DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed: 11-25-2024
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11-25-24 was filed after the mailing date of the 11-25-24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 13, 18-21 objected to because of the following informalities: the preamble of the claim should be rewritten as “The method according to claim 12…”.
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities: The claim is not being dependent on a preceding claim, which is Claim 12.
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities: incorrect dependency. Claim 15 should be dependent on claim 12. Also, should be rewritten as “An acoustic diaphragm produced by the method according to claim 12”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the synthetic resin layers" in line 2 of said claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised limitation be rewritten as "the first synthetic resin layer and the second synthetic resin layer".
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the standard set forth by the inventor. Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein the applying the first synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 1.2 to 3.2kg/m2 and the applying of the second synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 0.6 to 1.2 kg/m2”. While the applicant references the amount required by the first layer, this does not resolve the indefiniteness of the claim. The specification recites “amount of 1.2 to 3.2, in particular 2 to 2.4 and preferably 2.2 kg/m2 (kilograms of resin per m2 of carrier material) is used”. But it is unclear of the surface density or interpretation of the “per m2 of carrier material” and the required quantity for coverage of the diaphragm. Similarly, claims 19-20 are indefinite due insufficient interpretation of the quantities for the “second” and “each additional” synthetic resin layer that was not present in the specification.
Claim 14 recites “incorporated in the manner of a printed circuit board”, which is vague and requires clarification, based on the Applicant’s specification, L18-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 2, 5, 7, 12 – 16, 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima (US Patent) 6332029 B1 in view of Ono (US Publication) 20040112672 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Azima teaches an electroacoustic transducer (Fig 1 [81], panel form loudspeaker, see Col 23 L28-31) comprising: at least one bending-resistant acoustic diaphragm (Fig 8 [2], radiator panel [2], referred to in Fig 1, is a lightweight, rigid distributed mode sound radiator panel, is mounted on a frame [enclosure] of the loudspeaker in a suspension to emulate conventional pistonic movement of a cone loudspeaker, see Col 29 L38-43) and a structure-borne sound transducer that causes the acoustic diaphragm to vibrate (Fig 16 [9], transducer, a component of the panel-form loudspeaker [81] that is mounted on the radiator panel (Fig 8 [2]) and initiates or excite bending waves in the panel to resonate and radiate an output, see Col 33 L37-41. Note: The transducer is mounted on the acoustic radiator to vibrate which resonates with the air pressure to cause pistonic movement, see Col 29 L60-67, Col 30 L1-3); wherein the acoustic diaphragm comprises
Azima does not explicitly teach a synthetic resin-coated carrier material having a sound-emitting surface that is formed by at least two synthetic resin layers that are firmly bonded to one another without of any bonding agent or adhesive.
Ono discloses a synthetic resin-coated carrier material (Fig 1 [1], first layer is a woven fabric called polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) fiber, which is impregnated with a thermosetting resin, para 44) having a sound-emitting surface that is formed by at least two synthetic resin layers (In Fig 1, the second & third layers is a thermoplastic resin [para 49] and thermoplastic elastomer [para 55], respectively) that are firmly bonded to one another without of any bonding agent or adhesive (The PEN fiber is a woven fabric that resins can be coated upon. Elastomer [layer 3] and resin [layer 2] prefers woven/unwoven fabric, para 55 & 49, respectively. Note: The PEN fiber is a suitable carrier material due to requiring less amounts of applied resin, when unwoven/untwisted, than conventional thermoplastic resin fiber. PEN fiber is a mono-filament, which has irregular reflections occur at the inner surface of a fabric, creates a glossy textile pattern for a loudspeaker diaphragm, see para 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a synthetic resin-coated carrier material having a sound-emitting surface that is formed by at least two synthetic resin layers that are firmly bonded to one another without of any bonding agent or adhesive. as taught by Ono in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve the wettability of the surface of the PEN fiber. In para 55, in Ono.
Regarding claim 2, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the synthetic resin of the synthetic resin layers based on a polymer system that can be crosslinked by polyaddition.
