DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9-12, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Applicant’s cited WO 2021180621, hereinafter Trentmann (also see attached translation).
Regarding claim 1, Trentmann (FIG 4) discloses “A method of operating a pulse width modulation (PWM) valve (abstract) for a fluid application comprising:
applying full current for a first period of time (t1-t4) to fully open the PWM valve (F position in FIG 3);
applying a reduced current for a reduced current value that is from 0 up to a dissipating threshold value that is below full current for a second period of time to rapidly dissipate energy and minimize power consumption of the PWM valve that is fully open for the second period of time (t4-t5, seen to be reduced relative to t4 as the current continuously decreases from t4 to t5, like applicant’s FIG. 8); and
applying a holding current (at 40) for a third period of time (t5-t6) to hold the PWM valve fully open for the fluid application (stays at F).”
Regarding claim 7, Trentmann (FIG 4) discloses “wherein the holding current is designed as a minimum current to hold the PWM valve fully open for the fluid application (FIG 4, current at 40 is minimum current while valve is at F).”
Regarding claim 9, Trentmann (FIG 4) discloses “further comprising:
generating a first PWM signal having a first duty cycle (all control is via pwm having a duty cycle) for the reduced current (at t4-t5);
and generating a second PWM signal having a second duty cycle (all control is via pwm having a duty cycle) for the holding current (at t5-t6).”
Regarding claim 10, Trentmann (FIGs 1-2, 4) discloses “A fluid application system comprising:
a pulse width modulation (PWM) valve (10) disposed on an implement (page 2 paragraph 1); and
a controller (26) coupled to the PWM valve, wherein the controller is configured to apply full current for a first period of time (t1-t4) to fully open the PWM valve (F in FIG 4), to apply a reduced current for a reduced current value that is from 0 up to a dissipating threshold value that is below full current for a second period of time to rapidly dissipate energy in the PWM valve that is fully open (t4-t5, seen to be reduced relative to t4 as the current continuously decreases from t4 to t5, like applicant’s FIG. 8), and to apply a holding current (at 40) for a third period of time (t5-t6) to hold the PWM valve fully open for a fluid application to a field (stays at F).”
Regarding claim 11, Trentmann (FIGs 1-2, 4) discloses “further comprising:
additional PWM valves disposed along a boom of the implement or disposed on each row unit of the implement (page 6 second paragraph); and
a plurality of nozzles disposed along the boom of the implement or disposed on each row unit of the implement (page 7 fourth paragraph).”
Regarding claim 12, Trentmann (FIGs 1-2, 4) discloses “wherein each nozzle is connected to or integrated with a PWM valve to spray the fluid application from each nozzle (page 7 fourth paragraph).”
Regarding claim 18, Trentmann (FIG 4) discloses “wherein the holding current is designed as a minimum current to hold the PWM valve fully open for the fluid application (FIG 4, current at 40 is minimum current while valve is at F).”
Regarding claim 20, Trentmann (FIG 4) discloses “wherein the controller is further configured to generate a first PWM signal having a first duty cycle (all control is via pwm having a duty cycle) for the reduced current (at t4-t5) and to generate a second PWM signal having a second duty cycle (all control is via pwm having a duty cycle) for the holding current (at t5-t6).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 8, 13-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trentmann.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 13-15, Trentmann is silent regarding “wherein the reduced current value is 0 to 20 % of a full current value”, “wherein the reduced current value is 5% to 15% of the full current value”, and “wherein the reduced current value is 8% to 12% of the full current value.”
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to specify the relationship between the full current value and reduced current value of Trentmann to a preferred ratio, in this case that “wherein the reduced current value is 0 to 20 % of a full current value”, “wherein the reduced current value is 5% to 15% of the full current value”, and “wherein the reduced current value is 8% to 12% of the full current value”, as Trentmann already has a reduced current value and full current value, and choosing a preferred reduced/full current value ratio to achieve the same expected result (decreasing current past the peak, eventually reaching a minimum open current, like applicant’s FIG 8) would be within routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 16-17, Trentmann is silent regarding “wherein the second period of time is 0.20 milliseconds to 2.0 milliseconds” and “wherein the second period of time is 1.0 milliseconds to 1.5 milliseconds.”
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to specify the reduced current phase duration of Trentmann to be a preferred value, in this case that “wherein the second period of time is 0.20 milliseconds to 2.0 milliseconds” and “wherein the second period of time is 1.0 milliseconds to 1.5 milliseconds”, as Trentmann already has a reduced current value for a brief time, and choosing a preferred brief time duration to achieve the same expected result (decreasing current past the peak, eventually reaching a minimum open current, for a brief time, like applicant’s FIG 8) would be within routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Trentmann is silent regarding “wherein the holding current for a holding current value is 70% to 80% of the full current value.”
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to specify the relationship between the full current value and the holding current value of Trentmann to a preferred ratio, in this case that “wherein the holding current for a holding current value is 70% to 80% of the full current value”, as Trentmann already has a holding current value and full current value, and choosing a preferred holding/full current value ratio to achieve the same expected result (decreasing current past the peak, eventually reaching a minimum open current, like applicant’s FIG 8) would be within routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Devices similar to the application are disclosed by Grimm (US 9763381), Polk (US 6883726), McNabb (US 5927603), and Giles (US 5134961).
/PATRICK C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753