DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 11/25/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2024 and 11/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Nitsch et al. (WO-2015018510-A2, Published: 2015-02-12) hereinafter Nitsch.
Regarding Claim 1, Nitsch discloses a system (110) for swapping an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), the system (110) comprising: a processor (202); and a memory (204) operatively coupled with the processor (202), wherein said memory (204) stores instructions, which when executed by the processor (202), cause the processor (202) (Nitsch, Figs. 1-2, par. 35; As can be seen from FIG. 1, the first PLMN is shown 30 and the second PLMN 40 are at least temporarily in communication with a Subscription Management Server ("SM Server") 50) to: receive a request from a computing device (104), wherein the computing device (104) is connected to the processor (202) via a primary network (106), and wherein the request is based on a conversion of a subscriber identity module (SIM) associated with the computing device (104) from the primary network (106) to a secondary network (108) ) (Nitsch, Figs. 1-2, par. 40; The operation of the SM server 50 in conjunction with the other elements of the communication system 10 shown in Figure 1 will now be described in connection with a preferred embodiment of the invention with further reference to Figure 2, in the case where initially only the (provisional ) first subscription profile 18 A on the security element 14 is present. However, it will be apparent to those skilled in the art from the detailed description given below that the present invention may also be used to advantage in the event that, in addition to the (provisional) first subscription profile 18A the second subscription profile 18B (and, if appropriate, further subscription profiles) is already present on the security element 14.);determine that an applet mechanism is enabled; determine, via the applet mechanism, a preliminary check for the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 3, par. 42; With reference to FIG. 3, which shows a schematic representation of the state diagrams of the first subscription 18A, the second subscription 18B and the SM applet 16, it is intended to explain in which states the first subscription 18A, the second subscription 18B and the SM Applet 16 are preferably located in the individual steps of the method shown in Figure 1. The combinations of letters and numbers used in FIG. 3 designate the following states: in the case of the subscription 18A, the states AI ("new"), A2 ("enabled"), A3 ("active") and A4 ( "Disabled"); in the case of the subscription 18B, the states Bl ("new"), B2 ("enabled"), B3 ("active") and B4 ("disabled"); and for the SM applet 16 the states SO ("idle"), S1 ("send acknowledgment"), S2 ("error") and S3 ("send final confirmation")); determine if a replacement of an IMSI of the primary network (106) is done with an IMSI of the secondary network (108) based on the preliminary check; and replace the IMSI of the primary network (106) with the IMSI of the secondary network (108) based on a negative determination of the replacement of the IMSI of the primary network (106) with the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 1-2, par. 41; In step S 1 of FIG. 2, the security element 14 books with the active subscription profile 18 A in the PLMN 30. This step typically involves authenticating the security element 14 to the PLMN 30 using, for example, an IMSI and / or an authentication key Ki that are part of the active subscription profile 18A. After the security element 14 has logged into the PLMN 30 in step S1 and can communicate with the SM server 50 via this, the second subscription profile 18B is downloaded by the security element 14 from the SM server 50 to the security element 14 in step S2 of FIG to subscribe to the second mobile network 40 and to use the services provided by it. In conjunction with the download of the second subscription profile 18B, the SM server 50 may communicate to the security element 14 a plurality of commands, for example, commands for storing the second subscription profile 18B in the non-volatile memory 17 of the security element 14, for deleting the first subscription profile 18A in FIG nonvolatile memory of the security element 14 and the like.).