Ono discloses wherein the synthetic resin of the synthetic resin layers based on a polymer system that can be crosslinked by polyaddition (The resin constituting the thermoplastic resin layer can include different materials, including polyurethane, see para 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of the synthetic resin of the synthetic resin layers based on a polymer system that can be crosslinked by polyaddition as taught by Ono in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide a loudspeaker diaphragm having an excellent mechanical strength in spite of having light weight. In para 55, in Ono. (Note: materials provide an excellent periodic damping property, see para 50. The thermoplastic resin [layer 2] has a foamed structure which is advantageous for a diaphragm, see para 51).
Regarding claim 5, Azima teaches wherein the structure-borne sound transducer (Fig 16 [9], transducer) is connected to the acoustic diaphragm (Fig 16 [2], acoustic panel) via a connecting element attached to the acoustic diaphragm or integrated in the acoustic diaphragm (In Fig 16, the transducer [9] is mounted on the panel [2] by using metal/plastic threads [91, 92], see Col 33 L50-58).
Regarding claim 7, Azima teaches wherein the structure-borne sound transducer (Fig 16 [9], transducer, see Col 33 L37-39) is suspended in a housing of the electroacoustic transducer so as to oscillate freely (In Fig 8, the transducer [9] is mounted on the acoustic radiator [2] within the loudspeaker (Fig 1 [81]) enclosure [135] to vibrate which resonates with the air pressure to cause pistonic movement, see Col 29 L64-57, Col 30 L1-3)) with respect to the acoustic diaphragm (Fig 16 [2], acoustic panel, see Col 33 L37-39).
Regarding claim 12, Azima teaches the acoustic diaphragm (Fig 8 [2], radiator panel [2], see Col 34-43) for an electroacoustic transducer (Fig 16 [9], transducer, see Col 33 L37-41) according to claim 1
Azima does not explicitly teach a method for producing the acoustic diaphragm for an electroacoustic transducer according to claim 1 said method comprising: applying a first synthetic resin layer to a sound-emitting surface of a shaping carrier material;
and before the first synthetic resin layer has completely cured, applying a second synthetic resin layer to the first synthetic resin layer such that the first and second synthetic resin layers are firmly bonded to one another without the use of a bonding agent or an adhesive.
Ono discloses a method for producing said method (A method for manufacturing a loudspeaker diaphragm, so as to form three layers of synthetic resins, see para 26) comprising: applying a first synthetic resin layer to a sound-emitting surface of a shaping carrier material (Fig 1 [1], first layer is a woven fabric called polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) fiber, which is impregnated with a thermosetting resin, para 44. Note: A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that PEN fiber doubles as a textile body due it being melt spun into woven fabric. Hence, “a glossy textile pattern can be obtained”, see para 46);
and before the first synthetic resin layer (Fig 1 [2], thermoplastic resin, see para 44) has completely cured, applying a second synthetic resin layer (Fig 1 [2], thermoplastic elastomer, see para 49) to the first synthetic resin layer (In para 55, the resin constituting the thermoplastic resin would flow into the areas of the thermoplastic elastomer at the time when molding is performed)such that the first and second synthetic resin layers are firmly bonded to one another without the use of a bonding agent or an adhesive (The PEN fiber is a woven fabric that resins can be coated upon. Elastomer [layer 3] and resin [layer 2] prefers woven/unwoven fabric, para 55 & 49, respectively. Note: The PEN fiber is a suitable carrier material due to requiring less amounts of applied resin, when unwoven/untwisted, than conventional thermoplastic resin fiber. PEN fiber is a mono-filament, which has irregular reflections occur at the inner surface of a fabric, creates a glossy textile pattern for a loudspeaker diaphragm, see para 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a method for producing said method comprising: applying a first synthetic resin layer to a sound-emitting surface of a shaping carrier material; and before the first synthetic resin layer has completely cured, applying a second synthetic resin layer to the first synthetic resin layer such that the first and second synthetic resin layers are firmly bonded to one another without the use of a bonding agent or an adhesive as taught by Ono in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve the wettability of the surface of the PEN fiber. In para 55, in Ono.
