide element (fig1), the termination structure has a side that lies against one side of the guide element (fig1), the termination structure has a side facing away from the side of the guide element from which the termination structure extends (fig1), the side is straight or corrugated or comprises one or more indentations (fig1), the antenna structure comprises exactly one waveguide or guide element or several waveguides or guide elements and/or antenna structures arranged next to and/or on top of each other (fig1), the guide channel is filled with air or with a dielectric (fig1), the waveguide is a hollow waveguide or an antenna, or a filter or a resonator or a coupler or any other high-frequency component (figs1-6), it is flat or conforms to a curved surface shape (fig1), the antenna structure comprises slots or other perforations as radiating elements on one or two or more than two sides (fig1), the cross-section of the guide element is such that its height is less than half its width (fig1), the cross-section of the guide element is rectangular, polygonal, round, rounded or elliptical (fig1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Josefsson (5,541,612) in view of Herting et al (8,098,207) [both cited by applicant].
Josefsson had been discussed but fails to teach the guide channel comprises a second wall, wherein the second wall is a non-radiating side of the hollow waveguide and wherein the termination structure extends from the second wall, the guide channel comprises a fourth wall which comprises a further termination structure, the fourth wall is a non-radiating side of the hollow waveguide. However, Herting et al teach the termination structures extend from the second wall which is not the radiating face of the hollow waveguide and the hollow waveguides also each have a second termination structure on the fourth side (figs4,7-9). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide Josefsson with the guide channel comprises a second wall, wherein the second wall is a non-radiating side of the hollow waveguide and wherein the termination structure extends from the second wall, the guide channel comprises a fourth wall which comprises a further termination structure, the fourth wall is a non-radiating side of the hollow waveguide for the purpose of suppressing cross polarization of radio frequencies between the waveguides.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Josefsson (5,541,612) in view of Kumpfbeck et al (6,259,415).
Josefsson had been discussed but fails to teach the hollow waveguides slotted on one side, with their backs against each other, as well as a power divider for feeding the hollow waveguides. However, Kumpfbeck et al teach a power divider for feeding the slotted waveguides (claim 8). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide Josefsson with the hollow waveguides slotted on one side, with their backs against each other, as well as a power divider for feeding the hollow waveguides for the purpose of dividing a signal into a number of signals of nominally equal amplitude and equal phase into the waveguides.
Claims 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Josefsson (5,541,612) in view of the publication of WO 2021/165201 A1 [both cited by applicant].
Josefsson had been discussed but fails to teach the guide element is manufactured partially or completely by means of additive methods, the waveguide structure is manufactured monolithically or from several parts, the method comprises immersing the guide element one or more times in an immersion bath containing a dispersion, wherein the dispersion has metal containing particles; the method comprises the step of galvanic or electroless coating of the guide element, one or more slots or other perforations penetrating the walls of the base body are made in the walls of the base body forming the inner surfaces of the base body prior to coating in order to promote the circulation of the dispersion in the cavity or in the area of the inner surfaces. However, the publication of WO 2021/165201 A1 teaches the method of manufacturing using an additive process using SLA printing and also injection molding process is conceivable, the waveguide structure is manufactured monolithically and applying conductive layer to the shape base body by wetting the body with a dispersion containing microparticles (abstract). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide Josefsson with the guide element is manufactured partially or completely by means of additive methods, the waveguide structure is manufactured monolithically or from several parts, the method comprises immersing the guide element one or more times in an immersion bath containing a dispersion, wherein the dispersion has metal containing particles; the method comprises the step of galvanic or electroless coating of the guide element, one or more slots or other perforations penetrating the walls of the base body are made in the walls of the base body forming the inner surfaces of the base body prior to coating in order to promote the circulation of the dispersion in the cavity or in the area of the inner surfaces for the purpose of providing a cost effective to manufacture the waveguides antenna assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The patents to Bencivenni, Achour, Jordan, Poulson and Manasson are cited as of interested and illustrated a similar structure to an antenna structure.
/THO G PHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845