Regarding claim 7, Nitsch discloses a method for swapping an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), the method comprising: receiving, by a processor (202) associated with a system (110), a request from a computing device (104) associated with a primary network (106), wherein the request is based on a conversion of a subscriber identity module (SIM), associated with the computing device (104), from the primary network (106) to a secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 1-2, par. 35; As can be seen from FIG. 1, the first PLMN is shown 30 and the second PLMN 40 are at least temporarily in communication with a Subscription Management Server ("SM Server") 50) see also par. 40; determining, by the processor (202), that an applet mechanism is enabled; determining, by the processor (202), via the applet mechanism, a preliminary check for the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 3, par. 42; With reference to FIG. 3, which shows a schematic representation of the state diagrams of the first subscription 18A, the second subscription 18B and the SM applet 16, it is intended to explain in which states the first subscription 18A, the second subscription 18B and the SM Applet 16 are preferably located in the individual steps of the method shown in Figure 1. The combinations of letters and numbers used in FIG. 3 designate the following states: in the case of the subscription 18A, the states AI ("new"), A2 ("enabled"), A3 ("active") and A4 ( "Disabled"); in the case of the subscription 18B, the states Bl ("new"), B2 ("enabled"), B3 ("active") and B4 ("disabled"); and for the SM applet 16 the states SO ("idle"), S1 ("send acknowledgment"), S2 ("error") and S3 ("send final confirmation")); determining, by the processor (202), if a replacement of an IMSI of the primary network (106) is done with an IMSI of the secondary network (108) based on the preliminary check; and replacing, by the processor (202), the IMSI of the primary network (106) with the IMSI of the secondary network (108) based on a negative determination of the replacement of the IMSI of the primary network (106) with the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 1-2, par. 41; In step S 1 of FIG. 2, the security element 14 books with the active subscription profile 18 A in the PLMN 30. This step typically involves authenticating the security element 14 to the PLMN 30 using, for example, an IMSI and / or an authentication key Ki that are part of the active subscription profile 18A. After the security element 14 has logged into the PLMN 30 in step S1 and can communicate with the SM server 50 via this, the second subscription profile 18B is downloaded by the security element 14 from the SM server 50 to the security element 14 in step S2 of FIG to subscribe to the second mobile network 40 and to use the services provided by it. In conjunction with the download of the second subscription profile 18B, the SM server 50 may communicate to the security element 14 a plurality of commands, for example, commands for storing the second subscription profile 18B in the non-volatile memory 17 of the security element 14, for deleting the first subscription profile 18A in FIG nonvolatile memory of the security element 14 and the like.).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Nitsch discloses the system and method according to claims 1 and 7, wherein the processor (202) is to refuse the request from the computing device (104) based on the applet mechanism being disabled. (Nitsch, Figs. 2-3, par. 46; In the event that the security element 14 receives a command from the SM server 50 that is not compatible with the state of one of the subscription profiles, for example activating the subscription profile 18B in the state B1 ("new"), ie without a prior check for integrity, then SM applet 16 preferably transitions to state S2 ("error"). Preferably, this transition contains an error message to the SM server 50. The SM applet 16 remains in this state until the security element 14 receives a command from the SM server 50, from the state S2 ("error") to the state SO ("idle"). ) to return. As soon as the SM applet 16 is again in the state SO ("idle"), this can again execute commands of the SM server 50)
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Nitsch discloses the system and method according to claims 1 and 7, wherein the processor (202) is to disable the applet mechanism based on a positive determination of the replacement of the IMSI of the primary network (106) with the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 2-3, par. 46; In the event that the security element 14 receives a command from the SM server 50 that is not compatible with the state of one of the subscription profiles, for example activating the subscription profile 18B in the state B1 ("new"), ie without a prior check for integrity, then SM applet 16 preferably transitions to state S2 ("error"). Preferably, this transition contains an error message to the SM server 50. The SM applet 16 remains in this state until the security element 14 receives a command from the SM server 50, from the state S2 ("error") to the state SO ("idle"). ) to return. As soon as the SM applet 16 is again in the state SO ("idle"), this can again execute commands of the SM server 50).