Status of Claims
Examined Herein: 1-9, 19-22, 32-34, 48-51
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority under based upon an application filed in PRO 63/344,972 on 5/23/2022, PCT/US23/23173 on 5/23/2023, and PRO 63/624,122 on 1/23/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024, 12/13/2024, 12/30/2024, and 11/19/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 11/25/2024 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 19 references Figure 2 and claim 22 references Formula I, without anything more. Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure (e.g., a formula) or table “is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience.” Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted). It is unclear why the specific figure and formulae are not present in the claims. MPEP 2173.05(s). It is suggested that the specific figure and formulae are added to the claims to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 32, 34, and 48-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Small (US 2020/0289676 A1, Published 9/17/2020).
With respect to claim 1, Small discloses a conjugate comprising:
a tumor-targeting near-infrared dye; and
a therapeutic agent;
wherein said near-infrared dye targets said therapeutic agent to tumor cells, thus meeting the limitations of claim 1. [Small, Claim 1, Figure 1]
With respect to claim 32, Small discloses that the therapeutic agent comprises a hyperthermia agent, thus meeting the limitations of claim 32. [Small, Claim 10-18]
With respect to claim 34, Small discloses that the hyperthermia agent comprises a metal or semiconducting nanoparticle, which is heatable in an electromagnetic field, thus meeting the limitations of claim 34. [Small, Claim 11-18, Figure 3, 0040, 0078]
With respect to claim 48, Small discloses that said therapeutic agent comprises a chemotherapeutic agent, thus meeting the limitations of claim 48. [Small, Claim 34-35, Figure 5]
With respect to claim 49, Small discloses that the conjugate comprises a pharmacologically active form of said chemotherapeutic agent including bleomycin, bortezomib, chlorambucil, daunorubicin, doxorubicin, epirubicin, epothilone, etoposide, hydroxyurea, idarubicin, imatinib, mechlorethamine, methotrexate, mitoxantrone, paclitaxel, pemetrexed, teniposide, topotecan, valrubicin, vemurafenib, vinblastine, vincristine, and vindesine, thus meeting the limitations of claim 49. [Small, 0055, 0056, Claim 35]
With respect to claim 50, Small discloses that the conjugate comprises a prodrug form of said chemotherapeutic agent including azathioprine, capecitabine, cyclophosphamide, doxifluridine, and irinotecan, thus meeting the limitations of claim 50. [Small, 0055]
With respect to claim 51, Small discloses that the near-infrared dye and the chemotherapeutic agent are covalently bound via a linker, thus meeting the limitations of claim 51. [Small, Figure 5]
Claims 1-9, 20-22, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Krutak (US 2018/0327427 A1, Published 11/15/2018).
With respect to claim 1, Krutak discloses a conjugate comprising:
a tumor-targeting near-infrared dye; and
a therapeutic agent (gold nanoparticle);
wherein said near-infrared dye targets said therapeutic agent to tumor cells, thus meeting the limitations of claim 1. [Krutak, 0014, 0015]
[Krutak, 0015, Scheme 3, Compound 7]
Wherein:
R1 is H, CN, COOH, Cl, OH, or OMe
R2 is SO3-
With respect to claim 2, Krutak discloses that the near-infrared dye comprises a zwitterion, -N+-(CH2)3-SO3-, when R2 is -SO3-, thus meeting the limitations of claim 2. MPEP 2131.02(III). [Krutak, 0015, Scheme 3, Compound 7]
With respect to claim 3, a zwitterion necessarily comprises both positively and negatively charged groups. Still, Krutak discloses that the zwitterion comprises both positively charged (N+) and negatively charged (SO3-) groups, thus meeting the limitations of claim 3. [Krutak, 0015, Scheme 3, Compound 7]
With respect to claim 4, a zwitterion necessarily comprises an overall neutral charge. Still, the zwitterion disclosed by Krutak comprises an overall neutral charge, thus meeting the limitations of claim 4. [Krutak, 0015, Scheme 3, Compound 7]
With respect to claims 5-9, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties the applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP 2112.01(II). Krutak discloses a composition substantially identical to the composition of claim 3. Therefore, the properties of the zwitterion comprised in the near-infrared dye are necessarily present.
