DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 11/25/2024, and 8/22/2025 has been fully considered.
Priority
The foreign priority claim to CN202221301459.1 filed on 5/27/2022 is acknowledged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 5, Deng teaches the locking device as claimed in claim 4, as set forth in the anticipation rejection below.
However, Deng does not teach wherein the adapter push rod is of a U-shaped structure the first adapter end is disposed at a bottom end of the U- shaped structure, and the two second adapter ends are disposed at tops of two ends of an opening of the U-shaped structure. Upon additional searching, no reference or combination of references were found that taught all the limitations of claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, Deng teaches the locking device as claimed in claim 9, as set forth in the anticipation rejection below.
However, Deng does not teach a push rod that is telescopically disposed. Upon additional searching, telescoping push rods were found that could be used to obviously modify Deng (such as Cao US 20240429533 A1). However, this claim further requires that the mounting seat body is provided with a through hole, and at least part of the push rod penetrates the through hole, so as to be connected with the connection rod assemblies. No single reference or obvious combination of references were found that teach these limitations. Thus, claim 14 contains allowable subject matter.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the unlocking unit of claim 2;
the first rod body, second rod body, and third rod body of claim 10; and
a first bearing end surface and a second bearing end surface of claims 16-19
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, this claim says “wherein each of the two connection rod assembly”. This renders the claim indefinite because the plurality of each is either applied to each rod of the two connection rod assembly, or is meant to mean there are multiple two connection rod assemblies. Thus this claim is indefinite and requires correction. For the sake of compact prosecution, the claim is considered in the 102 rejection below as thought the claim said, “wherein each rod of the two connection rod assembly.”
Regarding claim 7, this claim says, “two ends of the first connection shaft penetrate one ends of the second connection rods of the two connection rod assemblies and then are pivoted with the first connection rods of the two connection rod assemblies respectively.” It is not clear what the two ends of the first connection shaft are penetrating. Is each end penetrating a different end of the second connection rod, or is each end penetrating a different respective second connection rod, because second connection rod is plural. Furthermore, “the two connection rod assemblies” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 8, this claim has several indefiniteness issues.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for, “the two connection rod assemblies.”
The phrase, “a corresponding support frames” is indefinite because it is not clear if it is referring to the same support frames claimed earlier, “two support frames disposed corresponding one-to-one to the two connection rod assemblies,” or if it is a new support frame. The phrase is also mixing the singular “a” and plural “frames” in a way that is grammatically incorrect.
The phrase “an U-shaped openings” is grammatically incorrect.
The phrase “a corresponding support frames,” has improper antecedent basis because it has already appeared in this claim. Thus, it is not clear if this refers to the earlier identical phrase, the “two support frames,” mentioned before that, or a new set of support frames. It is also grammatically incorrect as indicated above.
The phrase “a corresponding first connection rods,” is a grammatically incorrect mixture of singular and plural. It is also indefinite because it is not clear if this refers to “a first connection rod,” as claimed in claim 6, or if this is a new connection rod.
Regarding claim 13, this claim depends on claim 8 and thus inherits claim 8’s deficiencies.
Claims 10-11, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 10, this claim includes “the first adapter end is disposed in a middle of the second rod body,” and it is not clear if this adapter is attached to the side of the second rod body or if it is uniaxial with the second rod body, and thus a person having ordinary skill in the art is not enabled to make the invention of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, this claim depends on claim 10 and thus inherits its deficiencies.
Regarding claim 16, this claim includes “the connection rod assemblies are disposed on the first bearing end surface, and at least part of the driving source is disposed on the second bearing end surface,” but these elements are not shown in the figures and not so obvious that a person having ordinary skill in the art would be enabled to make the invention without a figure.
Regarding claims 17-19, these claims depend upon claim 16 and thus inherit its deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 12, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Deng (CN 215621511 U).