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Nitsch discloses the system and method according to claims 1 and 7, wherein the processor (202) is to update a public land mobile network (PLMN) code associated with the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 2-3, par. 46; By means of the command "DEACTIVATE SUB 18A" in step S5 of FIG. 2, the first subscription profile 18A transitions from the state A3 ("active") to the state A2 ("enabled"), ie the SM applet 16 points to the first subscription profile 18A now the state A2 ("enabled"). In this state, the first subscription profile 18 A could be reactivated. However, since a change is to be made to the second subscription profile 18B which has been downloaded from SM server 50 in step S2 of Fig. 2, a transition of the second subscription profile 18B from the state occurs in step S6 of Fig. 2 by means of the "ACTIVATE SUB 18B" command B2 ("enabled") in the state B3 ("active"). The person skilled in the art will recognize that, in addition to the state transition of the second subscription profile 18B to the state B3 ("active"), the command "ACTIVATE SUB 18B" has further effects. Such as replacing the previously used subscription authorization data of the first subscription profile 18A, in particular an IMSI, which identifies the user in the first mobile network 30, by the subscription authorization data of the second subscription profile 18B, in particular an IMSI, the user in the second mobile network 30, or placing the first subscription profile 18A in the state A4 ("disabled"), if it should no longer be suitable for logging into the PLMN 30 and should be deleted, for example. The person skilled in the art will recognize that the commands shown in FIG. 2 and described above are only examples. For example, the commands "DEACTIVATE SUB 18A" and "ACTIVATE SUB 18B" could be replaced by a single command "SWITCH TO SUB 18B", which would lead to the same result, namely that the first subscription profile 18A would be in state A2 (" enabled ") and the second subscription profile 18B is raised to the state B3 (" active "). In other words, with the command "SWITCH TO SUB 18B", implicitly the first subscription profile 18A could be deactivated. After in steps S5 and S6 of FIG. 2, the first subscription profile 18A is in the state A2 ("enabled") or possibly in the state A4 ("disabled") and the second subscription profile 18B is in the state B3 ("active"). have been ignored, the security element 14 is now able to log in the PLMN 40 in step S7 of Figure 2 with the now active second subscription profile 18B).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Nitsch discloses the system and method according to claims 1 and 7, wherein the processor (202) is to use one or more elementary files (EFs) to replace the IMSI of the primary network (106) with the IMSI of the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 2-3, par. 46; By means of the command "DEACTIVATE SUB 18A" in step S5 of FIG. 2, the first subscription profile 18A transitions from the state A3 ("active") to the state A2 ("enabled"), ie the SM applet 16 points to the first subscription profile 18A now the state A2 ("enabled"). In this state, the first subscription profile 18 A could be reactivated. However, since a change is to be made to the second subscription profile 18B which has been downloaded from SM server 50 in step S2 of Fig. 2, a transition of the second subscription profile 18B from the state occurs in step S6 of Fig. 2 by means of the "ACTIVATE SUB 18B" command B2 ("enabled") in the state B3 ("active"). The person skilled in the art will recognize that, in addition to the state transition of the second subscription profile 18B to the state B3 ("active"), the command "ACTIVATE SUB 18B" has further effects. Such as replacing the previously used subscription authorization data of the first subscription profile 18A, in particular an IMSI, which identifies the user in the first mobile network 30, by the subscription authorization data of the second subscription profile 18B, in particular an IMSI, the user in the second mobile network 30, or placing the first subscription profile 18A in the state A4 ("disabled"), if it should no longer be suitable for logging into the PLMN 30 and should be deleted, for example. The person skilled in the art will recognize that the commands shown in FIG. 2 and described above are only examples. For example, the commands "DEACTIVATE SUB 18A" and "ACTIVATE SUB 18B" could be replaced by a single command "SWITCH TO SUB 18B", which would lead to the same result, namely that the first subscription profile 18A would be in state A2 (" enabled ") and the second subscription profile 18B is raised to the state B3 (" active "). In other words, with the command "SWITCH TO SUB 18B", implicitly the first subscription profile 18A could be deactivated. After in steps S5 and S6 of FIG. 2, the first subscription profile 18A is in the state A2 ("enabled") or possibly in the state A4 ("disabled") and the second subscription profile 18B is in the state B3 ("active"). have been ignored, the security element 14 is now able to log in the PLMN 40 in step S7 of Figure 2 with the now active second subscription profile 18B).