With respect to claims 20-21, Krutak discloses that the near-infrared dye comprises a heptamethine cyanine dye, thus meeting the limitations of claims 20-21. [Krutak, 0015, Scheme 3, Compound 7]
With respect to claim 22, Krutak discloses that the heptamethine cyanine dye has a structure according to Formula (I):
[Structure edited by Examiner based on the description of Compound 7 when R1 is -OMe and R2 is SO3- disclosed by Krutak. Structure is not explicitly depicted in reference. For illustration purposes only.][Krutak, 0015, Scheme 3, Compound 7]
Wherein,
R1 is an alkylsulfonate, -(CH2)3-(SO3-)
R2 is an alkylsulfonate, -(CH2)3-(SO3-)
R3 is C1 alkyl
R4 is C1 alkyl
R5 is C1 alkyl
R6 is C1 alkyl
R7 is an unsubstituted alkoxyl group (-OMe)
R8 is an unsubstituted alkoxyl group (-OMe)
X is absent because another covalently linked anion moiety is present in the dye molecule
Y is O
n is 1; thus meeting the limitations of claim 22.
While Krutak does not “expressly spell out” the embodiment wherein R1 is -OMe and R2 is SO3-, a person of skill in the art would ‘at once envisage’ the claimed arrangement in view of the limited number of combination possibilities of R1 and R2. Krutak effectively teaches 30 combinations for R1 and R2, of which one combination anticipates the claimed arrangement. MPEP 2131.02(III).
With respect to claim 32, Krutak discloses that said therapeutic agent comprises a hyperthermia agent (a gold nanoparticle), thus meeting the limitations of claim 32. [Krutak, 0015, Scheme 3, Compound 7]
With respect to claim 33, Krutak discloses that said therapeutic agent comprises a photothermal agent (a gold nanoparticle), thus meeting the limitations of claim 33. [Krutak, 0015, Scheme 3, Compound 7]
With respect to claim 34, Krutak discloses that the hyperthermia agent comprises a metal (gold), which is heatable in an electromagnetic field, thus meeting the limitations of claim 34. [Krutak, 0013]
Claims 1-9, 20-22, and 48-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hansen (US 2019/0282661 A1, Published 9/19/2019).
With respect to claim 1, Hansen discloses a conjugate comprising:
a tumor-targeting near-infrared dye; and
a therapeutic agent, a polypeptide that treats cancer or a polypeptide that treats cancer further conjugated to a therapeutic agent,
wherein said near-infrared dye targets said therapeutic agent to tumor cells, thus meeting the limitations of claim 1. [Hansen, 0030, 0031, 0054-0056, 0343, 0333, 0340, 0444]
With respect to claim 2, Hansen discloses that the near-infrared dye comprises a zwitterion, -N+-(CH2)3-SO3-, thus meeting the limitations of claim 2. [Hansen, 0054]
With respect to claim 3, a zwitterion necessarily comprises both positively and negatively charged groups. Still, Hansen discloses that the zwitterion comprises both positively charged (N+) and negatively charged (SO3-) groups, thus meeting the limitations of claim 3. [Hansen, 0054]
With respect to claim 4, a zwitterion necessarily comprises an overall neutral charge. Still, the zwitterion disclosed by Hansen comprises an overall neutral charge, thus meeting the limitations of claim 4. [Hansen, 0054]
With respect to claims 5-9, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties the applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. MPEP 2112.01(II). Hansen discloses a composition substantially identical to the composition of claim 3. Therefore, the properties of the zwitterion comprised in the near-infrared dye are necessarily present. [Hansen, 0054]
With respect to claims 20-21, Hansen discloses that the near-infrared dye comprises a heptamethine cyanine dye, thus meeting the limitations of claims 20-21. [Hansen, 0054]
With respect to claim 22, Hansen discloses that the heptamethine cyanine dye has a structure according to Formula (I):
[Hansen, 0343, Compound 45]
Wherein:
R1 is an alkylsulfonate, -(CH2)4-(SO3-)
R2 is a substituted alkyl, -(CH2)4-(CO)
R3 is C1 alkyl
R4 is C1 alkyl
R5 is C1 alkyl
R6 is C1 alkyl
R7 is a substituted aryl group
R8 is a substituted aryl group
X is absent because another covalently linked anion moiety is present in the dye molecule
Y is Cl
n is 1; thus meeting the limitations of claim 22. [Hansen, 0343, Compound 45]
With respect to claim 48, Hansen discloses that the therapeutic agent comprises a chemotherapeutic agent, thus meeting the limitations of claim 48. [Hansen, 0056, 0340]
With respect to claim 49, Hansen discloses that the conjugate comprises a prodrug form of said chemotherapeutic agent including cisplatin, carboplatin, oxaliplatin, campthotecin, paclitaxel, chlorambucil, melphlan, busulfan, carmustine, topotecan, fluorouracil, vincristine, vinblastine, altretamine, methotrexate, pemetrexed, mercaptopurine, thioguanine, cladribine, cytarabine, azacitidine, etoposide, teniposide, docetaxel, doxorubicin, daunorubicin, dactinomycin, idarubicin, mitomycin, bleomycin, and mitoxantrone, thus meeting the limitations of claim 49. [Hansen, 0056, 0340]
With respect to claim 50, Hansen discloses that the conjugate comprises a prodrug form of said chemotherapeutic agent including, irinotecan, fludarabine phosphate, procarbazine, dacarbazine, cyclophosphamide, ifosfamide, and temozolomide, thus meeting the limitations of claim 50. [Hansen, 0056, 0340]
With respect to claim 51, Hansen discloses that the near-infrared dye and the chemotherapeutic agent are covalently bound via a linker, thus meeting the limitations of claim 51. [Hansen, 0031, 0054-0056, 0343]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 19, 20-22, and 48-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen, as applied to claims 1-9, 20-22, and 48-51 above, and further in view of Ptacin (US 2020/0181220 A1, Published 6/11/2020).