Regarding claim 13, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the applying of the first synthetic resin laver uses a quantity of 1.2 to 3.2kg/m2 and the applying of the second synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 0.6 to 1.2 kg/m2.
Ono fails to disclose the claimed invention except for applying the first synthetic resin layer [base layer] using PEN fiber, which is molt-spun into weave patterns, the density is preferably 150 to 190 g/m^ (2) and more preferably 160 to 180 g/m^ (2). This range would allow excellent moldability as a weave density of such range. See para 45. Although Ono does not explicitly teach wherein the applying of the first synthetic resin laver uses a quantity of 1.2 to 3.2kg/m2 and the applying of the second synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 0.6 to 1.2 kg/m2. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize exact amount required is dependent of designer’s choice of application. Although the applicant references specific design variants such as a pair of trousers, wall panel, and sculpture as carrier materials [Applicant’s Specification, L10-14]. The amount required exceeds the limit of what a diaphragm can operate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used the teachings of the applying of the first synthetic resin laver uses a quantity of 1.2 to 3.2kg/m2 and the applying of the second synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 0.6 to 1.2 kg/m2 since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation would have been to provide excellent balance between a Young modulus and an internal loss. In para 57, in Ono.
Regarding claim 14, Azima teaches wherein the synthetic resin layers are applied to the carrier material (the PEN fibers, base layer 1 [para 44], the second layer [thermoplastic resin, para 49], and third layer [thermoplastic elastomer, para 55])
Azima does not explicitly teach up to a total thickness of 3.5 mm.
Ono discloses the claimed invention except for up to a total thickness of 3.5 mm. (Design choice by manufacturers: The entire thickness of the loudspeaker diaphragm based on the present invention is 0.2 to 0.6 mm. Such that the preferred thickness for each layer varies: base layer 1 is 0.05 to 0.4 mm, the 2nd layer is 0.05 to 0.6 mm, and the 3rd layer is 0.01 to 0.08 mm. See para 57. A person with ordinary skill in the art would be able to calculate the average of each layer would be less than or equal to a total thickness of 3.5 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of up to a total thickness of 3.5 mm as taught by Ono in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide excellent balance between a Young modulus and an internal loss. In para 57, in Ono.
Regarding claim 15, Azima does not explicitly teach an acoustic diaphragm produced by a method according to claim 11.
Ono discloses an acoustic diaphragm produced by a method (As stated earlier in claim 12, the base layer [1] acts as the carrier body, being a woven fabric, see para 44. Then second and third layers are applied, with the thermoplastic resin would easily flow into a space of the thermoplastic elastomer layer at the time of molding, see para 49, 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of an acoustic diaphragm produced by a method as taught by Ono in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve the wettability of the surface of the PEN fiber. In para 55, in Ono.
Regarding claim 16, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the acoustic diaphragm comprises a synthetic resin-coated carrier material having a sound-emitting surface that is formed by at least three synthetic resin layers that are firmly bonded to one another without any adhesive or bonding agent.
Ono disclose wherein the acoustic diaphragm comprises a synthetic resin-coated carrier material (PEN fiber, being a woven fabric becomes a textile material, see para 46) having a sound-emitting surface that is formed by at least three synthetic resin layers (Fig 1 [1,2,3], the PEN fiber [base layer], thermoplastic resin [second layer], and thermoplastic elastomer [third layer], respectively. See para 44, 49, 55) that are firmly bonded to one another without any adhesive or bonding agent (The PEN fiber is a woven fabric that resins can be coated upon. Elastomer [layer 3] and resin [layer 2] prefers woven/unwoven fabric, para 55 & 49, respectively. Note: The PEN fiber is a suitable carrier material due to requiring less amounts of applied resin, when unwoven/untwisted, than conventional thermoplastic resin fiber. PEN fiber is a mono-filament, which has irregular reflections occur at the inner surface of a fabric, creates a glossy textile pattern for a loudspeaker diaphragm, see para 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the acoustic diaphragm comprises a synthetic resin-coated carrier material having a sound-emitting surface that is formed by at least three synthetic resin layers that are firmly bonded to one another without any adhesive or bonding agent as taught by Ono in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve the wettability of the surface of the PEN fiber. In para 55, in Ono.