Regarding claim 12, Nitsch discloses a user equipment (UE) (104) for sending a request, the UE (104) comprising: one or more processors communicatively coupled to a processor (202) associated with a system (108), wherein the one or more processors are coupled with a memory, and wherein said memory stores instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Nitsch, Figs. 1-2, par. 30; An exemplary mobile terminal 12 is shown in FIG. 1 that includes a secure element 14 for securely storing and processing data that uniquely identifies, for example, the mobile terminal 12 and / or its user. As indicated in FIG. 1) see also par. 36-37: transmit the request to the processor (202) via a primary network (106), wherein the request is based on a conversion of a subscriber identity module (SIM), associated with the UE (104), from the primary network (106) to a secondary network (108), wherein the processor (202) is configured to: receive the request from the UE (104); determine that an applet mechanism is enabled; determine, via the applet mechanism, a preliminary check for the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 3, par. 42; With reference to FIG. 3, which shows a schematic representation of the state diagrams of the first subscription 18A, the second subscription 18B and the SM applet 16, it is intended to explain in which states the first subscription 18A, the second subscription 18B and the SM Applet 16 are preferably located in the individual steps of the method shown in Figure 1. The combinations of letters and numbers used in FIG. 3 designate the following states: in the case of the subscription 18A, the states AI ("new"), A2 ("enabled"), A3 ("active") and A4 ( "Disabled"); in the case of the subscription 18B, the states Bl ("new"), B2 ("enabled"), B3 ("active") and B4 ("disabled"); and for the SM applet 16 the states SO ("idle"), S1 ("send acknowledgment"), S2 ("error") and S3 ("send final confirmation")); determine if a replacement of an international mobile subscriber entity (IMSI) of the primary network (106) is done with an IMSI of the secondary network (108) based on the preliminary check; and replace the IMSI of the primary network (106) with the IMSI of the secondary network (108) based on a negative determination of the replacement of the IMSI of the primary network (106) with the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 1-2, par. 41; In step S 1 of FIG. 2, the security element 14 books with the active subscription profile 18 A in the PLMN 30. This step typically involves authenticating the security element 14 to the PLMN 30 using, for example, an IMSI and / or an authentication key Ki that are part of the active subscription profile 18A. After the security element 14 has logged into the PLMN 30 in step S1 and can communicate with the SM server 50 via this, the second subscription profile 18B is downloaded by the security element 14 from the SM server 50 to the security element 14 in step S2 of FIG to subscribe to the second mobile network 40 and to use the services provided by it. In conjunction with the download of the second subscription profile 18B, the SM server 50 may communicate to the security element 14 a plurality of commands, for example, commands for storing the second subscription profile 18B in the non-volatile memory 17 of the security element 14, for deleting the first subscription profile 18A in FIG nonvolatile memory of the security element 14 and the like.).
Regarding claim 13, Nitsch discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a processor with executable instructions, causing the processor to: receive a request via a computing device (104), wherein the request is based on a conversion of a subscriber identity module (SIM), associated with the computing device (104), from a primary network (106) to a secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 1-2, par. 30; An exemplary mobile terminal 12 is shown in FIG. 1 that includes a secure element 14 for securely storing and processing data that uniquely identifies, for example, the mobile terminal 12 and / or its user. As indicated in FIG. 1) see also par. 36-37; determine that an applet mechanism is enabled; determine, via the applet mechanism, a preliminary check for the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 3, par. 42; With reference to FIG. 3, which shows a schematic representation of the state diagrams of the first subscription 18A, the second subscription 18B and the SM applet 16, it is intended to explain in which states the first subscription 18A, the second subscription 18B and the SM Applet 16 are preferably located in the individual steps of the method shown in Figure 1. The combinations of letters and numbers used in FIG. 3 designate the following states: in the case of the subscription 18A, the states AI ("new"), A2 ("enabled"), A3 ("active") and A4 ( "Disabled"); in the case of the subscription 18B, the states Bl ("new"), B2 ("enabled"), B3 ("active") and B4 ("disabled"); and for the SM applet 16 the states SO ("idle"), S1 ("send acknowledgment"), S2 ("error") and S3 ("send final confirmation")); determine if a replacement of an international mobile subscriber entity (IMSI) of the primary network (106) is done with an IMSI of the secondary network (108) based on the preliminary check; and replace the IMSI of the primary network (106) with the IMSI of the secondary network (108) based on a negative determination of the replacement of the IMSI of the primary network (106) with the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 1-2, par. 41; In step S 1 of FIG. 2, the security element 14 books with the active subscription profile 18 A in the PLMN 30. This step typically involves authenticating the security element 14 to the PLMN 30 using, for example, an IMSI and / or an authentication key Ki that are part of the active subscription profile 18A. After the security element 14 has logged into the PLMN 30 in step S1 and can communicate with the SM server 50 via this, the second subscription profile 18B is downloaded by the security element 14 from the SM server 50 to the security element 14 in step S2 of FIG to subscribe to the second mobile network 40 and to use the services provided by it. In conjunction with the download of the second subscription profile 18B, the SM server 50 may communicate to the security element 14 a plurality of commands, for example, commands for storing the second subscription profile 18B in the non-volatile memory 17 of the security element 14, for deleting the first subscription profile 18A in FIG nonvolatile memory of the security element 14 and the like.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitsch et al. (WO-2015018510-A2, Published: 2015-02-12) hereinafter Nitsch in view of Bretagne et al. (US-20210227395-A1, published 2021-07-22) hereinafter Bretagne.