With respect to claims 1-3 and 5-8, Hansen discloses the teachings above.
With respect to claims 2-4 and 19, Hansen discloses that the conjugate may further comprise a zwitterion (zwitterionic water-soluble polymer). [Hansen, 0333-0334]
Hansen does not disclose that the zwitterion comprises a molecule shown in Figure 2.
However, with respect to claim 19, Ptacin discloses that poly(sulfobetaine methacrylate) (PSBMA), poly(carboxybetaine methacrylate) (PCBMA), and poly(2-methyacryloyloxyethyl phosphorylcholine) (PMPC) are zwitterionic, water-soluble polymers. [Ptacin, 0151]
PSBMA comprises the following molecule shown in Figure 2:
PCBMA comprises the following molecule shown in Figure 2:
PMPC comprises the following molecule shown in Figure 2:
Modifying the conjugate disclosed by Hansen by selecting PSBMA, PCBMA, or PMPC as the zwitterionic, water-soluble polymer results in the conjugate of claim 19.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the conjugate disclosed by Hansen by selecting PSBMA, PCBMA, or PMPC as the zwitterionic, water-soluble polymer and have a reasonable expectation of success. Hansen discloses a conjugate comprising a tumor-targeting near-infrared dye, a therapeutic agent, and a zwitterionic water-soluble polymer. Ptacin discloses that PSBMA, PCBMA, and PMPC are zwitterionic, water-soluble polymers. Accordingly, the combined teachings of Hansen and Ptacin reasonably suggest that PSBMA, PCBMA, and PMPC may serve as the zwitterionic, water-soluble polymer comprised in the conjugate disclosed by Hansen. One would have been motivated to do so because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.07. In the present case, the selection of PSBMA, PCBMA, or PMPC based on their suitability as zwitterionic, water-soluble polymers for use in the conjugate disclosed by Hansen is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting (Statutory)
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1 and 2 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1 and 7 of copending Application No. 19/035,666 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Double Patenting (Non-Statutory)
Claims 1, 48, 49, and 51 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,599,682 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the reference claims 1-9 falls within the scope of the examined claims 1, 48, 49, and/or 51. Therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus.
Claims 1, 48, 49, 50, and 51 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of copending Application No. 19/677,956 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the reference claims 1-31 falls within the scope of the examined claims 1, 48, 49, 50, and/or 51. Therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9, 19-22, 32-34, and 48-51 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-6, and 8-37 of copending Application No. 19/035,666 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the reference claims 2-6 and 8-37 falls within the scope or overlaps with the scope of the examined claims 1-9, 19-22, 32-34, and/or 48-51. The overlap arises because both sets of claims encompass a conjugate comprising a tumor-targeting NIR dye covalently bound to a therapeutic agent and recite additional features common to both claim sets. Therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 32, 34, and 48-51 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 34, 35, 39-41, 67-68, and 81-101 of copending Application No. 19/646,946 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the reference claims 1-9, 34, 35, 39-41, 67-68, and 81-101 falls within the scope of, or overlaps with the scope of, the examined claims 1, 32, 34, and/or 48-51. The overlap arises because both sets of claims encompass a conjugate comprising a tumor-targeting NIR dye covalently bound to a therapeutic agent and recite additional features common to both claim sets. Therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9, 19-22, 32-34, and 48-51 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-99 and 104-120 of copending Application No. 19/830,899 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the reference claims 1-99 and 104-120 falls within the scope of, or overlaps with the scope of, the examined claims 1-9, 19-22, 32-34, and/or 48-51. The overlap arises because both sets of claims encompass a conjugate comprising a tumor-targeting NIR dye covalently bound to a therapeutic agent and recite additional features common to both claim sets. Therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/K.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618