Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kowalevicz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2023/0179298 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kowalevicz et al. teaches in FIG. 3 an optical wireless communication system comprising: a first transmission device (Kowalevicz et al. teaches in FIG. 3 controller 302 which may include laser sources configured to generate outgoing optical signals that are provided to monostatic optical terminal 304; Kowalevicz et al. teaches in FIG. 1 transmit channel 102a representing the first transmission device) that transmits an optical signal in a wireless manner to a first reception device (e.g. monostatic optical terminal 310f of FIG. 3) via a polarizing filter (Kowalevicz et al. teaches in FIG. 1 waveplate 122 changes polarization state of the signals—see paragraph [0025]—, therefore, it is a polarizing filter) in which a direction of a transmission axis is a first direction (the direction from monostatic optical terminal 304 to monostatic optical terminal 310f in FIG. 3); the first reception device that receives the optical signal transmitted from the first transmission device via the polarizing filter in which the direction of the transmission axis is the first direction; a second transmission device (represented by transmit channel 102b in FIG. 1) that transmits the optical signal in the wireless manner to a second reception device (e.g. monostatic optical terminal 310a of FIG. 3) via the polarizing filter in which a direction of the transmission axis is a second direction (the direction from monostatic optical terminal 304 to monostatic optical terminal 310a in FIG. 3) different from the first direction; and the second reception device that receives the optical signal transmitted from the second transmission device via the polarizing filter in which the direction of the transmission axis is the second direction.
Claim 7 is rejected based on the same reason for rejecting claim 1 because an apparatus implies the method of using the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalevicz et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2023/0179298 A1) in view of Ritchie (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2018/0302159 A1).
Kowalevicz et al. has been discussed above in regard to claims 1 and 7. The difference between Kowalevicz et al. and the claimed invention is that Kowalevicz et al. does not teach that the first direction and the second direction are directions orthogonal to each other. As illustrated in FIG. 3 of Kowalevicz et al., the degree between the first direction and the second direction is limited by the field of view. Ritchie teaches in FIG. 2(b) and paragraph [0071] that a transceiver may have a field of view 180 degrees. One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Ritchie with the system of Kowalevicz et al. because a large field of view (FOV) allows a transceiver to communicate with devices over a large region. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a field of view of up to 180 degrees, as taught by Ritchie, for the system of Kowalevicz et al. With a field of view of 180 degrees, it is obvious that, in FIG. 3 of Kowalevicz et al., two monostatic optical terminals 310i and 310j within the FOV of optical terminal 304 may form an angle of 90 degrees with the monostatic optical terminal 304.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is allowed.
Conclusion
skl31 August 2026
/SHI K LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635