Regarding claim 18, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises applying one or more additional synthetic resin layers, each of said additional synthetic resin layers being applied to an earlier-applied synthetic resin layer before the earlier-applied synthetic resin layer has completely cured, such that the additional synthetic resin layer is firmly bonded to the earlier-applied synthetic resin layer without any bonding agent or adhesive material.
Ono disclose wherein the method further comprises applying one or more additional synthetic resin layers (Fig 1 [3], thermoplastic elastomer is a third layer applied to the diaphragm, see para 55), each of said additional synthetic resin layers being applied to an earlier-applied synthetic resin layer before the earlier-applied synthetic resin layer has completely cured, such that the additional synthetic resin layer is firmly bonded to the earlier-applied synthetic resin layer without any bonding agent or adhesive material (The first layer, or base layer is the PEN fiber, followed by the second layer [thermoplastic resin], and the third layers [thermoplastic elastomer]. Layer 2 can be applied to the base layer 1, before its fully cured due to with the thermoplastic resin would easily flow into a space of the thermoplastic elastomer layer at the time of molding, see para 49. The same method can be applied, but with the thermoplastic resin flowing in the thermoplastic elastomer, see para 55. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that all three synthetic materials can be melt spun into the same fabric and each synthetic resin can be melted and molded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the acoustic diaphragm comprises a synthetic resin-coated carrier material having a sound-emitting surface that is formed by at least three synthetic resin layers that are firmly bonded to one another without any adhesive or bonding agent as taught by Ono in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to improve the wettability of the surface of the PEN fiber. In para 55, in Ono.
Regarding claim 19, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the applying of the first synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 2 to 2.4 kg/m2 and the applying of the second synthetic resin layer and each additional synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 0.8 to 1 kg/m2.
Ono discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the applying of the first synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 2 to 2.4 kg/m2 and the applying of the second synthetic resin layer and each additional synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 0.8 to 1 kg/m2. ( The first synthetic resin layer is PEN fiber, its molt-spun form into weave patterns, the density is preferably150 to 190 g/m.sup.2 and more preferably 160 to 180 g/m.sup.2. See para 45)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used the teachings of the applying of the first synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 2 to 2.4 kg/m2 and the applying of the second synthetic resin layer and each additional synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 0.8 to 1 kg/m2 since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation would have been to provide excellent balance between a Young modulus and an internal loss. In para 57, in Ono.
Regarding claim 20, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the applying of the first synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 2.2 kg/m2 and the applying of the second synthetic resin layer and each additional synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 0.9 kg/m2.
Ono discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the applying of the first synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 2.2 kg/m2 and the applying of the second synthetic resin layer and each additional synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 0.9 kg/m2. ( The first synthetic resin layer is PEN fiber, its molt-spun form into weave patterns, the density is preferably150 to 190 g/m.sup.2 and more preferably 160 to 180 g/m.sup.2. See para 45)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used the teachings of the applying of the first synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 2.2 kg/m2 and the applying of the second synthetic resin layer and each additional synthetic resin layer uses a quantity of 0.9 kg/m2 since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation would have been to provide excellent balance between a Young modulus and an internal loss. In para 57, in Ono.
Claim 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima (US Patent) 6332029 B1 in view of Tomita (US Publication) 20210388179 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the synthetic resin is a two- component epoxy synthetic resin system that comprises an amine-based hardener three-component polyurethane system that comprises a hardener based on blocked isocyanates.
TOMITA discloses wherein the synthetic resin is a two- component epoxy synthetic resin system that comprises an amine-based hardener three-component polyurethane system that comprises a hardener based on blocked isocyanates (For the amine based hardener, the components may be used alone or in combination, curing agents include aliphatic polyamine, an aromatic amine, a polyamide resin, or etc. See para 61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the synthetic resin is a two- component epoxy synthetic resin system that comprises an amine-based hardener three-component polyurethane system that comprises a hardener based on blocked isocyanates as taught by TOMITA in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide excellent in moldability and handleability. In para 11, in Chen.
Claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima (US Patent) 6332029 B1 in view of Manger (US Publication) 3937905-A.
Regarding claim 4, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the carrier material is selected from a group consisting of a composite material in a sandwich construction, a textile, a hollow body, a body made of glass-fiber reinforced plastic, and a wooden body.
Manger discloses wherein the carrier material is selected from a group consisting of a composite material in a sandwich construction, a textile, a hollow body, a body made of glass-fiber reinforced plastic, and a wooden body (The electroacoustic transducer has a diaphragm consisting of a flat textile carrier element, see Col 2 L34-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of the carrier material is selected from a group consisting of a composite material in a sandwich construction, a textile, a hollow body, a body made of glass-fiber reinforced plastic, and a wooden body as taught by Manger in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide a fabric that can be stretched to a degree unattainable by the rectilinear arranged threads of a normal woven or bonded fibre fabrics. In Col 5 L48-54, in Manger.
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima (US Patent) 6332029 B1 in view of Porter (US Patent) 11711646 B2.
Regarding claim 6, Azima teaches wherein the structure-borne sound transducer (Fig 16 [9], transducer, see Col 33 L37-39) is connected to the connecting element via a coupler (Fig 16 [127], spacer, is trapped between the transducer and panel, see Col 33 L59-60. The fastener was adapted to separate the two fastener poles of their respective member, see Col 34 L34-36) and the structure-borne sound transducer is arranged at a distance of 2 to 800 mm from the acoustic diaphragm (Fig 16 [2], acoustic panel, see Col 33 L37-39).
Azima does not explicitly teach arranged at a distance of 2 to 800 mm
Porter discloses arranged at a distance of 2 to 800 mm (“if the transducer is displace 2mm, the diaphragm as or near the transducer would also displace about the same amount”, based on this the distance between the diaphragm and transducer falls in the range of 2-800 mm, see Col 7 L16-19)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of arranged at a distance of 2 to 800 mm as taught by Manger in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to allows for a relatively large radiating surface area while maintain stability by being fixed at the pivot location. In Col 7 L25-28, in Porter.
Claim 8-9, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima (US Patent) 6332029 B1 in view of Chen (US Publication) 20220141595 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the carrier material is in a sandwich construction comprising two metal layers between which an electrically insulating core is arranged, wherein electrical lines leading from a connection point to the structure-borne sound transducer are incorporated in the manner of a printed circuit board into at least one of the two metal layers.
Chen discloses wherein the carrier material is in a sandwich construction comprising two metal layers (Fig 1 [105, 106], first and second metal layers, respectively, see para 36) between which an electrically insulating core (In Fig 3A-3B, both the metal layer insulate the dielectric layer [130], see para 47) is arranged, wherein electrical lines leading from a connection point to the structure-borne sound transducer are incorporated in the manner of a printed circuit board into at least one of the two metal layers (In Fig 1A, the multilayer coil is configured to transmit electrical signals that connects to the metal layers leading to openings [111]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, though not shown, the openings would lead to a printed circuit board as interpreted from the Applicant’s Drawing [5-6]. See para 35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of the carrier material is in a sandwich construction comprising two metal layers between which an electrically insulating core is arranged, wherein electrical lines leading from a connection point to the structure-borne sound transducer are incorporated in the manner of a printed circuit board into at least one of the two metal layers as taught by Chen in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to prevent a short circuit between. In para 39, in Chen.
Regarding claim 9, Azima teaches the structure-borne sound transducer (Fig 16 [9], transducer, see Col 33 L37-41.)
Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the connection point has a negative and/or positive contact pole and the structure-borne sound transducer has a contact point that has a negative and/or positive contact pole, and the contact poles are each formed by an adhesive electrode electrically connected to a respective negative electrical line or positive electrical line.