Regarding claim 6 Nitsch discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the applet mechanism is configured to use the one or more EF and update an internet protocol multimedia private identity (IMPI) and an IP multimedia public user identity (IMPU) associated with the secondary network (108) (Nitsch, Figs. 2-3, par. 46; By means of the command "DEACTIVATE SUB 18A" in step S5 of FIG. 2, the first subscription profile 18A transitions from the state A3 ("active") to the state A2 ("enabled"), ie the SM applet 16 points to the first subscription profile 18A now the state A2 ("enabled") … Such as replacing the previously used subscription authorization data of the first subscription profile 18A, in particular an IMSI, which identifies the user in the first mobile network 30, by the subscription authorization data of the second subscription profile 18B, in particular an IMSI, the user in the second mobile network 30, or placing the first subscription profile 18A in the state A4 ("disabled"), if it should no longer be suitable for logging into the PLMN 30 and should be deleted …).
Nitsch does not explicitly disclose the applet mechanism is configured to use the elementary files to update an IMPI and IMPU, however, in analogous art Bretagne discloses a method for personalizing pre-generated profiles wherein a subscription manager data preparation (SM-DP) pre-generates and updates the profiles to the eUICC (Bretagne, par. 7; In order to solve this problem, it is known to download over the air and on demand IMSIs on secure elements like eUICCs. A Subscription Manager Data Preparation (SM-DP) is an element of a telecommunication network which role is to securely download and install operator subscription profiles into eUICCs. The SM-DP securely stores profiles to be provisioned on the eUICCs. The SM-DP manages the installation of these profiles onto the eUICCs) and during this process the IMPU, IMSI or IMPU are updated (Bretagne, par. 18; a first MAC called MAC1 is computed on a first SCP03t block containing the first Profile Elements (PE) like the PE-Header and the PE-MF. A second MAC, called MAC2, is computed by taking into account the content of the second SCP03t block and MAC1. Thus, each MAC takes into account the preceding MAC (each MAC is chained with the previous MAC). This MAC chaining implies that if a data block is modified to inject a diversified data (like for example an IMSI, an IMPI or an IMPU), the SCP03t of the current data block and all the following blocks shall be recomputed, because the MAC of the current data block is changed).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention seeking to update IMPI and IMSU during an IMSI provisioning would have found it obvious to apply Bretagne methods for personalizing and updating protected profiles for eUICC to Nitsch teachings for IMSI swapping to improve over the air profile provisioning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mittal et al. (US 20140051422 A1) Method For Dynamically Updating Home Public Land Mobile Network Value On Subscriber Identification Module Of E.g. Laptop, Involves Overwriting Existing Home Public Land Mobile Network Value On Subscriber Identification Module With New-value. The method involves receiving network values from an identified public land mobile network (PLMN). Determination is made whether the received network values match an existing home public land mobile network (HPLMN) value on a subscriber identification module (SIM) (210). The existing HPLMN value is overwritten on the SIM with new-HPLMN value that includes the received mobile country code value and the received mobile network code value in response to determining that the received network values do not match the existing HPLMN value on the SIM.
Shin et al. (US 10602342 B1) SIM Over-the-air Update For Non-IP Devices. The methods, systems, and computer readable media discussed herein are directed to updating data in a subscriber identity module (SIM) of a user equipment (UE), and more specifically, to enabling the UE, such as a narrow-band (NB) Internet of things (IoT) device, to update data and application(s) in the SIM without using short messaging system (SMS) messages. The UE, upon powering on, may execute an applet installed on the SIM card, and poll the MNO to determine whether data to be downloaded is available. Upon determining that the data to be downloaded is available, the UE may schedule downloading of the data, automatically download the data via an over-the-air (OTA) protocol according to the schedule, and update the SIM with the downloaded data.