Regarding claim 1, Deng teaches a locking device, comprising:
a base (10 “mounting frame” taught by figure 1);
a pressing block (30 “lock tongue” taught by figure 1), wherein the pressing block is pivoted with the base (taught by figures 1-3); and
a driving unit (20 “sliding cylinder” and 40 “connecting rod mechanism” taught by figure 2), wherein the driving unit comprises a driving source (20 “sliding cylinder” taught by figure 2) and a connection rod assembly (40 “connecting rod mechanism” taught by figure 2), the driving source is fixedly disposed at the base (taught by figures 1-3), and the connection rod assembly is connected between the pressing block and the driving source (taught by figures 1-3); and
the driving source drives the connection rod assembly to move, so as to drive the pressing block to rotate about a pivot shaft between the pressing block and the base, so that the pressing block selectively presses against or disengages from a member to be locked (taught by figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Deng teaches the locking device as claimed in claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Deng also teaches wherein the driving source comprises an elastic member (taught by annotated figure 2 attached below) and an unlocking unit (21 “cylinder body” taught by figure 2), the elastic member is connected with the connection rod assembly, and the unlocking unit is connected with the elastic member (taught by figure 2); and
by means of an elastic restoring force of the elastic member, the connection rod assembly drives the pressing block to maintain a pressing force on the member to be locked, and the unlocking unit is configured to offset the pressing force of the elastic member and compress the elastic member, so that the pressing block disengages from the member to be locked (taught by figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Deng teaches the locking device as claimed in claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Deng also teaches wherein two connection rod assemblies are provided, the two connection rod assemblies are symmetrically disposed on two sides of the pressing block respectively (42 “second driving block” taught by figure 2), and
the driving source is connected with the two connection rod assemblies, so that the driving source drives the two connection rod assemblies to act synchronously (taught by figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Deng teaches the locking device as claimed in claim 3, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Deng also teaches wherein the locking device further comprises an adapter push rod (22 “push rod,” taught by figure 2), the adapter push rod comprises a first adapter end (the end connected to the elastic member taught by figure 2) and two second adapter ends (411 “first hinge part” taught by figure 4), the two second adapter ends are disposed corresponding one-to-one to the two connection rod assemblies (taught by figures 3-4), the first adapter end is fixedly connected with an action end of the driving source, and the two second adapter ends are pivoted with the corresponding connection rod assemblies (taught by figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Deng teaches the locking device as claimed in claim 4, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Deng also teaches wherein each of the two connection rod assembly comprises:
a first connection rod (42 “second driving block” taught by figure 3), wherein the first connection rod comprises a first end, a second end, and a third end that are sequentially disposed along a triangular track, the first end is pivoted with the base (412 “second hinge part” taught by figure 1), and the second end is pivoted with a corresponding second adapter end of the two second adapter ends (413 “third hinge part” taught by figure 1); and
a second connection rod (31 “connecting part” taught by figure 3), wherein one end of the second connection rod is pivoted with the third end (421 “fourth hinge part” taught in figure 1), and the other end of the second connection rod is pivoted with the pressing block (taught by figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, Deng teaches the locking device as claimed in claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Deng also teaches wherein the base comprises a locating seat body (taught in annotated figure 2 attached above) and a mounting seat body connected (11 “first mounting seat” taught in figure 2) with one side of the locating seat body, an included angle is formed between the locating seat body and the mounting seat body, and the included angle is an obtuse angle (taught by figure 2); and
the driving source is fixedly disposed on one side, facing away from the pressing block, of the mounting seat body, and an axis of the driving source is perpendicular to the mounting seat body (taught by figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Deng teaches the locking device as claimed in claim 6, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Deng also teaches wherein the pressing block is provided with a middle shaft hole (421 “fourth hinge part” taught in figure 1), and
the driving unit further comprises:
a second connection shaft, wherein the second connection shaft is disposed in the middle shaft hole in a penetrating manner, and two ends of the second connection shaft are pivoted with the second connection rods of the two connection rod assemblies respectively (taught by figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, Deng teaches the locking device as claimed in claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Deng also teaches wherein the base comprises: a locating seat body (taught in annotated figure 2 attached above); and
a mounting seat body (11 “first mounting seat” taught in figure 2), wherein the mounting seat body is disposed at an end portion of the locating seat body, an included angle is formed between the mounting seat body and the locating seat body (taught by figure 2), and
the driving unit is disposed on the mounting seat body (taught by figure 2).
Regarding claim 20, Deng teaches the locking device as claimed in claim 1, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above.
Deng also teaches a vehicle (taught by the technical field “The utility model relates to the field of new energy vehicle”), comprising the locking device;
wherein the vehicle further comprises a battery to be swapped and a battery swap base (“battery box” taught by the specification “the locking part of the lock tongue realizes the fixing of the battery box body”); and
a driving source drives a pressing block to rotate about a pivot shaft between the pressing block and a base, so that the pressing block selectively presses against the battery to be swapped against the battery swap base (taught by the “the content of the utility model” section of the specification “a lock tongue, one end is provided with a locking part for clamping the battery box body” and figures 1-3).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS R. KANDAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613