Lin discloses wherein the connection point has a negative and/or positive contact pole and has a contact point that has a negative and/or positive contact pole (In Fig 2A, the vibrating membrane [210] comprises of a metal layer [214] and electret layer [212] (a dielectric material, see Col 4 L31-34). Depending on the source signal, if the voltage is positive or negative, it will generate an attractive or repulsive force through the vibrating membrane. See Col 4 L51-60), and the contact poles are each formed by an adhesive electrode electrically connected to a respective negative electrical line or positive electrical line (In Fig 2A, the conductive electrode [281] is connected to the electrode layer [220] via an adhesive material (isotropic & etc, see Col5 L55-57) which connected to the vibrating membrane via supporting bodies [240]. Conducting electrode [283] connects to the metal film [217], see Col 5 L42-50. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the adhesive-based conductive electrode contacts technique).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of the connection point has a negative and/or positive contact pole and has a contact point that has a negative and/or positive contact pole, and the contact poles are each formed by an adhesive electrode electrically connected to a respective negative electrical line or positive electrical line as taught by Lin in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to generate a vibration with preferred efficiency to generate sounds. In Col 5 L40-41, in Lin.
Regarding claim 17, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the two metal layers are aluminum layers.
Chen discloses wherein the two metal layers are aluminum layers (The first metal layer (Fig 1 [105]) may include aluminum and other materials, see para 45. The second metal layer (Fig 1 [105]) may include aluminum and other materials See para 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the two metal layers are aluminum layers as taught by Chen in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to electrically connect both metal layers. In para 18, in Chen.
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima (US Patent) 6332029 B1 in view of Fallon (US Publication) 20200053452 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Azima teaches structure-borne sound transducer (Fig 16 [9], transducer, see Col 33 L37-41).
Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the structure-borne sound transducer is supported in a gas-tight envelope filled with an inert gas.
Fallon discloses wherein transducer is supported in a gas-tight envelope filled with an inert gas (In Fig 2, nitrogen gas (inert gas) is backfilled within the enclosure [210] which has the speaker, see para 65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of transducer is supported in a gas-tight envelope filled with an inert gas as taught by Fallon in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to allow sound to be generated at even greater sound levels. In para 65, in Fallon. (Note: A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an speaker airtight or enclosure filled with an inert gas is noncondensing for temperature management and protect component materials)
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima (US Patent) 6332029 B1 in view of Aleksandro (US Publication) 20200314546 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Azima teaches wherein the structure-borne sound transducer (Fig 16 [9], transducer, see Col 33 L37-41) is arranged between the acoustic diaphragm (Fig 8 [2], radiator panel [2], see Col 34-43) and
Azima does not explicitly teach a bass reflex bell so as to form a bass reflector.
Aleksandro discloses wherein transducer is arranged between the acoustic diaphragm and a bass reflex bell so as to form a bass reflector (In Fig 1, the interior [13] of the speaker box [1], forms a bass reflex chamber, where the speaker [3] radiates towards the rear and air channel [11], see para 70).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of a bass reflex bell so as to form a bass reflector as taught by Aleksandro in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been for amplifying the sound waves output by the speaker. In para 70, in Aleksandro.
Claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azima (US Patent) 6332029 B1 in view of Sanchez-Brunete Alvarez (US Patent) 8100686 B2.
Regarding claim 21, Azima does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises vibrating the carrier material using a vibrator during the application of the synthetic resin layers.
Sanchez-Brunete Alvarez discloses wherein the method further comprises vibrating the carrier material using a vibrator during the application of the synthetic resin layers (the curing tool uses oscillating movement through vibration. In a broad sense as a tool, the material is placed during the curing process together with any element, see Col 2 L31-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teachings of wherein the method further comprises vibrating the carrier material using a vibrator during the application of the synthetic resin layers as taught by Sanchez-Brunete Alvarez in Azima’s invention. The motivation would have been to provide oscillating movement with a pre-established frequency which facilitates the fluidization, diffusion and degassing of the resin during the curing process of the part. In Col 2 L25-30, in Sanchez-Brunete Alvarez. (Note: a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that when applying multiple layers of synthetic resin upon a carrier material, one would need to apply a means of vibration to improve the release of gassing bubbles within the resin and improve resin distribution so to provide accurate coverage. See Col 3 L15-18)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Heilemann (US Publication) 20200120414 A1 – carrier material with bipolar lines connected to a amplifier
/MARCUS A BARBOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692