Yin et al. (US 10708761 B1) Supporting Multiple Enabled Profiles On Single Embedded Subscriber Identity Module (eSIM) Chip. A method for enabling multiple subscriber identification module (SIM) profiles on a single embedded SIM includes installing a first SIM profile associated with a first mobile communication service that a user subscribes to and installing a second SIM profile associated with a second mobile communication service that the user subscribes to that is different than the first mobile communication service. The method also includes simultaneously enabling the first SIM profile to communicate with data processing hardware via a dedicated first communication interface and the second SIM profile to communicate with the data processing hardware via a dedicated second communication interface. The method also includes when using the enabled first SIM profile and the enabled second SIM profile, connecting to the first mobile communication service and the second mobile communication service simultaneously.
Jiang et al. (US 20160295544 A1) ENHANCED CLOUD SIM. The present invention provides a method and system for mobile communication where upon detecting a change in registration of a SIM device at a visited operator (VPMN), the SIM device's IMSI profile is switched to one of a HPMN IMSI profile or local IMSI profile of a hub operator. The hub operator is selected from a cloudSIM hub ecosystem, depending on the location of the SIM device and quality and regulatory requirements of the service associated with the SIM device. The cloudSIM hub allocates dynamic IMSI with either a partial IMSI profile or a full IMSI profile based on SIM device requirements. The full profile has security key information of HPMN or the VPMN, and the SIM device requirement can be from either a softSIM, an eSIM or a standard SIM.
Li et al. (US 20220022028 A1) PROFILE AND SUBSCRIPTION MANAGEMENT FOR WIRELESS DEVICES. This Application sets forth techniques for profile, e.g., subscriber identity module (SIM) and electronic SIM (eSIM), and cellular wireless service subscription management for a wireless device. The wireless device can support multiple profiles, such as dual SIMS or a single SIM and one or more eSIMs. A user of the wireless device can flexibly enable and disable various eSIMs or change the use of physical SIMs with different associated cellular wireless service subscriptions, and mapping of subscription modules to logical channels and physical hardware interfaces can occur automatically, with mechanisms to reset interfaces when required.
Li et al. (US 20220022014 A1) IMEI BINDING AND DYNAMIC IMEI PROVISIONING FOR WIRELESS DEVICES. This Application sets forth techniques for binding and dynamic provisioning of international mobile equipment identifier (IMEI) values with cellular wireless service profiles, such as subscriber identity modules (SIMS) on physical SIM (pSIM) cards and electronic SIMs (eSIMs) on an embedded universal integrated circuit card (eUICC) of the mobile wireless device. When pSIMs and/or eSIMs change on the mobile wireless device, e.g., based on installation, activation, deactivation, de-installation, etc., IMEI binding logic accounts for the changes and maps IMEI values to pSIMs and/or eSIMs as required. IMEI values can be assigned based on a history of bindings between IMEI values and ICCID values of one or more eSIMS on an eUICC. A most recently used or a newly assigned IMEI value can be associated with an eSIM. Whether to assign an identical IMEI value to multiple eSIMs depends on requirements of associated cellular wireless service subscriptions.
Bouskila (US 20210044947 A1) METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR FAST INITIALIZATION OF AN ELECTRONIC SUBSCRIBER IDENTITY MODULE AT MULTIPLE LOCATIONS. A system and method for initializing an electronic subscriber identity module (SIM) are provided. The method includes activating a device using a first bootstrap profile, wherein the first bootstrap profile is set with a first range of international mobile subscriber identifiers (IMSIs); attempting to connect to a first cellular network through an IMSI in the range of IMSIs; establishing a connection with a central server when the device is connected to the first cellular network; storing a last successful location information (LOCI) of the established connection; and upon receiving at least an IMSI switch request, executing at least an IMSI profile switch, wherein execution of the IMSI profile switch includes replacement of a current IMSI value with a selected IMSI value based on the stored LOCI.
/MARIO R CAMPERO MIRAMONTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649